Post Game - 1st Semi Final - Carlton v West Coast

I think we lost the game at selection. Davies was ineffectual. Hampson would have provided an enormous amount in the ruck and pinch hitting forward and would have allowed Irish to play as a permenant forward. Nearly every Carlton supporter I know can't understand why Davies keeps getting games, especially ahead of Hampson, JR, Tuohy???

Agree l think the MC wrongly put their faith in Davies when we had at least 3 other better options, Hampson, Lucas to provide some run & dash and Russell, feel that Hampson's inclusion probably could have made the difference.

Not good enough. Lost a game we should of won. I would of accepted if we were beaten by the better team on the night. But we werent. When it comes down to it if the pressure is on our boys crumble.

What ****ing dimension did you watch the match in? Because in the rest of ours dimension, the boys never gave up and took it right to the wire...

So ****ing proud of them all tonight

Absolutely proud of the boys. We will only be better next year, particularly if we have a bit of luck with injuries.

Great games in particular by Robbo, Murph, Laids and Hendo. Warnock can hold his head high as well playing basically a lone hand against Cox and NicNat. And if Zach Tuohy isn't in our best 22 every week next year I'll be stunned.

I am disappointed by the result, but very proud of how Carlton played tonight. A pinch of luck and we would be in the preliminary final next Saturday. Any doubts some supporters have over Ratten and the direction he is taking the team should've been extinguished by tonight's performance.
We don't actually know how good a coach Ratts is, improvement could even be due to assistants - as ordinary supporters we don't know. I trust that the admin do and if their guts tell them a hard decision could still be needed then I would respect them if they did a Freo. Where they would have to be careful is knowing the players feelings - that is also something I am not sure of in regards to the Freo decision
But in every likelihood Ratts is responsible for this years improvement and that should get him a new contract to finish the job

VERY proud of the boys tonight. Considering the trip to Perth, the fact that we had we had no Gibbs, Kreuz or Waite & we lost Thornton I think we did frickin awesome!

Don't know why we didn't play Hammer but I'm sure the MC had their reasons.

I know we can't blame them and I don't wanna harp on but I think the umpiring was shocking!

Heard some flog on SEN talk about how Ratts need to go..but him and anyone else with this opinion can **** off as far as I'm concerned.

Loved the heart we played with tonight, was awesome to see em fighting right til the end.

Robbo was B.O.G for mine, followed closely by Laidler

BRING ON 2012!!!!

We don't actually know how good a coach Ratts is, improvement could even be due to assistants - as ordinary supporters we don't know. I trust that the admin do and if their guts tell them a hard decision could still be needed then I would respect them if they did a Freo. Where they would have to be careful is knowing the players feelings - that is also something I am not sure of in regards to the Freo decision
But in every likelihood Ratts is responsible for this years improvement and that should get him a new contract to finish the job

No offence dude, but thats exactly the kind of attitude and talk that holds the St.Kilda's and the Fremantles' of this competition back from Ultimate success.
Kudos to all involved in this years effort from top to bottom.
United we stand.

Hi Guys,

Apologies for the intrusion on your board, but I would like to offer my comiserations on tonight. What a fantastic performance by your club. Massive respect to all involved.

I know the last three finals losses have hurt, we went through the same thing in 02-04 as well as the 05 GF... but what this does is build character and hunger in the group. They now know finals football and that experience is what will help take that step forward in the coming years.

Best of luck for next year. I fully expect to see Carlton in the Top 4. Thanks again.

Hi Guys,

Apologies for the intrusion on your board, but I would like to offer my comiserations on tonight. What a fantastic performance by your club. Massive respect to all involved.

I know the last three finals losses have hurt, we went through the same thing in 02-04 as well as the 05 GF... but what this does is build character and hunger in the group. They now know finals football and that experience is what will help take that step forward in the coming years.

Best of luck for next year. I fully expect to see Carlton in the Top 4. Thanks again.

Cheers Bro. It was a great game, and it's not your fault the umpires were ****ards. Good luck next week.

