2010 Country Championships

Good luck to the boys in the Championships...They should do us proud!

On a side note - In my time here the process of selecting a rep squad has always been the same. A rep from each club nominates players from their side to attend training. The list is sent to rep coach, league etc and a memo is sent out to all clubs by the league with a list of the initial squad. The club then puts that list in its changerooms and the football managers inform all listed players. Right?

Well...............

Can anyone name the player who felt unwanted and was dissapointed not to be given a personal invite to train with the rep squad.

Even tho he was on the list with the process explained above.

Good luck to the boys in the Championships...They should do us proud!

On a side note - In my time here the process of selecting a rep squad has always been the same. A rep from each club nominates players from their side to attend training. The list is sent to rep coach, league etc and a memo is sent out to all clubs by the league with a list of the initial squad. The club then puts that list in its changerooms and the football managers inform all listed players. Right?

Well...............

Can anyone name the player who felt unwanted and was dissapointed not to be given a personal invite to train with the rep squad.

Even tho he was on the list with the process explained above.

who was it or what club?

Just popped in for a look.

SA vs WA was a high quality game, won by SA. The Qld vs NSW game was very ordinary in comparison...

If you are in Canberra, get to Manuka or Quangers today, or Ainslie and Manuka tomorrow. Well worth the effort

God i hope this thread doesn't head down the same track as the div 1/2 canberra one! ABH is making sure it does though.

It sounds like the ACT team has got off to a good start. Two wins for the day so far with hughes nailing 4 in the first game. 4 goals in 34 minutes of football is a top effort. BOG for his game too.

www.acfc.com.au

It truly is a fantastic few days. I had the pleasure of umpiring in the championships last time around at Shepparton and had a ball. All the players are professional and play with their hearts on their jumpers.

If oyu are in the area, go and watch some fantastic, blistering paced games of footy.

Hey FlipFoot, maybe because I was proud to wear the colours of the ACT (along with the other 99% that were lucky enough to) or that I am involved in the carnival this year gives me every right to comment on such a matter.

The fact that it may be deemed by yourself as controversial doesn't mean it should not be posted..... because it is carnival related.

For this Ainslie recruit to think he is better than any other player to have gone before him in the past shows how precious he thinks he is and if he is given some stick on weekends because of it then to bad...He brought it on himself. Wonder if Rourky has to invite him personally every week to play?

And while I am on a rant - I thought it was absolutely disgusting that the ACT were put in a tent, on dirt with no chairs for their 2 games at Ainslie (some chairs were provided after being asked for by an embarrassed Burkey). For the host team to not be given the best of the best was a disgrace.

I was told that the decision was Ainslie's due to having their players forced to come to training....but I cannot confirm.

But let me say that it was chalk and cheese to how we were treated by Chook Fowlie at Qbn. We were in the main rooms every match. At least he had a print out on the changeroom door for which teams used which facilities.

Obviously no photo copyer at AFC. Not much left after player payment.

But hey I am sure they collected a few names to talk to for next year!

Just showed me they care more about themselves than the league.

What happened to the ACT? I do have to wonder, were there too many blokes out there playing for themselves? Too many wasted opportunities...

Any reason why the ACT didn't play all of their games at Manuka??

ABH why you always picking on Ainslie and our players? what did Shirley do to you other then be honest about his want to play for the A.C.T. Just because he has played at a heaps higher level then you, you want to bring him down? whats that all about?

also you get stuck into our facilities all the time. they didnt play at greenway or kippax so stop hacking on us.

ABH why you always picking on Ainslie and our players? what did Shirley do to you other then be honest about his want to play for the A.C.T. Just because he has played at a heaps higher level then you, you want to bring him down? whats that all about?

also you get stuck into our facilities all the time. they didnt play at greenway or kippax so stop hacking on us.

AFC2 - Congrats on your 1st post, welcome to the forum.

Firstly, I never mentioned any players name at all.

All I did was talk about an Ainslie recruit who thought he deserved a personal invite to training, if you know it was Shirley then thanks for informing us of this.

Secondly, please provide proof that I always get stuck into Ainslie's facilities.

