2010: Who is to blame and how can it be turned around?

Aug 14, 2004
Brisbane
Cardiff City
First up I’ll warn you all that this is a long post...

We are all disappointed, angry and frustrated. So many expectations were held prior to this season and yet it is already over only one quarter the way in.

Most alarmingly the overall performance of the team has declined from last year and is playing some truly awful football – the record of 1-5 is not a case of being unlucky, it is deserved.

So the question must be asked – why has the team regressed since last year with the same group of players that was heavily touted to be amongst the best improvers for 2010?

Before attempting to answer that question, I will list down what I believe to be some strengths and weaknesses of the current squad:

Strengths:
• Arguably the best ruck combination in the competition
• A genuinely talented key forward option in Josh Kennedy
• Mark LeCras is arguably the best medium-sized forward in the competition
• Shannon Hurn has arguably the greatest penetration of any A-grade kick in the competition

Weaknesses:
• Aside from Kerr, the team has no proven consistent ball-winners with quality disposal
• There is a distinct lack of players with the ability to run and carry the ball at speed
• Quality key defensive options are lacking – Glass is still the best option at full back despite having no pace at all off the mark.
• After Kennedy, there are no key forward options that are currently up to AFL standard.
• Complete lack of a genuine crumbing presence up forward.
• An inability to nullify damaging opposition on-ballers.

So with the expectation that one would play to their strengths and try to limit their weaknesses one could anticipate that the Eagles would play a very open forward line to provide space and isolate Kennedy and LeCras in one-on-one situations whilst players push back into the midfield and backline in an attempt to address the deficiencies there.
Essentially a “Sydney”-style game plan blocking the game up in the centre and utilising the ruck advantage at stoppages to counter-attack to the open forward line.

However as we are all aware, this is not the case and West Coast do not utilise such a gameplan. Instead the team plays a very high defensive zone on the attacking fifty metre arc and attempts to employ a running game with an emphasis on moving the ball by hand.

With respect to the coaching staff this gameplan is pointless and plays to the weaknesses of the current team whilst neutralising its strengths.
The high zone effectively removes space for the forwards to operate in and costs soft opposition goals once it is breached. Whilst the prominence of moving the ball via hand up the ground takes away from making use of Hurn’s penetration by foot and places a greater emphasis upon those with suspect disposal. It is a tactical recipe for disaster – and that is not even taking into account the extra workload that is required to deploy a zone so far up the ground for an entire match, which in my opinion is the chief reason why we have been overrun in every last quarter so far this season.

So with that in mind what would I say to the coaching staff if given the chance?

1. Throw out the DVD of the 2006 Grand Final
Yes we won. It was a fantastic achievement. But the team of today is not capable of playing the game that was executed by that of 2006. The engine room then was stacked full of players that could not only find the ball, but run and carry it, and then dispose of it with quality to a teammate in a better position. Additionally in Stenglein, Chick and Banfield there were effective options that could be used to shut down the midfield of the opposition. Today neither of these things can be said about the Eagles’ midfield. Currently it is slow, has poor disposal and cannot shut down opponents. It is clearly foolhardy to ask for a similar outcome from it. Take the DVD and put it in the bin along with the tactics employed in it – they have no use in the current team.

2. Whilst you are at it throw out the DVD of the 2008 Grand Final
Yes Hawthorn beat Geelong against the odds. Yes they used a zone. Now I understand zoning in AFL is now a fundamental part of the game, but since this game it appears that the coaching staff have become obsessed with it. A zone is most effective when used by a hard running team with good disposal on a small ground. The Eagles’ are a team with suspect overall disposal and less running capacity through younger players having done less preseasons, whilst playing more than half their games on the largest ground in the competition – hardly a strong contender then to have a gameplan formulated around a zone. The zone has its place, but should not be the foundation of our defensive structures. Take the DVD of the Hawks getting up and bin it.

3. Only two talls up forward
We have one quality tall forward in Kennedy. Rather than trying to give him space, we surround him with spuds who either get in the way of his leads or drag their opponent into the contest. No other team plays three tall forwards in modern AFL – ever. The closest would be Brisbane with Staker (however they have an exceptional circumstance of two elite forwards in Brown and Fevola) and they still get crucified by the opposition off half back. Playing three talls up forward, especially if they are not getting in amongst the goals is ridiculous. It guarantees the opposition half back line will rebound easily, circumventing any zones whilst effectively removing the team of an additional rotational option for the midfield.

