D1 2009

from what ive been told, the weather wasnt the problem for him. it was the little tagger that didnt get a touch of the ball all day but was constantly bumping lee even when he was trying to do up his boots. what kind of a team sends out a loser like that to play footy who cant get a touch on his own merrit but just bumps a player all day. even when the play isnt near them?? clearly his job wasnt done well considering other fwds kicked multiple goals, his attention should have been focused on the players actually doing something.
maybe because of reasons like this is why smd is on the bottom of the ladder.

seeing as though cam lee kicked 5 in rnd 1 and then none this time around i would say that it was a great job done by the SMD coaching staff and player in question. defenders first role is to beat there opponent, he did that. if he were to shift his attention to another player then lee would break free and kick a few. if we have had the commitment that this player showed on the weekend to his task throughout the whole playing group for the whole year then we wouldnt be bottom.

taggers are not footballers

cameron ling, adam selwood, brett kirk, matthew boyd, brad sewell, kane cornes. not footballers?

just sounds like werribee are sooking for something different.

Honestly, have been watching this D1 thread all year and have had no inclination to post about anyone or anything to do with any Club, but I have to ask if these Werribee posters are fair dinkum and reflective of the whole club or if there are just a few that seem to want to stir up trouble.

There is always an issue with these guys and this last one is the icing on the cake. Tagging a bloke, pushing him, annoying the piss out of him is part and parcel of football and hats off to anyone who can destroy a player with Cam Lee's ability whatever it takes, partcularly after some of the allegations posted on here about some Werribee players' behaviour over the course of the season.

From what has been presetned, the Districts guy didn't whack him, king hit him, head butt him or gouge him, he just pushed the guy to his limits within the rules and I would assume Cam Lee would have learnt from it and will not let that happen again and would be keen as mustard to atone for that should he get another opportunity against said player.

Taggers are a part of the game and another challenge good players should look forward to, and furthermor we should embrace their existence because it is what makes our game unique - you don't always have to be the most gifted player to contribute to your side's success.

Some humility from Werribee would be great, as it just seems there are that many mixed messages coming from the club that perhaps a BigFooty ban may assist their chances of going deep into finals action and furthermore progressing through the grades, because there is a little bit of added motivation to have a crack at them as a result of the inconsistent messages being bandied about on this Board.

My two cents worth for what it's worth, which is probably very little, but felt compelled to mention it.

Honestly, have been watching this D1 thread all year and have had no inclination to post about anyone or anything to do with any Club, but I have to ask if these Werribee posters are fair dinkum and reflective of the whole club or if there are just a few that seem to want to stir up trouble.

There is always an issue with these guys and this last one is the icing on the cake. Tagging a bloke, pushing him, annoying the piss out of him is part and parcel of football and hats off to anyone who can destroy a player with Cam Lee's ability whatever it takes, partcularly after some of the allegations posted on here about some Werribee players' behaviour over the course of the season.

From what has been presetned, the Districts guy didn't whack him, king hit him, head butt him or gouge him, he just pushed the guy to his limits within the rules and I would assume Cam Lee would have learnt from it and will not let that happen again and would be keen as mustard to atone for that should he get another opportunity against said player.

Taggers are a part of the game and another challenge good players should look forward to, and furthermor we should embrace their existence because it is what makes our game unique - you don't always have to be the most gifted player to contribute to your side's success.

Some humility from Werribee would be great, as it just seems there are that many mixed messages coming from the club that perhaps a BigFooty ban may assist their chances of going deep into finals action and furthermore progressing through the grades, because there is a little bit of added motivation to have a crack at them as a result of the inconsistent messages being bandied about on this Board.

My two cents worth for what it's worth, which is probably very little, but felt compelled to mention it.
I'm sick of idiots concentrating on one player at our footy club and being mentioned consistenlty. We are a team made up of 22 players that play on game day and to concentrate on one is pathetic.
Don't think any other club would like it if we did the same to them.
I've mentioned it before we are sitting second on the ladder in our first year at this level and obviously a lot of clubs are jealous of that fact.
Don't think that all you other clubs are squeaky clean on and off the field.
This thread is not for character assassination.

