Brad Ebert

I think if he doesn't go into the PSD draft after Port and WC not agreeing, Ebert will stay at WC. He will not go to the crows, he hates them with a passion. Just won't happen.

Its either, Port, PSD or stay at West Coast. I'd say the two clubs will work out a deal

But everyone is thinking they WILL have a pick in the PSD....
They dont have to... And if they do dont you think they would have a player already in mind???
They wouldnt go to the PSD without a player and just hope for the best!

The draft's done after the trade period, if they know Ebert's still available after the trade period they can easily skip their last pick in the draft to ensure they get Ebert in the PSD

^ funny you say that. we were only just talking about that!
Still couldnt believe we didnt have a crack at him!
But as you say maybe we knew he prefered to go to the Crows so we didnt in good faith drive his price up...
Maybe as you say this is the returning of the favour...
Strong footy in SA is what were all after i guess!

Eberts preference is Adelaide because its home and in particular Port because of family ties - but this isnt about homesickness, its about game time and specifically getting midfield game time, which one team has obviously promised whilst his current team hasnt.

Brad is first and foremost a professional footballer and recognizes that a team like GWS would also happily acede to his request and Port will know this.

Darling was a steal. It happens very rarely and we were very lucky to pick him up. The chances of that happening in this years very weak draft is very low.

Ebert is worth more than pick 28 in this years draft, no doubt about it. Will easily slot into Ports team at the start of next year. Draft picks are risky and over valued by most people on here. There is no risk in getting Ebert for Port.

I can't see Ebert going for pick 28. WC rate him too highly for that and Port will be very keen to get him. They will also know that he doesn't want to go to the PSD.

I think it will be a 3 team trade or Port will make another trade to get a better draft pick for WC to have. Pick 6 is way too much for Ebert but pick 28 is definitely not enough.

Here's a list of other steals taken between Pick 25 - 30 in the last 5 years

2010 Lycett 29
2009 Colyer 26
2009 Duncan 28
2009 Gunston 29
2009 Ball 30
2008 Redden 25
2008 McKernan 28
2008 Beams 29
2008 Hannebery 30
2007 Otten 27
2007 Whitecross 29
2006 Edwards 26
2006 Dawes 28
2005 Addison 27
2005 Lower 30

I reckon its 50/50 that you get a First 22 player and there are players on that list better than Ebert and its debatable whether Ebert is a First 22 player with West Coast. If 24 gets Gunston then 28 is all that Ebert is worth in fact there's a case that he maybe worth 33 instead.

Also if you look at players who move to clubs for more opportunity they generally get traded for a high draft choice. Such as Guerra was traded to St Kilda from Port when he would have been about the same age as Ebert with maybe 10 -20 less games FOR NUMBER 39.

Wont come to the crow's, wants to play for the power enough said. Power will prob have to give someone like Westoff or Banner / Hitchcock + draft picks to get his services tho. Adelaide dont need him. If the power cant get it done in trade week, will prob enter draft and then hopefully the crows pick him up for nothing

Other examples of trades that are similar to Ebert

Sherman to WB - End of Round Compo choice - same as what we are saying
Tambling to Adelaide - End of Round Compo choice plus Pick 50
Jacobs to Adelaide - 33 & 67
Gibson to Hawthorn - 25 & upgrade from 69 to 41
Mumford to Sydney - 28
McGlynn and Kennedy to Sydney - 39, 46 & 70

None of these deals are better than Ebert to Port for 28.

Wont come to the crow's, wants to play for the power enough said. Power will prob have to give someone like Westoff or Banner / Hitchcock + draft picks to get his services tho. Adelaide dont need him. If the power cant get it done in trade week, will prob enter draft and then hopefully the crows pick him up for nothing

Yeah Teddy you can use your Pick 10 on him in the draft - that would be a smart move.

Mumford to Sydney - 28

Think the Ebert trade will be like the Gibson one, pick 28 and an upgrade of 3rd rounders

So are you saying that Ebert is as good as Gibson? ... because he's not. This is an example of the reason why Pick 28 is more than enough to get the trade done.In fact looking at these trades I'm starting to think 33 is the right pick to be trading.
WCE posters are hoping they can bend us over because they have regrets about using Pick 12 to pick him up in the first place and think they are justified in wanting more. Just like if they wanted to trade Masten they would want a Top 10 pick for him despite not being worth anything like that.

Mumford to Sydney - 28

The last two drafts were stronger. But still a good point.

So are you saying that Ebert is as good as Gibson? ... because he's not. This is an example of the reason why Pick 28 is more than enough to get the trade done.In fact looking at these trades I'm starting to think 33 is the right pick to be trading.
WCE posters are hoping they can bend us over because they have regrets about using Pick 12 to pick him up in the first place and think they are justified in wanting more. Just like if they wanted to trade Masten they would want a Top 10 pick for him despite not being worth anything like that.

it will be 33 or 28 and an exchannge of third rounders

Ebert is a good player, just not rated on BF

think he would become a better player at PA

The last two drafts were stronger. But still a good point.

