Post Your Team Here

Feb 23, 2008
This post
Just thought a thread like this would prevent heaps of sub-threads being made for individual teams. Even if you've posted your side in another thread already, post'em here!

EDIT: PLEASE POST TEAMS HORIZONTALLY (see below) saves space and we can see more teams more easily. Cheers!!

First Draft Team:

B: Hodge -- Cornes -- Adcock -- Malceski -- Myers -- J.Smith (Kang) -- Petterd (Em: Hurley & Rance)
M: Judd -- SBlack -- Cross -- Cousins -- Hasleby -- Rich (Em: Ziebell & Dangerfield)
R: Hille -- Warnock (EM: Mumford & Sellar)
F: Pavlich -- Franklin -- Deledio -- Walker -- Lucas -- Neagle -- Watts (Em: Sidebottom & Gumbleton)

I'll admit my weakest area is my rucks, still contemplating on having Cox and a cheap 2nd yearer as back-up. Can proabably save a few $$$ by buying cheaper bench players, but havent done my research yet in regard to this. Still tossing up about Walker & Cousins (as i like many, thought he would be 50k cheaper) and my last 2 forwards.... But feel free to pick away.

Good idea mate.
Here's what I've got at the moment:

Defenders
Goddard
Newman
P. Burgoyne
Adcock
R. Clarke
Malceski
S. Hill
INT - A. Smith, Suban

Mids
Judd
Selwood
Kerr
Cotchin
Coughlan
Rich
INT - Beams, Blease

Rucks
Cox
Hille
INT - Vickery, Trengrove

Forwards
Pavlich
Giansiracusa
S. Johnson
Porplyzia
Fevola
Higgins
Watts
INT - Ziebell, Sidebottom

I'm pretty happy with mine at the moment, although I think I'm a bit top heavy right now with a bit too many kids starting.
Any opinions/tips?

Just thought a thread like this would prevent heaps of sub-threads being made for individual teams. Even if you've posted your side in another thread already, post'em here!

First Draft Team:

B: Hodge -- Cornes -- Adcock -- Malceski -- Myers -- J.Smith (Kang) -- Petterd (Em: Hurley & Rance)
M: Judd -- SBlack -- Cross -- Cousins -- Hasleby -- Rich (Em: Ziebell & Dangerfield)
R: Hille -- Warnock (EM: Mumford & Sellar)
F: Pavlich -- Franklin -- Deledio -- Walker -- Lucas -- Neagle -- Watts (Em: Sidebottom & Gumbleton)

I'll admit my weakest area is my rucks, still contemplating on having Cox and a cheap 2nd yearer as back-up. Can proabably save a few $$$ by buying cheaper bench players, but havent done my research yet in regard to this. Still tossing up about Walker & Cousins (as i like many, thought he would be 50k cheaper) and my last 2 forwards.... But feel free to pick away.

Defence: Strong, however downgrading Hodge and trading for him a few rounds in is always an option, he's bound to be cheaper, that way you could upgrade warnock or say Neagle.

Mids: Almost too strong, but should score high, Cousins is probably priced a bit high but he is bound to score well.

Rucks: Hille is a good get, however Warnock might be a gamble.

Forwards:
Strong until Neagle. Potential, but could be upgraded possibly. I think Gumbleton will overtake Neagle this year at the Bombers.

That's my thoughts, make of it what you will.

P.S I have a very young side too so don't worry about too much youth.

Good idea mate.

Defenders
Goddard
Newman
P. Burgoyne
Adcock
R. Clarke
Malceski
S. Hill
INT - A. Smith, Suban

Mids
Judd
Selwood
Kerr
Cotchin
Coughlan
Rich
INT - Beams, Blease

Rucks
Cox
Hille
INT - Vickery, Trengrove

Forwards
Pavlich
Giansiracusa
S. Johnson
Porplyzia
Fevola
Higgins
Watts
INT - Ziebell, Sidebottom

I'm pretty happy with mine at the moment, although I think I'm a bit top heavy right now with a bit too many kids starting.
Any opinions/tips?

I'm liking it. Similar to mine, going with youth. First team I've seen without Deledio in it :p

Benches look quite strong as well which is important. Porps is the wildcard, as is Coughlan.

My tip: Downgrade your emergency ruckman, I have Cox and Hille as well and had Vickery and McEvoy but downgraded them to Meesen and Keefe (will probably change) just to get some extra cash for the rest of the field because those two are pretty set.

