Its official

You going to put crap on Woosh after a 17-5 season? We stopped Cloke and Dawes (2 goals between them?) that's far more important than Harry O and Davis, as they are defenders tasked with stopping our players.
It was Lecca's (our B&F last year) job against Harry O and he got beaten.

Everyone would have agreed that going long into the 50, as Geelong did last week, with Pies missing their CHB was the best plan, players just didn't pick the right options all of the time. When we chose the right option it worked (see the last quarter).

As for the ruck, NicNat will be known as "Mr September" withing 3 years.

Worsfold deserves criticism for today's performance, just like he deserves the praise he has already received for our 17-5 season.

We played a very poor, one dimensional game today.

Harry O'Brien didn't have 30 touches because he beat LeCras in 30 one on ones, he had 30 touches because we consistently barrelled the ball long inside 50 to the advantage of the Collingwood defense.

Long and fast inside 50 works and has worked for us all season. Long inside 50 at all costs does not work, and that was obvious 5 minutes into the second quarter - yet we didn't change our structures at all.

I totes agree with you champ. It was EXACTLY what happened the LAST time we played them. Yeah, we didn't lose by as much, probably down to the fact they were missing a $hitload of players, but it was still the same style of footy from us.

I'm sitting there watching it, thinking "seriously... is worsefold going to do a single thing about davis or harry obrien? Like Ever?" Same story different day. Kept kicking it in there direction and they hurt us on the counter attack. LIKE LAST TIME!!!

Same with the ruck dual thing, we should really stop hyping that sucker up until we prove that it is a telling statistic against teams that matter, like collingwood.

We didn't learn a thing, i don't think we're back, we played horrible....

But i wasn't surprised, and i know that we can play better if we try

Can't you at least spell the coach's name correctly. :eek:
And as for the last sentence - I can guarantee we were trying! We were within 8 points of the premiership favourites with minutes to go, playing in front of a parochial crowd on a ground we have only been on once this year, many of our players in their first finals appearance, without our best midfielder, with one of our main assets subbed out with injury - and you think we haven't learnt a thing. :confused:

Worsfold deserves criticism for today's performance, just like he deserves the praise he has already received for our 17-5 season.

Harry O'Brien didn't have 30 touches because he beat LeCras in 30 one on ones, he had 30 touches because we consistently barrelled the ball long inside 50 to the advantage of the Collingwood defense.

Long and fast inside 50 works and has worked for us all season. Long inside 50 at all costs does not work, and that was obvious 5 minutes into the second quarter - yet we didn't change our structures at all.

The players choosing the wrong option is not the coaches fault! And Harry O did probably beat Lecca in one on ones upwards of a dozen times

I seem to remember there being similar critisism levelled at Woosha after the Qualifying Final loss in 2006, when he wouldn't drop numbers back to cover Hall and O'Loughlin and arguably cost us the game.

We all know what happened the next time we met. So I'll back the boys and the coaching staff in.

I seem to remember there being similar critisism levelled at Woosha after the Qualifying Final loss in 2006, when he wouldn't drop numbers back to cover Hall and O'Loughlin and arguably cost us the game.

We all know what happened the next time we met. So I'll back the boys and the coaching staff in.

This:thumbsu: The gaps closed no doubt about it. Lets see what happens the next few weeks before we go slagging off the coaching staff, in fact i think its the least of our worries as they have done a pretty good job so far this year:rolleyes:

Everyone knows Harry O's record on LeCras. Everyone knows why we lost last time. Why do the coaching staff need a third game to work out what everyone else already knows?

No one is calling for Worsfold's head, nor are they calling for half a dozen players to be dropped. To get to this point has been a massive effort, but this club hasn't competed in 5 Grand Finals by saying 'we made it this far, that's good enough'.

The fact of the matter is that yesterday's performance did not demonstrate that we have closed the gap on Collingwood or that we learned from our loss in Round 10. Yeah we lost by less, but we could have easily have lost by a lot more.

Collingwood are (arguably) the best team in the comp. If we're good enough to play them again this year then we have a lot of homework to do.

Assume you are referring to Masten and Waters. Could not agree more. Despite two reasonably good games from Masten and total courage from Waters, both give me palpitations when they dispose of the ball. WCE's two biggest "first 22" duds.
Yet both were good yesterday

No one is calling for Worsfold's head, nor are they calling for half a dozen players to be dropped. To get to this point has been a massive effort, but this club hasn't competed in 5 Grand Finals by saying 'we made it this far, that's good enough'.

The fact of the matter is that yesterday's performance did not demonstrate that we have closed the gap on Collingwood or that we learned from our loss in Round 10. Yeah we lost by less, but we could have easily have lost by a lot more.

Collingwood are (arguably) the best team in the comp. If we're good enough to play them again this year then we have a lot of homework to do.

Overly negative post.

We got thumped last time we played Collingwood and we have bridged the gap tremendously since that loss.

We had what 11 guys who have never played a final before and dealt fine with the tempo considering.

