Western Region FL - Division One

Jack Love will coach the Colts. Good luck to Clarky at Airport West, did a fantastic job for the colts over the years.Any club losing the likes of the jacobs brothers and Jas Perkins is going to find it hard to replace them.Training has been on the way.Any player who wants to have a crack is more than welcome, bcos u will be given a go. Very hard to say how they will go, but with there core group u now they will be more than competitive. And who nows what surprises Jack could pull out of his hat.

If I did such a great job I wouldn't have been sacked, or maybe it was a personality clash?? I disagree how ever that players lost will be hard to replace. The club has done it before and will do it again. The core group are very competitive bunch and want success, with players such as tedesco, Murphy, ford and mildehal to come up the colts are top 3 material along with a new and maybe better coach their potential is untaped. No team will underestimate the colts with the likes of twomey Massis Julier bonnett and mcgregor. The club is in great hands

Yes i'm off to airport west, no james though...big balraj singh is headed there with me, he was coming to the colts if i was still there so instead playing with me at apw.
Looking fwd to the challenge.
I love the port colts fc, more than most will ever know and give my heart and soul to the club, i leave on good terms and no ill feeling just alot of dissapointment we couldn't win at least another gf.....the club deserved another flag after a great effort over along time. I will continue to support the club and help out when possible.
The team has lost some quality players but still have a very good core group of players that will see them be a force come finals time, along with a few recruits and a fresh new coaching team, the colts will be a force in 2010, a premiership is definaltely a possabilty......GO COLTS!!:thumbsu:

Balraj Singh is a leech, not the sort of player one would recruit to there club. Plays for money and money only, lazy, wont win any side a premiership. And rock you cant say he was going to colts with you this season coming if you were still coach, as he was nosing around another club and if given the money would have returned there in a heart beat. Luckliy they saw the light.

Ok. Lets go through the ones from that age group which might be playing seniors in a top 5 side in WRFL. (A big might) Please tell me where they are.

Brett Shiels
Dean Pace
Steve Rescic
Josh Rafferty
Shuan Hunter
Scott Bell
Sean Tigh
Corey Lawson
Maddison Hardiman
Dion Lawson
Steve Kennedy
Jayden Post - Richmond
Jordan Robbins
Travis Lunardi
David Barnaby
Matt Cross
Craig Sargent

I played in an under 18 team which won 2 flags in a row. 5 ended up playing senior footy and probably only 8 - 10 played at the club (in a very successfully club). Would be interested to know the retention rate from other clubs.

every single 1 of these bois could play seniors in a top 5 side without doubt shaun hunter could be a question mark ive played against these fellas and they can play football hence why 80% of them are playing VFL..

This is Div 1 forum - not ex U18's, move on:thumbsu:

Spoke to a couple of blokes from Lara last week and they suggested a couple more blokes from Spotty apart from Isbister & Sablich have been training. (No Names)

Nothing coming from the Cattery, Hoppers (Whisper 2 VFL Players signed), Kanga's had a couple of new faces training Wednesday apart from those already mentioned, West, Glenorden, St Albans?. Spoke to a person from Heights and he is confident they will improve.

Surely all clubs back training and some recruits signed.

PS: Rock - How you going with Ronny Rooney mate? (Played under Ron and we got along good, very passionate about footy and coaching).

Alex Vivoda, Tyler Healy, and David Barnaby are back at altona now. all trained with vfl clubs for the first half of the pre season.
Vivdoa and Barnaby with Werribee, and Healy with Willamstown.
Also Lee Spiteri after his first season for Altona seniors, fresh out of the 18's the year before, has signed with Williamstown. Dion Lawson has also signed with Williamstown.
Joey Hallaron, former western jet and vales junior is rumored to have made the move to Altona this year. Though most probaly will spend the season at Werribee, is a good addition to Altonas list, if he doesn't make it at the VFL level.

Alex Vivoda, Tyler Healy, and David Barnaby are back at altona now. all trained with vfl clubs for the first half of the pre season.
Vivdoa and Barnaby with Werribee, and Healy with Willamstown.
Also Lee Spiteri after his first season for Altona seniors, fresh out of the 18's the year before, has signed with Williamstown. Dion Lawson has also signed with Williamstown.
Joey Hallaron, former western jet and vales junior is rumored to have made the move to Altona this year. Though most probaly will spend the season at Werribee, is a good addition to Altonas list, if he doesn't make it at the VFL level.

I think i speak for everyone who is not affiliated with, friends with, father of or mentor of any of the kids that may or may not be playing at altona this year... please start you own thread dedicated to this dribble or at least bring up a topic that is half interesting to the rest of us.

