It appears, like their success starved supporter base, that Carlton were focusing on Collingwood before they played WB. One week at a time boys.

I can dream of sneaking into 8th and getting a final against Carlton first up. Free ride to the second week.

I think its becoming obvious that Carlton haven't improved at all from last year. The only reason they are higher on the ladder is because half of the top 8 has fallen away so they moved up by default.

mmmmmm

Destroyed in the ruck and have not key forwards or supporting structure. never going to win the big ones unless they develop an all round list.

Collingwood will be interesting.

Remind me of WCE 03-05ish. Solid team but **** they lose some games they shouldn't.

People saying they can't beat a decent team, they did get mighty close to Geelong and probably should have won that. They can't beat Collingwood and West Coast seem to have their measure this season. Their game vs Hawthorn will be interesting.

I never rated them a premiership chance but maybe next season. Though they'll have tough competition in Collingwood, West Coast, Fremantle, Hawthorn etc who will all be very strong.

Remind me of WCE 03-05ish. Solid team but **** they lose some games they shouldn't.

People saying they can't beat a decent team, they did get mighty close to Geelong and probably should have won that. They can't beat Collingwood and West Coast seem to have their measure this season. Their game vs Hawthorn will be interesting.

I never rated them a premiership chance but maybe next season. Though they'll have tough competition in Collingwood, West Coast, Fremantle, Hawthorn etc who will all be very strong.

two ways to look at it.

a) It's July. Even good sides are gonna drop matches, with training loads being increased to peak in September. In recent years, the Cats have dropped games regularly this time of the year in a Premiership year. \

b) The Blues are getting found out. They are a quality forward and a quality key defender short of being a gun side. Guys like Thornton are great, but they are never gonna be a Scarlett, Fletcher etc.

I reckon it's probably a bit of both. Blues are a good side, just not a Premiership capable side just yet. Would hate for Rattens sake to watch them get bumped straight out. Be a lot of Blues shitting emselves if they finish 5th and cop the Bombers week one...

Carlton are getting ready for Collingwood, not the Bulldogs. Not that they wouldn't knock back the 4 points. The Bulldogs are starting to play pretty good and caught them.

I expect Carlton to turn it on next week.

great win by the dogs tonite - even more impressive considering they had to go up agains 23 tonight with Umpire Razor Ray giving them a head start with some of the softest frees and 50 m penalties early when the heat was on :thumbsdown:

It was a F**N Disgrace !

great win by the dogs tonite - even more impressive considering they had to go up agains 23 tonight with Umpire Razor Ray giving them a head start with some of the softest frees and 50 m penalties early when the heat was on :thumbsdown:

It was a F**N Disgrace !
Forget about the armchair ride the Dogs received in the 2nd half? Umpiring was horrendous but it was a match of 2 halves for them Carlton in the first half then the Dogs in the 2nd.

when the heat was on early, it was carlton that got the frees, and to the dogs credit, they were 27 down and busted their arse to get back into the game and take the lead when it was all against us !

anyway, winners are grinners :D

two ways to look at it.

a) It's July. Even good sides are gonna drop matches, with training loads being increased to peak in September. In recent years, the Cats have dropped games regularly this time of the year in a Premiership year. \

b) The Blues are getting found out. They are a quality forward and a quality key defender short of being a gun side. Guys like Thornton are great, but they are never gonna be a Scarlett, Fletcher etc.

I reckon it's probably a bit of both. Blues are a good side, just not a Premiership capable side just yet. Would hate for Rattens sake to watch them get bumped straight out. Be a lot of Blues shitting emselves if they finish 5th and cop the Bombers week one...

I agree with this, but the quality forward and backmen were injured/not playing tonight (Waite/Jamison). Was a combination of that and guys like Bower & Houlihan really interrupting the side with the lack of match fitness/grunt.

I think we have lost a bit of form, and my expectations at the start of the season were a home final (5th or 6th). The reality is no side is going to be switched on for a full 22 games, just the nature of the beast. Also the Doggies were very good and are playing good footy at the moment, a fit Cooney is making a massive difference.

As silly as it sounds, i probably wouldn't want an honourable loss next week, it will probably make us think all is well and we will then go down to Essendon. Either win the game or get flogged. (the latter being more likely)

We are about where we should be, we have improved, but we haven't hit our peak as a side yet I feel, that will probably come 2012-14.

when the heat was on early, it was carlton that got the frees, and to the dogs credit, they were 27 down and busted their arse to get back into the game and take the lead when it was all against us !

anyway, winners are grinners :D

Even then, I didn't think we looked that good. Felt like it was just some stupid 50 metre penalties the Dogs gave away and some half decent finishing. Dogs look switched on from the start.

Combination of being found out and lacking intensity over four quarters.

We've added a bit of depth in our midfield this year, but we're still relying heavily on our best KPP's being match fit. Jamison out and Waite injured early was never going to be good.

Hope to god they play half-decent next week.

Combination of being found out and lacking intensity over four quarters.

We've added a bit of depth in our midfield this year, but we're still relying heavily on our best KPP's being match fit. Jamison out and Waite injured early was never going to be good.

Hope to god they play half-decent next week.

Maybe we should do a Freo of last year when they rested like 12 players against Hawthorn in Launceston. I mean we aren't going to win regardless, just get everyone fit and firing for the business end of the season. :thumbsu::D

Though that would anger the AFL greatly, making a mockery of a blockbuster.

You think the umps dont look at the stats. They always even them up by the end of the game. They had the whistle up their bum in the last quarter, dogs could have shot someone and got 'play on'. Fair enough too, the umps almost decided the game in the 2nd quarter.

Murphy proving how mentally fragile Carlton are.

http://www.smh.com.au/afl/afl-news/...se-against-redhot-magpies-20110711-1h9yy.html

I would have thought your place in the top 4 is something to lose "Marc".

Really mate get a clue and grow up. Nothing is more vile than someone who thinks because of a team they like that they have the upper hand, Your posts show what a low lifestyle you have, maybe a job would help you get out a bit more and see what life is really about.