Doug Hawkins on MTR

Found it disgraceful that a club great got on radio sticking up for Akermanis.

Doug said he doesn't like leadership groups. That is why in your day the club was a basket case mate.

So remind me how many premierships we've won since Doug left the club?

He is entitled to his opinion and I like the fact that he calls it as he sees it. There is something very wrong with all of this and it stinks to high hell.

I can't fathom how it's come to this and how poorly it's been managed.

Smorgan spoke about team above all else and group unity, well its becoming apparent that it is far from the truth.

If a group of players can be that distracted by one bloke and subsequently bring about his expulsion then I have very little confidence in the group as a whole.

The fact ofthe matter is that we've only won 2 of our last 12 encounters against teams around the mark, that's where I look for leadership and cannot see it anywhere.

Dial-a-quote and a recent Bulldogs Hall of Fame inductee......What an idiot.
At least Libba has backed the club today (might have something to do with his son).

This astounds me, why do we have to blindly back the club and believe every word they spout?

If you truly love something you have care enough about it to question it when something doesn't seem right.

This is not the US goverment "you're either with us or against us".

This astounds me, why do we have to blindly back the club and believe every word they spout?

If you truly love something you have care enough about it to question it when something doesn't seem right.

<3 Dogupya

<3 Dogupya

It's my biggest gripe when it comes to football supporters, Cap.

'Oh, you have to support the club, you need to shut up and just trust the club, don't question anything or you can f*** off as well'.

What a load of pig swill

Anyone who truly cares and loves something so much has to have the courage to question it.

To not question it, to not hold the club to account tells me that you actually don't care about the club!

You and i have had our ups and downs over the years, but in this thread we are very much on the same page.

So remind me how many premierships we've won since Doug left the club?

He is entitled to his opinion and I like the fact that he calls it as he sees it. There is something very wrong with all of this and it stinks to high hell.

I can't fathom how it's come to this and how poorly it's been managed.

Smorgan spoke about team above all else and group unity, well its becoming apparent that it is far from the truth.

If a group of players can be that distracted by one bloke and subsequently bring about his expulsion then I have very little confidence in the group as a whole.

The fact ofthe matter is that we've only won 2 of our last 12 encounters against teams around the mark, that's where I look for leadership and cannot see it anywhere.

Damn near perfect.

Ditto

It's my biggest gripe when it comes to football supporters, Cap.

'Oh, you have to support the club, you need to shut up and just trust the club, don't question anything or you can f*** off as well'.

What a load of pig swill

Anyone who truly cares and loves something so much has to have the courage to question it.

To not question it, to not hold the club to account tells me that you actually don't care about the club!

You will find that there are posters in the Bulldogs forum who seem to have a we and the footy club are always right mentality, and if you differ from that opinion, you are labeled a fool or told to **** off and support someone else.

This time it just happens to be Hawk who is the villain and Libba is the hero because he condormed to their way of thinking.

If I recall, it was Libba who was once the villain when he slagged off at the club, but it seems all is forgiven now because he has conformed.:rolleyes:

You will find that there are posters in the Bulldogs forum who seem to have a we and the footy club are always right mentality, and if you differ from that opinion, you are labeled a fool or told to **** off and support someone else.

Again, such narrow mindedness actually does more harm to club. The club needs to know that there will be passionate people who will hold it to account and question it when it appears to not be on the right path.

I would tell those people who dare not stand up and question the club, hold it to account and ask me to curb my opinion and fall into line...

"If we were like Geelong and had won numerous flags, won games we were expected to win and no matter how stiff the challenge, rose to the occasion, yeah I would be more inclined to back the club in and trust in their leadership!

Fact of the matter is, the club has not delivered any of us a premiership in our lifetimes and time again failed to show real leadership on the park. Until such time that this occurs I will continue to ask why and question the club when it appears to go off the track"

Shoul we go on to become premiers in 2010 then the club would have earned my unconditional trust, not before.

Fact of the matter is, the club has not delivered any of us a premiership in our lifetimes

Speak for yourself. You do realise that there are a few of us who post here that were alive in 1954? I'm not namin' other names, but...:p (Of course I never heard of Australia, Melbourne, footy or even Ted Whitten in 1954. Captain Kangaroo, Bozo the Clown and strained peas were my interests back then, I presume.)

I thought listening to MTR is the equivalent of listening to Rush Limbaugh/FoxNews here. Heaven forbid. Steve Price has got to be the biggest w***er of anyone I ever heard on Melbourne radio.

Who cares? Akermanis was well over the hill and not in our best 22. I'm not sold on Johnson either and if he's not in our best 22 but play him in the finals anyway I will be livid.

