U19 Under 19 Premier Division

Thanks Robbo that explains it. To an outsider it would seem a curious decision to give up a spot in 19 Premier, particularly as Ruppo seem to be a club on the rise. I’m sure the decision would not have been taken lightly.

I think it makes some sense as Rupo kids went from u16s to u19s and the jump was huge for many of the young kids. The fact that the second u19 team didn't win a game in 2009 might have influenced the change in direction.

Reducing that gap by a year is a good outcome for the kids who play u18s. I suppose what puzzles me is the number of kids coming into the senior club as kids aged 16 turning 17. It's more than one team. It doesn't seem fair for the kids who miss out on playing u18s if there only possible choice is a run in a Club XV111 competition.

However the Rupo senior team is getting younger by the year and perhaps this is one way of dealing with it. I'm not surprised by curious decisions emanating from Rupo.

I think it makes some sense as Rupo kids went from u16s to u19s and the jump was huge for many of the young kids. The fact that the second u19 team didn't win a game in 2009 might have influenced the change in direction.

Reducing that gap by a year is a good outcome for the kids who play u18s. I suppose what puzzles me is the number of kids coming into the senior club as kids aged 16 turning 17. It's more than one team. It doesn't seem fair for the kids who miss out on playing u18s if there only possible choice is a run in a Club XV111 competition.

However the Rupo senior team is getting younger by the year and perhaps this is one way of dealing with it. I'm not surprised by curious decisions emanating from Rupo.

Robbo
I thought for one moment you may have become a little supportive of the club, all be it fleeting. If you had been at any of the half dozen meetings where the options for 2010 were discussed you would know that the issues you have discussed have been well and truly addressed. Once again you have your little trouble-making hat on. Also shows that you are not close to the club as you would make out and as a result continue to provide a laugh for those who are.
Still haven't seen that boy of yours on the track yet. Pity
Hope he is not feeling pressured to stay away by his grumpy old man!

Robbo
I thought for one moment you may have become a little supportive of the club, all be it fleeting. If you had been at any of the half dozen meetings where the options for 2010 were discussed you would know that the issues you have discussed have been well and truly addressed. Once again you have your little trouble-making hat on. Also shows that you are not close to the club as you would make out and as a result continue to provide a laugh for those who are.
Still haven't seen that boy of yours on the track yet. Pity
Hope he is not feeling pressured to stay away by his grumpy old man!

I find your personal attacks hurtful. You keep trying to drag personal issues into this. It shows a lack of humanity, empathy, that you still find time to laugh at Robbo [and his family]. I'm not close to the club any longer but after the best part of 12 years [thirteen if you throw in Auskick] I've spent a lot of time involved with the Rupo Footy Club. I've had a life experience of what its like to be involved with Rupertswood and feel qualified to make the comments I've made. Actually I thought it was rather balanced and it's my opinion that the decision making, based on experience, can be described as curious. I don't share your narrow view,which is representative of those involved the club, of what playing footy is about. I'm not a grumpy old man just a disappointed one. I actually like to laugh and that's why my latest avatar is a reference to your previous attack on me where you described my living quarters as under a rock.

I think that one of the big issue had was numbers dropping off with the amount travel to some games. Going from Sunbury to Mentone (early game on one occasion) or Beaumaris is a fair trip in anyones language. This would explain why Rupo's form was good early but dropped away as the year progressed.

Saying all of this I do agree with the previous point that the jump from RDJFL 16's to 19's Premier is a fair jump. Most of the other sides have the benefit of recruiting for their school sides which I think allows for a smoother transition.

Lets get back to the Footy ... Any other news around the traps ?

I find your personal attacks hurtful. You keep trying to drag personal issues into this. It shows a lack of humanity, empathy, that you still find time to laugh at Robbo [and his family]. I'm not close to the club any longer but after the best part of 12 years [thirteen if you throw in Auskick] I've spent a lot of time involved with the Rupo Footy Club. I've had a life experience of what its like to be involved with Rupertswood and feel qualified to make the comments I've made. Actually I thought it was rather balanced and it's my opinion that the decision making, based on experience, can be described as curious. I don't share your narrow view,which is representative of those involved the club, of what playing footy is about. I'm not a grumpy old man just a disappointed one. I actually like to laugh and that's why my latest avatar is a reference to your previous attack on me where you described my living quarters as under a rock.

