cheating stuffs up games in local footy.

razo

Draftee
Jul 21, 2009
melbourne tigers
last saturday i went to watch north heidlberg play thomastown in the last round of the season, shane harvey needed 10 to get his 100th for the year. north were far to good and it seemed that it was a matter of time before harvey got the hundred. needing 2 at 3qtr time it was 100% going to happen n was gonna be a great day for the club... then i seen a man walk over to the umpires and the umpire said hi and said if he gets touched he is getting a kick. make what you want out of that, i would like to know if it happens more??

carntheroos4eva

Suspended
Oct 24, 2005
Mount Pleasant
Geelong and Socceroos
last saturday i went to watch north heidlberg play thomastown in the last round of the season, shane harvey needed 10 to get his 100th for the year. north were far to good and it seemed that it was a matter of time before harvey got the hundred. needing 2 at 3qtr time it was 100% going to happen n was gonna be a great day for the club... then i seen a man walk over to the umpires and the umpire said hi and said if he gets touched he is getting a kick. make what you want out of that, i would like to know if it happens more??
Umpires don't cheat.
You just don't know the rules.

silky-smooth

Sep 15, 2003
Curb
Port Adelaide
Redbacks
Did you even read what he said?

I reckon cheating does happen but it is few and far between and at the very low end of the barrel.

EasternTiger

Oct 15, 2007
Socialist Leper Colony
make what you want out of that, i would like to know if it happens more??

What, people walking up to umpires and complaining about their players getting touched up? Yeah I've seen it happen. Usually the umpire responds with "if there's a legitimate free kick it will be paid, now step aside I need to punce meself up for the second half".

carntheroos4eva

Suspended
Oct 24, 2005
Mount Pleasant
Geelong and Socceroos
Did you even read what he said?

I reckon cheating does happen but it is few and far between and at the very low end of the barrel.
Did you read what I said?

Umpires don't cheat.

Umpires are out there to do an important job but yet there are idiots who think that they cheat.

Calling somebody a cheat is the lowest you can go. It's a low act if you think and go and call ANYONE who umpires footy a cheat.

If you or anyone else thinks that umpires are cheats, grab a whistle and umpire games of footy yourself.

Put yourself in the shoes of an umpire. As an umpire I don't need to be called a cheat by w***ers in the crowd who have been on the piss all day long.

In fact if a player calls an umpire a cheat, they get reported and will get weeks for it. They are also told to umpire games of footy.
I can tell you we don't get abused from those who have been reported and suspended for going around calling an umpire a cheat.

Scotty, I know you umpire games of footy. But yet you are calling those who volunteer their time to umpire games of footy cheats..... Poor form from you.

I never call club umpires or volunteer umpires "cheats". Why? It's a disgraceful low act to do so.

carntheroos4eva

Suspended
Oct 24, 2005
Mount Pleasant
Geelong and Socceroos
This is probably close to the mark.
I wouldn't actually go about calling those people "cheats".
You can say that those people have plenty of room for improvement.
You have to understand that umpires aren't always perfect. Mistakes are made in most games.
You get frustrated supporters from both teams getting stuck into umpires all the time. One thing though, the umpires know the rules that's why they are out there.
You might have a junior umpire with a senior umpire. A junior umpire is only learning the game. Whilst the senior umpire is helping and encouraging the junior umpire to do their best.
You might have some pisspot who comes up to the umpires and says something, however, that pisspot doesn't know the rules and is only there to cause trouble.

EasternTiger

Oct 15, 2007
Socialist Leper Colony
You get frustrated supporters from both teams getting stuck into umpires all the time. One thing though, the umpires know the rules that's why they are out there.

I have no doubt the umpires know the rules. What probably causes frustration in a lot of cases is the actual rule itself, and of course the umpires interpretation of the rule. For sure, mistakes are made. Umpires are only human and might not always be in the ideal position sometimes.