Yes, we can keep trying to figure out how to get Lecras into the possies more next time we played them but you forget that the defensive back sixes of both teams easily won.

Also remember that they had utter stars playing through the centre and we had kids.

We are now in the best three in the comp you'd think.

It could have rained
We could have kicked straight and won
It could have been a draw
It could have been the day of the apocalypse and the whole world was torn apart
Could have?

Stick to facts mate

A lot of you are overestimating the importance of game-day tactics. I doubt Scott Burns told the mids to hack the ball forward at every opportunity. Collingwood are just a better team at the moment.

Collingwood have played more games together, they know their gameplan better, and most of them are bigger as well. They were better at blocking for each other, better at getting the ball out of congestion, better at all those little things. When the Eagles get better at those little things then all the big things, like disposal inside 50, will improve as well, and you won't have to hang shit on our forwards.

We did pretty well. The Pies never broke the game open, which is a good indication that the gap in class is narrowing, and we scored more freely than we did earlier in the year. Plenty to build on.

it was funny to come out of a finals lose feeling positive. part of that was still getting over the shell shock of last year.

but i must admit part of me went to the ground thinking "shit we could get embarassed off the park here"... but i did come in mainly thinking we would give them a good run. and that indeed we did and the boys made all our supporters proud, particularly in that last quarter when we gave them an allmighty scare.

this is a group going places.

we need a few tweaks here and there, but we've got the makings of a premiership team.

as i said in another thread so many of our big guns had average (or worse) games - JK, shuey, priddis, embley, lecras... of our guns Cox (who had to go off), Hurn, Glass and NicNat had big games... McKenzie and Lynch obviously played blinders but wouldn't refer to them as our big guns just yet.

and despite this we still got within 20 points of the best team in the competition who had their big guns firing - pendles, swan, shaw and o'brien were out of control.

Hope u guys dont mind me commenting.. but u guys played brilliant yesterday considering half your team had not played a final. Always new eagles will have a sneaky chance against the pies.
I give you guys every chance of possibly knocking off geelong after you dispose of carlton. Eagles are the dark horse this finals series.

ps. Nic Nat is such a gun :)

Hope u guys dont mind me commenting.. but u guys played brilliant yesterday considering half your team had not played a final. Always new eagles will have a sneaky chance against the pies.
I give you guys every chance of possibly knocking off geelong after you dispose of carlton. Eagles are the dark horse this finals series.

When you are posting things like that I think everyone would welcome you to post here :thumbsu:

I love you.

Cheers mate. Your more optimistic and positive than a lot of our mob over here.

it was funny to come out of a finals lose feeling positive. part of that was still getting over the shell shock of last year.

but i must admit part of me went to the ground thinking "shit we could get embarassed off the park here"... but i did come in mainly thinking we would give them a good run. and that indeed we did and the boys made all our supporters proud, particularly in that last quarter when we gave them an allmighty scare.

this is a group going places.

we need a few tweaks here and there, but we've got the makings of a premiership team.

as i said in another thread so many of our big guns had average (or worse) games - JK, shuey, priddis, embley, lecras... of our guns Cox (who had to go off), Hurn, Glass and NicNat had big games... McKenzie and Lynch obviously played blinders but wouldn't refer to them as our big guns just yet.

and despite this we still got within 20 points of the best team in the competition who had their big guns firing - pendles, swan, shaw and o'brien were out of control.

this :thumbsu:

Huge effort by the weagles on saturday. I remember coming on here about halfway through the season giving you props for how far you've come from last season..and you've exceeded that expectation from me. Such an impressive game and team your building. I think this will be a regular occurrence over the next few years, I just wish the media would recognize that rather than say we played badly and are vulnerable just coz we didn't smash you. I thought we played very well, as did you.

All the very best for next week!

Honourable loss........

Sounds very Dockers like to me.............

Amazing all these bogan Eagles supporters coming out with their 'Brand new' jumpers and shirts....never sighted last 2 years??

Amazing, it's been 3-4 years and it still burns deep inside Eagles supporters.....just as many WA boys came home to play, Stenglein, Dalziel, Chick, Mitch Clark etc etc (and half the inaugurel squad), he wanted to go home. Move on.....

Also, he left when the Eagles rap sheet was getting too long, Ben's dealers were knocking at his door, and Special K (Daniel) was offering to write him up prescriptions............

Amazing, it's been 3-4 years and it still burns deep inside Eagles supporters.....just as many WA boys came home to play, Stenglein, Dalziel, Chick, Mitch Clark etc etc (and half the inaugurel squad), he wanted to go home. Move on.....

Also, he left when the Eagles rap sheet was getting too long, Ben's dealers were knocking at his door, and Special K (Daniel) was offering to write him up prescriptions............

I'm not bitter. I love Juddy. I think he's an absolute champion. I actually quite like Carlton. I wasn't happy we lost, I wasn't satisfied, but you're blind if you think nothing positive came out of it. I don't see what Stenglein, Chick etc have to do with Eagles v Carlton?

Its official