Imaginative Player nicknames

Mar 31, 2011
Premiership nirvana
It'd be good to know player nicknames- either the names given by other players or what BF posters reckon...

Fair to say current player nicknames are fairly ordinary...

Brett Deledio= Lids, Jack, Cotch, TV, Newy etc

These are not as good as the nicknames of previous players...

Andy Goodwin = Spider
Brett Evans= Bird Man
Des Ryan = Delicate Des
Michael Mitchell =Brudder
Dale Weightman= Flea
Michael Roach= Disco

How's about we start giving our players imaginative nicknames ...something like...

Daniel Connors= Plonker
Alex Rance= Handsome
Ivan Maric = Spanner
Robin Nahas= Schlong or Holmesy

Rance is already 'Tross' or as I think he refers to himself 'Trossman'.

Not sure if I'm the only one but I'm not a big fan of guys at the footy using nicknames for players. Last name stuff is alright, but anything beyond that sounds like you think you're on a personal, first name basis and trying to attract attention. Although for some reason I think cheersquad members and the real die-hard supporters get away with it.

Depends who gave them the nickname. If it was fan-coined I think the fans should be allowed to say it (like 'stiffy' johncock). It's weird when its not though.

Not sure if I'm the only one but I'm not a big fan of guys at the footy using nicknames for players. Last name stuff is alright, but anything beyond that sounds like you think you're on a personal, first name basis and trying to attract attention. Although for some reason I think cheersquad members and the real die-hard supporters get away with it.

I don't really use nicknames either (barring Lids), but for some reason I seem to call a select few players by their first name rather than last. It's not something I plan, just comes out like that. From memory I usually call Riewoldt, Nahas and Edwards all by their first names, like "Good, Robby, Good", or "Hold it Jack... nice grab!". Most nicknames seem a bit forced to me.

Maric- Billy Ray, I haven't seen a mullet that good since
Arnott- teddy
Elton- Croc/ rocketman/ben..take ya pick
ellis- lester

thats a start, they all shoud stick

Billy Ray Maric - I like

Elton...rocketman (should stick)

what about..
Poo Browne
Batchelor Kisses
Ian Astbury: The CULT
Morris Minor
Nip An (Tuck)
2 Wongs don't make a White

Billy Ray Maric - I like

Elton...rocketman (should stick)

what about..
Poo Browne
Batchelor Kisses
Ian Astbury: The CULT
Morris Minor
Nip An (Tuck)

thats the winner..cant wait to hear the tiger army roar...go 2 wongs dont make a white, half way through the last quarter, 3/4 tanked with piss...should be a pisser..the st johns ambos will break a new record treating dislocated tongues..;)

The list so far...

Billy Ray (Maric)
Rocketman (Elton)...or if he's playing a blinder, the tiger army could chant...Nah...na na na ne nah...na na na ne nah..
Poo (Browne)
Batchelor Party

(Ian) Astbury: The CULT
(Morris) Minor
Nip An (Tuck)

Nachos or Holmesy
Derick the Tenth
Lester (Ellis)
Rancid
Dan or Danny

The list so far...

Billy Ray (Maric)
Rocketman (Elton)...or if he's playing a blinder, the tiger army could chant...Nah...na na na ne nah...na na na ne nah..
Poo (Browne)
Batchelor Party
The CULT (Astbury)
(Morris) Minor
Nip An (Tuck)
Nachos or Holmesy
Derick the Tenth
Lester (Ellis)
Rancid
Dan or Danny

forgot about these...

Axel,
Push Up,
Biscuit,
Postman,
Ironfist,
Muscles (McGuane)
Sex Machine (Benny Griffiths)

The list so far...

Billy Ray (Maric)
Poo (Browne)
Batchelor Party
The CULT (Astbury)
(Morris) Minor
Nip An (Tuck)
Nachos or Holmesy
Derick the Tenth
Lester (Ellis)
Rancid
Dan or Danny

forgot about these...