Remove this Banner Ad

Selective Retention

Cancelled
10k Posts
Jan 9, 2009
Melbourne
AFL Club
Geelong
This is listed on practically every job advert but what do they actually expect someone at an intermediate level to do in a job context.

I've done stats units at uni so have used solver and other add ins like that but I don't see stuff like that as a day to day necessity in the workplace?

Are they just referring to if statements, vlookup etc as intermediate excel?

Colin D'Cops

Brownlow Medallist
10k Posts Essendon Player Sponsor 2011
Nov 24, 2007
AFL Club
Carlton
Are they just referring to if statements, vlookup etc as intermediate excel?

I guess it would vary from job to job.

I'm no expert at all myself, I just completed a spreadsheet test a week ago now as part as my Business course. We used the IF function, VLookup, conditional formatting, data validation, protecting parts of the sheet and were expected to know the formulas like the back of our hand [eg. =MIN(), =MAX(), =AVERAGE()].

I'm tipping this is entry level stuff, but if you've got this all sorted I wouldn't be too hesitant in applying for jobs, except in the IT industry. There'd be [strike]clowns[/strike] nerds who'd know a few more tricks for sure.

I guess it would vary from job to job.

I'm no expert at all myself, I just completed a spreadsheet test a week ago now as part as my Business course. We used the IF function, VLookup, conditional formatting, data validation, protecting parts of the sheet and were expected to know the formulas like the back of our hand [eg. =MIN(), =MAX(), =AVERAGE()].

I'm tipping this is entry level stuff, but if you've got this all sorted I wouldn't be too hesitant in applying for jobs, except in the IT industry. There'd be [strike]clowns[/strike] nerds who'd know a few more tricks for sure.
:thumbsu:
From the sounds of it, Selective Retention, you should be fine to apply for anything involving intermediate Excel skills. For everything else, what Colin said.