Essendon vs Carlton on Friday Night

I will be there on Fri if for no better reason to see one of these 2 lose

As my hatred for Essendon is only marginally < Carl I will be barracking for the Dons. Only time I changed on that was when Fraser made that great tackle and shot both Carl and Ess flag chances with the one action, my sole moment of Carl support and pretty sweet it was.

But as much as I hate to say it you Ess supporters are dreaming if you have a list the equal of the Blues. You aint that good and unfortunately they are improving

It is important for you to get up this Friday as their run into the finals is clearly the most easy of the contenders for 3rd and 4th and a win this weekend will make them a real contender for top 4.... I feel sick after writing that.

Same old shit with Carlton supporters, I expected more from you though Thrawn. Fev normally kicks bags against us yeah, how many times have you won?

I couldn't pass on that pun. ;)

Why would it be any different this time, Essendon have come a long way since round 3, Carlton are atill the same old "Judd, Murphy, Fev" show.

Why? Because our other, 2nd tier players could actually lift defensively. Having Judd and Fevola play very well by themselves is not going to beat most teams in the competition - there has to be a team effort, an even performance. That was lacking in the past three games whereas you guys were the opposite.

Of course, I am expecting better this time - but neither team can afford to take it lightly. Last time a lot of Carlton supporters here were incredibly cocky, I would say moreso than Essendon supporters but this time it's the other way around. And just like us with Round 3, you are setting yourselves up for quite a fall. More the power to you if you win, you deservedly have bragging rights so far and you certainly will if you win on Friday... but if that doesn't happen, well, you put this on yourselves. ;)

Don't really know who the blues have beaten apart from an injury destoryed lions. Sorry blues but your still just little boys lost in the woods who are nothing better than a mid table side.

With the three number ones the only young talent and with judd and an aging fev the only old talent you guys are in for years of pretending and with a coach that i wouldn't let handle an under 9's team have fun finishing between 6 and 10 for the next 3 to 4 years.

But don't worrie you can always tank again for another few years get a couple more number 1's and do it all over again because you can't draft after the first round. Ps good luck with yarren he looks like a star......... hahahahhahahahhahahahaha
Bombers by 27

I haven't tipped us about the last 4 times vs Carlton, but am very tempted to do so this time? Why? Not because i think we have a better team/list, i agree i think Carltons team/list >> Essendons team/list, but because Knights > Ratten. Knights is a very smart, realistic coach who has set game plans for each team and knows what he's doing, whereas i think Ratten is a truly terrible coach, who looks like he's more of a supporter. He'll be the the type of coach that, whether Carlton go on to a win a premiership or whatever they do, will get credit for something he doesn't deserve - his playing list will do it for him without him.

All i know is Lloyd and Lucas still hold your forward line together and both are nearly finished, Gumbleton cant get on the park for longer than five minutes without getting injured and Neagle has the turning circle of a semi trailor! You're "young" midfield which contains Watson, Winderlich, McVeigh, Welsh, Lovett are not actually all that "young" they're in a prime age bracket all over 24. You're backline is held together by a 33 yo.

This paragraph speaks volumes IMO. I've mentioned on numerous occassions that Essendon's midfield is far from young and should be right in its prime and the Essendon supporters seem to ignore the fact. If you look at how good they are currently which is pretty much mid table, you have to ask how much upside is left in that engine room.....if they are in their peak currently then you are in trouble.....

Granted they have some young kids that can play. Yet the core of the group is that midfield along with Lloyd, Lucas and Fletcher. Where you reckon this team will be in 2 years time?

Don't really know who the blues have beaten apart from an injury destoryed lions.

Western Bulldogs and Collingwood to name two and they did it convincingly.

They play with that form on friday night, your ****ed.

and given how highly Essendon rate their team, it would be funny to see. :D

This paragraph speaks volumes IMO. I've mentioned on numerous occassions that Essendon's midfield is far from young and should be right in its prime and the Essendon supporters seem to ignore the fact. If you look at how good they are currently which is pretty much mid table, you have to ask how much upside is left in that engine room.....if they are in their peak currently then you are in trouble.....

Granted they have some young kids that can play. Yet the core of the group is that midfield along with Lloyd, Lucas and Fletcher. Where you reckon this team will be in 2 years time?

Core of the midfield? You have no idea so why even bother? In 2 years time the core of Essendons midfield will be in the prime of their careers. The oldest player in our midfield is McVeigh and he is 28 years old.

Watson, Stanton, Prismall, Lonegan, Hocking, Winderlich, Welsh, Zaharakis, Ryder, Houli, Riemers, Myers will all be in their prime or entering their prime.

Next time think before you post.

Don't really know who the blues have beaten apart from an injury destoryed lions. Sorry blues but your still just little boys lost in the woods who are nothing better than a mid table side.

Performed much, much better than you blokes. And if you think otherwise you're an absolute muppet. Destroyed Dogs and Pies, and beaten Brisbane x2 (once interstae). All top 8 sides.

You have beaten 1 current top 8 side and have been very lucky to win 2 of your wins. Add to that getting absolutely hammered by Brisbane and Geelong.

On form, we shit all over you. But as always between our two clubs, form has little to do with our encounters.

Watson is 23 - yet to peak
Winderlich 24 - yet to peak
Stanton 22 - yet to peak
Prismall 22 - yet to peak

Welsh is hitting his peak at 26, still plenty of footy ahead for him. Lovett still has another gear IMO and then there's Lonergan, Zaharakis, Reimers, Dempsey, Houli, Myers, Jetta, Hocking who are developing and inexperienced.

