RDFL Thread 2009 (Part 2)

Saw a ripping game of footy over at Romsey on weekend. Thought the hawks prob should have won. Were a long way off redbacks early in last quarter but came sailing home with aid of 5 goal wind. Got within a point but then stopped. Conellan and 48 for romsey were best on. Quite an ordinary game due to wind but still believe both teams can cause a nuisance in finals series.

IMO Macedon have become the team to beat. They seem to be putting it all together at the right time and they were mighty impressive against Centrals 2 weeks ago. I know they have lost the Mcarthurs but i also noticed their 2 best players on weekend were Hancock & James, both senior premiership players with gisborne not so long ago. Havent they snuck them into the system nicely? Will be a good indicator of how well they are going this week against Diggers, a team that has had wood on them for long time. Also been told Mcarthurs could be back.... on about GF day! Would they be worth the risk if available?

Another interesting in at the cattery was number 1 coming off the bench in the magoos will be another great in come finals time.

I like the guy, he is a quality footballer and a great bloke, but there is no way Ruffell kicked 5 goals on the weekend!!!! :eek:

I honestly hope it was an oversight on the behalf of the person entering the sheet and not a fix on in changing the possible course of league history.... I am sure Ruffell would love to win the medal on his own ability rather than with goals that are not his...

Surely an oversight IMS, at times in a pack situation it's difficult to tell who's booted a goal. No doubt any player knows how many he's kicked, I know I used to get the $hits if i was ever dudded out of a goal in the paper :D

Be careful what's posted about all this as next you'll know SEN or the Pulse in the Herald-Sun will be all over this - The Ox from SEN rang our president yesty after gotnoskills post about Barry Hall playing for Broadford this weekend.

And who says no one takes notice of the footy blogs, believe me this is where a lot of the media outlets get their mail ;)

Surely an oversight IMS, at times in a pack situation it's difficult to tell who's booted a goal. No doubt any player knows how many he's kicked, I know I used to get the $hits if i was ever dudded out of a goal in the paper :D

Be careful what's posted about all this as next you'll know SEN or the Pulse in the Herald-Sun will be all over this - The Ox from SEN rang our president yesty after gotnoskills post about Barry Hall playing for Broadford this weekend.

And who says no one takes notice of the footy blogs, believe me this is where a lot of the media outlets get their mail ;)

Is there a tiny bit of truth to the rumour tho??

What??? You mean Barry isn't playing???

Like I said, I hope it is an oversight, no doubt about it.. Would be poor form any other way....

Saw a ripping game of footy over at Romsey on weekend. Thought the hawks prob should have won. Were a long way off redbacks early in last quarter but came sailing home with aid of 5 goal wind. Got within a point but then stopped. Conellan and 48 for romsey were best on. Quite an ordinary game due to wind but still believe both teams can cause a nuisance in finals series.

IMO Macedon have become the team to beat. They seem to be putting it all together at the right time and they were mighty impressive against Centrals 2 weeks ago. I know they have lost the Mcarthurs but i also noticed their 2 best players on weekend were Hancock & James, both senior premiership players with gisborne not so long ago. Havent they snuck them into the system nicely? Will be a good indicator of how well they are going this week against Diggers, a team that has had wood on them for long time. Also been told Mcarthurs could be back.... on about GF day! Would they be worth the risk if available?

dont be suprised if both mcarthurs play all finals..:D:D:D

Hancock has played two games, is an absolute gun who loves going in for the hard ball.

Also has pretty decent skills.

I think TBR is out, but TBR's brother is playing in the finals.

Get on the Cats for the flag!

Hey Matt what is the ruling on how many games you need to qualify i was told 4 can any one clarify as im lead to beleive it was 3

Pickles i'm heading too Mt Isa this coming monday,just wondering if i could catch up with you to show you what a head high tackle is.I will be town for 3 days

Hey Matt what is the ruling on how many games you need to qualify i was told 4 can any one clarify as im lead to beleive it was 3

4 games for the club...

Is it just me or has sunbury been a bit lacklustre this yr, I know woodend has not had the form of recent yrs either although they have a new coach, alot of folks were talking the roos up. have they had injuries etc or maybe just an off year? Will be an interesting final round to say the least:thumbsu:

Injuries in the second half of the year doesn't help any club, plus the fact that other sides have also raised their bar with some great recruiting.

I like the guy, he is a quality footballer and a great bloke, but there is no way Ruffell kicked 5 goals on the weekend!!!! :eek:

I honestly hope it was an oversight on the behalf of the person entering the sheet and not a fix on in changing the possible course of league history.... I am sure Ruffell would love to win the medal on his own ability rather than with goals that are not his...

I can assure you pal he is as bemused about the discrepancy as you are.
Said he kicked only two on Saturday.