Perhaps discussion on who will be the big movers this year? I really do hope someone can challenge spotty or at least have a different team in the grand final against them to keep it interesting.. a more even competition would be better for every team

U are allowed to enjoy yourself after u retire, i guess he went overboard.Gee it is big though

For all the people that arent lucky enough to be in the Port Faults (finals only) mutual admiration society tell me how J love can coach with a current suspension from the AFL? And please not the "everyone at faults knows what is going on.............. spew! response. If hes had a reprieve tell the plebs, or admit that you sacked a coach with a hopeful plan to have an ineligible risk take the reigns??

U are allowed to enjoy yourself after u retire, i guess he went overboard.Gee it is big though

Can some one that is not from the port faults (finals only) mutual admiration society please address the elephant in the room that is the faults appointing a coach that is currently suspended by the AFL? And please not the "everyone at the faults knows what is going on..........."
If hes been cleared tell the plebs or admit youve replaced a great clubperson with a dodgy replacement. Whats the plan if hes banned from taking the field to address the players? Mal Browns cherry picker??

Can some one that is not from the port faults (finals only) mutual admiration society please address the elephant in the room that is the faults appointing a coach that is currently suspended by the AFL? And please not the "everyone at the faults knows what is going on..........."
If hes been cleared tell the plebs or admit youve replaced a great clubperson with a dodgy replacement. Whats the plan if hes banned from taking the field to address the players? Mal Browns cherry picker??

Batten down the hatches Clapster, you are gonna cop it. Criticism (read comment) on the Colts seems against the rules in here.

Because it is boring on here time to create a real good discussion;

BEST WRFL TEAM 2000 - 2009

B: Bonnet (Colts) Sir (Parkside) Arena (St Albans)

H/B: B.Jacobs (Colts) McGhie (Spots) Clonan (Hoppers)

C: Theodore (Spot) Carson (Hopp) Barker (West/Albion)

H/F McNualty (Yarr/Colts) Caddy (Colts) Galea (Spots)

F: Condos (Park) Clarke (Colts) Keenan (Spots)

Rucks: Julier (Colts) Ruck Rover: Frost (Yarr/Hopp) Rover: Lindsay (Colts)

Bench: Fitzpatrick (St Alb), M.Antonowicz (St Alb), R.Douglas (Suns), S.Zavalas (Park/Alb)

Based mainly on Premierships & Priest Medallists???

Special Mention: N.Juegan, B.Kelly, B.Harris, B.Davis, S.McGoldrick, A.Taleb, C.Beazley, S.Kolyniuk, C.Price, S.Broadbent, C.O;Keefe, A.Freeland, B.Foley, A.Comer, A.Tymms - And I am sure I missed heaps

what about brian (buttza) memedi at f.f

Sorry, but that someone doesn't exist! And if they say they do they're lying. Everyone at the colts knows what's going on and that's all that matters. You obviously admire them, you've asked the same question twice, thanks for your concern buddy.

Applause. Could all the other players nominated in the forwardline please line up to shine Buttsas boots? Def no sarcasm here, a class above the rest of a very good bunch, highlights dvd please!!

Will need some stats before I call on nominated players to shine Memedi's boots. Goals, games played....approximates will do.

Sorry, but that someone doesn't exist! And if they say they do they're lying. Everyone at the colts knows what's going on and that's all that matters. You obviously admire them, you've asked the same question twice, thanks for your concern buddy.
Sorry,but some things just need to be said seeing you have suggested SOME PEOPLE are lying.As i have mates who play at the Colts and still throw my money over the bar every saturday and live not more than a drop punt from Murphys this hurts to say as my association with the club has been a lifetime. Facts are -
You are definately not the same Micka Morris who was a teamate of my old mans at the Colts,because Micka is a good BLOKE.
J.Love is not accredited by the AFL and wont be.
Not everyone at the Colts knows what is going on as there are players there that dont even know of the Love's suspension and that he will not be allowed to coach.
Some players that do know of the circumstances are pissed off that Clarke was replaced with a bloke not allowed to coach.A couple of these players still weighing up their options.
Appointment of Love and sacking of Clarke come from a push by individuals who support the club but were not even commitee people.
No President to lead a commitee to ratify Loves appointment.
Club appointed a bloke as an assistant to Love who was Clarkes right hand man last year and also applied for the Coaching job as co Coach for 2010.Conflict of loyalties as his friendship with Clarke was the only reason he set foot back in the Colts.Will not see the season out.
Former captain of the club takes a coaching job at another club after being a magnificent servant to the club and cant get paid for last season.
Club is an embarassment with what they have done and the season has'nt even started.
Clarke done an enormous job during his coaching career to have the success the club did considering the unprofessionalisim that has littered the club for some time.Not to mention the disloyalty by some who wanted his head during the season last year and finally got their way.
These are all facts and i could add plenty more to the embarassing fiasco that is Port Colts Football Club at the moment.When you live in Port all your life and walk down Bay St everyday the truth always comes out so it is highly hypocritical for you to again get on here and suggest people are telling lies,when the previous poster was stating fact and expressing his opinion.