Robbo
Like you "Those involved" have feelings too!
"Those involved" find your continual snipes and attacks on the club hurtful and frankly have had enough of them.
"Those involved" are also genuinely disappointed that your son is not playing and would love to see him return.
"Those involved" also welcome supporters and member's views. They even welcome concerns and problems. They do actually prefer them to come from people who are prepared to be part of the solution rather than the problem.
Never lose sight of the fact that "those involved" give up massive amounts of time and energy to make it happen. They may not get it 100% right everytime.
More than happy to bury the hatchet. Might even buy you a cold one while we watch your boy train.

Robbo
Like you "Those involved" have feelings too!
"Those involved" find your continual snipes and attacks on the club hurtful and frankly have had enough of them.
"Those involved" are also genuinely disappointed that your son is not playing and would love to see him return.
"Those involved" also welcome supporters and member's views. They even welcome concerns and problems. They do actually prefer them to come from people who are prepared to be part of the solution rather than the problem.
Never lose sight of the fact that "those involved" give up massive amounts of time and energy to make it happen. They may not get it 100% right everytime.
More than happy to bury the hatchet. Might even buy you a cold one while we watch your boy train.

I wish you Rupo flogs would nick off and take your bickering elsewhere. You are not even playing in the Under 19 Premier division anymore so take your rubbish elsewhere.
P.S I'm glad Rupo pulled the pin on under 19 premier because they simply were not up to it. Goodbye and good riddance I say.

I wish you Rupo flogs would nick off and take your bickering elsewhere. You are not even playing in the Under 19 Premier division anymore so take your rubbish elsewhere.
P.S I'm glad Rupo pulled the pin on under 19 premier because they simply were not up to it. Goodbye and good riddance I say.

I see the definition of a Wack is an eccentric, strange, or odd person.

Did you forget to put the 'H' after the W when setting up, or is it 'correct weight' with the Wack name?

I think it was 26 maybe 27 wins over the four seasons. About 45 losses. About a 35%/65% win-loss ratio. Didn't get relegated like some other clubs. Beat most of the other highly fancied teams at one time. This all happened while the better younger players [eligible to play u19] were contributing to a very successful three out of four seasons with the senior team. 2 grand finals [1 premiership], 1 prelim final finish [missed out on promotion to B Section by less than a goal] and a wooden spoon when things went pear shaped in 2008. Your wrong Wack. These kids sacrificed plenty for the club and would have been very successful given a level playing field.

I'm sorry for the bickering. I don't invite it. It follows me like a bad smell. I'll keep reading the forum but your right I'll have to take my bat to the u18 forum. I remain interested in your opinions and look forward to reading many more.

Ciao Robberto

I think it was 26 maybe 27 wins over the four seasons. About 45 losses. About a 35%/65% win-loss ratio. Didn't get relegated like some other clubs. Beat most of the other highly fancied teams at one time. This all happened while the better younger players [eligible to play u19] were contributing to a very successful three out of four seasons with the senior team. 2 grand finals [1 premiership], 1 prelim final finish [missed out on promotion to B Section by less than a goal] and a wooden spoon when things went pear shaped in 2008. Your wrong Wack. These kids sacrificed plenty for the club and would have been very successful given a level playing field.

I'm sorry for the bickering. I don't invite it. It follows me like a bad smell. I'll keep reading the forum but your right I'll have to take my bat to the u18 forum. I remain interested in your opinions and look forward to reading many more.

Ciao Robberto

Robbo. You will find that all clubs have eligible 19s who play seniors. Is not a new concept and not just confined to Rupo. Image how much stronger De La, Xavs, Uni Blues would have been if legitimate A section guns such as Hale, Wynne, C. Shaw to name just a few played 19s instead of seniors? On that basis what do you mean by a level playing field?

Fair competition, where no advantage is shown to any side. It's why the AFL introduced a salary cap and a draft. You couldn't argue that Rupertswood has access to the same training facilities as the elite clubs, finances to attract the best coaches like the elite clubs or a pool of players which Melbourne University teams get to turn over each year. A good analogy - Melbourne Uni teams are like the Champion League teams in Europe [nothing flash, maybe the Turkish champions] and Rupertswood is happy to avoid relegation from the EPL [like my team Sunderland]. It's not merely a number of u19s playing senior footy.

Fair enough but I guess that’s why the VAFA is a graded competition so clubs can find their own level. I only used the example of Xavs, De La and Uni Blues as they were the top 3 in both A Section and 19 Premier in 2009. Whatever model they use must be pretty good. You will also find that facilities at some A section clubs is no better than what you have at Rupo. In regard to elite coaches - St Bedes, De La and others have teachers from the school coach their seniors and 19s. The focus is on ‘home grown’ both in players and support staff rather than ‘elite’. Still reckon Rupo is a club on the rise. Will be in A or B before long.