4. Only two talls down back
So if every other club is playing just two key forwards, why must we insist on playing three key position backs each game? A resting ruckman is not a natural goalkicker – otherwise he would be a forward and not a ruckman. Additionally a resting ruckman would only be there for short spells before going back into the ruck leaving us with a the mismatch of a key defender on a mobile forward for the majority of the game. If a team were to place the ruckman up forward for longer periods they would get crucified in the ruck as the Eagles are statistically the best hitout team in the league. The resting ruckman up forward is not a major threat to our defence. The team is packed full of tall players – A.Selwood, Waters and Jones are within 5cm of the heights of Glass and Spangher – an additional taller defensive option is not necessary. All it does is expose us against smaller, agile forwards and remove another midfield rotational option from the team.

5. Forget about resting the rucks up forward
In the past a ruckman was able to be effective up forward when rested due to his superior height in one-on-one marking contests. In modern football however we have flooding and zoning and there is no way a ruckman resting up forward will become isolated with space in one-on-one contests. Neither of Cox or Naitanui have marking as their strongpoint so why put them in a situation where they will be in a contest trying to outmark 2-3 opponents? Nor does either one of them know how to lead effectively, or how to create space for their fellow forwards. The forward line is for forwards, ruckmen should only be there if there is a stoppage. Otherwise all they do crowd the forward line for space, when what we need is for it to be opened up. Additionally there are already three talls up forward – with a ruckman there it makes four – and yet we wonder why opposition half back lines accumulate cricket score possessions against us.

6. Get players that are capable of carrying the ball with speed and dispose with accuracy onto the field
Look at some of our midfield line-ups recently: Rosa, Priddis, Embley, Dalziell, A.Selwood – all players whom know how to get the ball but lack the pace to run and carry possession up the ground and have suspect disposal at best. A midfield composed primarily of these players will lose more games than it wins as there will be no clean breakaway clearances from packs with quick, sharp delivery into the forwards. Instead it becomes laborious with disposal under greater pressure, which in turn affects decision-making and execution. Previously, there were pack breakers in Judd and Cousins, and hard running carry players on the outside with good disposal in Braun and Embley (2006 model, not the 2010 version). The current squad is yet to develop any on-ball players capable of breaking away from packs, however Swift and Schuey look to be the most likely. Naitanui is currently our only player that has demonstrated the ability to be able to break out from packs so far this season.
It is the midfielders in the “outside” roles that need to be addressed the most in my opinion however, as these are meant to be the main carry and deliver players in the team. Any players that lack pace or have suspect disposal cannot play this role effectively. Get them out of the midfield and put in players that can run hard with pace and kick accurately to the correct options.

7. Do the coaching staff believe that crumbers are not necessary?
Seriously do they? We have no specialist crumbing forwards ready to come into this team. In fact we only have one specialist small forward in the entire squad in Broome whom currently looks more an AusKick player and is about as ready for AFL football as one too. Weedon and LeCras are both over six foot in height and prefer to mark on the lead or overhead – that is not a crumbing forward. Hams plays as a defender at WAFL level and Neates in the midfield. Surely how hard could it be to trawl through the WAFL, VFL, SANFL and find a mature-aged specialist crumbing forward to rookie-list? They don’t need to be Phil Matera reborn, they just need to be capable enough to fill a role and do what is necessary. Crumbing forwards are meant to be a-dime-a-dozen so why do we not have any? It’s almost as if after the Sampi failure the coaching and recruiting staff don’t seem to want to have anything to do with small forwards.

So considering each of these points how should the current team line-up?

I would like to see something like the following by the end of this season:

FB:..A.Selwood*.........Glass**...............Waters

HB:..Hurn..................Brown....................Butler

C:...Stevenson..........Schuey..............Sheppard

HF:..Ebert................Kennedy.................LeCras

FF:..Hams................McKinley***..........Weedon****

R:...Cox.....................Kerr...................Naitanui

Int:.Swift.........Masten.......Stevens........Priddis

* Potentially elevate Strijk to HB, move Butler to FB line and place A.Selwood to bench in place of Priddis
** Glass likely to retire by the end of this season in my opinion, one of MacKenzie or Schofield to take his place.
*** McKinley currently best available option – possibly Notte in future
**** Dependent upon fitness and form at WAFL level – if not up for selection with the limited options available I’d be tempted to thrown in McGinnity as a “defensive” forward.