However, this thread is about an isolated case of possible cheating. I'm sure it happens here and there, no one is perfect. I did happen to see a goal umpire in a country game once having a very friendly chat with some people in the crowd and thinking 'jeez seems a bit friendly there'. 1 goal was paid that clearly sailed directly over the goal post, and one from a tight angle that was a point but paid a goal. No one seemed to mind though as it was a dead rubber game at the end of a long season.

carntheroos4eva

Suspended
Oct 24, 2005
Mount Pleasant
Geelong and Socceroos
I have no doubt the umpires know the rules. What probably causes frustration in a lot of cases is the actual rule itself, and of course the umpires interpretation of the rule. For sure, mistakes are made. Umpires are only human and might not always be in the ideal position sometimes.

However, this thread is about an isolated case of possible cheating. I'm sure it happens here and there, no one is perfect. I did happen to see a goal umpire in a country game once having a very friendly chat with some people in the crowd and thinking 'jeez seems a bit friendly there'. 1 goal was paid that clearly sailed directly over the goal post, and one from a tight angle that was a point but paid a goal. No one seemed to mind though as it was a dead rubber game at the end of a long season.
A goal umpire makes an error and you call him a cheat..... poor form. :thumbsdown:

EasternTiger

Oct 15, 2007
Socialist Leper Colony
A goal umpire makes an error and you call him a cheat..... poor form. :thumbsdown:
I didn't say he was an outright cheat. The goal umpire was wearing glasses and didn't seem to be moving too freely. I'm not sure if he was injured or maybe his weight had something to do with it but his umpiring was poor that day. It wasn't so much the glaring errors, it was the fact he was chatting and joking around with some people from the crowd which raised my suspicion. I raised the point with one of the officials at the club and he said he would look into it. Local footy doesn't need that type of goal umpire IMHO.

carntheroos4eva

Suspended
Oct 24, 2005
Mount Pleasant
Geelong and Socceroos
I didn't say he was an outright cheat. The goal umpire was wearing glasses and didn't seem to be moving too freely. I'm not sure if he was injured or maybe his weight had something to do with it but his umpiring was poor that day. It wasn't so much the glaring errors, it was the fact he was chatting and joking around with some people from the crowd which raised my suspicion. I raised the point with one of the officials at the club and he said he would look into it. Local footy doesn't need that type of goal umpire IMHO.
You get club umpires in local footy as umpiring associations don't have enough people to cover for every single game.
It's funny where ever I go to a game out in the Central Highlands football league you get goal umpires who are eating a pie and drinking a beer and don't move around much. Sometimes they are smoking a f** as well.
It doesn't make them a cheat. They are there giving up their time to help out.
You might think that they might need to get some extra training on positioning and getting under the flight of the ball to get them moving around a bit more.
Club umpires are friendly people. They are doing it just to help out, and not to be branded a cheat by those who think that they have to be perfect.
Sometimes when you have a club umpire that is joking around they might be young and somebody might had a joke with them. That can happen.
However, if you get kids kicking footys on the ground whilst the game is on or kids staying behind you but are on the field of play you have to act like a crowd controller as well.
You get spectators who are pissed up to their eyeballs going around abusing the umpires. That's not good.
You can get idiots like that bloke who hit a young footballer with a mallet, going around calling umpires cheats and the like. Not good for footy.

carntheroos4eva

Suspended
Oct 24, 2005
Mount Pleasant
Geelong and Socceroos
Remember if you go around branding an umpire a cheat, it's the lowest you can go. It's such a low act to go and brand people that.

No matter what the umpire does, they are there to umpire the game of footy. If you think that they cheat then I dare you to join your local umpiring association and learn how to umpire a game of footy.

EasternTiger

Oct 15, 2007
Socialist Leper Colony
If you think that they cheat then I dare you to join your local umpiring association and learn how to umpire a game of footy.
Why should I become an umpire? I reckon I know more about the rules than most goal umpires anyway. It's not like they are your proper field umpires. And some can't even get the relatively simple job of goal umpiring right.

carntheroos4eva

Suspended
Oct 24, 2005
Mount Pleasant
Geelong and Socceroos
Why should I become an umpire? I reckon I know more about the rules than most goal umpires anyway. It's not like they are your proper field umpires. And some can't even get the relatively simple job of goal umpiring right.
IF you think you are good enough then go for it instead of going around criticising those who actually umpire games of footy.