There is still a shite load of improvement to come I would have thought.

)
You have beaten 1 current top 8 side and have been very lucky to win 2 of your wins. Add to that getting absolutely hammered by Brisbane and Geelong.

Are you saying Carlton aren't a top 8 team? :confused::eek:

And since when did 43 points become an absolute hammering?

Performed much, much better than you blokes. And if you think otherwise you're an absolute muppet. Destroyed Dogs and Pies, and beaten Brisbane x2 (once interstae). All top 8 sides.

You have beaten 1 current top 8 side
and have been very lucky to win 2 of your wins. Add to that getting absolutely hammered by Brisbane and Geelong.

On form, we shit all over you. But as always between our two clubs, form has little to do with our encounters.

Carlton might not be very good, but don't sell yourself short, you are in the 8 for the time being at least.

Haha, oh the joys of mistakes. 2 win against top 8 sides. By 4 points each.

4 top 8 wins including 1 interstate > two top 8 wins by 4 points.

Our % proves we are better than you. You're just lucky. And i hope to Christ you don't get lucky again on Friday night.

Watson is 23 - yet to peak
Winderlich 24 - yet to peak
Stanton 22 - yet to peak
Prismall 22 - yet to peak

Welsh is hitting his peak at 26, still plenty of footy ahead for him. Lovett still has another gear IMO and then there's Lonergan, Zaharakis, Reimers, Dempsey, Houli, Myers, Jetta, Hocking who are developing and inexperienced.

There is still a shite load of improvement to come I would have thought.

Arguably, 24-28 is "peak". You have no elite midfielders, just good solid players. Will never win a premiership without elite midfielders.

And before you start, Watson definitely isn't elite. If he made AA, then i would consider him so.

Core of the midfield? You have no idea so why even bother? In 2 years time the core of Essendons midfield will be in the prime of their careers. The oldest player in our midfield is McVeigh and he is 28 years old.

Watson, Stanton, Prismall, Lonegan, Hocking, Winderlich, Welsh, Zaharakis, Ryder, Houli, Riemers, Myers will all be in their prime or entering their prime.

I have no idea? **** me.....

Your midfield is Watson, Stanton, Lovett, Winderlich, McVeigh. Prismall is the other one who could be your gem. At least you better hope so.

That midfield is average, whether you like it or not. They are all 24 or over (except for Winderlich???). They are in their prime now.....You think Watson, Lovett etc won't hit their prime for another 2 years? Delusional is the word. As for Zaharakis, Houli, Reimers.....jury is still well and truly out as to how good they will be.

Maybe you should think about it a little more. I suppose Ablett, Bartel and Corey won't be reaching their primes for another 2 years either? Hodge, Mitchell, Sewell, Bateman the same?

You overrate your midfield by a country mile. Enjoy their 'prime' years. :D

Haha, oh the joys of mistakes. 2 win against top 8 sides. By 4 points each.

4 top 8 wins including 1 interstate > two top 8 wins by 4 points.

Our % proves we are better than you. You're just lucky. And i hope to Christ you don't get lucky again on Friday night.

I hate to break it to you mate but a win is a win. I am quite happy taking comfort in the fact that Essendon are showing that they know how to win the tight ones and don't choke when the game is on the line.

I also take comfort in the fact that naive people like yourself put it all down to luck and the opposition playing poorly.

You would be shattered if we got lucky for the 5th time in a row against your brilliant team wouldn't you? :rolleyes:

Arguably, 24-28 is "peak". You have no elite midfielders, just good solid players. Will never win a premiership without elite midfielders.

And before you start, Watson definitely isn't elite. If he made AA, then i would consider him so.

I'd like to know how the number #1 clearance player in the game according to the statistics (and half of the best ruck/clearance duo the last 2 seasons) could not be considered an elite footballer by anyone.

The last 2 years, Watson has been that player..and his combination with Hille last year and now Ryder this year is the most damaging in the game today, according to the statistics. That's elite footy.

I have no idea? **** me.....

Your midfield is Watson, Stanton, Lovett, Winderlich, McVeigh. Prismall is the other one who could be your gem. At least you better hope so.

That midfield is average, whether you like it or not. They are all 24 or over. They are in their prime now.....You think Watson, Lovett etc won't hit their prime for another 2 years? Delusional is the word. As for Zaharakis, Houli, Reimers.....jury is still well and truly out as to how good they will be.

Maybe you should think about it a little more. I suppose Ablett, Bartel and Corey won't be reaching their primes for another 2 years either? Hodge, Mitchell, Sewell, Bateman the same?

You overrate your midfield by a country mile. Enjoy their 'prime' years. :D

Firstly they are not all over 24 so atleast get your facts right.

Secondly a player is in his prime from around 24/25 - 28/29.

You said "where will Essendons core midfield be in 2 years time". I answered the question. They will be in their prime or they will be entering their prime. You made a fool of yourself by implying that Essendons midfield will be on the way down at that stage.

How will COllingwoods midfield be in 2 years? Dont include players like Beams, Sidebottom etc because the jury is still out on them.

Wait til Galactico starts lecturing you about how much Collingwoods midfield led by Obree, Lockeyer, Davis has so much improvement in them compared to Essendons dads army midfield.

Its very amusing.

Essendon vs Carlton on Friday Night