Hall/Thompson

• Thread starter Thread starter Jimpson

People have said that North lost a lot of respect today?

You have to have it to start with to lose it. No one respects North, not even the people who support them. Hence the reason why they get such low crowds at their matches.

Just hurry up and go under North. It's only a matter of time and nobody wants you in the competition!!!!

Prepare to be disappointed. Decent teams possess full backs with actual skill and an appetite to transition the ball from defensive 50 to attack. You won't be seeing any such niggle from the likes of Fletcher, Scarlett, Glass etc.. because they have plenty more than one trick up their sleeve, hence they are regarded as quality footballers. Thompson on the other hand is more of a one trick pony than Nick Giannopoulos.

Watch a lot of North do we?
Reckon you might find Thompson offers a fair bit of run out of defence and his second placing in the fairest and best last year suggests he has a couple of tricks.

People have said that North lost a lot of respect today?

You have to have it to start with to lose it. No one respects North, not even the people who support them. Hence the reason why they get such low crowds at their matches.

Just hurry up and go under North. It's only a matter of time and nobody wants you in the competition!!!!

Genuine lack of insight adding nothing to the debate.
Kudos.

Genuine lack of insight adding nothing to the debate.
Kudos.

There is no debate.

Thompson was targeting Hall all day. Then after winding him up to the point where Barry was about to snap, proceeded to push him when he was on one knee doing up his shoelace. He then inturn, copped the least of what he deserved from Barry.

I wouldn't have blamed Hall for knocking him out

Pretty sad for Hall that he can't keep his shit together in May when his side is 10 goals up, he has no hope. Sadly, he is just too dumb and uncontrollable for AFL football.

I felt the "clash" got out of control because the emergency umpire was pretty gutless and didn't take any action earlier. Hall had let fly with a number of softer high contact shots which were not reportable but should have been given as frees down field.

Bulldogs were also pretty stupid not dragging him off until after he completely lost the plot and did his more serious stuff.

If you are going to recruit a ticking time bomb then you have to be prepared to take him off quickly when his eyes roll back and the brain cells stop functioning.

Says the keyboard hero.
Here's an idea - Barry could grow up, stop being a bully and learn to lie in the bed he made with his disgraceful antics on the field over many years.
I honestly cannot believe the response to what happened...Thompson is an annoying opponent and he does things that really don't do much for me...but it's like he killed Bambi when the truth is he made the playground bully reveal his true colours.
As for Eade calling for protection for Barry...he knew what he got when he recruited him. You take a risk sometimes you get burnt. That's why they call it a gamble.

Oh I must have missed that today, what disgraceful antics did he do? Did he attack the man after he got rid of the ball? did he come over and abuse and laugh at a player he had just injured? Did he join in with others and try to stop a player heading to the bench? Did he focus all his attention on sniping at opposition players and not try to win a game? Did he embarrass and disappoint his supporters - or was he just a shit player in a shit team with the opposition supporters out numbering him 2 to 1 at his home game.:rolleyes:

For any fruit loop on here calling scotty thompson a coward I'd really like to see you do what scotty done today. I know I wouldn't.

Barry Hall is a ticking time bomb and its just a matter of time before he goes off the chain. The guy is an extremely good footballer, but he lacks a significant amount of brain matter, for him to react the way he did when scotty. t bumped him was just plain stupid, if he can't handle getting a few niggles, then he should've got back in the ring instead of coming back to football.

I hope to see every full back in the league do what scotty done today. I cant wait to see the thug crack again. Good to see your in a good mental state Barry, get off your highhorse and learn how to control yourself.
Your an absolute tool.Thompson did what he did today because he knew he was protected by the laws of the tribunial and that Hall was never going to belt the crap out of him. To Halls credit i thought he handled himself as well as could be expected given the attention he was getting.
I like to know if Thompson would have niggled Hall today if we had the same rules of the tribunial that we had 25 years ago where you could smack someone back and only get a couple of weeks for it.

Reckon you might find Thompson offers a fair bit of run out of defence and his second placing in the fairest and best last year suggests he has a couple of tricks.
As I poster earlier, I see plenty of North because my Dad barracks for them. Thompson is overrated by North supporters because of his dedication to do whatever it takes to bring the opposition down with his pester power. These types of players are always loved and therefore overrated by their own fans, which is why we loved Libba and the rest of the wog squad so much 10 years ago. The reality is that Thompson is just another Joe Average AFL footballer with many limitations. But to be honest he's done well just to have some sort of AFL career with a middle of the road team - achieved a hell of a lot more in AFL than I have.

Did the fans give him second in the best and fairest?
Suggests the coaches, who would know his game best, reckon he goes okay.
FWIW, Thompson was deadset horrible in the four six weeks of the season, but has actually improved in the last month and is playing better footy again.

Thompson is nothing more than a hack footballer who has to resort to niggling tactics just to keep his career alive in the AFL.
He might offer run out of defence but his skills are poor and has no tricks what so ever. Finishing 2nd in a North Best and Fairest is no great achievement either as you havnt got much in the way of quality to beat with a side like North

Re: Scott Thompson, brave or stupid?

You are so blinded by bias it almost gave me cancer. You are living in cuckooland mate.

If you did that to someone in the street you'd be well within your rights to knock the **** out. Thompson is hiding behind the rules of the game. Coward. Talentless coward.

HAHAHAHA did you just see that? Barry kicks a goal after an interchange breach. :D

You just have to love this kind of logic.

Sport is one of those curiosities where you can assault someone and not have the law of the land applied to you. Instead you face a tribunal who dish out a suspension if charged.