If Houlihan returns from injury to his form in 2009 then he would be knocking on the door of getting in this team too.

Lots of running and midfield rotations in that line-up there. Just having that alone would address some of the issues the team has experienced this year being unable to run-out games.

Naitanui on the ball? I think so. He operates best around packs, use him in bursts as a rover. When Cox needs a rest, Naita takes the ruck; when Naita needs a rest one of the midfield rotations takes his place as a rover.

Mitch Brown CHB? I am of the opinion the Brown does not have what it takes to play as a key forward at AFL level. Irrespective of what he may do in the WAFL, at AFL level when up against zones and numbers flooding back to cut off leads, Brown becomes lost and his performance suffers. Now I am not doubting that he has the inherent ability to be a forward, but with no personal offense to Mitch as I may be completely incorrect, but it appears to me that he does not have the sharpest footballing brain going around, which is why he is more suited to being a key defender. Rather than trying to find space and not cut off the leads of teammates up forward, down back all that is required is to “stop player X from getting the ball” which is a much easier concept. He played down back throughout 2009 and proved himself to be a good rebounding CHB in the making – the question should really be why is Brown not playing down back?

No forwards, backs or talls on the bench? Nope they are not needed – everything in modern football is about running and fitness. The greater number of midfield rotations you have, the fitter the team will be at the end of the game. Fitter teams tackle more, chase harder and dispose with greater accuracy than those that are running on empty. Fitter teams win games. The coaching staff should know, West Coast pioneered this type of football when Worsfold took over. Now every club does it, except we haven’t moved on with the times. If a player up front or down back were to become injured during a game, we already have players in the team that are capable of filling the gap in that role – sacrificing midfield rotations to cover for an injury that is unlikely to occur is akin to a dentist decapitating a patient in order to remove a toothache.

Now with that team how would I like to see them play? Hard-running attack off half back football.
Instead of a zone deployed at attacking fifty it would be brought back to defensive fifty. Doing this would help to prevent conceding soft goals on the opposition counter-attack whilst maintaining space for the forwards to operate in. A zone not so high up the ground would also help to conserve the energy of the key midfield runners which is critical in the latter stages of games.

So now reverting back to our original question – why has the team regressed since last year with the same group of players that was heavily touted to be amongst the best improvers for 2010?

In my opinion it comes down overwhelmingly to poor decision making by the coaching staff and employing a tactical strategy that is simply flawed. The players are good enough, but what is being asked of them currently is beyond what they can execute and the coaching staff and selection panel should be held accountable for that.

We have Hawthorn next week. If we lose that then we face a situation where we could realistically be 1-10 at the halfway point of the season with games against St Kilda, Carlton and Geelong in the coming weeks. That scenario would make Worsfold’s position untenable. Should the worst happen with results not improving and Worsfold resigning or being sacked then I believe we should do everything in our power to try and convince Paul Roos to head west.

It sickens me what is happening to this club – we are a complete shambles at the moment. 2008 was terrible but it was to be expected after losing so many key players. Now however we should be improving and making steps towards football in September. Unfortunately the only steps we have taken this year are backwards and we are every bit as bad if not worse for overall performance as we were in 2008. I live in hope that things can be turned around for this club sooner rather than later.

Hey Dylan

Where have you been mate was looking foward to one of your reviews after the brisbane game ?

Hams is our forward crumber now by the looks of it and seems to be doing a good job.

Our gameplan does seem flawed. Its tiring us out too. So much effort just for one goal.

On Glass, Ive been thinking if it would be an idea of using him as a spare man in defence Maxwell style. He reads the play and marks/spoils well. This would allow McKenzie to develop in FB.

There's no question trade and selection mistakes have been made:

1. Embley should have been traded last year. He had value
2. Lynch should have been traded last year. He is surplus to need and had value. Woosha has never been able to know when to cash his chips.
3. Masten, Swift, Ebert, Le Cras, Shuey should have been playing midfield from the get go.
4. Selwood should never have played as an out and out midfielder.
5. Dalziell was never going to work.

We may have won the same amount of games but we would have progresed further as a team.

good post I think you have hit the nail on the head .

Especially about the hawk gameplan for the record they have won 2 of their last 12 games this is with guns like hodge ,franky,mitchell and rioli etc etc who have presise kicking skills so what chance to we have with our kicking.

