Western Region FL - Division One - Part 3

• Thread starter Thread starter BEAZER

I don't believe being placed in the best has anything to do with being in the side of the year. If that was the case then West and Glenordan would have 5 players each in the side and Juiler would e numbe one ruck man.

In regards to craig I am just going on the small forward who kicked the most goals. Jenkins for St albans has but he is a mid fielder. Next best is craig therefore gets the spot.

With Stott he is a favourite as I saw him when he played at the club years ago. The only forwards who have kicked bags agaisnt st albans was bloomfield and wiggins and he didn't play on them. The leading goal kicker in the comp only kick 3.

In saying all this, I support st albans and it is only my opinion

I think that being in the best has a little bit to do with selecting the team of the year. To say it has absolutely nothing to do with it is a little over the top. Having said that it is not the be all and end all of selecting the side hence why I didn't name any glenorden players in my side. Phipps from WF would also have been named in defence If that was my sole criteria for picking the side. It is not an easy task given it is not possible to see all games of footy, and seeing who is named in the best each week gives a guide of how players are going in general. Then you make a judgement seeing them play when you get the chance. Interested to know who selects the side and how they come to their decision.

Media team picks the side but Kev usually does a ring around to all of the coaches to get their thoughts. I am sure coaches put their own players up but I beleive more weight is given to players that are nominated by other coaches.

Difficult job and there are always a few questionable selections but overall I think it is always a pretty spot on side.

The "best players" named in the press aren't always the best players. Some clubs just pick names at random.

Media team picks the side but Kev usually does a ring around to all of the coaches to get their thoughts. I am sure coaches put their own players up but I beleive more weight is given to players that are nominated by other coaches.

Difficult job and there are always a few questionable selections but overall I think it is always a pretty spot on side.

Not that i think he should ring the coaches but he never rang me to discuss that issue.
It's just an someone's opinion nothing to get excited about if you make it nor get to upset if you miss out.
From memory i don't think massis or twomey from colts have made it, to me that's staggering but again only a selected few's opinion.
I finally got coach of the year in 2009...then got sacked...hahahha.

On another note good luck to all teams playing finals this year, it's what we all play footy for.
I know the colts boys are dissapointed we are not there again after so many successful years but i'm sure we will be back there next year.
Again for what's it's worth i think spotty are a monty again they are a fantastic club from juniors to seniors, they are run well on and off field and it will carry over into another premiership...it hurts to say!! and who ever they play in the big game will have my support!

Everybody except the Spotswood supporters/members will be supporting whoever Spotswood play (if Spotswood make the G/F) because people dislike successful clubs. It's the "tall poppy syndrome". It is easier to drag down the successful rather than work to improve the not so successful.

Not that i think he should ring the coaches but he never rang me to discuss that issue.
It's just an someone's opinion nothing to get excited about if you make it nor get to upset if you miss out.
From memory i don't think massis or twomey from colts have made it, to me that's staggering but again only a selected few's opinion.

On another note good luck to all teams playing finals this year, it's what we all play footy for.
I know the colts boys are dissapointed we are not there again after so many successful years but i'm sure we will be back there next year.
Again for what's it's worth i think spotty are a monty again they are a fantastic club from juniors to seniors, they are run well on and off field and it will carry over into another premiership...it hurts to say!! and who ever they play in the big game will have my support!

go on swallow your pride and jump on the bandwagon and be part of history.:D

Not that i think he should ring the coaches but

Would be very suprised if Massis and Twomey weren't extremely highly regarded, in particular Massis, who's clearly well-liked. Its propably more a compliment to the WRFL's midfield talent over the years - Lindsay, the Jacobs brothers, Harris, Ben Kelly, O'Keefe, Theodore, Jenkins, Douglas etc than Massis and Twomey being potted in any way. Twomey's probably not flashy enough to get in ahead of those other midfielders and Massis hasn't had an injury-free season for a while. Both quality though!

What is going to happen this week? St Albans finished 4th and thus have the right to have the home rooms and blue shorts. Will this occur?

why not ring the w.r.f.l, they have not even posted a junior final fixture for this week so don't hold your breath for any info regarding senior football finals.:thumbsd:

I think he only rings the good coaches :D:D

you obviously sit home and play with yaself a fair bit mate if yu reckon the top 5 sides of the div 2's comp wud beat west. West would beat anyone of these teams by 10 goals plus

Localkid - This is a forum and I stick by what I said as clarified by Club 7 (the spudhead). This statement was made knowing a couple of blokes in your 1sts left Sunshine after U/18's and would have found it difficult to get a game in the ressie's.

As I stated West got hung out and still not getting the right support, but full credit for having a dip. Normy who I know well is a great person for local footy and I wish him the best:thumbsu:

GBF50 knows that, i think he might be having a small dig at Deer park (and weapons.)
Surely West have to go down after two wooden spoons in a row anyway.

yep i can handle his dribble!!!! not sure if its the same the other way though.....:eek:

they dont want to go up!!!

O.k Danny, i wont beat around the bush. Can you confirm for me (and your credability is at stake here), that Mr Phipps (if thats you) and Mr Mitchell were the leaders in a player revolt on tuesday night (where no training took place) which saw the coach told they did not want him to lead them next year. Events then panned out that the coach agreed not to seek a pay out for his 2nd year of his contract. Which resulted in the players (and their kind hearts) offering the coach to do his job for one last time in the final game,(tail wagging the dog)? I have plenty more inside info but will leave it at that question for now.

