red+black

30k Posts 10k Posts
Jul 12, 2001
Gold Coast
If anyone hears any mention of Grant Thomas on any show, from callers or presenters, please post the discussion here.

Re: The SEN Thread 5

I suggest anyone who disagrees with this decision, re: Thomas, should email the station.....not sure what it will achieve, but at least they will know how we feel..

Stupid move SEN:mad::thumbsdown:

Just listening to the GBU crew. Obviously they, like all other SEN presenters, have been told to not comment about the Grant Thomas situation. What a disgrace :thumbsdown:. Caller rings in to talk about it, GBU crew almost act as if they hadn't heard the news.

Just announced as a warning to callers, remainder of the show is (and I knew what was coming) a

GRANT THOMAS FREE ZONE

This is where 3AW get it right. At the start of Derryn Hinch's show yesterday he went into a huge editorial slagging Rex Hunt over his road rage conviction last week.

This brushing stuff under the carpet stuff stinks.

Seriously some of you people need to sit down and have a think about this.

1. The article in the HUN was written by Mark Robinson - one of Grant Thomas's best mates in the media. Now I may be a bit slow but don't you think he just might have got the major part of his article from Grant himself.....

2. If he was sacked because of being critical of the AFL ask yourself this question - Why the F**k is Patrick Smith still allowed on the station then ????
He is always critical off the AFL to the point of being boring.

3. Talkback listeners are forever critical of the AFL. Wouldn't you think they would be censored.

4. Mark Fine is certainly no AFL apologist. Why is he still working ?

5. There is actually a global financial crisis going on and Thomas may well be getting good money from SEN. Hmm, its a long shot here - but maybe, just maybe SEN did cut him because they couldn't afford him any more. I mean, its not as if any other companies are laying off staff. :rolleyes::rolleyes:

6. Thomas has a well documented history of spinning his side of the story when things go pear shaped for him.

2. If he was sacked because of being critical of the AFL ask yourself this question - Why the F**k is Patrick Smith still allowed on the station then ????
He is always critical off the AFL to the point of being boring.

You wha wha wha what???

Fatprick being critical of the AFL? I'd like to see that one day.

He is so far up there a**e its not funny.

You wha wha wha what???

You can't be serious ?

Of course he is critical of them. Mind you he is critical about everything so the message gets lost sometimes.

You can't be serious ?

Of course he is critical of them. Mind you he is critical about everything so the message gets lost sometimes.

How often do you hear him defending the AFL's expansion into QLD and NSW?

And supporting their botched "$100M" relocation plan for NMFC (that was really only about $30M once you looked at it).

He goes the easy targets does Fat, not the big heads at City Hall who pay for his lunch.

And supporting their botched "$100M" relocation plan for NMFC (that was really only about $30M once you looked at it).

He goes the easy targets does Fat, not the big heads at City Hall who pay for his lunch.

The first two are just opinions which he is entitled to.

However he is a regular critic of the match review panel and umpiring in general. And lets not forget the derision he heaped upon the AFL about Ben Cousins.

Look, I'm not defending Smith - if it came down to a choice between him and Thomas I would prefer GT - but from my point of view it seems logical that Thomas was sacked because of the reason that was actually stated, ie costs and not the reason the conspiracy theorists seem to be fond of.

You wha wha wha what???

He is so far up there a**e its not funny.

You need to open you blue & white eyes and your blue & white ears.

Yes, Patrick Smith has defended the expansion in to QLD & NSW, and also supported NMFC going to Gold Coast, both matters very close to your heart.

But if you seriously think that Patrick has not criticised the AFL in the past, then you obviously have not read many of his articles over the years.

Just off the top of my head

- he was the only journo to criticise the MRP when it was 1st introduced
- he has taken the AFL to task over it's drug policy
- he criticised the AFL for not asking Carlton to remove Pratt

Now you may not agree with his views on those topics, but please do not say that he does not criticise the AFL

You need to open you blue & white eyes and your blue & white ears.

Yes, Patrick Smith has defended the expansion in to QLD & NSW, and also supported NMFC going to Gold Coast, both matters very close to your heart.