I'd have to say quite a good read there with many good points raised.
I still disagree with a few things, like some aspects of the team selection, but the majority of the post i agree with and believe many of the issues you have raised in the post should be adressed at the club asap!

Like you i live in the hope of the club turning things around quick, with such a proud history, and once again competing in September.

Again well done mate :thumbsu:

Great post... For mine you are spot on. Lets hope its not another 6 games before the winds of change start blowing re structure and game plan... and coaching if required

Pretty good work there, I like the bit about the tall players. Allthough I would not mind seeing a third tall in some games, or at least a bloke who can play tall/medium. There was an article in the herald sun (I think it was) about the new type of forward in the game being a more medium type hard running player rather then a big contested marking gorilla.

Do we really want the season to be turned around?? Mabye the best thing that can happen is to finish low grab another good kid and reset next year. Mabye look at trading a few of those over rated senior players. I know the draft pick wont be as great but a top 10 pick is still a pretty good player.

Great post, and the side you posted looks good. The only issues I have with it is you mentioning Glass giving it up this year. Pretty sure he signed a 2 year contract a couple of weeks back along with Masten's 3 year deal. Also doubt that Weedon will be playing by seasons end as he's still in WAFL reserves.

Also I think there should be a tall on the bench as a utility/cover just in case of injury. Preferrably an agile tall like Schofield as it gives our side flexibility, and at some stages throughout a game 3 talls could be useful. Gives us a plan B in case plan A isn't working.

We should have traded kerr and cox at the end of 2007. We were not going to be premiers in 2008-09. If we had we would be having a much better time at the moment seaby has played very well this year he has been given a chance

Great post, and the side you posted looks good. The only issues I have with it is you mentioning Glass giving it up this year. Pretty sure he signed a 2 year contract a couple of weeks back along with Masten's 3 year deal. Also doubt that Weedon will be playing by seasons end as he's still in WAFL reserves.

Also I think there should be a tall on the bench as a utility/cover just in case of injury. Preferrably an agile tall like Schofield as it gives our side flexibility, and at some stages throughout a game 3 talls could be useful. Gives us a plan B in case plan A isn't working.

Cheers for the kind words.

I put Glass down as a potential retiree as I have a feeling that he may be suffering from an injury that won't be able to be corrected without surgery. At this stage in his career, having to go under the knife and come back through a multiple month rehabilitation without any guarantee that his spot will still be available, he may just decide to cash in his chips and give it away. I hope that is not the case though.

In regard to an agile tall to pinch hit if necessary - Swift is 192cm tall. Problem solved ;)

Good post and agree with most of your points, but not entirely with your team selection – mainly that you’ve dropped our two most promising key backmen McKenzie and Schofield. Schoey has been very good since coming in whilst McKenzie has always been solid defensively and last Sunday for the first time in a long time looked confident with ball in hand. Agree that we have to shorten the team – footy now is just all about running, but also think you may have gone the midget brigade a bit too much. Only 5 genuine talls plus McKinley who is a very short key position player is going very small.

Mitch Brown is a serious conundrum for us – he clearly has the talent, has a really good physique, looks fit as ****, attacks the ball, and when he gets it usually does something decent… but he just doesn’t have enough of an impact on games. When he first come in, we were all saying in a few years he’s gonna be a gun… unfortunately we’re still saying that. But he’s still very young, yet to play 30 games so he still has time on his side.

I also don’t think there is too much of a problem with 3 tall defenders, particularly given Schoey is quite agile and capable of playing on guys smaller than him or even up on the wing I reckon. It hasn’t hurt St Kilda who have 5 guys 190cm+ in their back six (Goddard, Blake, Dawson, Gilbert, Fisher) or Geelong who have Scarlett, Taylor, Mackie and even Milburn, Joel Corey and Enright are pretty tall… Adelaide have Bock, Rutten and Otten (not the latter this year)… Swans LRT, Grundy, Mattner, Bolton… and so on

So I don’t think a back set up of Glass at FB, MacKenzie at CHB, Schofield third tall is bad. Can also be flexible (as someone said just above) and play Glass or Schoey as spare man Maxwell/Fletcher style, and as I said I reckon Schofield can play up on a wing at times.