My team currently: Will probably change overnight :p

Backs:

Peter Burgoyne
Harry Taylor
Xavier Ellis
Dale Morris
Beau Waters
Ed Barlow
Ricky Petterd

Midfield:

Joel Corey (VC)
Scott Pendlebury
Sam Mitchell
Jared Brennan
Trent Cotchin
Daniel Rich

Rucks:

Dean Cox (C)
David Hille

Forwards:

Lance Franklin
Brett Deledio
Alan Didak
Steve Johnson
Travis Cloke
Sean Rusling
Chris Yarran

Bench:

Stephen Hill
Jarrad Blight
Dayne Beams
Ranga Ediriwickrama
John Meesen
Lachlan Keefe
Steele Sidebottom
Taylor Walker

I'm a bit biased, but hey, who isn't? :p

Probably looking to downgrade Taylor to upgrade Petterd and Waters while downgrading maybe Johnson or Didak, I'll have a think...

Good idea mate.

Defenders: Goddard - Newman - P. Burgoyne - Adcock - R. Clarke - Malceski - S. Hill - INT - A. Smith, Suban
Mids: Judd - Selwood - Kerr - Cotchin - Coughlan - Rich - INT - Beams, Blease
Rucks: Cox - Hille - INT - Vickery, Trengrove
Forwards: Pavlich - Giansiracusa - S. Johnson - Porplyzia - Fevola - Higgins - Watts - INT - Ziebell, Sidebottom

Any opinions/tips?

Really like your backline (except Raph, if theres anyway you can squeeze out an extra 22k to get mcphee i think he'd be a better option; maybe downgrade burgoyne for someone like mackie/birchall/guerra then use the extra cash to do this??)

Your midfield's probably in your best 2 areas. The only one id be wary of (and it pains me to say it) is cotchin, only because i can see him dropping in price a little before he goes up. Don't get me wrong, i think he will have a massive year - just something to think about.

Rucks - if you can fit Cox and Hille into your side, then you cant ask for much more. Back on the Cotchin point, maybe you could trade down hille for someone like Ottens/Simmonds then upgrade the Cotch to Welsh/Griffen/Pearce/J.Lewis?? Again just a thought)

Fowards look good too. Not a fan of the Fev, coz he only kicks big bags against the sh*t teams (i think between half and two 3rds of his goals came against Collingwood, Essendon or Melbourne last year). Higgins is the interesting one. I thought his breakthrough year would've been last year. But still value for money with him. You've probably got the two best emg forwards on paper as well. Cant really comment on the other kids though, still gotta do some research.

Overall a good side.

This is my team in the early stages.

The forward line is dodgey and needs fixing but is only a first draft.

Backs -

S.Fisher. C.Cornes, Maleski

Gilbee, Newman, Waite, Petterd

Emerg - Suban, Hurley

Mids -

Dal Santo, Cross, Couglan

Judd, Bartel, Rich

Emerg - Davenport, Dangerfield

Rucks - Cox, Symonds

Emerg -

Currie, McEvoy

Forwards -

Harvey, Deledio, Pavlich

Sidebottom, Yaran, Ballantyne, Gumbleton

Emerg - T.Walker, M.Brown

Opinions, advice? My forward line definitely needs some! :eek:

My team currently: Will probably change overnight :p

Backs: Peter Burgoyne - Harry Taylor - Xavier Ellis - Dale Morris - Beau Waters - Ed Barlow - Ricky Petterd
Midfield: Joel Corey (VC) - Scott Pendlebury - Sam Mitchell - Jared Brennan - Trent Cotchin - Daniel Rich
Rucks: Dean Cox (C) - David Hille
Forwards: Lance Franklin - Brett Deledio - Alan Didak - Steve Johnson - Travis Cloke - Sean Rusling - Chris Yarran

Bench: Stephen Hill - Jarrad Blight - Dayne Beams - Ranga Ediriwickrama - John Meesen - Lachlan Keefe - Steele Sidebottom - Taylor Walker

I'm a bit biased, but hey, who isn't? :p

Probably looking to downgrade Taylor to upgrade Petterd and Waters while downgrading maybe Johnson or Didak, I'll have a think...

Backline very good Waters is the only concern. Perssonally, id rather have Dempsey ($290k) or Gilbert ($320k) in my side. Otherwise, if you can somehow squeeze out $20k, at $324,400, i reckon Jacob Surjan offers a bit of value.

Top midfield, Brennan had an outstanding finish to 08, but has been renowned for his inconsistency. We'll have to wait and see though. I'd rather have Hayes or Selwood than Mitchell as well.

Rucks are tops, but Travis Cloke let me down last year. So i'd only say be wary of him.

Other than that, pretty stellar side.

Backs: Malceski, Embley, C. Cornes, Adock, Marty Clarke, Birchall, Houlihan ( D. O'Keefe and Rance)

Mids: Judd, Gibbs, Cooney, Kerr, Hasleby, Rich (Sidebottom and Davenport)

Rucks: Cox and Ottens (Trengove and Sellar)

Forwards: Riewoldt, Franklin, Lucas, Didak, Higgins, Vespremi, Walker (Mitch Brown and Ballantyne)

What do you reckon guys, I'm pretty happy but its bound to change after the NAB cup.