Fact is the ACT were treated extremely poorly by AFC and I was simply posting my opinion. An opinion shared by all involved with the host team. It was a disgrace and the league should make it very clear that it was unnacceptable for the home team to be in a tent while opposition teams enjoyed the main changeroom.

I am sure that the ACT team would have been treated as they should have at both Greenway & Kippax as both clubs care about the league.

My opinion is that your club did not give a shit about the ACT in the carnival and I am happy to chat with anyone from your club on the matter including yourself.

AFC2 - Congrats on your 1st post, welcome to the forum.

Firstly, I never mentioned any players name at all.

All I did was talk about an Ainslie recruit who thought he deserved a personal invite to training, if you know it was Shirley then thanks for informing us of this.

Secondly, please provide proof that I always get stuck into Ainslie's facilities.

Fact is the ACT were treated extremely poorly by AFC and I was simply posting my opinion. An opinion shared by all involved with the host team. It was a disgrace and the league should make it very clear that it was unnacceptable for the home team to be in a tent while opposition teams enjoyed the main changeroom.

I am sure that the ACT team would have been treated as they should have at both Greenway & Kippax as both clubs care about the league.

My opinion is that your club did not give a shit about the ACT in the carnival and I am happy to chat with anyone from your club on the matter including yourself.

ABH i dont want to get bogged down in your hatred of Ainslie. we all know you dont like anyone.

well its obvious that the carnival (ACFC) cared about our players. 3 in the All Australian side is outstanding.

well done to Ben Hughes on a fantastic carnival, quality bloke who cares about his Club, his State and his mates. what a player!

Also Matthew Hearn and Marcus Crook who i beleive won player of the carnival. I am not sure the selectors would have had Matt in their squad at the start.

Ben Hughes...quality bloke??? Might be questionable after his actions on friday night.

Anyone have any more details about the cowardly headbutt he delivered on the Queensland player after ACT were beaten on friday?

I know his reception after being announced as an "All-Australian" was far from favourable. At least 4 States were booing him to the stage!

ABH i dont want to get bogged down in your hatred of Ainslie. we all know you dont like anyone.

well its obvious that the carnival (ACFC) cared about our players. 3 in the All Australian side is outstanding.

well done to Ben Hughes on a fantastic carnival, quality bloke who cares about his Club, his State and his mates. what a player!

Also Matthew Hearn and Marcus Crook who i beleive won player of the carnival. I am not sure the selectors would have had Matt in their squad at the start.

Ben is very lucky not to have been charged for the vicious assault on a Qld player on Sat night!!

what are you talking about? Ben just plays footy hard.

i spoke to him yesterday and he didnt mention anything about assault.

ABH do you know whats going on?

Probably not the smartest thing to do slaggin a bloke off on a public forum, with an issue that your probs dont even kno what actually happened. There are a few stories going around about it. Probs just leave it there lads or ya might get in legal trouble over it. has happened b4.

agree wcl
I have heard 5 different versions on how the incident started, 3 different versions of how the Qld bloke was hit and who hit him and 12 different versions as to where it happened, who was there and what time it happened .
Pretty unfair to label one bloke - even if it was Hughes it normally takes 2 to tango.

Sorry abh
what did AFC do to upset you re the carnival ?
How did they treat ACT side badly?
I popped out on Sunday and they played some fantastic footy

Might want to check your litigation laws WCL, no one slandered Ben Hughes.

Only questioned his decisions and actions off field, there is no doubt the bloke can play football.

Might want to check your litigation laws WCL, no one slandered Ben Hughes.

Only questioned his decisions and actions off field, there is no doubt the bloke can play football.

Hey Insider Trading,

from where im sitting you accused Ben Hughes of doing something very wrong ...... you may want to double check your source of info and you might find whilst Ben was there .... he didnt commit what you propose he did....
thanks for legal advice too....
and can we get back to talking about footy and not character assassinating people based on baseless rumours....:confused:
I have never met Ben but from what i hear he has been unfairly treated re this matter:thumbsdown:

2010 Country Championships