I don’t mind your bench at all. I’d prefer Brown or Callum Wilson at FF rather than McKinley. With Masten injured now is a good time to bring Wilson in and give him a shot for six weeks or so. I have no problem with the idea of Naitanui on the ball. A plan like that would probably require him to spend his time as 1/3rd midfielder, 1/3rd ruckmen, 1/3rd bench, whilst Cox would be 2/3rd ruckmen, 1/3rd bench…

The traditional 6 – 6 – 6 set up is long gone. Teams really now only have about 4 guys who play the majority of the game at either end (so 8 in total) whilst the other 10 guys are basically midfielders. Even the traditional wingman’s role has been very muddled and is now basically another midfielder.

I think a tall set up of Wilson or Brown at Full Forward, Kenner’s at CHF, Cox and Naiti rucking (Naiti some on ball time), MacKenzie and Glass two key defensive posts an Schoey down back also. Think our defense was fine on the weekend, completely under the pump from lack of midfield presence. Agree with not needing any on the bench. Brett Jones has been solid this year (much better than last year) but I think the time is to move in a different direction because he provides no run off the backline. Should only be used as back up.

So we’re looking at 7 genuine talls with the rest midfielders (Swift, Ebert, Masten :)(), Rosa) or players with running ability down back or up forward (Hams, LeCras, Hurn, Butler etc,.)… There is a host of midfield options…

Compared to last weekend when we had 7 talls plus Brett Jones and McKinley who have no midfield like qualities at all… in addition to that whichever is picked out of Brown or Wilson (particularly Brown) provide more run and chase than Lynch does.

Just on team selection it’s hard to fathom how the selection panel looks at our team from the Sydney game, looks at the vast open expanses of Subiaco, looks at the speed of the Freo team… and then decide to add a tall player into the mix (outs: spangher and brown, ins: lynch, mckinley, Mackenzie)…. That doesn’t make sense.

Good post and interesting read. :thumbsu:

The zone is a necessary evil at the moment though.

I don't think the game plan is completely flawed but it certainly needs a tweak and the biggest problem is we are using the wrong personnel to implement the game plan effectively.

Game plan

From what I can gather it seems we are

1) Using a modified zone - we had to because it was necessary to combat the zone defense of opposition teams out numbering our players and preventing us scoring.

Man on Man was not working, why? - because you are always reacting to opposition plays by negating your man and the zone was invented to beat the man on man style of play...........the zone works well.

2) Using a high press - this is close to working well by locking the ball in our forward fifty and making it almost impossible for the opposition to run the ball out quickly.

Now we clog the forward fifty with our players as well but in theory we lock the footy in and then reset after forcing the turnover and scoring a goal.

Good tactic so why is it not as effective as we would like?

We play too tall - although it is working well on occasion, it breaks down when a mismatch is created by the opposition having more players with leg speed able to find a way through.

Remedy - Have more runners in the team.
Sounds too simple ?

• it would help us put the opposition under more pressure by closing at them faster,
  • we would have more speed to get back faster when they do find a way through
  • it would relieve some of the pressure from our runners who are doing too much work at the moment and
  • stop the fade out's that are plaguing our side.

What else could we implement? Unique to WCE and Freo to combat travel and the time delay.

It is common knowledge that we are vulnerable after derby's and I would take that a step further by saying we are also vulnerable after a tough away game.

Why ? - because it is near impossible to replicate 100% effort each week.
The speed of the game combined with rotations out of control are taxing players so much that recovery week after week is unlikely. Also consider we have between 24 -48 hours less time to prepare/recover every second week.
The result is players going in fatigued before the first bounce and that results in losses.

Remedy

The time has come to throw away the thinking of the past.
We cannot play and do the things that worked 'once upon a time' just because they did.

Use the advantage and make home wins a priority.

We have half our matches at home and should ensure the squad is at maximum fitness to get these wins.

how ? - play the away matches with an away squad by resting a few players, giving them a half game in the WAFL (limited game time) to recover for the following home game.

This does not imply we should take away games less seriously but use fringe players and young players to advantage.

eg

Home Team selection

FB: A.Selwood, Glass, Waters

HB: Hurn, Schofield, Butler

C: Rosa, Priddis, Houlihan

HF: Ebert, Kennedy, Embley

FF: Hams, Brown, LeCras

R: Cox, Kerr, Swift

Int: Masten, McGinnity, Naitanui, Shuey

The Away Team

A rotation of players to rest those in need of a break.