Ok you think that you know all the rules. Good if you know the rules then you would not go around calling umpires cheats.
If you didn't know the rules which I don't think you do know all of them. You know most of them.
Do you realise that calling somebody a cheat is a reportable offense? Did you know that goal umpires can't send off a player for doing stupid things?

Name all the roles that a goal umpire has to do....

Let me tell you we need to know all the rules because all umpires are a team. You don't realise this but when you go to watch a game of footy there are 3 teams out there. The two that are playing against each other and the people who are umpiring the game.

Oh and yes it is easy to umpire it from the stands like what you do....
I bet you just don't have the balls to join your local umpiring association. You think that the umpiring is crap. Take it up see if you can do a better job.

Just be aware the next time you go and brand the umpire a cheat, it could be a mate of yours who made a few errors. Umpires screw up and make errors. It doesn't mean that they are cheats.

EasternTiger

Oct 15, 2007
Socialist Leper Colony
Name all the roles that a goal umpire has to do....
The most important role a goal umpire has is to watch to see whether the ball has gone through for a goal, a point, has hit the post, or gone out of play near the goals in which case he/she will assist the boundary umpire...and then to signal appropriately. They have no other function of relevance to the game apart from that. Bit hard to bloody goal umpire when you are yacking away to the crowd.

Oh and yes it is easy to umpire it from the stands like what you do....
I bet you just don't have the balls to join your local umpiring association. You think that the umpiring is crap. Take it up see if you can do a better job.

I would rather take up knitting

silky-smooth

Sep 15, 2003
Curb
Port Adelaide
Redbacks
Did you read what I said?

Umpires don't cheat.

Umpires are out there to do an important job but yet there are idiots who think that they cheat.

Calling somebody a cheat is the lowest you can go. It's a low act if you think and go and call ANYONE who umpires footy a cheat.

If you or anyone else thinks that umpires are cheats, grab a whistle and umpire games of footy yourself.

Put yourself in the shoes of an umpire. As an umpire I don't need to be called a cheat by w***ers in the crowd who have been on the piss all day long.

In fact if a player calls an umpire a cheat, they get reported and will get weeks for it. They are also told to umpire games of footy.
I can tell you we don't get abused from those who have been reported and suspended for going around calling an umpire a cheat.

Scotty, I know you umpire games of footy. But yet you are calling those who volunteer their time to umpire games of footy cheats..... Poor form from you.

I never call club umpires or volunteer umpires "cheats". Why? It's a disgraceful low act to do so.

Just because someone is a volunteer it doesn't make them immune from cheating. I have seen a lot of s**t decisions made by umpires - 99.9% is from incompetence/not seeing it and 0.1% is what I would call cheating. I've seen cheating at a game no less than three weeks ago by a club goal umpire at a very low level league.

Cheating happens. An NBA ref - someone Daughtry - was caught out by the FBI for cheating in the playoffs a few years ago. Obviously I don't think it's ever happened at as high a level of sport in Australia, even in the SANFL/WAFL/VFL or slightly lower than that, but it does happen.

People you put your trust in do bad s**t. Just when you think your credit card details are safe because you never use it online and only use it buy petrol, a petrol station worker in Adelaide last week was charged with stealing people's credit card details. Bet you never thought that'd happen in Australia.

Don't write off cheating, clarkson2scott, because it does happen.

FlipFoot

Aug 12, 2007
ACT
Remember if you go around branding an umpire a cheat, it's the lowest you can go. It's such a low act to go and brand people that.

No matter what the umpire does, they are there to umpire the game of footy. If you think that they cheat then I dare you to join your local umpiring association and learn how to umpire a game of footy.

I agree with some of what you're saying, but you're kidding if you think out of every single umpire in the land there isn't one that hasn't cheated. I was in a comp where it got brought up far worse than just someone calling an umpire a cheat. It was never conclusive, but it was pretty obvious he was cheating.

