Celtic
Being the hardcore crimelord I am I put my feet up on a train a while back and was promptly fined. Now I've had 2 recos on my left knee so I know I could get out of the fine with a medical report. I just can't be titted getting it from my GD.

My question is what'll happen if I just ignore the fine? Aside from getting more expensive what else can they do to follow it up? I find it hard to believe the police would follow up a warrant for my arrest.

In theory it will go off to the Sheriff, who may or may not pay you a visit.

Ultimately they could cease some property to the value of the fine, but it's a rare thing.

More likely one day you will apply for something that needs some approval from some legal or government department and it will be knocked back because of the outstanding fine

Does it go on your credit rating? cause you don't want to mess with that fellow.

No, it doesn't go on your credit rating.

If you get fined then ignore it, the court costs will keep on being added on until a $150 fine has turned into a $400 fine, then it will go to the sheriff.

Anyone know any good reasons you can give to challenge fines for not having a valid ticket. I've heard stories of people getting off these in the past with some absolute pearlers, just got one in the mail would love to stick right up the Dept of Transports arse with some great excuse getting me off

Friend of a friend is being chased by the sheriff for (many) PT fines. If they find him he's probably in a lot of shit.

He's unlucky.

I have literally hundreds of em, haven't seen a Sheriff in 15 years.

It's got to the point now where sometimes I let inspectors 'report' me even when I have a valid ticket, just so I can hang shit on them.

He's unlucky.

It's got to the point now where sometimes I let inspectors 'report' me even when I have a valid ticket, just so I can hang shit on them.

*does quick sum*

So, if the sheriff does finally get around to hunting you down, you'll be up for what, $40k for every hundred tickets?

And with *hundreds* of them, man...

Reckon they'll give me a reward if I turn you in? :P

He's unlucky.

Yeah but at 16 ot 17 years of age, it won't matter that much.

But eventually when you get to adaulthood, you will come into contact with 'the man' and he will get his fines paid.
Its just delaying the inevitable

Just pay it or get the report, its not that hard.

Theses fines are so easy to get out of anyway. Just write a letter making up a lot of shit as to why your feet were on the chair and chances are you will get off.

Yeah but at 16 ot 17 years of age, it won't matter that much.

But eventually when you get to adaulthood, you will come into contact with 'the man' and he will get his fines paid.
Its just delaying the inevitable

I'm 37.

I'd say i'm well into adulthood at this point.

All government fines in Qld that are not paid are forwarded to SPURS (some revenue arm). If you got pulled up by a cop and they asked to see your ID, that fine would be there. If you applied for a driver's licence, that fine would be there.

There are a couple of places it can show up, and it will find you eventually.

I think the cops can actually take you in based on any expired government fine.

All state Government fines in Victoria eventauly go the Perin court and forwarded to sheriff.

You can ignore some council fines but sorry mate get ready for a new initiative there trialling in the city of Hume right now.

If you have outstanding fines that have been processed at the perin court.

Your car rego will be blocked from payment until you have paid (there probably going to include license renewal), your bond will blocked by the residential tenants board to your payment is complete - that look bad to any perspective landlord that the bond has been denied processing because you haven't paid fines.

They have also sat at Chadstone shopping centre clamping wheels of cars that have unpaid fines attached to the rego while the owner is inside shopping and not released them until their paid or payment negotiated with deposit.

They will up the anti with other permits and services soon no doubt too.
Not necessarily knocking on doors but blocking other services until it is paid, much more effective than threating to send the sheriff but denying you services and permits.

Me and a couple mates who were 18 and in year 12 last year went to The Presets concert and on the train ride back we got pulled over from the inspectors for not having the right card? i didnt understand we were in school still and weren't allowed to have a concession card? can someone clear this up for me please?

anyway, we got a fine right but my 2 mates parents sent letters to them saying we didnt understand the rules and they got off.

and at the time the fine was addressed to my mums old house and she moved during the period of getting fined and by the time a fine would come in the mail.

so i never found out if i still got a fine for it or not cos my parents didnt write a letter in. i just hope my mates parents said my name aswell lol.
could i still be in trouble?

Okay guys, I admit it. I'm four years old.

How I got away with having '4' in my username for so long, I'll never know.

Posting from the womb ftw. :thumbsu:

Bugger that sarcasm meter, I thought I got it fixed.

Hello .... hello ............. is anyone out there

In WA they suspend your driver's license/learners whatever.

My mate got pulled over and got done for driving without a license.