I'm sick of idiots concentrating on one player at our footy club and being mentioned consistenlty. We are a team made up of 22 players that play on game day and to concentrate on one is pathetic.
Don't think any other club would like it if we did the same to them.
I've mentioned it before we are sitting second on the ladder in our first year at this level and obviously a lot of clubs are jealous of that fact.
Don't think that all you other clubs are squeaky clean on and off the field.

I don't think anyone is doubting that you are a good team West, considering Lee had little impact on the game and you still won would also suggest that, but what you have just said does not make sense. It is like saying why do teams playing against Geelong only tag Ablett so closely when they have 22 great players? Or why does Dal Santo get a big tag when Montagna has had a great season?? Most teams at the top of the ladder would expect a tagger to be played to try and nullify their impact and give them a greater chance of winning!!

In the past at Aquinas Den Braber used to be the only player that got tagged? I think the South Melbourne boys on here would also agree with this considering they were probably the best at tagging him.

Tagging happens in football at all levels, and to come on here and complain about tagging doesn't look to good. Obviously if there was thuggish acts then there is a right to complain but by all accounts there was nothing bad that the SMD player did except do his job for the team!

Agree totally, tagging is part of football, and from what i saw of the contest there was nothing legal done. It's not the best thing from a supporters point of view to watch players scragging and making life hell for an opposition player as it makes the game look ugly. But like everyone has said, the sth player did nothing illegal, and imo did his job superbly against one of the best players in this div. I'd rather see Cam up and firing for us, but if not, it gives others a chance to step up and show what they've got.

No Doubt, he will be better for it, and with the way he trained last night, will no doubt come out show his class this week.

I don't think anyone is doubting that you are a good team West, considering Lee had little impact on the game and you still won would also suggest that, but what you have just said does not make sense. It is like saying why do teams playing against Geelong only tag Ablett so closely when they have 22 great players? Or why does Dal Santo get a big tag when Montagna has had a great season?? Most teams at the top of the ladder would expect a tagger to be played to try and nullify their impact and give them a greater chance of winning!!

In the past at Aquinas Den Braber used to be the only player that got tagged? I think the South Melbourne boys on here would also agree with this considering they were probably the best at tagging him.

Tagging happens in football at all levels, and to come on here and complain about tagging doesn't look to good. Obviously if there was thuggish acts then there is a right to complain but by all accounts there was nothing bad that the SMD player did except do his job for the team!
If you read my Thread with your eyes open I never mentioned tagging once. I am tired of people concentrating on Cam only, that's what I'm taliking about!!!!!

What do you mean by concentrating then West? Considering most of the previous posts were about tagging i just presumed that what you meant by the term concentrating???

Big news down at pantherland with star player and 2time premiership player D Kin-Chella being dropped indefinately due to disciplinary reasons. Rumour has it he was caught out on the piss friday night before the game and turned up to the game smelling of booze. Not very good form by an assistant coach of a fairly young team who look to the veterans for some leadership. Also the rumours of his bi sexual nature have not sat well with the hierarachy at OMs. Lets hope AndyFn makes a stand and drops molly meldrum for the rest of the year

Regards 13227

What do you mean by concentrating then West? Considering most of the previous posts were about tagging i just presumed that what you meant by the term concentrating???
By concentrating I mean he is spoken about and not other players at the club. Any way enough about him and on to the games this week.
We will be out to keep winning this week against the Roy's to hold onto second spot. Was a tough encounter last time we met with one player being hospitalized and another outed for 2 weeks by the Tribunal. Good to see 6 players back this week.

By concentrating I mean he is spoken about and not other players at the club. Any way enough about him and on to the games this week.
We will be out to keep winning this week against the Roy's to hold onto second spot. Was a tough encounter last time we met with one player being hospitalized and another outed for 2 weeks by the Tribunal. Good to see 6 players back this week.

Looking forward to a big game from Podgey this week.

Werribee player of the week to concentrate on next week will be Podgey.

Hopefully the baby giraffe, dominates this week and Werribee win by 10 goals....

If yo read back your the one who brought up Cam Lee getting tagged. Your sounding like a complete goose mate. I'm sure Lee will take it as a complement that teams worry so much about him. Yes you do have other good players but that doesnt mean they will get tagged. Your actually complaining about a player being tagged, I have now heard it all. I look forward to Gary Abletts columm in the Sun havihng a sook at being tagged.

