Autopsy/Ranting thread keep it all in here.

Selection will be interesting this week.

Much depends on injuries...will Laidler and Yarran be fit? Who comes in for Carrazzo? Does Duigan need more match practice in the two's, what choice need to be made in our rucks? Hampson, despite yesterday, would be stiff but a 6'11" ruckman would be handy against Sandilands. Similarly Bower would be unlucky, despite a shocker yesterday, but when it comes down to a choice between him and Thornton, the latter wins hands down. We need two mobile marking KP targets forward anyway with the resting rucks complimenting them. Bower might only retain his spot if Laidler is injured. As for Walker I'd imagine he'll need "two's" time for a few weeks before getting back in the firsts.

hmmm ok, no point arguing about it, you're entitled to your opinion. I think we didn't let you play well, so let's agree to disagree and look forward to the next chapter in this epic rivalry :thumbsu:
Have already moved on and looking forward to seeing what we deliver on Friday night
Certainly by the time we have our rematch we will see more clearly where the 2 teams really stand and I am confident we will be well placed in the top 4. And to be honest I don't really care where the Bombers are on the ladder. Be assured Ratts will have them up for the rematch regardless

Selection will be interesting this week.

Much depends on injuries...will Laidler and Yarran be fit? Who comes in for Carrazzo? Does Duigan need more match practice in the two's, what choice need to be made in our rucks? Hampson, despite yesterday, would be stiff but a 6'11" ruckman would be handy against Sandilands. Similarly Bower would be unlucky, despite a shocker yesterday, but when it comes down to a choice between him and Thornton, the latter wins hands down. We need two mobile marking KP targets forward anyway with the resting rucks complimenting them. Bower might only retain his spot if Laidler is injured. As for Walker I'd imagine he'll need "two's" time for a few weeks before getting back in the firsts.
I think the mobility of Zac Clarke is more of a worry then Sandi to be honest, Sandi struggled friday night and is in a bit of doubt this week with a calf.

I'm still pretty disappointed about yesterday but the fact is they came to play and we didn't.
Essendon deserved to win and yes maybe the attention got in the players head.
Ratts MUST stamp this out this week if we don't then next week will probably be another loss.
The next few weeks will be telling

Don't think we should over react too much to yesterdays result but agree with some of the sentiments being posted on here in that I'd like to see the flouro boots and the smug 'inverted W' hand-gestures disappear.

Whilst ecstatic with the win at the time, I hated the final image of the Carlton - Richmond game showing Mitch Robinson doing the hand-gesture with the tongue poked out.

People might say that the great Carlton teams showed arrogance. This is true but it was a ruthless style arrogance and belief in their ability - not lairising.... and they won premierships.

This team, so far, has done nothing and should be looking to be a cold, ruthless, determined 'unit' !

Ever think, Guns that one of the reasons we played crap football was because the Bombers played better football.

One of the reasons sure but you can only play as well as the opposition allow you.

Injuries and poor kicking aside, we were done at quarter time (despite a flattering narrow lead). 2nd goal from the Bombers in the 2nd term and it was pretty much game over. Essendon had the momentum and it continued for 2 straight quarters.

Why? Fundamentally, we were out-coached. We tried to be too clever and play a loose man.

I kept screaming "whenever they have the ball, man up!" Check the uncontested mark count and the number of times Essendon streamed from defensive 50 to goal without a Carlton player in sight.

Modern football is all about covering the zone, maybe, but when that strategy fails dismally you have to go back to the basics: one-on-one footy.

Don't think we should over react too much to yesterdays result but agree with some of the sentiments being posted on here in that I'd like to see the flouro boots and the smug 'inverted W' hand-gestures disappear.

Whilst ecstatic with the win at the time, I hated the final image of the Carlton - Richmond game showing Mitch Robinson doing the hand-gesture with the tongue poked out.

People might say that the great Carlton teams showed arrogance. This is true but it was a ruthless style arrogance and belief in their ability - not lairising.... and they won premierships.

This team, so far, has done nothing and should be looking to be a cold, ruthless, determined 'unit' !
Did we lose because our players wear fluoro boots and make hand signals?

That doesn't make a lick of difference.

The AYM hand signal is something a few of the indigenous players and Robinson do for their mate Joey Anderson.

I don't like overreacting to a loss, but it was a pretty despicable performance by us and 5 goals is a very flattering margin as to how shit we were. Essendon were fanatical, ran their guts out and went hard at the ball. We can't get up and play champagne footy every week, a la last Friday, but we need to have the mental fortitude and consistency to win each week even when we're not at our best.