Cash cows are still up in the air..................................................

This is my team in the early stages.

The forward line is dodgey and needs fixing but is only a first draft.

Backs - S.Fisher. C.Cornes, Maleski, Gilbee, Newman, Waite, Petterd - Emerg - Suban, Hurley

Mids - Dal Santo, Cross, Couglan, Judd, Bartel, Rich - Emerg - Davenport, Dangerfield

Rucks - Cox, Simmonds - Emerg - Currie, McEvoy

Forwards - Harvey, Deledio, Pavlich, Sidebottom, Yaran, Ballantyne, Gumbleton - Emerg - T.Walker, M.Brown

Opinions, advice? My forward line definitely needs some! :eek:

You've spent too much on your backline (total: $3,422,00 appx). Try and stay as close to 3mill as you can. I know its tricky as there's bugger all under 350k with any value, but youve gotta slash at least 200k from your backs. The more you can cut off here, the more $$$ you'll have to fix ur forward line.

Dal Santo screwed a few SC's last year, so id be careful with his selection. i reckon guys like SThompson/Swan/Hayes are better choices for the same price, or if you want to save some cash, have a gander at someone like Selwood ($529k), Richo ($525k) or M.McVeigh ($515k).

The Cox/Simmonds combo worked well for many last year, but i think for an extra $2,000 Ottens is the better 2nd ruck option.

The better your can fix up your other problems (ie. save more money) the more you can improve your forward line..

Oh and your formatting for your post sucks!! :mad:

This is my first-up team and will obviously be chopping and changing.

Defenders
Scarlett
McPhee
McLeod
Mundy
Ryder
Croad
Rivers
Suban (res)
Broughton (res)

Midfielders
K Cornes
Firrito
Mitchell
Schammer
Masten
Ablett
Rich (res)
De Boer (res)

Ruckmen
Cox
Warnock
Wood (res)
Sullivan (res)

Forwards
Milne
McKinley
Sylvia
Brett Ebert
Higgins
Williams
Pavlich
Ballantyne (res)
Gumbleton (res)

Obviously forward line is week at the moment. Have taken a chance on some young players and hopefully they get some game time.

Thoughts?

Backs: Malceski, Embley, C. Cornes, Adock, Marty Clarke, Birchall, Houlihan ( D. O'Keefe and Rance)

Forwards: Riewoldt, Lucas, Didak, Higgins, Vespremi, Walker (Mitch Brown and Ballantyne)

What do you reckon guys, I'm pretty happy but its bound to change after the NAB cup.

Cash cows are still up in the air..................................................

One of the sharpest sides ive seen so far. Not much to comment on. Just be careful of Embley, Higgins and Vespremi... But a top knotch side :thumbsu:

Oh, and KUDOS FOR POSTING YOUR SIDE HORIZONTALLY. :)

Backs
Adcock , Dempsey , S.FIsher , R.Houlihan , S.Buckley , C.Johnson ,
Cornes , (S.Hill , M.Hurley)

Mids
D.Rich , Judd , S.Higgins, Bartel , T.Boak , C.Masten,
(D.Beams , J.Ziebell)

Rucks
D.Cox , D.Hille ( D.Currie , B.McCulloch)

Forwards
A.lovett, M.Pav ,N.Brown (rich) , S.Sidebottom , Yarren , Staker , Deledio
(T.Walker , S.Gumby)

$97,400 left still bit a work to do , thoughts on the team atm

This is my first-up team and will obviously be chopping and changing.

Defenders
Scarlett
McPhee
McLeod
Mundy
Ryder
Croad
Rivers
Suban (res)
Broughton (res)

Midfielders
K Cornes
Firrito
Mitchell
Schammer
Masten
Ablett
Rich (res)
De Boer (res)

Ruckmen
Cox
Warnock
Wood (res)
Sullivan (res)

Forwards
Milne
McKinley
Sylvia
Brett Ebert
Higgins
Williams
Pavlich
Ballantyne (res)
Gumbleton (res)

Obviously forward line is week at the moment. Have taken a chance on some young players and hopefully they get some game time.

Thoughts?

Ummmm......... Have a look at some of the other SC teams in this forum and start again...... :(

Last year I went for all the big names and it didn't go quite as planned, almost came last, so I thought I'd try something different this year.

But fair enough, I don't like a lot of things about that team either.