No offence dude, but thats exactly the kind of attitude and talk that holds the St.Kilda's and the Fremantles' of this competition back from Ultimate success.
Kudos to all involved in this years effort from top to bottom.
United we stand.
No offence dude - but that is rubbish. Unless you hold a position in the club you do not know how good a coach Ratts is, I don't - he may be a super coach or he may be just better than average. The admin should know and should make the appropriate decision is all I am saying. You have to figure it may have been line ball or else they would have signed him before now. Would rather debate this some other time - I only mentioned the coaching in response to someone else.

Why is this guy a flog if their a better Coach out their why not if not we keep him. I don't think he goes hard at the players, seems more of a fan or too friendly. Malthouse would have dragged a player who gave 2 goals in a second. The eagles got pumped after this and it gave them venom in their veins.

So you're saying that after winning us a final and almost getting us over the line tonight he deserves to go? All things considered tonight, I think he did very well and IMO if we were full strength we could have got up.

Malthouse has already said he won't be coaching anywhere next year..If we do the same thing next year and Malthouse is available then I can see some point in your argument.

Right now I can't think of anyone better out there then Ratts and the players play for him..Feel free to suggest someone..

I did not think 2011 would be our year and I am only a supporter but I am so disappointed I don't know whether to saddle up again next year. The game/ball is designed to be a little unpredictable and I can accept the need for luck when it comes to injuries but the thought that second rate umpiring can cost you the world is hard to take.
I do not believe they are any closer to improving this area of our game. Everybody knows that good umpires go unnoticed and yet this panel rate an umpire that everybody knows loves attention - SHEEZ
I lived without footy to certain extent for most of this season when overseas, maybe ones better off just getting out and doing something yourself than supporting the AFL - yeah I am shatterd
The bumbers were bumblers - this was the one that I wanted. Bloody injuries

That's footy, Five. All part of the journey. The lows only make the highs all the more enjoyable (or so I'd imagine, being a 21 year old with only fleeting memories of 95). :eek:

No offence dude - but that is rubbish. Unless you hold a position in the club you do not know how good a coach Ratts is, I don't - he may be a super coach or he may be just better than average. The admin should know and should make the appropriate decision is all I am saying. You have to figure it may have been line ball or else they would have signed him before now. Would rather debate this some other time - I only mentioned the coaching in response to someone else.

Welcome that debate.

I suppose my thinking is his results this year have met the standards set "internally" at the club.

AS a supporter he's earnt my respect, loyalty and good faith.:thumbsu:

That's footy, Five. All part of the journey. The lows only make the highs all the more enjoyable (or so I'd imagine, being a 21 year old with only fleeting memories of 95). :eek:

You are a very wise 21yo B4F. Maybe when us old codgers get to 56 we start to think there is a lot of good stuff we have to fit into our lives BUT I am just being a sook LOL :thumbsu:

Your point that CJ should be copping more blame than MD is correct TG but it is time for this old codger to get to bed (struggling to get body clock back on Aus time) - Goodnight all

**** Me, last three finals losses have been less than a kick.

As TG posted, plonk Krooz, Gibbs and Waite into that side and whatever.

Gunna get drunker and listen to the Beatles. ;)

The post that suits me. (to 'Hey Jude') "Hey Judd, don't bring me down, take a down side, and make it bett-er, remember to feed off the balls to Murphy, and the blues will begin to, climb, the ladder"

Plain and simple... got r*ped...

Umpires cost us the game in the end... if we had lost by 3 goals then it wouldnt have made a difference in who won but by only 3 points some very poor decisions cost us...

Last 10 min there were around 5-6 moments that the commentators said "that should have been a free" and it was always for carlton... But eaglea got the only free in that time...

Walkers decision was probably correct as it was tough, but digs arms gettin chopped (resulting in lecras goal) and lynch dropping the ball in our 50 were just no brainers and should have been paid...

Even when murph got slinged by nicnat... no downfield...??? was that correct...????

I am just sooo upset about this loss...

Post Game - 1st Semi Final - Carlton v West Coast