Methinks the collective putting of the head down, ditching the rock star fantasies, developing a more mature & balanced mindset and an unfailing commitment to hardness at ball & man is needed. We have the talent all over the ground to play that open, skillful style, but it is the 2nd stage of play; we must win the ball and when we don't have it, shut down the opposition.

We will turn it around but I had to cringe when Ratten came out saying "yeah, in the past we didn't handle pressure well, but we will this time... this group can handle it..." It brings back the nightmares of years past.

Come on Bluebaggers.

The AYM hand signal is something a few of the indigenous players and Robinson do for their mate Joey Anderson.

Still unsure what relevance that has with our current group.

I'd like to see the flouro boots and the smug 'inverted W' hand-gestures disappear.

Mate, you're aware that the "inverted w" is actually an "A"?

Like someone else mentioned, it's a gesture in regards to them being aboriginal, and in Mitch Robinson's case, a self proclaimed aboriginal.

Pretty clear when you think about it why that make that gesture when they kick goals. Their relatives are at home watching them play.

Prefer they were thinking about the next contest and their 21 other team mates than this sort of BS !!!

Like someone else mentioned, it's a gesture in regards to them being aboriginal, and in Mitch Robinson's case, a self proclaimed aboriginal.

Pretty clear when you think about it why that make that gesture when they kick goals. Their relatives are at home watching them play.
I like the gesture Murph did to Joffa and would have liked to have done the same to the Bomber cheer squad yesterday. DAAAAAAMMMMMITTTT
Boots haircuts sexuality-I just want us to play good footy

Jibberish, really hard to follow - dont tell me to grow up - the coach has come out and flat out agreed with my points - so step back, there are some seriously pissed people, especially at the club. So they damn well should be.

If you think the 95 team was as shit as you are saying your just trying win an argument by sacrificing all reality - one of the greatest seasons of all time stupid, stupid comment.

Wow! You have the gall to call what someone else writes gibberish and then write a dissertation of diatribe like that.

Where did I say the team of '95 was shit? I didn't and happen to think it was one of he greatest of the modern era but after the straight sets losses in '94 and those 2 on the trot there were plenty of supporters who had doubts. Judging by your comments today I'd love to have heard your thoughts after the second, or actually even the first, loss.

No way do I dismiss a poor performance but I sure as hell don't overreact to it either.

I've got a pretty good idea of what our best is and when it's there (call me naive) I am confident that we can match it with anyone. We showed it against Geelong and the Eagles in the semi or were they not 'gut busting efforts against a better team'?

Another thing I don't need a history lesson, I too have been here through the last 10 years and don't need a reminder from you of what it was like.

Our performance over the season will define how good we are and, if it's as good as yesterday I'll subscribe to your rant but until I see evidence to the contrary I'll regard it an aberration.

Could try to interpret and respond to the rest of your post but frankly can't be bothered

I always thought it was because they thought they were gansta :)

Doomed from the start, McLean as sub...stupid stupid

Need an impact player, running, they stuffed that up

I don;t think we as in the team/coaching paid them any respect, prior the game, and as Bomber Thompson said on 360 last week about the Essendon v GC game, they (GC) are a young team they had a sniff.....they kept coming at Essendon, same yesterday, they could smell it at quarter time, Carrazzo down, etc

Momentum in the modern game is huge

Anyway the good thing abuot Footy is there is always next week and lets hope we don't put in a performance like that again.

SOS 206 ellard t bird Dennis

McLean never again, Dennis is change

Curnow battler, ellard more pace better player

Hampson miles off it, bring back 206
I always recall you much more eloquent Big Red-what has happened

Hard to criticise the sub-rule if our plans went out the window in the first quarter.
SOS 206 ellard t bird Dennis

McLean never again, Dennis is change

Curnow battler, ellard more pace better player

Hampson miles off it, bring back 206
Grow up.

Kreuzer and Hampson had shockers like Ryder's effort against Warnock and Setanta in the finals.

That's footy.

Curnow is a gut runner who was hampered by an ankle injury.

for **** sake some people on here need to take a pill and be banned from posting to and utter shit all the time.

Excuse me for thinking 206 is better than hampson, if I recall 206 was clearly our number one ruck last year and hampson continues to struggle

Excuse me for wanting ellard in the side, watch the last half of last season the kid is a ripper

Excuse me for wanting armfied back in

Prefer they were thinking about the next contest and their 21 other team mates than this sort of BS !!!
Stunning logic after they did the hand signal and wore the same boots in smashings of Richmond, Brisbane and Collingwood.

Footy supporters are goldfish. One week Ablett's the best mid ever. The next week, he's shut down by Andrew Raines.

:D

Autopsy/Ranting thread keep it all in here.