Manchester United
Sloane246xWIMa.jpg

His profile here: http://afl.com.au/tabid/208/default.aspx?newsid=69471

Re: ND Pick # 44 - Rory Sloane - Discussion

Date of birth: 17/3/90
Height: 182cm
Weight: 76kg
Club: Eastern Ranges

Bio: Sloane is a competitive defender who can also play in the midfield or forward. He wins his own ball, is strong overhead and is excellent in one-on-one situations. A Vic Metro under-18 representative in 2008. From Upwey-Tecoma FC.

Jason McCartney says: Rory's an amazing young lad. I met him at draft camp and he wasn't a boy that was overawed in any of the interview situations. He's really down to earth, and David Parkin made the comment that it was so refreshing to see a player who for the whole three days was so excited to be where he was and really enjoy what is a mentally and physically-taxing environment. Towards the end, the strain was starting to show in a few of the guys and here's this kid still bubbling along. He's got good leadership qualities and is a real character.

Vic Metro U18 coach David Dickson says: Rory's a character; he was probably the cult figure of our backline. We played Vic Country in the first game when we got up and won late and we thought our backline was pretty insipid that day. We got cleaned out by Tom Rockliff and a couple of their better players, so we put some hard nuts in our backline and Rory, after that game, sort of became the leader in the back half. He made the others – who might have still been a little intimidated by playing in the nationals – he made them walk tall; he was tough.

Against Tassie in the second game, when we got belted around a bit, he really made the other players feel better about themselves. He worked his player over so much in that game that he wouldn't shake Rory's hand at the end of the game, but Rory wouldn't let him get off the ground until he shook his hand.

He's a pretty lovable sort of character, he's not an arrogant or big-headed kid, but he's the sort of kid if he went out and played next week against Nathan Buckley it wouldn't faze him. He's got a bit of Brock McLean in him in that he's not intimidated by anyone.

Just for prosperity:

i hope we get this player:

Rory Sloane – 182cm, 76kg – Midfielder/ Defender – Eastern Ranges
Is a hard working midfielder who has very good hands in close, he is a good link up player around the ground and is strong in the contest. He has very good endurance, leadership qualities, good speed and footskills, he is a strong tackler and is very consistent and competitive. He can play midfield and defence.

Achievements:
2008 Victoria Metro Representative
2008 Draft Camp Attendee
2008 TAC Cup Coaches Player of the Year
2008 TAC Cup Team of the year
2008 Eastern Ranges Best and Fairest
2008 Eastern Ranges Captain

Rory Sloane - Tac Cup statistics 2006 – 2008: http://www.sportingpulse.com/team_i...S&pID=149140594&client=1-3020-0-67827-8054968

Sloane Claims 2008 Tac Cup Coaches Award: http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_...task=DETAIL&articleID=6603642&sectionID=69677

Draft Camp Results: http://www.afl.com.au/News/NEWSARTICLE/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=68589

NAB Under 18 National Championships – Rory Sloane highlights: http://au.youtube.com/watch?v=cMY131FTEbQ

Eastern Ranges Individual Player Highlights: http://videos.rangesfc.com.au/1

Rory Sloane Highlights

Round 5 v Geelong Falcons: http://videos.rangesfc.com.au/video/57
Round 6 v North Ballarat: http://videos.rangesfc.com.au/video/78
Round 8 v Calder Cannons: http://videos.rangesfc.com.au/video/122
Round 9 v Bendigo Pioneers: http://videos.rangesfc.com.au/video/143
Round 10 v Northern Territory: http://videos.rangesfc.com.au/video/167
Round 13 v Western Jets: http://videos.rangesfc.com.au/video/237
Round 15 v Gippsland Power: http://videos.rangesfc.com.au/video/285
Round 16 v Geelong Falcons: http://videos.rangesfc.com.au/video/305
Round 17 v Murray Bushrangers: http://videos.rangesfc.com.au/video/346
Round 19 v Northern Knights: http://videos.rangesfc.com.au/video/369

Thanks to Arden Street.