But assault someone on the street and you could find yourself before a judge facing much harsher penalties.

If I was going to snot someone, I know where I would do it. Hiding behind the rules of the game or umpires, what a joke.

There is no debate.

Thompson was targeting Hall all day. Then after winding him up to the point where Barry was about to snap, proceeded to push him when he was on one knee doing up his shoelace. He then inturn, copped the least of what he deserved from Barry.

I wouldn't have blamed Hall for knocking him out

Yeah whenever someone bumped and niggled me on the field I tried to knock them out. Quality.
Good grief, it's like Thompson gave him a coat hanger off the ball, when it was mostly harmless niggle that wouldn't hurt a fly.
Can't say I'd do it on the field - reckon it's a waste of energy for a start and there are more important things to be done - but the sudden sainting of Barry is amazing.

Oh I must have missed that today, what disgraceful antics did he do? Did he attack the man after he got rid of the ball? did he come over and abuse and laugh at a player he had just injured? Did he join in with others and try to stop a player heading to the bench? Did he focus all his attention on sniping at opposition players and not try to win a game? Did he embarrass and disappoint his supporters - or was he just a shit player in a shit team with the opposition supporters out numbering him 2 to 1 at his home game.:rolleyes:

Yeah, Barry's a saint. You blokes knew the risk when you recruited him.
Buyer beware.

Here's my thoughts:
- thompson does this every week so i can't see how he can be a coward when he fully knows he could be ko'd
- hall might not have liked the treatment he was getting but you'd think if you were up by 40 odd points all you'd need to do is point to the scoreboard
- i'm glad thompson didn't back down, i'm sick of barry hall trying to bully defenders, it was also good to see the other north players help him out
- what thompson did today was no different to what any other defender or tagger does
- it doesn't matter who started the pushing and shoving, the fact that hall retaliated in that matter (headlocking) is unacceptable, will get weeks
- thompson will get off because what he did was within the rules
- whilst all your supporters will bag thompson it won't surprise me if your own players do the same to hall, will you be just as critical, i doubt it

Yeah whenever someone bumped and niggled me on the field I tried to knock them out. Quality.
Good grief, it's like Thompson gave him a coat hanger off the ball, when it was mostly harmless niggle that wouldn't hurt a fly.
Can't say I'd do it on the field - reckon it's a waste of energy for a start and there are more important things to be done - but the sudden sainting of Barry is amazing.
It was harmless niggle but it was enough to become annoying to the point whereby it warranted a reaction. I dont know any footballer who would put up with that crap and Hall had every right to stand up to it.
One thing that makes the game ugly and people dont like to see is hacks like Thompson who have got no football ability at all out there use those types of niggling tactics to put people off.

It was harmless niggle but it was enough to become annoying to the point whereby it warranted a reaction. I dont know any footballer who would put up with that crap and Hall had every right to stand up to it.
One thing that makes the game ugly and people dont like to see is hacks like Thompson who have got no football ability at all out there use those types of niggling tactics to put people off.

No question it would be annoying. Barry could have reacted lots of ways. He could have pointed to the scoreboard and laughed at Thompson for doing something so silly and pointless, kicked a goal and given Thommo a bake or bumped him back.
He could have gone for some witty verbal jousting.
Instead he went for a headlock, like the moronic bully he is.
He's a genius is Barry.

No question it would be annoying. Barry could have reacted lots of ways. He could have pointed to the scoreboard and laughed at Thompson for doing something so silly and pointless, kicked a goal and given Thommo a bake or bumped him back.
He could have gone for some witty verbal jousting.
Instead he went for a headlock, like the moronic bully he is.
He's a genius is Barry.
So in other words your happy for Thompson to keep jabbing him in the ribs and back with his fist yet you expect Hall to just point to the scoreboard and do nothing. Sorry mate but i doubt youve played much footy in your life have you because you just have no idea

Thompson pleading with the umpire after Hall pushed him in the chest is just such a weaksauce move. Don't start something and then hope that the umps finish it for you.

Barely read this thread, but can I assume that the following conclusion has been reached...

"Thompson (or Number 16, as he was referred to) is a dog hack of the highest order, no skills like yeah, he belongs in the past like 20th Century, ****ing disgrace, Bazza's mah hero, Norf should get over Carey, should have gawn to the Gold Coast, that Number 16 relies on he's negative tactics coz dat's all his got, and yer, is such a bully and can I say that Big Bad Bazza is a gentleman and anyone who gives him shit is an animal that loves to punch Brent Staker (wait wut)" ?

And while I'm at it, it's great that we have a player that is hated by opposition fans again.

Carry on...

Barely read this thread, but can I assume that the following conclusion has been reached...

"Thompson (or Number 16, as he was referred to) is a dog hack of the highest order, no skills like yeah, he belongs in the past like 20th Century, ****ing disgrace, Bazza's mah hero, Norf should get over Carey, should have gawn to the Gold Coast, that Number 16 is such a bully and can I say that Big Bad Bazza is a gentleman and anyone who gives him shit is an animal that loves to punch Brent Staker (wait wut)" ?

Did you have a stroke?

And while I'm at it, it's great that we have a player that is hated by opposition fans again.

Carry on...
Its players like that that are the reason your sitting close to the bottom of the ladder so if you think thats great and is going to make North a better side your dreaming. Maybe Thompson should have a look at how the better backmen such as Scarlett play the game because he just might learn something

Did you have a stroke?

Not as many strokes that constituted Bazza's laying on the floor starfish that payed attention to the fact that he's such a good bloke and was not going to retaliate.