Our club and it's committee will never be dictated to by the playing group, a decision was made by the club and not the playing group. Bomber and Mitch might be two strong personalities at our club but to suggest a players revolt is an ill informed statement and slur on Two leaders at our club.

Have heard on the grapevine Hoppers are waiting anxiously on a certain club in the werribee area to finish there finals and are pretty keen to swoop on a local indentity to coach there next year. would solve them having to worry about recruiting seems to have plenty of players want to play under him.

Our club and it's committee will never be dictated to by the playing group, a decision was made by the club and not the playing group. Bomber and Mitch might be two strong personalities at our club but to suggest a players revolt is an ill informed statement and slur on Two leaders at our club.

Not going to get into an argument with you Danny. So Hoppers have said good bye to Ezard from what your saying (with out directly answering my questinon). My mail tells me that Mitch has informed the club he now wants the job and has promised 2 brothers back to hoppers if he gets it. Despite what you say, (only natural to defend ones club), MY opinion is the next step for Hoppers is a crucial one. Do you go with Mitch and become a clone of the Frost era, where it was basically jobs for mates. Or whisper is S. Kretiuk is leaving the Jets and may throw his hat in the ring. Do you give the job to Allan Williams or turn your back on him which would see his son and quiet a few of his mates leave. I hear Rock may be looking for a new job, although he gets a bit gaga when he crosses the West gate:D. I seem to have a bit on hoppers Danny. Maybe I'm closer to the action than you think. Very big decision as the club is at a crossroads right now.
Anyway good luck to all in finals this week (first time in 10years Hoppers isn't there. Maybe the globle recession has seen the pokies be used less.)

Albion 33 points over Sunshine
A combination of Albion's structures much better now and Sunshine's inability to beat Albion in a final is a massive gorilla on their back.

Altona 19 points over St Albans
Also a combination, with St Albans getting a few late injuries and Altona plating at home (what a joke). However i think Altona need to win 1 final to satisfy Eames with the year.

you obviously sit home and play with yaself a fair bit mate if yu reckon the top 5 sides of the div 2's comp wud beat west. West would beat anyone of these teams by 10 goals plus

Localkid - This is a forum and I stick by what I said as clarified by Club 7 (the spudhead). This statement was made knowing a couple of blokes in your 1sts left Sunshine after U/18's and would have found it difficult to get a game in the ressie's.

As I stated West got hung out and still not getting the right support, but full credit for having a dip. Normy who I know well is a great person for local footy and I wish him the best:thumbsu:

Two of those blokes had one year at Sunshine u/18s as West didn't have a side, one of them was runner-up and they chose to return home.

Have heard on the grapevine Hoppers are waiting anxiously on a certain club in the werribee area to finish there finals and are pretty keen to swoop on a local indentity to coach there next year. would solve them having to worry about recruiting seems to have plenty of players want to play under him.

Are u implying that hoppers will swoop for Kirk norton?

Would hate to see him leave werribee ammos,brilliant coach.

Not going to get into an argument with you Danny. So Hoppers have said good bye to Ezard from what your saying (with out directly answering my questinon). My mail tells me that Mitch has informed the club he now wants the job and has promised 2 brothers back to hoppers if he gets it. Despite what you say, (only natural to defend ones club), MY opinion is the next step for Hoppers is a crucial one. Do you go with Mitch and become a clone of the Frost era, where it was basically jobs for mates. Or whisper is S. Kretiuk is leaving the Jets and may throw his hat in the ring. Do you give the job to Allan Williams or turn your back on him which would see his son and quiet a few of his mates leave. I hear Rock may be looking for a new job, although he gets a bit gaga when he crosses the West gate:D. I seem to have a bit on hoppers Danny. Maybe I'm closer to the action than you think. Very big decision as the club is at a crossroads right now.
Anyway good luck to all in finals this week (first time in 10years Hoppers isn't there. Maybe the globle recession has seen the pokies be used less.)

Albion 33 points over Sunshine
A combination of Albion's structures much better now and Sunshine's inability to beat Albion in a final is a massive gorilla on their back.

Altona 19 points over St Albans
Also a combination, with St Albans getting a few late injuries and Altona plating at home (what a joke). However i think Altona need to win 1 final to satisfy Eames with the year.

That's a little harsh, i was a resident in the west for a few years...
I have had a couple of club's put the feeler's out. Just not interested at the moment.
In the future i will seriously look at coaching again, i want to finish playing first, next year i would like to play reserves for a full season.
Then in 2012 i would like to coach again it may even be at junior level.

The Hoppers job is Kirk's if he wants it - done deal.
still got work to do down at the ammos.

Hopefully taking them into c grade and beyond.

He might be dropping down a level to coach hoppers! I reckon werribee ammos would just about knock off hoppers. And they are only getting better too!

Are u implying that hoppers will swoop for Kirk norton?

Would hate to see him leave werribee ammos,brilliant coach.

Why would you immediately assume it was Kirk (Mr Werribee) Norton? Does that mean you have ruled out a return of Keenan Renalds or Leetchy returning from Centrals. What about Dallas Normington as well?