Josh Fraser

September Action

Jun 2, 2008
I was always prepared to cut the big guy slack at Collingwood due to the fact that he never asked to be no 1 draft pick, and for the weight of expectation which comes with that. He toiled hard and got smashed for us. I thought he would be quite good for GCS without so much expectation. I even put him in my DT.

But gee he was bad last week. Makes me wonder about whether he did under achieve at Collingwood. I also didn't like the vibe he portrayed after GF2. I accept he had some right to feel bitter but some times it's hard to show character...and many still do. Look at Lockyer, O'Bree and Presti that day. They seemed genuinely happy for their team mates.

I hope Josh can turn it around - for his sake. Otherwise, he will soon be dropped / delisted and not remembered well. That would be a tragedy.

I was always prepared to cut the big guy slack at Collingwood due to the fact that he never asked to be no 1 draft pick, and for the weight of expectation which comes with that. He toiled hard and got smashed for us. I thought he would be quite good for GCS without so much expectation. I even put him in my DT.

But gee he was bad last week. Makes me wonder about whether he did under achieve at Collingwood. I also didn't like the vibe he portrayed after GF2. I accept he had some right to feel bitter but some times it's hard to show character...and many still do. Look at Lockyer, O'Bree and Presti that day. They seemed genuinely happy for their team mates.

I hope Josh can turn it around - for his sake. Otherwise, he will soon be dropped / delisted and not remembered well. That would be a tragedy.

You saw a few seconds of footage of Josh Fraser after GF2 and you have branded him bitter and not happy for his team mates. I think that is a long bow to draw.

I would expect that he was extremely happy for his team mates, his club, and its supporters, but the fact that he wasn't there will have been one of the most crushing blows in his life. It is hard to be outwardly joyous immediately when dealt such a blow.

Josh was vice-captain at the club, and a respected team mate. I would take more from these facts than a few seconds of opportunistic footage...

A bit harsh on Josh I think.
He was still a good servant of our club and ended up on the wrong side of opportunity/form at the wrong time.

http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_...sk=DETAIL&articleID=15206201&sectionID=198133

Gold Coast SUNS ruckman Josh Fraser will be in attendance at the Carrara Saints JAFC Youth Girls team training to promote the recent support of the Gold Coast Suns as Official Supporters of Youth Girls and Women’s Football in Queensland.

http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_...sk=DETAIL&articleID=15206201&sectionID=198133

I reckon he'd struggle to get a game for them at the moment. I used to be a big fan of Josh but he played with a pea heart in the end for us and it looks like that has carried on up there.

Bit harsh on Josh. No one from GC looked good against Essendon.

He has always cops a bad rap even though he had a lot riding on him as our only decent ruckman at the pies for a decade. He gets called pea-hearted when it not true if you watch him closely.

02/03 GF he was in his 3rd/4th year and against the man-mountains of Charman and Keating as an only ruckman (Walker doesnt count). He was probably one of best on field in 03 and had a lot more heart than others.

Spent most of 05 out with Osteous Pubis and dont think that he ever recovered properly, well at least never got the leap that he had back.

Is much maligned by the ANZAC match against Ryder even though more stats and same hitouts. Called out for being pea-hearted for not chasing Ryder in the last qrt even though it could have easily been called outplayed/out positioned if he was anyone else. Smashed Ryder in the game later that year.

Was easily pushed out of the team by a much better ruckman Jolly. The GC trade was probably the best thing for him. He

At GC has done pretty well up till this weekend. Has worked very well with Smith and racked up some good games with more hitouts than he ever had at the pies. In the Port game he got a mark in very similar situation to the Ryder incident. In the last he out ran he opponent, got to the forward 50, made space and got the mark. Pity he missed the shot.

Rant Over....

His Queens Birthday effort last year probably gave Jamar his AA spot.

Too many pathetic efforts from Josh and I'm sorry if it upsets anyone here but i'm happy to see the back of him.

My lasting image of him in a Collingwood jumper was being ragdolled by Peter Bell a few years ago. :eek:

Agree with the OP but I dont really like the bloke much never loved Collingwood, the way he acted when we won the GF was discrasefull and his comments to the Collingwood fans after the GF parade were an absoloute joke.

Never like him. Nothing rationale about it....just don't like a guy that looks like he is going on 60 for most of his playing career.

Who did we miss out on when getting Josh?

Never like him. Nothing rationale about it....just don't like a guy that looks like he is going on 60 for most of his playing career.

Who did we miss out on when getting Josh?
Wow dissed for having a receding hairline. . .