Sorry to butt in here guys but i think your club made the right move.

There is a reason why this bloke was SACKED by 2 AFL Clubs.

Now get on with the business of winning a bloody FLAG (before the tigers window opens)

Damn near perfect.

Ditto

This time it just happens to be Hawk who is the villain and Libba is the hero because he condormed to their way of thinking.

If I recall, it was Libba who was once the villain when he slagged off at the club, but it seems all is forgiven now because he has conformed.:rolleyes:
Libba been reprogrammed, for the common good of the regime, they can't get to Hawk. believe they tried, shock treatment and brainwashing but its not working on Doug

Anyway I excited because next year we'll be playing some home games in North Korea, and watch out if anyone has opinion that is contrey to the club

I dont see anything wrong with what Hawkins said. He didnt slag off the club, just gave his view and had a bit of friendly banter. Back in his day i cant see leadership groups/leading teams being a big thing anyway.

Nice bloke Hawko. I nursed his Mum years ago, and he was so nice to my son.

His opinion is just that, we are all allowed our opinions.Strange world if we all were the same and agreed on everything.

aker wasnt allowed to have an opinion:rolleyes:

Anyway I excited because next year we'll be playing some home games in North Korea, and watch out if anyone has opinion that is contrey to the club

North Korea is closed off and would not allow foreign clubs to play.

However I am in South Korea at the moment and I think that it might be an idea for the club to play some home games here in Seoul. Although things are nowhere near as strict as North Korea, here in South Korea we still have the ruminants of the old military dictatorship days. Under the national security act it is possible to be arrested if you are involved in anti government activity.

The now hated president Lee Myung Bak has been slowly tightening control over political freedoms, "illegal" political organizations and trade unions are being surveillanced by the government, protesting has been restricted in the last few years and "illegal" protests and strikes are being cracked down on, and people have been arrested for no good reason.

North Korea is closed off and would not allow foreign clubs to play.

However I am in South Korea at the moment and I think that it might be an idea for the club to play some home games here in Seoul. Although things are nowhere near as strict as North Korea, here in South Korea we still have the ruminants of the old military dictatorship days. Under the national security act it is possible to be arrested if you are involved in anti government activity.

The now hated president Lee Myung Bak has been slowly tightening control over political freedoms, "illegal" political organizations and trade unions are being surveillanced by the government, protesting has been restricted in the last few years and "illegal" protests and strikes are being cracked down on, and people have been arrested for no good reason.
right suetonius, no place for Acker there either, sound like we may have a united Korea again, seem like their differnences are disolving

Just sounds like Doug being Doug and saying what he thinks and Libba pretty much trying to get back in the good books simple as that.

How about people on here easing off on slagging Doug.

The Hawk is a legend of this club and can say whatever the **** he thinks, whenever he thinks it. You don't have to agree with him, but you'll bloody well listen. This guy loves the Club, bled for the Club and would do it all again in an instant and does not deserve to be slagged off here. At least put up an argument about why you think he is an idiot, or a dial a quote FFS.

FWIW dogupya is the man IMO, closely followed by Jorge, then myself. Smartest Dogs fans around.

The Hawk is a legend of this club and can say whatever the **** he thinks, whenever he thinks it. You don't have to agree with him, but you'll bloody well listen. This guy loves the Club, bled for the Club and would do it all again in an instant and does not deserve to be slagged off here. At least put up an argument about why you think he is an idiot, or a dial a quote FFS.

FWIW dogupya is the man IMO, closely followed by Jorge, then myself. Smartest Dogs fans around.

We are honoured just to be in your presence :D

I also agreed with dogupya and I agree with what you posted.
No love for the Scroat there SonofScray?:D

I also agreed with dogupya and I agree with what you posted.
No love for the Scroat there SonofScray?:D

Apologies dear friend, you can slot somewhere between myself and Fossie.

I drive past the Hawk everyday on the way to work and say g'day. I am surprised about the fact it is not OK to question decisions made by administrators but it is OK to pull the trigger on a genuine legend. Anyway, when things get tough at The Kennel we should all arks ourselves....

wwdd.jpg

Apologies dear friend, you can slot somewhere between myself and Fossie.

I drive past the Hawk everyday on the way to work and say g'day. I am surprised about the fact it is not OK to question decisions made by administrators but it is OK to pull the trigger on a genuine legend. Anyway, when things get tough at The Kennel we should all arks ourselves....

wwdd.jpg

Problem is i would rather believe what the current board and admin say rather than what a ex player even though he was a champ that is not involved with the day to day running of the club

Doug Hawkins on MTR