• Use Scooter to replace either his brother or McGinnity - all negators IMO
  • Use Sullivan to relieve Cox or Naita once in a while
  • From Dalziell, Nicoski, Stevenson, Stevens and Sheppard - use three midfield rotations to blood new players and rest three guns (players in blue)
  • From Spangher, Wilkes, McKenzie, Smith, Brett and Jordan Jones - replace two backs (red)
  • from Weedon, Nicoski, Neates, Notte, Hansen, Lynch - replace one or two forwards (green).
Note, change the player position to suit yourself, they are subjective anyway, really what is the real difference between Rosa, Houlihan and Dalziell? The teams would be guided by form.

This would mean the away team would have somewhere between six to eight changes from the home team and any players that don't put in are given the boot for a while.

There would be immense pressure to play well or you get a rest.

We would see more players getting experience.

We would rebuild the 'House of Pain'.

For those about to say - look at Freo

Six weeks in they are looking great, lets see how they look after twelve, yet alone an entire season. ;)

My prediction for the end of this season (in regards to glass) is that he'll either retire or give up captaincy, and i'm guessing the front runner would be Adam Selwood, which is NOT a good thing IMO.

This would cement his place in our best 22, and Selwood isnt the sort of player who i think should be cemented.

Give it to Hurn!

Great thread by the way, very well thought out.

Stop playing the following players in the midfield:

Priddis
Dalziell
A.Selwood
Embley
Rosa
McGinnity

Start playing the following players in the midfield:

Lecras
Masten
Sheppard
Stevens
Ebert
Swift
Shuey

Only then will we start to see some improvement. We may go through some pain early on but it cant be any worse than the s#*t we are going through now. Make no mistake the midfield is were the problem is.

Make no mistake the midfield is were the problem is.
Can't agree with that, its a factor but not the only problem.

The errant kicking is spread throughout the team and below par performance has been wide spread.

look at the ins and outs for the season. Wide spread.

My prediction for the end of this season (in regards to glass) is that he'll either retire or give up captaincy, and i'm guessing the front runner would be Adam Selwood, which is NOT a good thing IMO.

This would cement his place in our best 22, and Selwood isnt the sort of player who i think should be cemented.

Give it to Hurn!

I would like Glassy to hold it for another year and let a player from the young group put their hand up for Captaincy.

The hardest, most consistent player should be captain. 25yo and under by 2011.

Good effort.

Game plan??

I suspect the game plan breaks down due to poor decision making and concentration. Young players will do this some of our older ones have trouble with new concepts. Life is short.

I am not sure our fitness has been developed specifically to support our gameplan which is different to not doing enough hard work. However, when the plan breaks down the chasing requires will tire any team. The two need to progress together.

I am actually confident it will come together very weel afrer another preseason. Players like Lynch dont fit the new game plan, no wonder he doesnt like it. It would be impossible to predict with great accuracy which players will evolve as it is a major change for us. Thus it is not surprising some arnt making the change and need to be replaced. This is where Freo are ahead of us in cleaning out players.

We will be fine……we are not that far away.

Once this midfield get going they will be an exciting group…..Masten, Swift, Naitanui and Shuey are going to cause headaches. Add Ebert in there, as well as your hard arse tagger Scott Selwood and we will be rocking it.

Sheppard will be a beauty and will come in next week hopefully. Add Butler to the backline and all of a sudden you can release the beast Hurn onto a wing and watch this boy run through the lines and drill our forwards on the chest or kick goals himself from 255 kilometers out.

Koby Stevens will be great on the other wing and hopefully Smith (fastest player tested in draft camp and also has a booming kick) will come in soon as that sweeper or Wirra role. That NAB cup game against the Bombers he showed his ability to break the lines and run forward with PACE.

Slowly but surely the dead wood will be replaced…….We will be a totally different team in the second half of the year and a much better one at that.

We are only 9 points a quarter worse than the top 4 team in Freo......Not that hard to make up with some experience and confidence.

Give it to Hurn!

Those that wanted A.Selwood as captain in a poll & thread last year are now wearing the Dolmio grin and now have more egg smeared across their face than a toddler shoveling said egg into their mouth with their hands.

A.Selwood is the football version of an upgraded regular fries from uncle Ronald's. He's the king spud at present. He's fit to lead our current rabble considering how spudly our team is atm.

If we want better, we need to look past A.Selwood as a captain.