He was number one draft pick that year, was always asked to carry the ruck duties without any visible support. Not his fault that he was forced into a role that his body wasn't suited for.

As for who we missed out on . . . ifs and buts don't win a flag

His biggest Problem was that he was not a Ruckman and with Malthouse putting him in the Ruck as a Kid. It just Ruined his Body.

He would of been a Good CHF

And then late in his career when MM wanted to make him a forward he had a sook because he wanted to be a ruckman.
He had his body wrecked playing a role he wasn't built for and then Mick wants him to be a KPF with the backs monstering what's left of his body. Of course he had a sook - it's the position his body was built for and he should have been playing that role his entire career - too bloody late when his body is just about shot.

There are 2 sides to the argument.

Firstly when he came to the club,he tried his guts out,remember the 2002 grand final,he put us in front in the last quarter.
Josh was always a tall ruck rover not a first ruck...........2002-2003 cost us beacuse we didn't have a number one ruckman like Monkhurst or Jolly

Also some say it also didn't help with Clokey missing in the backline in 2002 and Rocca in 2003...............But our rucks were the key,josh got smashed by Brisbane's ruck division.

Fast forward to 2007-2009 Josh tried hard as number one ruck .his body
was worn out from the constant bash crashing and in the prelim against geelong he would have been the difference,but he opted out saying his knee was not good and the rest is history,Geelong made the granny and smashed Port Adelaide.

In the scheme of things josh was played out of position for years.
Malthouse made him carry our ruck stocks for years and his body has given way i reckon.Had he been played in as a second ruck like Leigh brown and a forward target,instead i reckon he would still be at the Pies
and now a premiership player with a few years still left in him.
Really this is what i reckon Josh may be bitter about,and i don't blame him.

So would you guys call Fraser a Draft Bust then?

In a sense we could have had pav - yes... Could also have fiora...

But still without Josh from 2000-2009 our rucks would have been screwed... Pity there was not another 'gun ruck' signed in say 00 and we might have got to see what 'might have been' have a look at kruizer now, much betters management by the blues...

Sucks for both him and the pies that we never had the opportunity to see him really shine

But no more a bust than kozzy (still got us o two gf's)

Blokes a ****ing cat

We always showed good faith in him always letting him play 1st ruck which he wanted he wasnt impressed with us picking up Jolly and had the shits about it was not a good leader

Lucky to play his 200th was given to many games over the years when he didnt always deserve them

In a sense we could have had pav - yes... Could also have fiora...

But still without Josh from 2000-2009 our rucks would have been screwed... Pity there was not another 'gun ruck' signed in say 00 and we might have got to see what 'might have been' have a look at kruizer now, much betters management by the blues...

Sucks for both him and the pies that we never had the opportunity to see him really shine

But no more a bust than kozzy (still got us o two gf's)

Good points pendles but we could have signed Everitt after he left the saints that would have helped Josh,Malthouse said NO,big mistake cos with Everitt and Josh we would have pinched a flag or two.

Blokes a ****ing cat

We always showed good faith in him always letting him play 1st ruck which he wanted he wasnt impressed with us picking up Jolly and had the shits about it was not a good leader

Lucky to play his 200th was given to many games over the years when he didnt always deserve them
Letting him play first ruck????????
Have a close look at our ruck stocks in his time. . .
He WAS the friggin ruck

Josh has been a scapegoat for Pies supporters for years, seems that nothing has changed even though he's no longer on our list.

Personally I think the traits of his game that so attracted recruiters to him as a kid and meant he was a clear #1 pick didn't necessarily equate to being great at the the ruck position he played. His running ability, agility, skills and link-up play were all great things for a ruckman to possess, unfortunately the most prized traits for a top ruckman - body strength, tap work, contested marking and aggression were the weakest aspects of his game and his reputation amongst some supporters suffered as a result. Not his fault though, he is what he is.

Blokes a ****ing cat

Fraser smashed his body for Collingwood.
I'm more than happy to see him getting good money to play out his twilight years at GC, especially when the AFL are paying top dollar for the ex-RL hack who will never....repeat never even approach the player Fraser was.

I'll never hate a Collingwood player, but gee Fraser was close. Was the most useless, soft and untalented player I've seen pull on a Collingwood guernsey consistently for 10 years. His body got 'smashed', but so does every other ruckmans, so it is no great sacrifice that I should applaud. Especially when you think of how much physical contact he actively avoided. The bloke has no level of competitiveness or aggression and plays like a Grandad.

He was a useless squib then, and he is a useless squib now. His personality, from when I've seen him around town, and also after the Grand Final parade, certainly don't help his cause.

Very glad to see the back of him.

Josh Fraser