Injuries in the second half of the year doesn't help any club, plus the fact that other sides have also raised their bar with some great recruiting.
yeah it seems that diggers, hawks and roos are pretty much level in terms of form, without those injuries maybe roos could have done better, i think with another yr under cook hawks will be better off esp if they play some deserved two's players in the ones. #22 for the hawks two's should be playing senior footy to say the least.....GUN

Another interesting in at the cattery was number 1 coming off the bench in the magoos will be another great in come finals time.

Will be another very very handy inclusion. Finals selection could create a few headaches for the coaching staff of macedon, seems that all things are falling into place at the right time of year for the hugely improved cats, if they dont win it this year i reckon you could lock it in for them nxt year

Is there a tiny bit of truth to the rumour tho??

What??? You mean Barry isn't playing???

I'd be lying lads to say I hadn't spoke to Barry about it 4-5 weeks ago when Rob at RDFL house said gaining a rego wouldnt be a problem from the leagues end. But when I pulled away from the club and Baz took a short holiday our captain (Mickie Edwards) was informed 2 weeks ago by a mutual mate he shares with Barry that unfortunately it wouldn't be achievable for this weekend. Woulda been a great thing for our club, some great publicity for the RDFL, beneficial for some local charities and also a big chance for Baz to display an eagerness to play footy again in 2010 if in fact it's an option . . . . . but to dispel all rumours it don't look likely.

Is this for real? Out by one goal fair enough perhaps . . . but three :confused:

Apparently. Rumour has it (cant confirm) that its not the first time also.
He is a good kid, so i'm sure he would have nothing to do with it.... sorta like cheating at golf really ! What self respecting footballer would want to win a medal like that anyway ?

Maybe joeblow can tell us who the Lancefield team manager is......... I'd think it would be his job to do the goal scorers wouldn't it ?

Dont you just love a good conspiracy ? ;)

How come you chucked the coaching gig in too pal ?

Hope my humble observations had nothing to do with it ???? :eek:

I'd be lying lads to say I hadn't spoke to Barry about it 4-5 weeks ago when Rob at RDFL house said gaining a rego wouldnt be a problem from the leagues end. But when I pulled away from the club and Baz took a short holiday our captain (Mickie Edwards) was informed 2 weeks ago by a mutual mate he shares with Barry that unfortunately it wouldn't be achievable for this weekend. Woulda been a great thing for our club, some great publicity for the RDFL, beneficial for some local charities and also a big chance for Baz to display an eagerness to play footy again in 2010 if in fact it's an option . . . . . but to dispel all rumours it don't look likely.

You shoulda kept the rumour going Doon,....... WHO from Lancefield woulda been putting their hand up to play on him ?????

Thats if they had a full team turn up to play !

Apparently. Rumour has it (cant confirm) that its not the first time also.
He is a good kid, so i'm sure he would have nothing to do with it.... sorta like cheating at golf really ! What self respecting footballer would want to win a medal like that anyway ?

Maybe joeblow can tell us who the Lancefield team manager is......... I'd think it would be his job to do the goal scorers wouldn't it ?

Dont you just love a good conspiracy ? ;)

How come you chucked the coaching gig in too pal ?

Hope my humble observations had nothing to do with it ???? :eek:

If this is true, the league needs to investigate. The league leading goalkicker is a prestigous award and should not be rigged. Woudnt have thought lancefield were club to do this kinda thing but it is very easy to do and thus only a matter of time before it was exploited i guess.

Have heard of this happening before... Couple of years back...

I can assure you that Lancefield WOULD NOT have deliberately given Ruffell goals unless they were sure he kicked them.

The way the Tigers used to do it was give a bloke on the interchange a pen and paper and record them, if he was unsure of who kicked one, he checked with the players at the qtr time/half time breaks or after the game.

The accusations are pretty serious and I know the Lancefield Football Club wouldn't be trying to rig the goalkicking award.

Perhaps somebody missed a couple of goals on the score sheet, so therefore a couple being unaccounted for. With the sporting pulse system, when scores and details are entered, the system will not allow you to not account for all goal kickers. perhaps who ever enters the scores realised he didn't have enough goal kickers and was surprised Ruffell only kicked 2 so gave them to him.

With one round to go and one spot up for grabs does Diggers and Sunbury flood there backline to prevent a big loss,because Woodend should beat Centrals by 4 or 5 goals with a higher percentage and with Macedon in good form aswell as Romsey it will mean that either Diggers or Sunbury that miss out. Hopkins last year at Diggers,so i think they will have crack! and Dixon's last year he has run his race there! so i think Diggers to play finals :Dand Dixon's little boy's goooooooooooonnnnnneeeeeeeee:eek: