Draft Watch

Ranga is super talented and definitely worth a look. If he was delisted it would have been because of constant injuries.

Doesn't say West coast or Brisbane are going to draft him, just says he must be on consideration. Hardly rules him out.
"With clubs from outside Victoria holding the first five picks at the draft, there's every chance Heppell will realise his AFL dream in a West Coast or Brisbane Lions guernsey."...

Lol that article says nothing we don't already know...of course he is in consideration. The author could have written the same thing about Polec with generalisations and you would have said Heppell should slip to us.

Ranga is super talented and definitely worth a look. If he was delisted it would have been because of constant injuries.

Ranga is pretty talented, he just tore his hamstring off the bone on his arrival in 09 and missed 18 months, and though he got back to the VFL in the second half of this year, couldn't make a lot of progress...didn't look like he had any confidence in his body at all IMO.

I reckon GWS will pick him up next year if no one does this year, either way I hope he gets a shot somewhere.

Would be interested to hear TFLUA and Toadvine's opinions/analysis of Leif Coup??
Absolute monster of a kid and potentially could turn into a 207cm, 110kg beast... Looked athletic as well... Must be some issues if he is not being talked up that much...

Brodie Smith highlights make for some good viewing. He shits on Polec in that video, id take Smith before Polec.

This is going on the SANFL highlights

I agree I have been on the Smith train for a while. He has a huge right shoe and it is generally pretty accurate, he is quick, he is really strong around the hips and hard to tackle and he can play multiple positions. Would be very happy if we read his name out.

it's beyong me that gaff's rated within the top 5, top 10 even.. poor awareness, below average skills :cool:

Would be interested to hear TFLUA and Toadvine's opinions/analysis of Leif Coup??
Absolute monster of a kid and potentially could turn into a 207cm, 110kg beast... Looked athletic as well... Must be some issues if he is not being talked up that much...

i have been asking for a few days about this kid, looks fantastic in the clip & draft combine has him at nearly 205cm and extremly mobile also looks like he can take a grab.

doesnt look like anybody on our board has seen him play & havn't seen his name on any mock drafts so looks like he has just popped up or that clip is alot better than he really is but certainly looks like what we need.

perhaps send an email to the club Azzleberry !!

great write up TFLUA-tiger really enjoyed the read.

i personally think we should go mids with the first 4 selections unless day is available at pick 6 which looks near imposible atm.

but there is no denying that we also need another ruckman on our list, i personaly dont rate graham very highly & am hoping that browne continues to develope as he is our only real hope in the ruck.

i see vickery more as a foward that will/can relieve in the ruck rather than be the number 1.
we either need to use 63 or a rookie pick,have you seen / heard of leif cope at all & if so would you think he would be available with our later/rookie picks

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/101745/default.aspx

Sorry mate - flat out with Uni - it fluctuates - busy some days and quiet the next - I'll let the questions build up a bit and deal with them in a heap. If I don't know an answer to a question I'll tell you - I won't ignore it.

Cope's definitely helped by his video - it's very flattering - but he's one who'll go close. New to the game - and missed the Champs, then school football commitments meant he will sneak under a few radars.

Tall obviously - and quite athletic. Will learn more as he learns where to move and bulks up further. haven't seen a whole lot - just a game or two - so don't have a lot - but he'd be in the mix.

I'd have 4/5 ruckmen in front of him however.

Read this:

http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_...ask=DETAIL&articleID=13017995&sectionID=59337

Thanks for your reviews very informative.:thumbsu:

As resident draft guru TFLUA, could you give me a bit more on this kid.

All the reviews I have read (which is all I have to go on) are very positive. Like yours, no real negatives mentioned unlike some touted to go higher, but expectations are he'll go around pick 15.

Is this because, whilst he seems to have few percieved weaknesses, his best isn't that brilliant? Or because it's hard to clearly pinpoint a position for him?

From your write up it sounds like we should be seriously considering picking him at 6.

Smedts' main problem is that he hasn't dominated games. He's shown some really good qualities - but hasn't put them all together and ripped a game apart by getting 30+ and showing all his moves. The positional issue is another - do you pick a specialist flanker who SHOULD transgress into the midfield in the top 10?

thanks for the write up TFLAU,

Question for the board - is this the deepest draft talent wise in recent memory ot just the usual case at this time of yr of making every1 out to be a star? The reason I ask is I cant remember the last time I chop and changed re our first pick.
From the exceptional disposal of pitt (havent seen him much, just going by the baord & wat we really need) to the grunt of caddy and the fact he can go fwd ala chapman (which would be handy and add that extra in our fwd structure) the dash & effective rebound of Smedts from our back half (what we really, really need) to the X factor of Harper. Heck I even like the way Gorringe moves for a big man.... AHHHH, if only we had a few more picks in the top 20....