Yeah I know what you're saying...I reckon they were saying that last year as well... this draft is not as good. Still managed to find Puopolo 66, Duigan 70, Fasolo 45, O Shea 52. Its almost as though if its not a Judd/Hodge draft its always thin. I think this year is normal but next year is going to be great. If its a 2004 draft - that stunk but there were still some good players taken with high draft choices.

Ebert is a good player but hasn't found a good role at West Coast. Can find the ball, run all day, strong hands, good reader of the play. Every time he goes for a kick now he must be thinking "don't **** it up", he would absolutely love a clean slate I reckon and would be one of Port's best players.

I think there is a problem, that there are Port supporters out there that think his first name is Russell and not Brad. Same thing happened to Brett.
The thing that Port will give him that WCE can't is decent time in the midfield. In terms of pressure I think there will be more pressure on him to perform at Port because of his surname.
Hopefully we can clean up his kicking and if this can happen and he gets the opportunity to play midfield he'll become a solid midfielder/forward for us.

Ebert is a good player but hasn't found a good role at West Coast. Can find the ball, run all day, strong hands, good reader of the play. Every time he goes for a kick now he must be thinking "don't **** it up", he would absolutely love a clean slate I reckon and would be one of Port's best players.

How insulting to Port.

I honestly don't understand why Port would be prepared to part with pick 28. There's a chance pick 28 could be a total miss, but surely trading for mediocrity isn't the way to go. The guy isn't even in WC's best 22, why is he commanding such a high price?

All the players listed a few posts above were significantly better than Ebert for at least one full season (incl. Tambling and Sherman). All possessed at least some outstanding qualities that a new club could use.

Ebert is an outside player who finds the ball but can't kick. What's the point? Surely Port's much better off rolling the dice.

How insulting to Port.

I honestly don't understand why Port would be prepared to part with pick 28. There's a chance pick 28 could be a total miss, but surely trading for mediocrity isn't the way to go. The guy isn't even in WC's best 22, why is he commanding such a high price?

All the players listed a few posts above were significantly better than Ebert for at least one full season (incl. Tambling and Sherman). All possessed at least some outstanding qualities that a new club could use.

Ebert is an outside player who finds the ball but can't kick. What's the point? Surely Port's much better off rolling the dice.

Ahuh.

1. He was in our best 22 for the vast majority of the year and we had basically no injuries all season.

2. Tambling, Sherman etc. were also all older than Ebert.

3. He can kick fine. His issue is that people take a long time to change their opinions.

How insulting to Port.

not best 22, but best 23 in a side that went into a prelim. 21 year old with 70+games. he can play on the wing but thats not his best spot.

whats the point? well swan's kicking is nearly as bad...you saying whats the point in having swan in your team?

as for being one of ports best players.....no. but will be their captain. this guy is a leader.

1. He was in our best 22 for the vast majority of the year and we had basically no injuries all season.

If you write down a best 22 for 2012, would Ebert be in it? Rosa back, Kerr fit, Masten coming off a great end to the season etc

2. Tambling, Sherman etc. were also all older than Ebert.

24 and 23 respectively c.f. 21 isn't exactly a chasm.

3. He can kick fine. His issue is that people take a long time to change their opinions.

Hasn't cracked 70% DE in any season (62, 68, 59, 69 in his four seasons) despite most of his touches being uncontested (64% uncontested over his career).

not best 22, but best 23 in a side that went into a prelim. 21 year old with 70+games. he can play on the wing but thats not his best spot.

whats the point? well swan's kicking is nearly as bad...you saying whats the point in having swan in your team?

Why is his 70+ games an inherent advantage? I'd think it's concerning, if anything, that after 70 games he still hasn't really developed.

As for Swan, his kicking was awful for a couple of months this year, but usually is right around average. And Swan kicked 30+ goals this season while gathering 30+ touches a game, including lots of hard ball. Ebert averaged 13 touches a game and kicked half a dozen goals.

I'm not saying it's impossible to play good footy despite having a poor kick, but you need other outstanding attributes. Ebert is a great size for a mid and is a very good runner, but it doesn't translate to anything in particular in terms of on-field impact.

If you write down a best 22 for 2012, would Ebert be in it? Rosa back, Kerr fit, Masten coming off a great end to the season etc

24 and 23 respectively c.f. 21 isn't exactly a chasm.

Hasn't cracked 70% DE in any season (62, 68, 59, 69 in his four seasons) despite most of his touches being uncontested (64% uncontested over his career).

1. He'd be in the best 22 easily. Then you consider that we wont have such a good injury run again and he's further solidified in the 22.

2. Not a large numerical chasm but a great developmental one. Heaps of improvement comes from 21 - 23/24.

3. He was a terrible kick up until 2011, along with most of our side. He's had the misfortune of spending 3 of his first 4 seasons under Broadbridge as skills coach but he's fixed his issues since then. 69% DE might not be great but I would expect it to trend upwards.