Lets get 2010 rolling. Here's my take.

Beauy to push for a definate spot in the four, good under 17 group from 09 pushing through and retain some guns from last years side. Would expect to be one of the more competitive teams in 2010.

St Bedes - will not be easy beats but can't see them pushing for a finals berth. Their under 18 side struggled as did their school side in 09.

Old Melburnians - will be more than competitive in Premier and expect them to fighting it out for a spot in the four.

Old Scotch - will always be there abouts due to numbers etc but have rarely excited when finals come around.

Marcellin - were very ordinary in 2009 as blokes and as a team. Don't think much will change there. School side was average at best.

Old Camberwell - could depend on how many of last years group are rerquired for seniors. Will be thereabouts.

De La Salle - reigning premier, runners up in 08, premier 07 says it all. They should start favorites for 2010.

Old Xav's - school side was average and last years side relied on a few guns such as Buckly, Lees and Dipper all of whom move on in 2010. Always strong though and would expect them to finish top four for sure.

Uni Blues - Raffle with the Uni sides depending on who walks in the door. Blues seem to be well drilled side in 2009 so should be thereabouts again.

Uni Blacks - who knows with the blacks. Struggled in 09 and would think 2010 would fair no better.

Any genuine news or gossip. Should be a great year. Go Sharks.

Lets get 2010 rolling. Here's my take.

Beauy to push for a definate spot in the four, good under 17 group from 09 pushing through and retain some guns from last years side. Would expect to be one of the more competitive teams in 2010.

St Bedes - will not be easy beats but can't see them pushing for a finals berth. Their under 18 side struggled as did their school side in 09.

Old Melburnians - will be more than competitive in Premier and expect them to fighting it out for a spot in the four.

Old Scotch - will always be there abouts due to numbers etc but have rarely excited when finals come around.

Marcellin - were very ordinary in 2009 as blokes and as a team. Don't think much will change there. School side was average at best.

Old Camberwell - could depend on how many of last years group are rerquired for seniors. Will be thereabouts.

De La Salle - reigning premier, runners up in 08, premier 07 says it all. They should start favorites for 2010.

Old Xav's - school side was average and last years side relied on a few guns such as Buckly, Lees and Dipper all of whom move on in 2010. Always strong though and would expect them to finish top four for sure.

Uni Blues - Raffle with the Uni sides depending on who walks in the door. Blues seem to be well drilled side in 2009 so should be thereabouts again.

Uni Blacks - who knows with the blacks. Struggled in 09 and would think 2010 would fair no better.

Any genuine news or gossip. Should be a great year. Go Sharks.

Good assessment Bayside at this stage of the year.

Who do you reckon will be in the Top four after Round Eighteen ?

i tend to agree with most of ur assesment bayside except a couple of points. beauy have some good 17s but theres a big step up to u/19 premier and thats where i think they wont be able to compete with the stronger and more match harden bodies of old xavs, old melbourne and especially uni blues and de la who apparantly retain alot of premiship players...... that could be quite scary. i think the top four will be uni blues, de la, old melbourne and old xavs!

Whats everyones thoughts on Old Xav's. I see on their website they have appointed dual coaches and an Under 19 Director of Football and they quote that they are in search of the flag that has eluded them at this level recently. How many from this years team are still eligible?

Xavs had a very strong group last year but unfortunately for them came up against an exceptional De La Salle team. Not sure how many of Xavs 09 group are eligible this season but they will be thereabouts once again. Have heard that that the 2 sides coming up (OMs and OC) are keen to make their mark in Premier and will be very competitive.

Hey guys, I am new to the BigFooty forums/blogs. Does anyone have any new news stories on players for example the Majak Daw story? I am assigned to the Sport portfolio of my Journalism story and looking for a new and interesting news story to research and report. If anyone does can you please reply to this.
Cheers

Hey guys, I am new to the BigFooty forums/blogs. Does anyone have any new news stories on players for example the Majak Daw story? I am assigned to the Sport portfolio of my Journalism story and looking for a new and interesting news story to research and report. If anyone does can you please reply to this.
Cheers

Dylan Murphy from Rupertswood.

Interested to hear how OM's are shaping up......lost many of the premiership players?? School side not so good last year?? Big step up but should be more than capable.

St. Bede's rumoured to be struggling somewhat - believe that at your own peril!

Beaumaris - as always seem to rate themselves highly at this end of the season!! Just kidding.....good numbers there I hear!

OX - shaping for revenge! De La look out...

Love the rumour mill at this time of year!!