But if you seriously think that Patrick has not criticised the AFL in the past, then you obviously have not read many of his articles over the years.

Just off the top of my head

- he was the only journo to criticise the MRP when it was 1st introduced
- he has taken the AFL to task over it's drug policy
- he criticised the AFL for not asking Carlton to remove Pratt

Now you may not agree with his views on those topics, but please do not say that he does not criticise the AFL

The line was that Fat was critical of the AFL to the point of being boring, and my point still stands.

The head up the a**e line was the emotional mayo on top.

The line was that Fat was critical of the AFL to the point of being boring, and my point still stands.

So the question is for all those who believe Thomas's piece in the HUN today (lets face it, Robbo did the ghost writing) ?

If he was sacked for being critical of the AFL over something as trivial as umpiring then why has not Patrick Smith been given the same courtesy when he has been far more outspoken to a greater proportion of the population over a sustained period of time on a number of topics ?

Well I read it differently.

This is what you wrote

Well he is critical of the AFL, just not criticial on the topics that you'd like him to be critical of.

He goes the easy targets does Fat, not the big heads at City Hall who pay for his lunch

Who are the easy targets in the 3 examples I gave.

He was the No.1 critic of Adrian Anderson

This is where 3AW get it right. At the start of Derryn Hinch's show yesterday he went into a huge editorial slagging Rex Hunt over his road rage conviction last week.

This brushing stuff under the carpet stuff stinks.
Exactly! This really pisses me off about SEN. It hurts their credibility. Weak! Weak station -- weak presenters.
It's a big footy story (inside back page of the Herald-Sun), and they're trying to ignore it. It's like the Beva thing all over, but this is bigger, coz of the suggestion of AFL censorship.

Well I read it differently.

This is what you wrote

Well he is critical of the AFL, just not criticial on the topics that you'd like him to be critical of.

He goes the easy targets does Fat, not the big heads at City Hall who pay for his lunch

Who are the easy targets in the 3 examples I gave.

He was the No.1 critic of Adrian Anderson

Fine, you've showed me some examples of him being anti-AFL.

Looking through his recent back catalog, out of his last 8 articles about AFL and its interests, I can count 5 articles with pro-AFL sentiment and 0 against it.

Right or wrong, that's where I am coming from.

http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/story/0,25197,25423013-12270,00.html

http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/story/0,25197,25435362-12270,00.html

http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/story/0,25197,25410912-12270,00.html

http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/story/0,25197,25405933-12270,00.html

http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/story/0,25197,25440162-12270,00.html

Looking through his recent back catalog, out of his last 8 articles about AFL and its interests, I can count 5 articles with pro-AFL sentiment and 0 against it.

Yes, I agree, recently his articles have been pro AFL.

I also went to The Australian website, but his articles do not go far enough back to reproduce them.

We will agree to disagree, but my point is that Patrick can not be accused of bowing to the AFL. When he has an opinion, he certainly sticks to it. He may just put his point across a little differently to Grant Thomas.

Did Turfy mention it? I'd be really disappointed if he didn't, espeically considering the way he left 3UZ

It was discussed, but via a talkback caller asking KB if he could. Here's how it went down:

Talkback Caller Geoff: Just before I get on to Butch (jumps trainer, “Butch” Londregan - which may be how the caller got through) Kev, do you mind if I make one comment about Grant Thomas?

KB: No, you can make any comment you like, Geoff

Geoff: Just on Grant - now I’m a Pies supporter and I sent a text in earlier. He got my goat when he went on about Josh [Fraser], but mate, that’s entertainment. That’s radio. That’s why I really enjoyed Grant Thomas. And I just reckon if it’s because of financial reasons mate, I reckon there’s about five that should’ve went before Grant, as I honestly believe he’s sensational.

Turfy: I’m sittin’ opposite one of them :D

KB: Well I don’t know, I don’t know, ah, what anyone’s financial, ah, dealings are, but I’m only telling you what has been passed on, ah, to me this morning. I only found out this morning. And ah-

Turfy: It was just in the papers this morning that it was for his comments, and I can’t believe that anyone in radio would be dismissed for their comments (sarcastic tone in second clause)

KB: Well that’s rubbish, Doc

Turfy: It would never - (KB talks over Turfy creating inaudibility)

KB: No-one has ever tried to gag anyone on this program, Doc. Let me tell you that

Turfy: What about at other stations?!

