Operation 'Get Butcher'

• Thread starter Thread starter Beloved

I'd love to have John Butcher playing at Carlton next year. In fact, that would be an absolutely ripping result for Carlton. He was supposedly going to be picked up in the first three picks earlier in the year, but his number has slid a bit and it appears that he might go outside the first ten picks.

I'd be wrapped if we received Henderson and Butcher for Fevola.

Jesus I was rapt with just Hendersen for Fevola! Lets hope you are correct..

I'd love to have John Butcher playing at Carlton next year. In fact, that would be an absolutely ripping result for Carlton. He was supposedly going to be picked up in the first three picks earlier in the year, but his number has slid a bit and it appears that he might go outside the first ten picks.

How do you rate his

Consistency?
Hardness?
Field kicking?
Kicking for goal?
Durability?
Attitude?

Jesus I was rapt with just Hendersen for Fevola! Lets hope you are correct..
I don't understand those saying that we lost Fevola cheaply. We lost a near 29 year old forward for a promising ninteen year old.

Butcher coming in would just make it all so much more worth it.

Allthough i like Butcher EBIAC i rate Talia ahead of him and i am hoping one of them slips down to our pick.

Both solid selections for mine.

Anyone know of any Phantom Drafts that are out yet? Probably still a bit early though. :)

I don't understand those saying that we lost Fevola cheaply. We lost a near 29 year old forward for a promising ninteen year old.

Butcher coming in would just make it all so much more worth it.

I was thinking while the Bradshaw + Rischa deal was on the table, that it would be great to get a young gun like Hendersen, but Brisbane would have no part of it. I would seriously have taken Fev for Hendersen straight up, but with a slight swap of picks, AND the chance that we might pick up Butcher, what an exciting next few years it is going to be. :)

How do you rate his

Consistency?
Hardness?
Field kicking?
Kicking for goal?
Durability?
Attitude?
Jeez, here we go. I'll try and do this to the best of my ability.

Consistency - I wouldn't be able to answer this one. I only started following the TAC Cup pretty late. You'd probably be better asking HBF or someone alike this question.
Hardness - definitely not afraid to go hard at the ball. He made the TAC team of the year ruck spot, if I'm not mistaken.
Field kicking - Another one for HBF.
Kicking for goal - He's a great kick. He kicked multiple bags of five and six this year.
Durability - I don't think that he has been injured recently.
Attitude - very positive young player. Fair, just wanting to play footy.

Consistency - I wouldn't be able to answer this one. I only started following the TAC Cup pretty late. You'd probably be better asking HBF or someone alike this question.
Hardness - definitely not afraid to go hard at the ball. He made the TAC team of the year ruck spot, if I'm not mistaken.
Kicking for goal - He's a great kick. He kicked multiple bags of five and six this year.

For someone who started a thread on him you seem to know very little EBIAC!! :p:D

Allthough i like Butcher EBIAC i rate Talia ahead of him and i am hoping one of them slips down to our pick.

Both solid selections for mine.
I'm not sure that Talia will drop as far as pick 12, unfortunately.

Jed Lamb might be a good pick to look at. I'm not sure where about he'll gp in the draft, though.

For someone who started a thread on him you seem to know very little EBIAC!! :p:D
A tall, marking forward who I'd love to have at the club. I knew shit all about Lachie Henderson 24 hours ago and I still want him. :p

Would we go for KPP or the best available whether that be a mid or KPP?
We really should just target a key position forward. If we go for a midfielder after aquiring McLean with spots needing to be filled up forward then I'm stumped.

I think I'd prefer Matthew Panos over John Butcher. Although I'd still be happy with Butcher, just depends whether the club decides to draft a KPP or the best available. I'd think Aaron Black would be on our radar as well, but I really don't know enough about him to comment.

We really should just target a key position forward. If we go for a midfielder after aquiring McLean with spots needing to be filled up forward then I'm stumped.

Dont think this will happen mate.

I cant see us picking up a Mid and we will definantly go a tall KPP.

Well i am hoping anyway!!

To be honest and with due respect I am not sure you have seen Butcher a great deal based on some of that. Time will tell I suppose. Some risks with Butcher.

That's fair enough to say. As I've said, I only saw the last few rounds (not including the finals) of the TAC Cup.

Looking at the final against Brisbane and comparing for the future.

Out Fevola.
Out Cloke.

In Waite - definite.
in Jamison - definite.

Possibles - in Warnock - out Hampson (unlikely) or more likely if Warnock can get his body right in Warnock, Hampson stays and Kreuzer goes forward.

Other possibles - Mark Austin - either end KPP prospect. Got all the physical tools but needs more intensity. Pretty good prospect.

Lachlan Henderson - more advanced than Austin, taller and bigger built and younger. Better mark, not as quick as Austin but more physical and more intensity. stronger chance of making it as a KPP player. A possible but barring injuries in my opinion is a very strong possible.

Setanta - very mobile, great height. Poor man on man defender, does not use his body well playing down back and for his height and size is beaten to easily. Shown something up forward and offers something different. Body has huge question marks. Most likely wont make the grade in my opinion due to his injuries but has some chance as a floating forward.

Austin, Henderson either end KPP players for the future. Setanta, Kreuzer as tall forwards.

All very young apart from Setanta.

Trading of Fevola also means the club might go smaller sometimes and play Gibbs, Judd etc out of the square sometimes to change things up. Plenty of good solid young options.

No need to grab the best young forward in the draft. Take the best prospect regardless of position. List is better balanced now for the future.

How do you rate his

Consistency?
Hardness?
Field kicking?
Kicking for goal?
Durability?
Attitude?

http://www.afl.com.au/tabid/208/default.aspx?newsid=85626

Butcher is a key forward with strong hands and an ability to take the contested grab, but he said he felt more attention was being paid to his weaknesses such as kicking and endurance..

Butcher acknowledges one area he has to work on is his kicking. Playing in the senior grand final for home club Maffra this year he returned a not so flattering 1.7.

“Talk’s cheap at the moment, we’ll wait and see what happens in November. Hopefully I get the chance to go on and play AFL. My marking, pace and agility as well as one touch ground ball for a tall is pretty good but we’ll just see how it goes.”

Remember also that Wayne Hughes' policy has always been to draft the best available regardless of their position.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/77947/default.aspx

"I got some feedback from recruiters that they were worried about his body language at times and back-chatting. We made a focus on that and he said: 'I'm not going to do that anymore'

Does everyone become an expert around draft time? Because when I go to TAC cup games I reckon I don't see to many people there....

Forget about Butcher, he won't be there.

And really, we need to stop obsessing over getting the next big thing up forward.

We already had an unhealthy and almost detrimental reliance on a gun forward, and now he's gone it seems like we're dying for a replacement to do the same thing all over again in the future.

Let's just take the absolute best player available at the time.