Don't be so single minded that you can't conceive of someone cheating. I've been a part of many country leagues where an ex player umpires and is completely biased to his former club. Call it biased or cheating, it defeats the purpose of trying to have a neutral umpire. There's not much we can do about it, because without them doing it we don't have a game, but to say it doesn't happen is ridiculous.

Stop saying that because they do it in their free time that they couldn't possibly cheat. And don't tell me to go umpire because i have and still do umpire. It's a shallow argument to say "go and try it yourself". It's rewarding in it's own ways, but it's not an argument against saying there are umpires that may cheat.

Yes it happens, no there's not much you can do about it in most cases.

ManInWhite

Ex ManInWhite
Apr 6, 2009
A few years ago I was watching the reserves match being played before mine - only the field umpires were official league umpires. One of the club goal umpires was either cheating or totally incompetent. I had to make my way out at 3/4 time and facilitate his transfer with someone else otherwise world war 3 was about to breakout.

ManInWhite

Ex ManInWhite
Apr 6, 2009
I've been a part of many country leagues where an ex player umpires and is completely biased to his former club. Call it biased or cheating, it defeats the purpose of trying to have a neutral umpire.

I wouldn't so much call it cheating but more like "reverse bias" when a person sub consciously is harder against one team as prevention to be accused of favouritism. It's not intentional but just an involuntary behaviour. At an old comp of mine, one of my umpire mates had 2 brothers who were amongst the top players in the league. He had umpired some of their matches (usually just practice matches) and said that he found he was actually being harder on them for some reason. They were getting cross with him for missing head high tackles etc. when he had just been calling play on. I've heard similar examples in talking to other people over the years.

carntheroos4eva

Suspended
Oct 24, 2005
Mount Pleasant
Geelong and Socceroos
I agree with some of what you're saying, but you're kidding if you think out of every single umpire in the land there isn't one that hasn't cheated. I was in a comp where it got brought up far worse than just someone calling an umpire a cheat. It was never conclusive, but it was pretty obvious he was cheating.

Don't be so single minded that you can't conceive of someone cheating. I've been a part of many country leagues where an ex player umpires and is completely biased to his former club. Call it biased or cheating, it defeats the purpose of trying to have a neutral umpire. There's not much we can do about it, because without them doing it we don't have a game, but to say it doesn't happen is ridiculous.

Stop saying that because they do it in their free time that they couldn't possibly cheat. And don't tell me to go umpire because i have and still do umpire. It's a shallow argument to say "go and try it yourself". It's rewarding in it's own ways, but it's not an argument against saying there are umpires that may cheat.

Yes it happens, no there's not much you can do about it in most cases.
It's the easiest excuse to use as well, especially when it's you who doesn't agree with what's going on...

You are accusing people who umpire of cheating.

It's either you with a disgraceful attitude that needs to go or simply you don't understand what the rules are.

I know for a fact I don't cheat. Never have, never will. I also know that branding somebody a cheat is a disgraceful thing to say.

So get off your high horse and stop being so stubborn and go and learn the rules and learn how to umpire.

Some spectators are the scum of the earth when they make comments about the umpires.
They are also the people that brand the umpires as cheats.

I prefer to promote umpiring rather than promoting idiots to go around branding people cheats.

If you don't have anything nice to say then don't say it all.

SO don't go branding people cheats. It only makes you look like a goose.

What happens if you decide to call a junior field umpire a cheat? You will lose that future senior umpire all because people like you go and brand a junior a cheat.

razo

Draftee
Jul 21, 2009
melbourne tigers
What, people walking up to umpires and complaining about their players getting touched up? Yeah I've seen it happen. Usually the umpire responds with "if there's a legitimate free kick it will be paid, now step aside I need to punce meself up for the second half".
ok i have told the story wrong what happend was the man that went over to the umpire, new the umpire, they were friends, and they were not arguing, the umpire said if they touch him his getting a free.