Many thanks to the poster Arden Street for his links on Sloane.

Here's the one on winning the 2008 TAC Coaches Award

Sloane claims 2008 TAC Coaches Award

By Travis Parnaby

TAC Team of the Year member and Eastern Ranges captain Rory Sloane has capped a magnificent year by taking home the 2008 TAC Coaches Award.

Sloane, a versatile half-forward and midfielder, won with 30 votes ahead of North Ballarat Rebels defender Andrew Hooper on 27 votes.

Sloane's coach Shane Watson heaped praise on his charge when he delivered a snapshot of his excellent year.

“His first few games before the national carnival was on, I’d say he was more a solid player Sloaney than anything else before he got himself in the Vic Metro squad," Watson reflected.

“With us he played midfield and forward and David Dickson thought he’d be pretty useful down back.

“Over the carnival he was one of the better players for Vic Metro playing on some really big names from WA and the like.

“When he got back from the carnival, he had a spring in his step and I guess the reason why I voted for Sloaney so much, was his ability to have an impact on a game – whether it be his leadership or the way he went about it in and under, going forward kicking goals. He leads both on and off the field and set’s a great example for everybody else.”

Last year Matthew Kreuzer took home the TAC Coaches Award, one that serves as a point of difference but no less distinguished to the Morrish medal.

“It’s a very prestigious award, it’s one that’s highly regarded,” Vic Country coach Robert Hyde said.

“This comes from the people that give specific tasks and jobs to players and value them as members of the team.”

Sloane was indeed chuffed and said he enjoyed greatly his time at Eastern.

“Thank you to all the coaches. It’s been a great year and over my three years it’s been a really enjoyable time," Sloane said.

"Shane Watson as coach… and Ian Flack, region manager they have really helped me."

Rory Sloane - Sounds like a very genuine, good bloke - You can see why Neil Craig and co. were so impressed with his character.

"I'm absolutely STOKED to be coming to Adelaide"

Heres the 5AA interview

Rory Sloane.mp3 - 1.09MB

From Inside Football Magazine;
Rory Sloane - medium defender, Eastern Ranges, VIC
DOB:17/3/90 Ht:182cm Wt:76kg
"Rory won our best and fairest and had an excellent year including playing every game for Vic Metro. He's a midfielder who is just an all-round good player. His special thing is his kicking, which is just superb, and he's also an exceptional competitor. Got good pace and is very good one-on-one. He just wins contests basically."
- Eastern Ranges region manager Ian Flack
Vic Metro rep 2008. From Upwey-Tecoma FC.

Re: New Player - Rory Sloane

http://bigpondvideo.com/afl/93477 - press conference with Rory Sloane (and Will Young)

For those who can't access the site I figured I'd do a transcript since I wasn't doing anything this morning anyway. I'll try to do a precise transcipt, including ums and yeahs just because that's the kind of guy I am!!

Rory: Um, yeah well, it's obviously pretty full on, it's a bit different to Melbourne, weather and people that um, nah it's been awesome. Um, a lot of the guys are so friendly and, yeah I get along and they're all coming around and making us feel welcome so it's, yeah, it's really good to be around this club. Very professional.
Reporter: Can I just ask one thing in the predraft questionnaires and stuff, "what's your weakness"... "Kryptonite". That's not a bad comeback to anyone that asks you a question like...
Rory: *laughs* I can honestly not remember saying that, I don't know how that.. that came out, alls I said was I don't want to expose my weaknesses to my enemies so I don't know how that got out anyway.
Reporter: What about your... you seem like a pretty confident sort of fellow, you probably have no trouble, you'd think, settling in to an environment like this; or has it been a bit of a challenge for you?
Rory: Um, no look, I like this sort of environment and um, the people around me make it... make it easy to settle in as well, so it, um, yeah, it's been good and no, I don't really have too much trouble trying to make friends so I'm normally a pretty outgoing person.
Reporter: Can I just ask you if - people out there, obviously most Crows fans won't know you - how would you describe yourself as a person and as a player?
Rory: Um, I obviously like to have a bit of fun, um, but like, on the footy field I'm.. I'm pretty serious, all... very competitive on the footy.. footy field and um, yeah but otherwise, yeah I'm... I'm just a fun-loving person, pretty easy going.
Reporter: "Golden Child?" Where'd that come from?
Rory: "Golden Child", that came from a couple of kids from back at my local school *name* (I didn't catch it) - they, um, they came up with that a couple of years ago, just, I don't know how it came up, but that was just a couple of friends being.. being hooligans I suppose.
Reporter: Do you agree with it?
Rory: Don't... nah! Not at all! *laughs* It's just, they only kept calling that, I think, the golden locks. It was Goldilocks for a while, then it just sorta, um, evolved into Golden Child.
Reporter: Where do you like playing, mate? Obviously you play, uh, on-ball, in defence and up forward, uh, they tell me you've played on Yarran at full back in, uh, in one of the under 18 games. Have you got a favourite spot?
Rory: Yeah, um, look, I honestly like playing anywhere, but prefer a spot obviously on ball. I like, um, sorta being more of that inside player, getting the hands out to, and feeding it to the running players, so that's obviously my preferred spot but um, obviously I'll... I'll play anywhere that's... anywhere on the footy field with an... a whole teams enjoyment to play.
Reporter: How'd you go on Yarran?
Rory: Yeah, good, I thought I did pretty well for the first three quarters, I think he slipped away from me in the last quarter a little bit, but um, besides that I thought... I thought I held him pretty strongly, so, um, kept him down to pretty minimal possession, I sort of.. bit attacking out of defence at well, so, that's what I sort of try to focus on, shut him down first, and then run... run off him a bit.
Reporter: Does that really show you can make it, because obviously he was taken pick 6 by Carlton?
Rory: Yeah well, I... Yeah well, I, um, I believe I can make it, I believe I can, sort of, match it with... with um... with some of the best players like... like Yarran, he was, like, Dicko sort of came up and asked me if I wanted the job and I said yeah straight away, so I knew it was, sort of, an important role for the team, and I, um, so yeah, I like those sort of roles and, yeah, playing someone like that... it's a good experience as well.
Reporter: Did he get a goal on you?
Rory: Yeah, he kicked a couple in the last quarter, um...
Reporter: Right, when the game was already shot...
Rory: Yeah, the game was already a bit shot, but, yeah he kicked a couple then.
Reporter: Can I just ask you, pre-draft, mate, how much interest there was in you, from through, you know, what your manager might have passed on to you, or how many clubs interviewed you, and all that sort of stuff?
Rory: No, my manager didn't pass on much to me but, um, like, obviously I went to draft camp and had a chat to a few clubs up at draft camp, um, you can never tell who is interested and who's not interested, so, I was sorta just hoping - on the day, I didn't have a clue where I was going to go, and I'm glad I ended up here anyway.
Reporter: Could be a bit of a tag and run-with role coming up here at Adelaide with Shirls and Michael Doughty perhaps towards the end of their careers, is that somewhere you can see you can build a career there?
Rory: Um, yeah obviously, yeah I would, um, I... I like to play a bit more attacking as well, but if... wherever I could get a spot, I'd be more than happy to play, so obviously Craig and that will help me work on my game and develop me to where they want me as well, so, no I look forward to playing anywhere.

haha, you should make the Halo Golden, that looks like a steaming ****.:eek:

Funnily enough, not the first time I've been told that ;) Originally it was golden but it blended in to his hair too much. Also, I suck utterly at Photoshop.

I think I have a version of that photo without the halo at all though, I might just use that in the future.

Edit: Here we go, the Golden Child sans the dogshit on the head!!

sloane_choir_boy_2.jpg

I would wack mine on private before the draft if i thought i was any chance. Then again i have the insight provided by bay 13 posters at the expense of poor old Jimmy Sellar.

Not that my myspace photos are suss or anything:p