You said previously that a reason SMD are bottom is because we tagged Cam Lee completely out of the game. Does that make sense to you? Maybe next time we will let him play loose and just so he doesnt cry and you dont cry we will even handball to him in the backline and let him kick one.

Please WEST stop posting such stupid shit!!!!!!!!!!!!!

If yo read back your the one who brought up Cam Lee getting tagged. Your sounding like a complete goose mate. I'm sure Lee will take it as a complement that teams worry so much about him. Yes you do have other good players but that doesnt mean they will get tagged. Your actually complaining about a player being tagged, I have now heard it all. I look forward to Gary Abletts columm in the Sun havihng a sook at being tagged.

You said previously that a reason SMD are bottom is because we tagged Cam Lee completely out of the game. Does that make sense to you? Maybe next time we will let him play loose and just so he doesnt cry and you dont cry we will even handball to him in the backline and let him kick one.

Please WEST stop posting such stupid shit!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Is this the same Saints that gloated about winning a reserves match, the same day the seniors got smashed by 125 points?

Stones and glass houses.....

As for the above comment, I believe that was smoking aces who said that, not West.

So Saints, Can you please stop posting such stupid shit!!!!!!!!!!!

Is this the same Saints that gloated about winning a reserves match, the same day the seniors got smashed by 125 points?

As for the above comment, I believe that was smoking aces who said that, not West.

Thanks TT. These idiots can't read. They really need to get over it. Bash Werribee as much you want. All we can do is keep winning :p

1. Don't think any other club would like it if we did the same to them.
I've mentioned it before 2. we are sitting second on the ladder in our first year at this level and obviously a lot of clubs are jealous of that fact.
Don't think that 3.all you other clubs are squeaky clean on and off the field.

1. Boo Hoo you sook this is a internet open form and everyone's opinions are their own not a reflection on their clubs, so just put up with it goose.

2. Werribee are a talented team no doubt but from my opinion ,1 game that I have seen there was some ordinary stuff from your club and I have been watching Ammos for a long time!

3. Why compare your club with all the other clubs if you weren't feeling any guilt! Get on with playing footy and commenting about that, drop the crap about cafe latte's and pulling whatever's.

Thanks TT. These idiots can't read. They really need to get over it. Bash Werribee as much you want. All we can do is keep winning :p

Gloating, No. All i said was that we were happy that our reserves had won. I dont think thats gloating, its just a pat on the back to the 2's players.

I cant wait until you guys choke in the finals like you did for so many years. It will come and then I really look forward to the excuses starting. Oh Cam Lee was tackled thats not fair. The wind blew its not fair, the ground didnt suit us its not fair.

The thing is WEST nooone bashes Weribee, you actually get alot of pats on the back cause you guys are playing so weel, BUT when there are stupid posts complaining about being tagged thats when people get on your back. So as every other side on here does take it on the chin and move on. Maybe you will actually post about football before the year is out and not just saying oh we at Werribee are so bloody good.

Just got home, kicked the cat, grunted at the wife, and told the kids we're getting Indian takeaway for tea (they hate it).

Fat load of good all this spruiking did us today fellas. We butchered the ball all over the ground, particularly using the ball in the 3rd term when we could've got close to Fitzroy.

Who the hell was playing on #18 today? And #25 for that matter?

We looked slow, disinterested and kept sooking at the umpires. Thank goodness we have a bit of a percentage buffer on Whitefriars (who I noticed won on the SMS I just got).

Come on Tigers, that was the worst I've seen us play for a couple of years. What on earth happened out there lads?

Great result with Werribee meeting Rupo next week

Friars did alright today, played well enough to win comfortably, depth could be tested with 3 of the sides 4 best talls out injured or suspended

Was also impressed with the umpires today, paid a couple of soft ones to SMD when the game was over, but did a much better job than we are used to in D1

Great result with Werribee meeting Rupo next week

Friars did alright today, played well enough to win comfortably, depth could be tested with 3 of the sides 4 best talls out injured or suspended

Was also impressed with the umpires today, paid a couple of soft ones to SMD when the game was over, but did a much better job than we are used to in D1
Rupertswood showed the bloods why their on top of the ladder, proving too good today at Rupo.Rupo held a 4 or 5 goal lead half way through the 3rd then went bang kicking 9 goals in 10 mins to finish the game,with Brennan not playing they are going to be awfully hard to beat come finals time.Best we've played clearly.