So back to the orriginal question, is this yrs draft just seeping class or is it a case of 2-3 stand outs and then falling away to where everyone is on the same pegging?!?!?

Top 30's pretty strong as a whole really. After the first 4/5 the next 25 are really even - I could have a guy at 30 who you'd have at 10 without too many dramas.

TFLUA interested in your thoughts regards Josh Walker from Geelong Falcons, at 195cm 86kg & 17 he looks like a kid we could grab around 50 or 63. Would be handy to have in case Griffiths doesn't fire. Takes a good contested grab on the video they have of him on the Draft Machine on the AFL site, the only problem is they only showed his marking, didn't show much else. Would like to know if he is a Cleve clone, i.e. lead mark kick type or if he has a few more tricks to his bow.

TFLUA............ thats probably a good thing there are a few ahead of him

really hope we look at him with a rookie pick

late starter , basketball backround, athletic , tall , & from the vision certainly looks like a lot to work with.

Would be happy if we picked him up as a rookie (if he makes it that far).... Plenty to work with IMO and with Lade at the club, we have a top liner to teach him...

no need to use the compo pick this year,we already have 4 picks in the top 50 in this draft & should snare some pretty good talent.
we also need to have a steady stream of good talent coming through in latter years to maintain the quality ,specially in 2012 draft where by all reports will be a bumper crop.

also with free agency coming in , w may need it as payment for a gun player wanting to cross to us.

its upto our recruiters to utilise our picks very wisely.

i have been asking for a few days about this kid, looks fantastic in the clip & draft combine has him at nearly 205cm and extremly mobile also looks like he can take a grab.

doesnt look like anybody on our board has seen him play & havn't seen his name on any mock drafts so looks like he has just popped up or that clip is alot better than he really is but certainly looks like what we need.

perhaps send an email to the club Azzleberry !!

I personally have played footy with Leif at school for the past 3 years. Is an absolute monster and can take a contested grab like the best of them. Not to mention his athleticism around the ground as well as his skills below his knees.
Comes from a basketball background so specialist coaches have been working with him to iron out the "double-foot" jump in ruck contests which was his main deficiency when he started playing.
Started at Eastern Ranges last year and has progressed at a rapid rate. At the start of last year he said so himself there was "little to no chance of getting drafted"
Fast forward 12 months and he has been invited to the draft combine. If it wasn't for a groin injury he would have participated in full with all the testing, so instead only did the reflex testing.
Hope this gives a bit more insight into the boy.

I personally have played footy with Leif at school for the past 3 years. Is an absolute monster and can take a contested grab like the best of them. Not to mention his athleticism around the ground as well as his skills below his knees.
Comes from a basketball background so specialist coaches have been working with him to iron out the "double-foot" jump in ruck contests which was his main deficiency when he started playing.
Started at Eastern Ranges last year and has progressed at a rapid rate. At the start of last year he said so himself there was "little to no chance of getting drafted"
Fast forward 12 months and he has been invited to the draft combine. If it wasn't for a groin injury he would have participated in full with all the testing, so instead only did the reflex testing.
Hope this gives a bit more insight into the boy.

hi matt, thanks for the information mate, just a couple of questions if you dont mind.

i know you mentioned the groin injury but has he had any other injurys such as shoulder,knee,back etc etc

who does he barrack for

has any clubs spoken to him,specially tigers ..........i know you may not have contact with him still but incase you do.

whats he like as a footballer not athlete , does he have a fotball brain in other words/

hi matt, thanks for the information mate, just a couple of questions if you dont mind.

i know you mentioned the groin injury but has he had any other injurys such as shoulder,knee,back etc etc

who does he barrack for

has any clubs spoken to him,specially tigers ..........i know you may not have contact with him still but incase you do.

whats he like as a footballer not athlete , does he have a fotball brain in other words/

Gun just leave the kid alone. It's a bit strange some guy from bigfooty getting a kid at school to ask a potential draftee 20 questions.