AFL Game Part 2

• Thread starter Thread starter The_Ru

so you agree that was a great game by naita?
TBH I was in America when he won the nom. But from what I have heard his game wasn't that good, not in comparison to some of his other more outstanding performances earlier in the year.

its arguable what was his best game, round 2 v port or round 4 v essendon (the game he got nominated)

he was excellent in both

That pic of Betts looks good, very much excited for this game.

Question to the king of Big Ant, does the game have stadium licensing? Or will we see the MCG referred to as the 'Melbourne Football Ground' like in previous AFL games? Also, does the game feature reports? And automatic interchanges that we can set up to rotate players (such as kick a goal and then have a rest for a min or so)?

Of course not. But I'm not saying the AFL is always fair. Just in nominations they tend to have a really wide sliding scale as to what someone will get picked on. For example Naitanui's nomination was a pretty average game.

Now I know that WCE fans will get in a tissy for me saying that, but I'm not saying he didn't deserve it, just probably not for that round. That is the example of them being fair in giving it to someone who didn't have a standout performance.

If they gave it to someone (and a different person) who was getting 20+ disposals each week then we would just be seeing midfielders getting it and nothing else.

*facepalm*

That is all. Naita was deserving of his Rising Star, but more arguably he was better a few other rounds where he didn't get nominated for some strange reason.

It's also very obvious what you're doing.

Why does Eddie Betts look like a middle aged Adam Goodes who's having his mug shot taken?

That's a bit harsh! 1k total and he's looking straight at the camera. In the game the face, eyes, etc.. are animated.

I can't release screenshots yet.... I think you will be impressed when I can.

HI ROSS,

Can you give us some insight on some of the controls. Will there be multiple kicking styles and when you kick how will it work exactly? Will the ball go to a person in the direction you are facing or will things like mongrel kicks be incorporated and the user has to select the power of the kick?

Also, any chance of an online franchise? The one Madden NFL uses is pretty impressive (with the exception it has no training mode for the online team).

Cheers.

I can't give away the controls but there are Torpedo's, stabs, etc.. taps in the ruck, punches - mongrels will generally happen when you do something that doesn't make sense given the position on field, power of the kick, on the run (or not) - like Setanta does a little too often :)

You're a brave man coming on here and facing the BF community.

Obviously you cant release much information, but 1 question that we are all desperate to find out, is will the game be released this year?

If you cant answer, fair enough.

Given how hard it is to release information about game play, is there any features you can share related to off the field? I.e. drafting, trading etc.

And I think that screen shot looks promising.

BigAnt you are truely a good bloke, thanks so much for coming on here and answering all the questions that we have asked, cheers for all the information, I think you have made a few young peoples penis' hard over the past few days.

I mean by answering questions btw :D

I don't know

its a very good picture of eddie
Yeah, I was very suprised with how good it was, I could tell who it was straight away, even in FIFA games I can't tell who some of the Australian players are sometimes.

I have another question. I know this is up to the publisher but are you planning on releasing any information like screenshots, videos or a demo first, or is it going to be like the Rugby game with little information.

I think there will be a fair bit of information released to pump up the game.

Question guys, do you want a dedicated Q&A thread? (within the limitations of what the guys at BigAnt are allowed to release)

Or happy to have it all contained in this one?

That's a bit harsh! 1k total and he's looking straight at the camera. In the game the face, eyes, etc.. are animated.

I can't release screenshots yet.... I think you will be impressed when I can.

Haha! Love the screenshot of little Eddie! The quality of his facial features alone has given me a half-mongrel for this game. :D Also good to see you're a Carlton man as well; is there any chance you'll give Juddy a rating of 100 for each of his attributes? :p

This is probably a stock standard question that has most likely already been asked - and I apoligise if that's the case - but what sort of time frame are you looking at in terms of the release date? September - December, or early next year?

Also, are you guys including the tribunal aspect into the game where any one of your players can be reported and rubbed out for striking/charging etc? That'd be awesome!

I so can't wait for this game as i've been hanging to play a decent AFL game for years, and I just can't bring myself to brush the dust off AFL Live given it's currently got pride of place as a drink coaster. :D

Keep up the good work! :thumbsu:

Question guys, do you want a dedicated Q&A thread? (within the limitations of what the guys at BigAnt are allowed to release)

Or happy to have it all contained in this one?
I reckon a stickied thread that contains the Q&A's answered throiughout this giant thread would be a good idea. Lock the stickied thread and just let people come in and let people find what we know

Not a bad idea

Best idea :thumbsu:

i reckon i stickied thread that people can post questions in, and BigAnt can respond to them in that thread and then Ant can add the answers to the OP

That would work, good idea.

Poor BigAntStudios though, answering 000's of questions probably not what he had in mind. Ppl annoyed if he doesn't answer, annoyed if they don't like the answer, or happy and asking for more detail! Tough gig wouldn't you say Fire?

And one thing that's worth saying, can't believe it hasn't been said yet, AFL PE had heaps of critics when it came out - heaps. It was just a patch for 2004 everyone said. Didn't do this or that. And now the general consesus is it's the best AFL game that's been released! I think it's hilarious - everyone getting excited all over again, come on, you all know what's going to happen.

Not a bad idea

Happy with that.

I'll answer what I can, don't take it as rudeness if I don't answer a particular question, it just means I can't.

Happy with that.

I'll answer what I can, don't take it as rudeness if I don't answer a particular question, it just means I can't.

Yeah we understand mate, I would like thank you for all your time we're taking up.