[Brief silence]

Turfy: Didn’t think [laughs] anyone’s been given the heave-ho from?-

KB: Well, I think a couple of stations tried to gag you, Doc.

Turfy: Not possible. I wouldn’t hear of it (facetiously)

KB: I think a couple of stations that you worked at in the past tried to gag you.

[Turfy tries to speak but KB drowns him out]

KB: As I said to one of our listeners before, Geoff, that on-one has ever come to me on this program or any of the people that appear on this program and has tried to gag him [Thomas?] about anything that they’ve [?] got to say (sic)

Turfy: Hmmm

KB: That has never happened, Doc

Turfy: I’m not suggesting for one second it is, Kevin. I was being flippant, given that I’ve [laughs] suffered a fate along the lines that some people are suggesting happened to Grant - at another radio station that we both used to work for. Many many years ago, Kevin. When you had hair. Actually you didn’t have hair.

KB: [ KB uses hair bit to segue out of topic] Ahm, I might try and do that hair transplants. Everyone’s getting hair transplants thing, aren’t they at the moment?

Turfy: Can I say, just while I’m on talking-

KB: No, I’m taking a break, coz I’ve gotta come back with our callers

Turfy: I’m on a roll

KB: 94921116 - and then you can be on a roll

Turfy: Who’s running this show?

(After the break, Dr. Turf answers to caller Geoff’s comments on Racing Victoria’s charging of trainer Londregan with a typical pull-no-punches rant that might explain why the Doc is no longer at that “racing” radio station)

Let me just give you a little bit of the background here as well.

The final day, Thursday, last week at Warrnambool was a sensational day. […] How Racing Victoria deemed it sensible to make that statement that the immediate suspension of jumps racing before that race meeting had even finished last Thursday, was an absolute disgrace. They ought to be ashamed of themselves, Racing Victoria, for making that decision there. They killed a wonderful day for that community, for that town, for all racing people with that absurdly ill-timed statement.

And I’ll tell you what else motivated that statement was the racing minister, Mr. Hulls supposedly ringing Rob Hines, the CEO of Racing Victoria, and telling him that if you don’t suspend jumps racing immediately I’m going to revoke the licences of all race tracks that stage jumps racing.

Rob Hulls, pushing his own personal agenda, attempting to make it sort of policy. Keep ya stinkin’ nose out of it, Mr. Hulls.

Racing Victoria and Rob Hulls have been millstones around the racing industry’s neck for ten years. They have failed miserably at virtually everything they’ve done at racing. And they KILLED the Warrnambool Cup carnival last Thursday with that absurd statement that they made there last week. The oughta be ashamed of themselves, the two of them.

The reason Dr. Turf left 3UZ was supposedly over a financial situation. Go figure.

Gold :p:pYes let's get back to what this threads about :thumbsu:

Yeah!

Rubbo light-heartedly last week also brought up the topic of Lance Franklin's hot girlfriend maybe putting "Buddy" off his game, which left Doran lost about who the women was and led Rubbo to ask, "where do you live" in regards to Doran knowing "nothing about pop culture."

In another interview with a sports magazine journalist discussing athletes' crimes off the fields of play, Doran finished by actually asking the journo about researching and getting details together for a discussion, with the words: "save me doing it."

What a head on a stick he is.

Doran finished by actually asking the journo about researching and getting details together for a discussion, with the words: "save me doing it."

What a head on a stick he is.

As has been discussed earlier, Doran has a dream team this year (because it's the "in" thing) even though he criticised a caller last year who wanted to talk Dream Team.

Anyhow, Doran actually has some "helpers" who do his dream team for him.

So, he bags a caller who wants to talk about, then because it's now popular, he has to be in on it, but cant be ****ed doing the work himself, so has someone else look after his team for him.

He really is a tosser.