Rumour Rumour File 3

• Thread starter Thread starter HBF

Thanks for the info THS :thumbsu:

You're finally growing on me after giving us a rough ride in the Fevola sacking :p

The Fevola thing is one of the few things we did well on.
Hendo and Lucas for Fev???

Bargain!!!

Lions buggered that whole thing up.

Believe me... Fev was and is one of my favourite players...i was worried when the music stopped we wouldnt have a chair to sit on with Fev... but along came Vossy.. and his genius!!:thumbsu:

Where is the evidence to say Sticks is no good? What has he done wrong? People come out pointing the bone at Sticks but seem to have no examples or evidence to prove that he's no good.

Sticks is the president of an organisation that is rising from the brink of collapse to be a powerhouse...

Where is the evidence to say Sticks is no good? What has he done wrong? People come out pointing the bone at Sticks but seem to have no examples or evidence to prove that he's no good.
If you think the club has the kind of leadership.. direction that will win us a flag... youre deluded.

Sticks has had maant fupp ups in his stint on the board .

Lets start with the OReilly recruitment.
Sticks said "best body on body full back" hed played on........
the supporting of Elliot.. who ran the club into the ground...
then flips over to Collo to become VP....
Collo gets stabbed in the back... Sticks is then VP to Smorgon.. swears his allegiance... and also appears in the Age with the unity of four campaign.. (Smorgon Malouf Pagan and of course Sticks)
Then Sticks runs with Smorgo in an election where thankfully Smorgon the human bore is rought down.... and then Elliot gets Sticks by the hand and leads him to Pratt.... (would have happened anyway)
everything is going ok .... Pratt has to step down... Sticks the brain is in charge of the club...were not quite a cutting edge club... not everything is running along too well... not too much money coming in.... (apart from the Pratt and Matheson pokies money)... not much happening at the footy dept... and for the first time since elliott copped it in the neck.. our membership is stagnating.

Dunno... cant see it as succesful... you can.. i cant..

i guess we differ!!

Sticks has said numerous times that he's just a caretaker until we land somebody better. I'd be disappointed in Sticks if he made himself a roadblock to getting a highly rated business man in the top job.

I think the problem would actually be getting other board members to move on. I'm sure the membership could take care of that.

Sticks has said numerous times that he's just a caretaker until we land somebody better. I'd be disappointed in Sticks if he made himself a roadblock to getting a highly rated business man in the top job.

I think the problem would actually be getting other board members to move on. I'm sure the membership could take care of that.

even Pratt couldnt get people to move on.
They still cant...

And of course these people like Sticks there... he makes them impossible to shift.
The board has been getting bigger and bigger....
Littman has been the only one who has moved himself on since Pratt... pat on the back to the man!!

IMHO Sticks is the hand puppet of Fraser Brown - Brown is calling the shots and he is not even on the board/

Its time for Sticks to go.

We dont need a mates boys club running Carlton.

Its time for serious business acumen and for tough decisions to be made.

From what i hear.. there is abit of a push from people to get rid of Sticks and replace him with Fahour as president.
Monday night is an unscheduled board meeting.
People have been elbowed to resign from the board.. and they have so far resisted.
I hear the son in law doesnt want the job Fahour is alligned with Pratts on this one.
Newton is another faction
and then there is the Sticks faction.

So monday from what i understand is where the wheels begin to turn to get Sticks off the head honcho role.... which would then open the gates for a fair few changes around the club which are way overdue.

I wouldnt mind Fahour as president... but he guy I would really want to come in as the president if there was to be a putsch and Sticks is being replaced, then I would like to see him replaced by Fitzpatrick.

Thats unrealistic.

Fitzy has been asked many times.... and has always said no.

He would never do it.....!!.... loves his job in the AFL

So if Sticks goes is that one less impediment for the removal of Ratten.

If other board members belive that Rattens not the man to take us to a flag but also know it would be extremely difficult for Sticks to sack a mate (I know I couldn't do it !!)

If Sticks goes ........??

So if Sticks goes is that one less impediment for the removal of Ratten.

If other board members belive that Rattens not the man to take us to a flag but also know it would be extremely difficult for Sticks to sack a mate (I know I couldn't do it !!)

If Sticks goes ........??

i dont believe its purely about Ratten just the club lagging in many areas.

Thats unrealistic.

Fitzy has been asked many times.... and has always said no.

He would never do it.....!!.... loves his job in the AFL

I know... but you have to admit that Fitzy would be the best possible person we could get in to run the club.

It would be like when Dick came walking in the door to take over the club. He would instantly have every Carlton supporter behind him to take the club on to greatness.

And the best thing is that because of the amount of time since he last had anything to do with the club and the fact he is a consummate professional businessman, there would be no favouritism shown to anyone.

If Sticks goes..... there is someone who left st kilda as one of the assistant coaches this year that has stated he won't come back to Carlton unless certain people aren't there.

Does this leave the door open for SOS to come back to where he belongs in some sort of coaching capacity ??? :D

Whatever happens with Sticks, he'll still be a club legend in my eyes.

Fahour would be a brilliant acquisition though, took NAB out of the depths of dispair.

Methinks this is the big announcement that Pelchen and others have been alluding to.

Take it as you like.. but I no the Fahour family personally and I know Ahmed would not be president of Carlton. He spends 70% of his year overseas due to work business and all.

Just heard that we are going to be part of the tarrant

Our 3rd round pick to freo
Tarrant to pie
Anthony to us

If that's true, i don't think it's such a bad deal. Given our lack of genuine forwards, john anthony could be a good pick up.

Yeh, it might ruin all the credibility I've carefully built up over years of insightful, witty, intelligent posting, but I think Anthony could actually fit in well with us, if he was priced appropriately. :o

If Kernahan was to step down that would be a good move for the club. I tend to agree with the theory that he should be used in a more social role, rather than an official role, much less as President.

He's a true champion, a genuinely great clubman, but he's no administrator.

If that's true, i don't think it's such a bad deal. Given our lack of genuine forwards, john anthony could be a good pick up.

Totally agree. Straighens us up, Hendo to play CHF where he can use his tank to get up the ground a bit (his main asset is his endurance. He lacks a quick first 20m to get separation on his defender.) and may finally get to see Waitey on a wing. Happy days.

Anthony would be a good puick up at the right price... Heard he's a bit of a kn*b as a guy but we've got the Collingwood connection at the Club now to keep him in check...
As for Sticks as president, I think he's done ok in his time there as caretaker prez, but if a more progressive businessman type with the Clubs interests at heart can be found, then I see no issue with Sticks being slide into another less powerful role (if thats what he wants)...

Anthony's best position is as a defender. When playing in the VFL, he was used as a defender, an well was given 3 straight BOG's. As you can imagine it is nearly impossible to work your way into the Collingwoods backline with Presti, Goldsack, Brown, Reid and Maxwell.

Several posters have heard that Carlton want him as a CHB/FB.

I like the idea of that three-way trade with Freo and Pies to get Anthony. He'd definately suit our forwards and with Collins coming in too we can push Yaz into the midfield and Waite back onto the Wing. Don't know what will become of Robbo though, maybe we need his bruteness following the ball?