SATURDAY, AUGUST 15
Sydney v Geelong ANZ (N)

Round 21
SUNDAY, AUGUST 23
Collingwood v Sydney MCG

Round 22
SATURDAY, AUGUST 29
Sydney v Brisbane Lions SCG (N)

I wonder if AFL consulted the club about the number of Saturday games? Not only at home but away and Manuka as well?

I just don't think the massive number of Saturday games especially the 2 day time home games will help Sydney sider attendance or TV ratings!

I know a number of folk that run businesses on Saturday that even find Sat night difficult to attend!

:confused:

thanks RUNVS, I will only get to see them 5 times live all year, incl one trip to geelong..

Then finals of course..

im actually really happy about the saturday afternoon games ... it was always a struggle for me to get to the sunday games (especially as they started at 1 instead of 2). actually, does anyone know what time the saturday afternoon games will be played?

2pm according to the draw, it will be weird going to the footy on a Saturday afternoon! I know it's impossible to keep everyone happy when drawing up the fixtures, but I am still a bit surprised that they just didn't keep all of our 'daytime' home games on the Sunday as that is the traditional timeslot that Sydneysiders (not just Swans fans) are used to, and to be honest, Saturday afternoon is not the best time for attracting casual supporters to games in Sydney. Though it's not surprising coming from the current Vic-centric AFL administration.

The Saturday arvo games against Carlton in rd 4 and Essendon in rd 15 have to be a first. I've been here for 15 years and can't remember it happening before. Helps it's against decent drawing teams as well.

Will be interesting to see what the attendance is like. Personally I'm a fan of the time slot as my playing days were over long ago. We might get Friday night games at the SCG back one day.

I'd expect us to win all the SCG games, and both Manuka games.
We'll lose 3 of the 4 games at ANZ.
Why are we playing the cats and hawks at ANZ? We'd get bigger crowds to the bombers and blues out there anyway.

This is what im expecting

Blue = Win
Red = Loss
Black = To close to call

Round 1 vs St Kilda (A)
Round 2 vs Hawthorn (H)
Round 3 vs Lions (A)
Round 4 vs Carlton (H)
Round 5 vs Fremantle (A)
Round 6 vs Richmond (H)
Round 7 vs Geelong (A)
Round 8 vs West Coast (H)
Round 9 vs Port Adelaide (H)
Round 10 vs Western Bulldogs (A)
Round 11 vs Hawthorn (A)
Round 12 vs Collingwood (H)
Round 13 vs Adelaide (A)
Round 14 vs North Melbourne (H)
Round 15 vs Essendon (H)
Round 16 vs Carlton (A)
Round 17 vs Melourne (A)
Round 18 vs St Kilda (H)
Round 19 vs Richmond (A)
Round 20 vs Geelong (H)
Round 21 vs Collingwood (A)
Round 22 vs Brisbane (H)

So i have

12 wins
9 losses
1 undecided

2pm according to the draw, it will be weird going to the footy on a Saturday afternoon! I know it's impossible to keep everyone happy when drawing up the fixtures, but I am still a bit surprised that they just didn't keep all of our 'daytime' home games on the Sunday as that is the traditional timeslot that Sydneysiders (not just Swans fans) are used to, and to be honest, Saturday afternoon is not the best time for attracting casual supporters to games in Sydney. Though it's not surprising coming from the current Vic-centric AFL administration.

lol, im not having a go at you, but it just sounds funny hearing a Sydney supporter finding it 'wierd' to go to the footy saturday arvos, it used to be traditional, its makes me feel old, how times have changed, I remember when ALL games were on saturday arvos..

Was this a similar time to the one where the Swans were averaging under 10,000 people to each game?

Sadly, too many good games at the western white elephant.

Nothing unexpected though

Yup, Saturday arvo is the traditional timeslot for footy in Melbourne, just like 3pm Sunday is the 'traditional' kick-off time for the rugby league here in Sydney.

The Swans have been playing on a Sunday afternoon since they came to Sydney, all so you Melburnians would have a game to watch on TV on Sunday! :p

Was this a similar time to the one where the Swans were averaging under 10,000 people to each game?

All games mate, for all clubs, for the entire history of footy, dont let your anti melb swans stance get in the way of a friendly discussion..

Tough start with the Hawks twice and the Cats in the opening 11 rounds. The end to the season is almost identical to that of this year. Tough run home yet again.

This is what im expecting

Blue = Win
Red = Loss

Round 1 vs St Kilda (A)
Round 2 vs Hawthorn (H)
Round 3 vs Lions (A)
Round 4 vs Carlton (H)
Round 5 vs Fremantle (A)
Round 6 vs Richmond (H)
Round 7 vs Geelong (A)
Round 8 vs West Coast (H)
Round 9 vs Port Adelaide (H)