Movements for 2011.

Back on to footy matters....
Looks like an interesting finish for the 4th and 5th spots with saints and M/M faltering a bit with Stawell and Ararat on the rise. Dimmy also not travelling as well but probably have enough points up...if Stawell get over Saints today they will be in the box seat with a easier finish to the year and could even grab 3rd..if saints lose today they may not win another game !!!!!!!!!!!!
Stawell v Ararat in a couple of weeks should be a ripper with the winner a good chance of making finals unless saints or M/M can upset a team above them......Ararat should be in the five after this week but have Warrak and Horsham last two rounds..Next few weeks will be interesting !!!! .....and yes Fancy I know its all probably elementry with Horsham dominating but I'm sure its important for the teams involved....
For what its worth I still think Warrak can challange Horsham (maybe thats wishful thinking)

Back on to footy matters....
Looks like an interesting finish for the 4th and 5th spots with saints and M/M faltering a bit with Stawell and Ararat on the rise. Dimmy also not travelling as well but probably have enough points up...if Stawell get over Saints today they will be in the box seat with a easier finish to the year and could even grab 3rd..if saints lose today they may not win another game !!!!!!!!!!!!
Stawell v Ararat in a couple of weeks should be a ripper with the winner a good chance of making finals unless saints or M/M can upset a team above them......Ararat should be in the five after this week but have Warrak and Horsham last two rounds..Next few weeks will be interesting !!!! .....and yes Fancy I know its all probably elementry with Horsham dominating but I'm sure its important for the teams involved....
For what its worth I still think Warrak can challange Horsham (maybe thats wishful thinking)

That’s the best post on here for quite some time.

Yes I think Horsham will steamroll the year but I haven’t agreed on the thinking around the challenger all year. I actually think the only side that might challenge Horsham is Stawell. Stawell have some fantastic talent in there under 17’s and have a few handy players in their reserves as well. I think they have some handy backline staff who you need against such a potent forward line at Horsham. I also think they have the talent to kick beyond 25 goals which most sides just can’t do.
It’s the starting bench that define a side on grand final day and I think Stawell would have the best if they don’t just try and take an under 17s flag.

Of course, they may not make the finals.
Do I think Stawell would beat Horsham in a grand final.....no way, but I do think they are a better bet then Brimackabeal.

Interesting letter in today's WMT by the Horsham Saints, not sure that the Empire have the ability to 'get it'?

I would think the hierarchy of the Empire would be as disappointed and annoyed with Mr Creaseys letter as anyone. The old adage goes never give your opposition any more ammunition than they already have.

If you stomp on someone when your on top you will only get kicked on the way down.

Saying that though a bit surprised to see a club president respond to a what is a supporters letter. Surely the saints could have found a supporter to put their name on the letter than to bring a club president into it when their club has not been criticised or implicated.

Bet what?

burke or arnel? the southpaw does get a bit grumpy from time to time, and i'd find it hard to believe arnel would swing a punch. A hook from big red would probably have knocked jones' head off. Any other info on the incident/ramifications from the incident? surely the assailant would be looking at a hefty sentence if it was behind play?

Other news in terms of the finals....

I reckon Stawell is the main challenger after finding form and hardness, but only by a bees tockley. I think they were underrated at the beginning of the season, as well as having depth to cover injuries.

Warracknabeal and Dimboola about on par i reckon, and pretty much on the same page as Stawell. Warrack a bit dissapointing but they may step up on the main stage come finals. Dimboola written off before the season but they have the knack of coming in as the unknown and performing above expectations. Maybe their hardness will prove vital in the finals, but i'm not sure they have the skill or goalkickers to make it to the big one.

Very interested to see how things pan out for the rest of the finals. Not the premiership but the race to get to the big one by these three teams. Horsham by a long margin at this stage.

Stranger things have happened though.

burke or arnel? the southpaw does get a bit grumpy from time to time, and i'd find it hard to believe arnel would swing a punch. A hook from big red would probably have knocked jones' head off. Any other info on the incident/ramifications from the incident? surely the assailant would be looking at a hefty sentence if it was behind play?

Burke! apparently he was shrugging him off, and threw out the arm.

A terrible, terrible lose for Nhill today. Despite the cash flow and the support it will be hard to recover from this. When paying more than half of your senior team to run out there you would expect more from this group. Where does the club go from here? Is it better to spend more money recruiting more players from out of town or do you go back to basics?

I Guess the Empire have a fair history of getting their players off charges for finals. We all remember when Weir was felled and the cockamamie story that followed.

Not all. Please refresh our memories on the "cockamamie story".

My memory serves me that the player was disallowed witnesses to appear at his tribunal hearing. In what legal system is it correct that a person accused of a charge is denied the opportunity to call a witness in their defence.

If that is the legal system you encourage fancy I hope you are never charged with an offence of any kind.

A terrible, terrible lose for Nhill today. Despite the cash flow and the support it will be hard to recover from this. When paying more than half of your senior team to run out there you would expect more from this group. Where does the club go from here? Is it better to spend more money recruiting more players from out of town or do you go back to basics?
Back to Basics. Paying good coin for non local is only a short term fix and never works in the medium to long term.

What if the kids are no good and lack the will?

Small town clubs always have ups and downs. Sometimes bad decisions from management happen, but we shouldn't have a crack at them for that.

Lack the will?

Not sure what you mean by this fancy but kids are kids and they have their own lives to lead outside football. It is a bonus for all local clubs to have quality juniors coming through but they aren't the players who should lead the way. It is the culture of the middle aged players of the side who are letting nhill down.

Small town clubs always have ups and downs. Sometimes bad decisions from management happen, but we shouldn't have a crack at them for that.

Lack the will?

Not sure what you mean by this fancy but kids are kids and they have their own lives to lead outside football. It is a bonus for all local clubs to have quality juniors coming through but they aren't the players who should lead the way. It is the culture of the middle aged players of the side who are letting nhill down.

What are the options for some of these more remote clubs like Nhill? Recruiting is nigh impossible without huge$. Is a merger with Kaniva a possibility? Could Dimboola merge with Jeparit-Rainbow etc?

Participation rates are falling but down side to mergers is that available spots for junior players decrease as well.

What are Nhill options? They are or at a minimum have been a well run club for many years but geographically and demographically they are really up against it.

Movements for 2011.