jack anthony

ksardog

May 9, 2008
south australia
anyone else concerned at the brain explosions that he is having, im not talking about his pushing in marking contests which was frustrating enough, but when he has the ball inside 50 trying to play on , kicking around his body and generally stuffing up a scoring situation.his workrate was good but his decision making is terrible at the moment.please jack if you have a set shot on or inside 50 just go back and have a shot.

He is the best shot for goal in the comp - go back and kick the goal JA. You should be shooting for goal every time you have the ball within 50m and not on the boundary.

The pushing thing is driving me insane - you'd think he'd learn from it after being penalised for it once.

Just needs to learn how to hold the opponent out of the contest. He is positioning himself perfectly, but just not finishing off his terrific body work with the right technique.

I believe he needs a week off, his second and third efforts have been crap.
He seems tired. I am a big Jack fan but he is off his game.
Give him a week off and bring in Dawes

While not being in great form lately, I didn't think he was that far off a 4 goal game on Satdee night.

While it's good to see our blokes trying to do the team thing and look for teammates in better positions, when you have a guy who kicks as accurately as Jack, then the team thing is to go back and kick the goal yourself.

In side 50 no one should call for it if Jack has it. There are times when you do the team things but when you kick as straight as he does why would you want to pass. Even Cloke should do this mark the ball in range and settle down and have a shot. I think if he knows he will be taking a shot as soon as me marks it it may settle him down and help with his kicking.

Would have had 3 if he didn't do the team thing and try give a couple off, execution let him down though. I agree he should back himself, but on one occassion especially it was the correct option, he had to free blokes in the square but he just fluffed the kick.

I was thinking it has definitely taken on Jimmy Clements advice though watching him with the HITB, Jimmy was a master of it and they worked closely together.
It is a shit rule though, it should be judged off the force of the pressure in the back, not simply which body part is touching the back. A few of the times JA outbodied his opponent who simply folded forward under the pressure.

Anyways I don't think he is doing a lot wrong atm. I thought we might have seen him goto Brown early in the game as well... Not really relevant, but I knew you guys would be interested.

I get the feeling alot of players don't like our Jack. I noticed a few times on Saturday (all be it i was watching on the telly) that he rarely gets a pat on the back or a passing hand slap when he does something.

One incident in particular at the city end of the ground in our forward pocket Jack tried to dish off to Leon but the handball was smothered, then Jack laid a tackle to force it out of bounce, and Leon just walked passed him, didn't acknowledge his efforts at all.

I noticed on Saturday night, he had at least three or four easy scoring shots, I remember one right in front of the goals and he played on. Selfish stuff.

He needs to sort his hair out as well. It looked all kinds of weird on Saturday.

I reckon his accuracy is directly correlated with his hair length.
Either he is suffering similar problems as the biblical Sampson, in reverse or the additional hair is preventing the wind from extracting excess heat from his ample forehead veins, over heating his brain core.

He doesn't need to be dropped as some think.
MM just needs to tell him if he marks it anywhere within 55m of the goal just to go back and have a shot.

I reckon his accuracy is directly correlated with his hair length.
Either he is suffering similar problems as the biblical Sampson, in reverse or the additional hair is preventing the wind from extracting excess heat from his ample forehead veins, over heating his brain core.
speaking of his hair what the hell was that colour in it on Sat'day night. my girlfriend said it look like bronze.

I get the feeling alot of players don't like our Jack. I noticed a few times on Saturday (all be it i was watching on the telly) that he rarely gets a pat on the back or a passing hand slap when he does something.

One incident in particular at the city end of the ground in our forward pocket Jack tried to dish off to Leon but the handball was smothered, then Jack laid a tackle to force it out of bounce, and Leon just walked passed him, didn't acknowledge his efforts at all.

I have noticed that as well this year, i am hoping its just my imagination because thats the last thing you want to see at our club. i also thinking the same thing is happening with beamsy, doesnt get many pats on the bum or a rub of hair for his efforts.