Sorry,but some things just need to be said seeing you have suggested SOME PEOPLE are lying.As i have mates who play at the Colts and still throw my money over the bar every saturday and live not more than a drop punt from Murphys this hurts to say as my association with the club has been a lifetime. Facts are -
You are definately not the same Micka Morris who was a teamate of my old mans at the Colts,because Micka is a good BLOKE.
Not everyone at the Colts knows what is going on as there are players there that dont even know of the Love's suspension and that he will not be allowed to coach.
Some players that do know of the circumstances are pissed off that Clarke was replaced with a bloke not allowed to coach.A couple of these players still weighing up their options.
Appointment of Love and sacking of Clarke come from a push by individuals who support the club but were not even commitee people.
Club appointed a bloke as an assistant to Love who was Clarkes right hand man last year and also applied for the Coaching job as co Coach for 2010.Conflict of loyalties as his friendship with Clarke was the only reason he set foot back in the Colts.Will not see the season out.
Former captain of the club takes a coaching job at another club after being a magnificent servant to the club and cant get paid for last season.
Club is an embarassment with what they have done and the season has'nt even started.
Clarke done an enormous job during his coaching career to have the success the club did considering the unprofessionalisim that has littered the club for some time.Not to mention the disloyalty by some who wanted his head during the season last year and finally got their way.
These are all facts and i could add plenty more to the embarassing fiasco that is Port Colts Football Club at the moment.When you live in Port all your life and walk down Bay St everyday the truth always comes out so it is highly hypocritical for you to again get on here and suggest people are telling lies,when the previous poster was stating fact and expressing his opinion.
Mate you are entitled to your opinion,but dont assume anything about my position as an assistant to Jack and how long it will last.As for my friendship with Clarkey that remains but in no way should it question my loyalty to Jack or the club and its focus in 2010.

so jack is definitely coaching

You think you know a lot,lived in Port all your life what have you done for the Club besides spend money over the bar at a home game,do you even watch when we play away,are you even a member yourself or just like to sit back and bag people,yes Clarkie did give great service and like Bretto,who is a big loss but had a better offer and for family reasons took it.

Seeing you love Port Melb so much look forward to you helping out in some way this year or will you be like most of the rest and only turn up when you feel like it and do **** all while you are there.

You think you know a lot,lived in Port all your life what have you done for the Club besides spend money over the bar at a home game,do you even watch when we play away,are you even a member yourself or just like to sit back and bag people,yes Clarkie did give great service and like Bretto,who is a big loss but had a better offer and for family reasons took it.

Seeing you love Port Melb so much look forward to you helping out in some way this year or will you be like most of the rest and only turn up when you feel like it and do **** all while you are there.
Hit a raw nerve ? I know a lot more than you think buddy.Just stating facts and you know it so dont try and divert the attention away from what could only be called a shambles to what i do for the club.I go to away games when work permits,i do put money over the bar and i do attend nearly all club functions putting my money where my mouth is.What do you do ? Plenty obviously if you can question others.What are you ? player,trainer,waterboy,barman or one of the pathetic individuals from that joke of a commitee that let this farce unfold ? If you are, get some balls and wake up to yourself you silly fool.All of the WRFL football community know whats going on with this and are probably waiting for rd 1 to see how this farce unfolds.:eek:

Pretty sure that Colts along with Spotty would be at the top of most people's hate list but the reasons for the club's appointments down to the cleaner are no one's business apart from those at the club in question.
Ok Clapper, a hypothetical for you. You're part of the powerbrokers at a club that's just lost their third flag straight. 1) Do you maintain the status quo and have faith in what you have? 2) Try to recruit like crazy although cash and opportunities are limited in local comps. 3) Do you let the coach go? or 4) A combination of 2&3?
It's a serious question and a tough one I reckon. I can't fully justify any of the answers to myself and that's why I haven't commented on Clarke's departure and Love's appointment.

Not that my opinion matters and I have no
idea how Clarke coaches or what his like with training
nor do I wanna know but surely a bloke who gets his club to 3 gfs is entiltled to continue coaching!! Colts where the best team of 09 it was unfortunate for them they got rolled on the last day again...