Gloating, No. All i said was that we were happy that our reserves had won. I dont think thats gloating, its just a pat on the back to the 2's players.

I cant wait until you guys choke in the finals like you did for so many years. It will come and then I really look forward to the excuses starting. Oh Cam Lee was tackled thats not fair. The wind blew its not fair, the ground didnt suit us its not fair.

The thing is WEST nooone bashes Weribee, you actually get alot of pats on the back cause you guys are playing so weel, BUT when there are stupid posts complaining about being tagged thats when people get on your back. So as every other side on here does take it on the chin and move on. Maybe you will actually post about football before the year is out and not just saying oh we at Werribee are so bloody good.

Good to see you blokes in such a good position Keals you muppet.

You blokes are a huge chance of winning a flag...... Might be in D3 though.

Just got home, kicked the cat, grunted at the wife, and told the kids we're getting Indian takeaway for tea (they hate it).

Fat load of good all this spruiking did us today fellas. We butchered the ball all over the ground, particularly using the ball in the 3rd term when we could've got close to Fitzroy.

Who the hell was playing on #18 today? And #25 for that matter?

We looked slow, disinterested and kept sooking at the umpires. Thank goodness we have a bit of a percentage buffer on Whitefriars (who I noticed won on the SMS I just got).

Come on Tigers, that was the worst I've seen us play for a couple of years. What on earth happened out there lads?

Credit where due Grum, the visitors came to play and started with the first 3 goals into the breeze courtesy of big Coggsy Dullard. I thought Werribee responded pretty well, but it was the last 15 minutes of the 2nd term where we went on that 6 goal run which probably made the real difference. Sam Baker played a great game in defence, working off the rest rover, and Austin Ley played his best game for the club. With Chris Polidoras continuing his good form, its the younger brigade who are setting the standard at BSO now.

Good to see Nathan Addamo returning after that horrific injury in the state game. He helped the 2s get the job well and truly done against us in the curtainraiser, and now it's a 2 horse race (in my view) for that 1st semi spot.

In the seniors, well I think Werribee are entitled to an off day, thank goodness it was against us!!!. They can still lock up 2nd spot as they do play the Friars, but have to contend with Rupo at Sunbury first.

Interesting times ahead.

I watched the movie hangover the other day and i now think i know how they felt. Big night at our annual dinner dance which always highlights the young ladies in their splendour. White is a popular color again.

Anyway onto footy, what was really pleasing for Rupppo yesterday was the across the board contribution, a few boys had outstanding games, that will prove a headache for the opposition moving toward finals.

i think in general the umpires have been excellent this year overall. The general rule of letting the game go and protecting the head have meant a consistency that we know what to expect.

I watched the movie hangover the other day and i now think i know how they felt. Big night at our annual dinner dance which always highlights the young ladies in their splendour. White is a popular color again.

Anyway onto footy, what was really pleasing for Rupppo yesterday was the across the board contribution, a few boys had outstanding games, that will prove a headache for the opposition moving toward finals.

i think in general the umpires have been excellent this year overall. The general rule of letting the game go and protecting the head have meant a consistency that we know what to expect.

KB you are showing your feminine side opting for white, me I've always be a magenta person!

Anyway I don't reckon you could take too much away from a win over a battling young club, wouldn't read too much into that result better off that you wait for the next 3 weeks to see where you are at, the boys at Friars are eagerly awaiting rd 17. Maybe we will get a few back, 8-10 and we'll be ready for the stoush!

I'm not normally a betting man but you did take 6 icy ones from me in the first round I reckon the bet this time has probably got to be 8 stubbies Friar win and 6 stubbies Rupo that's a fair wager, let me know!

Heard a very good report from scribe WEST, your side of events please, how did the big 6 ins go ?

Very much looking forward to a terrific contest this week out at Ruperstwood.

Double chance right up for grabs now, terrifice run home in D1, Fitzroy win this week they take 4th spot for mine.