Backs
Adcock , Dempsey , S.FIsher , R.Houlihan , S.Buckley , C.Johnson ,
Cornes , (S.Hill , M.Hurley)

Mids
D.Rich , Judd , S.Higgins, Bartel , T.Boak , C.Masten,
(D.Beams , J.Ziebell)

Rucks
D.Cox , D.Hille ( D.Currie , B.McCulloch)

Forwards
A.lovett, M.Pav ,N.Brown (rich) , S.Sidebottom , Yarren , Staker , Deledio
(T.Walker , S.Gumby)

$97,400 left still bit a work to do , thoughts on the team atm

You only have that much left?? Crikey!!

But seriously, your backs, mids and rucks are good, but in order to get your forwards right, (and this might be a bit harsh), id start over. But, when choosing your side, choose 2-3 elites in each category (1 in rucks), then, when deciding on the remaining players for each category, start with the least expensive first. You'll find you'll have money to spare rather than coming up short.

One of the sharpest sides ive seen so far. Not much to comment on. Just be careful of Embley, Higgins and Vespremi... But a top knotch side :thumbsu:
thanks mate yeah the forward line is the main concern .... although I did forget to include Buddy Franklin in that list. :thumbsu:

Forwards: Riewoldt, Lucas, Didak, Higgins, Vespremi, Walker (Mitch Brown and Ballantyne)

does that fit within the salary cap? my god thats gooood....verrryyy nice :thumbsu:

alright guys, i just had a quick look at the players for this year and this is what i came up with

Defenders: Gilbee, Malceski, Johncock, H Shaw, Adcock, Petterd, J Smith (kangas).
Subs: Trengrove and Suban

Midfielders: Sewell, Swan, Judd, C Cornes, Cotchin, Rich
Subs: Beams and Swift

Rucks: Cox, Hille
Subs Vickary and Currie

Forewards: Delidio, Fevola, M Williams, S Johnson, Davey, Lucas, Sidebottom
Subs: Gumbleton and Ziebell

i think theres a fair bit of work to be done on that forewardline and i would appreciate any advice

Well in that case, its the best side ive seen :) Moving Higgins to your 6th forward and Vezi to ur 7th makes it look heaps better.

How do u think mine shapes up (first post) ??
haha awesome!

Yeah your side is pretty similar to what mine was 24 hours ago. I think Hodge is a bit too expensive at this stage, so I downgraded him for Embley and used the spare 140k elswhere. Also, I reckon Kerr is a better bet than Cousins at that price, Cuz has suspect hamstrings and who knows, he might relapse with the drugs again. He's a big risk.

As a Melbourne fan, I don't think Watts will play much this year. He's still in year 12 and very skinny. I may be wrong. Petterd is a pretty good choice although a bit injury prone!

Looks like a fairly decent team overall!

alright guys, i just had a quick look at the players for this year and this is what i came up with

Defenders: Gilbee, Malceski, Johncock, H Shaw, Adcock, Petterd, J Smith (kangas).
Subs: Trengrove and Suban

Midfielders: Sewell, Swan, Judd, C Cornes, Cotchin, Rich
Subs: Beams and Swift

Rucks: Cox, Hille
Subs Vickary and Currie

Forewards: Delidio, Fevola, M Williams, S Johnson, Davey, Lucas, Sidebottom
Subs: Gumbleton and Ziebell

i think theres a fair bit of work to be done on that forewardline and i would appreciate any advice

Top backline, but be wary of Stiffy and Shaw - both f**ked a lot of ppl last year. i can see them both bouncing back though, just need heath to learn how to break a tag and for Craig David to remember that Stiffy is a backman, not a floating forward.

Have no problem with your mids and rucks :thumbsu:

As ive posted before, im not a massive fan of the Fev, as i feel he only scores big against sh*t teams or in big rivalry clashes (look at his Bombers, Pies & Dees goals and SC scores from 08) although he did kick 7 against the hawks in rnd 22 (again, i felt he fired only when he had to, and is therefore not a reliable SC player). Williams and Davey are also a tad 'iffy' (if its ALWYN davey its a good choice). If you can muster up an extra $2,000, i think Hawkins and/or Mitch Morton are better value and have more potential to increase $$

haha awesome!

Yeah your side is pretty similar to what mine was 24 hours ago. I think Hodge is a bit too expensive at this stage, so I downgraded him for Embley and used the spare 140k elswhere. Also, I reckon Kerr is a better bet than Cousins at that price, Cuz has suspect hamstrings and who knows, he might relapse with the drugs again. He's a big risk.

As a Melbourne fan, I don't think Watts will play much this year. He's still in year 12 and very skinny. I may be wrong. Petterd is a pretty good choice although a bit injury prone!

Looks like a fairly decent team overall!

Cheers! Yeah, Watts was just a sort of a quick 'whose my last forward gunna be' choice. Interesting thoughts on Kerr, Cousins and Hodge. I reckon i might just have a tinker now and see what happens..... Thanks