Beams get heaps, Presti and him hugged after the game saturday night lol

Jack is one of the least popular boys, its not something that unknown. Hasnt caused an issue yet. You dont have to be best friends to be able to play and work together well Gary Ablett snr for instance didnt know all his team mates names

Ever since Sydney he has changed his game style dramatically, i know he copped a knock but i don't think before then i ever saw him lead out and the stop dead and try and out body his opponent instead of just throwing the hands out and attempting a contested mark, are his ribs still busted? is a direction for the coaches? who knows.

Also his kicking style changed as well and the confidence that he used to show in his ability has diminished, why else would he have done that ridiculous snap pass rubbish when he marked directly in front, 30 out.

Well no matter what it is...we need the old Jack back.
He is very important to the side...as his goal tally proves.

Back on track for Jack this week.:thumbsu:

Maybe he's just a private person who feels uncomfortable with the enforced contact of the team environment all the time.

He does seem a bit unsettled, but surely you have to expect that in one so young who carries so much responsibility? We're depending so much on Jack because of the injuries to Rocca and Rusling, and perhaps because Dawes hasn't come along as quickly as expected, and Cloke hasn't been his best for most of the year. Under the circumstances, he's done a remarkable job. :thumbsu:

Maybe he's just a private person who feels uncomfortable with the enforced contact of the team environment all the time.

He does seem a bit unsettled, but surely you have to expect that in one so young who carries so much responsibility? We're depending so much on Jack because of the injuries to Rocca and Rusling, and perhaps because Dawes hasn't come along as quickly as expected, and Cloke hasn't been his best for most of the year. Under the circumstances, he's done a remarkable job. :thumbsu:

I don't dispute that, and i don't think anyone here does, he has been fantastic for the majority of this year!
If anything I am dirty on the fact that players are not giving him the same treatment as other out on the field. What i observed from Leon on saturday night was nothing short of disrespectful, and I think these players need to learn that you don't need to be best friends with players off the field, but on the field you are representing the club and all players are equal on the field. Treat everyone like your best mate.

While not being in great form lately, I didn't think he was that far off a 4 goal game on Satdee night.

While it's good to see our blokes trying to do the team thing and look for teammates in better positions, when you have a guy who kicks as accurately as Jack, then the team thing is to go back and kick the goal yourself.

Yep. I have no doubt the coaches would have sat down with him this week and gone through the tape, highlighting his 'push-out' free kicks. I'd be shocked if he does that this week. He is alot more mobile then Rutten and caused him some trouble in the EF last year whenever the ball hit the deck.

If he marks it inside 50, I want him to have a shot. That should be his only thought process when this happens.

I'll admit I was dirty on the "over the shoulder" snap pass to Leon when he could have taken the shot from 30m out directly in front.

Jack is out of sorts at the moment. We either take a chance and rest him for a week or... just wait until he hopefully hits form.

Beams get heaps, Presti and him hugged after the game saturday night lol

Jack is one of the least popular boys, its not something that unknown. Hasnt caused an issue yet. You dont have to be best friends to be able to play and work together well Gary Ablett snr for instance didnt know all his team mates names
Re Gazza not knowing players names - Only cause he never bothered to go to training. So they dropped him for not going to training one week and the cats lost by 10 goals. He didnt go to training the next week and they put him back in the side and you guessed it, He kicked something like 10 goals and they won. From that day on Gazza went to training when he wanted to and know one cared. One of the only games of footy i would go to if it didnt involove the pies. He was great to watch back then

Jack went to my high school (2 years above me before he left) and from what I remember he used to be friend mainly with females, not having too many male friends. I think it's been a big transition to join the football club and be surrounded by males all the time everyday.

Not that I'm saying this is a valid reason for anything, but it could be a factor. He'll no doubt settle soon enough. We should all remember that this only the beginning of his career and he's done very well.

jack anthony