Not that my opinion matters and I have no
idea how Clarke coaches or what his like with training
nor do I wanna know but surely a bloke who gets his club to 3 gfs is entiltled to continue coaching!! Colts where the best team of 09 it was unfortunate for them they got rolled on the last day again...

Firstly just want people to know I have one log in. Not for 1swcond would I ever bag the club or people involved, especially on here.

Tige for the record it was 6 gf in a row.
As dissapointed as I was in not being reappointed I think replacing me was the right choice even if we won.
I know now after going to a new club I did loose a little but of enthusiasm and passion through last year. I did how ever gave my heart and soul to the place.
As stated before I love the colts and will continue to support the club when possible. I just think people need to relax and not air any grievences they may have on here.
It may not be an ideal situation of appointing the new coach but it may turn out to be just what the club needed and it may not but that could happen with any coaching apointment.
My wish is that all colts people get behind the club and support the players and workers of the club more, help is hard to find good help even harder.
So if you have any ideas get on the commitee or volunteer in another and help this wonderful club stay the force it is.

Go colts!!

Pretty sure that Colts along with Spotty would be at the top of most people's hate list but the reasons for the club's appointments down to the cleaner are no one's business apart from those at the club in question.
Ok Clapper, a hypothetical for you. You're part of the powerbrokers at a club that's just lost their third flag straight. 1) Do you maintain the status quo and have faith in what you have? 2) Try to recruit like crazy although cash and opportunities are limited in local comps. 3) Do you let the coach go? or 4) A combination of 2&3?
It's a serious question and a tough one I reckon. I can't fully justify any of the answers to myself and that's why I haven't commented on Clarke's departure and Love's appointment.

Filo-answer to hypothetical. First of all, of course my opinions are ones of someone outside of COLTS inner sanctum, but they are still from someone who has been involved at all levels of a footy club. Not being involved with the Colts is not a valid reason to simply disregard my view on the matter.
When you are deciding whether to replace a coach who has taken you to the last 3 GFs, although they were unsuccessful attempts, you want to make sure that its a GUARANTEED better swap. Especially when its obvious(just read any of his posts) that the bloke who was sacked bleeds for the club. Even post sacking his loyalty has been admirable and has publicly voiced his ongoing support for the club. But after 3 losses, I cant blame Colts for looking at their options. Maybe it was time for a change.
And im not saying J Love would be a bad coach, im just asking whether hes going to be allowed to. Perhaps a phone call to Football Vic would clear all this up. But my mail is he is suspended and to me that is not a GUARANTEED better option. A previous poster said some players are not aware of this situation and if thats the case instability awaits. I cant see how being a young player being coached by someone who cant enter the playing field and wondering why he cant is going to be good for player development. So if my mail is incorrect (feel free to correct me Micka) then let the BIGFOOTY community and WRFL supporters know. Then we can make a more informed choice on whether it was the right call.

i'll think you'll find bretto wanted to coach, it wasnt just bang got a better offer and took it for family reasons....he offered to coach the colts

Guys i think i speak for most when i say that it's great to see so much passion for a local club, and YES, ROCK did do a stella job with the Colts in his time. But to be a player in the league and to beat the colts this season, i would want them to be united and as strong as ever. Not getting on hear and airing your frustrations and views of your club. Give each other a call, sit down and have a beer, or if you don't know who each other is then private message each other. Because from where i sit it looks like the huge respect your club has built in the comp over the past decade is actually being Disrespected by your own. Not healthy. Who knows, Jack may coach and be successful. Rock may return in 5 years to coach again with a bag of edfl recruits. The important thing is to all push your club the same way so that you remain a force and in doing so create a healthy strong league.

Sorry,but some things just need to be said seeing you have suggested SOME PEOPLE are lying.

.When you live in Port all your life and walk down Bay St everyday the truth always comes out so it is highly hypocritical for you to again get on here and suggest people are telling lies,when the previous poster was stating fact and expressing his opinion.
I think you'll find the lying comment was made in jest as to there are no people who wouldn't admire the colts....I'm not going to get into a public slanging match with you over the club, it's of no benefit to anyone and particularly not the club which you are obviously so passionate about and that's great but everyone has their chance to get on the committee and make decisions and help out, it's what every club needs but unfortunately not a lot of, it's easy to sit back and bag people who do put their hand up. Agree with Club7 lets all get behind the club for 2010, they'll be right up there again. The last thing I will say though is Brett Jacobs at no time applied for the coaching job, didn't happen.
Due to all the innacuracies that are written on this site, this is my last post..........Not the real Micka Morris signing off..............GO COLTS.