Autopsy/Ranting thread keep it all in here.

David hooks gets punched throws one back gets broken up barley makes the paper David hooks gets punch hit's his head and dies front page news ,
I don't deny that the bombers needed to come out with aggression and be physical but there a difference between fair aggression and attempting to hurt someone, if you think driving someone head first into the ground is fair then I guess we will have to differ in opinion

That very well may be it, however the tackle was deemed as a free kick and nothing more. If the tackle was so malicious then Lonergan would have been reported.

I understand your sentiment, but a similar tackle happens 5-10 times a game with no player getting injured.

Notsureifserious

If Carrazzo gets up and plays the rest of the game, the tackle doesnt get mentioned. :rolleyes:

If it was that bad he would have been reported instantly. What the tackle did was show the intent that was required to beat a rampaging undefeated Carlton, and it worked as you were soft all day in comparison to us.

Sniping dog? No. Lloyd's bump on Sewell was a snipe I admit it, you cant call a tackle like that a snipe.

Piss off ya muppet, don't try and get in a serious discussion around here with that avatar.

That very well may be it, however the tackle was deemed as a free kick and nothing more. If the tackle was so malicious then Lonergan would have been reported.

I understand your sentiment, but a similar tackle happens 5-10 times a game with no player getting injured.

Disagree with this statement. Lonergan completely lacked any duty of care towards carrots his sole purpose was to drive him head first into the ground and hurt him. i don't doubt that the injury was accidental but when you tackle someone like that and they get hurt you need to face the music. There was an alternative to tackle fairly and still exert a physical presence and Lonergan took the cheap road.

I'll give you ane example.

Player A has the ball
Player B is the tackler

Player B tackles Player A, both arms are pinned and falls into his back leaving player A with nothing to defend himself with.

This leaves player A completely defensless and open to severe head injuries. I agree the tackle was with the intent to hurt, but arent all tackles?

I have no doubt Lonergan wanted to send a statement to Carlton, however at no stage did he intend to hurt Carazzo's AC joint especially after just returning from an injury for a sling tackle.

He simply wouldnt risk the suspesion.

I'll give you ane example.

Player A has the ball
Player B is the tackler

Player B tackles Player A, both arms are pinned and falls into his back leaving player A with nothing to defend himself with.

This leaves player A completely defensless and open to severe head injuries. I agree the tackle was with the intent to hurt, but arent all tackles?

I have no doubt Lonergan wanted to send a statement to Carlton, however at no stage did he intend to hurt Carazzo's AC joint especially after just returning from an injury for a sling tackle.

He simply wouldnt risk the suspesion.

I think the point where we are disagreeing is that i think it was an irresponsible tackle. There are ways to fairly hurt someone with a bone crunching tackle, that is a part of our game and we don't want to lose that, my point is that driving someone head first into the turf is irresponsible and dangerous Lonergan could have tackled and fairly shown physicality, but instead he went for the dangerous alternative and now a played is injured.

Hmmm. I've looked at the carrots video three times. I think the MVP may look at it due to the controversy it's received but will throw it out.
From behind it looks like there's a semi intention to crunch but from front on its extremely hard to tell whether the intent to 'injure' was really there.
The bottom line is that if carrots was ok I doubt there would be this much fuss.
A big loss, but perhaps much ado about nothing.

Hmmm. I've looked at the carrots video three times. I think the MVP may look at it due to the controversy it's received but will throw it out.
From behind it looks like there's a semi intention to crunch but from front on its extremely hard to tell whether the intent to 'injure' was really there.
The bottom line is that if carrots was ok I doubt there would be this much fuss.

That's it... it was a shit and clumsy tackle, but doesn't warrant suspension imo.

Be interesting to see how the MRP looks at it, more dangerous than some of the sling tackles people got done for last year, who knows I guess.

G'day guys, I agree with this (probably one of the only Essendon supporters to). Lonergan's sole reason was to hurt Carrazo, he got straight up to man the mark and completely ran off when "advantage" was called.

I wouldn't be surprised to see Lonergan get a week for his (attempted) tackle, especially considering his recent poor record.

As for the rest of the game guys, I just wanted to thank you guys for an exilerating game to watch. It was a ripper with ebbs and flows from the first whistle to the final siren.

Really not sure how Betts finished with 4, probably only had 4 touches for the game :D but he did take advantage of his (limited) opportunities..

As for the rest of your team, really impressed with Kade Simpson, everytime I see him, he impresses me and is one of the most under rated players in the comp and would have been in my votes had I been giving them for you guys, Marc Murphy is a gun and certainly helped my supercoach side :D and you guys have your own Stuart Crameri, who can't kick either with Jarred Waite, really structures you guys up.

Thanks again for the match and good luck for the rest of the year, still cant believe SportsBet were offering $7.00 for us just before kickoff, will be waiting in anticipation for the rematch later in the year :thumbsu:

Nowhere in my previous two post in this thread have I come anywhere close to trolling. The avatar is there for you to see brother, shouldn't effect my serious discussion in this thread. :thumbsu:

The avatar is a disgrace.:thumbsdown::thumbsdown:

Seriously, we all enjoy a bit of friendly, and sometimes unfriendly, banter on these forums but that crosses the line.

To suggest that any player who steps out onto an AFL ground these days is a squib shows a complete lack of understanding of how tough the game is these days.

No doubt you played top-line football and never flinched :rolleyes::rolleyes:

Piss off ya muppet, don't try and get in a serious discussion around here with that avatar.

Maybe it should read Heppell = Squib

Re the tackle duty of care is the thing, and his history, how will the MRP see it, dunno, chook lotto

Pissed about the loss but I am level headed enough to realise its only round four.

One of the under performers is Robinson. He has really spudded it up for the first 3 games. He is out of form ATM and a spell in the 2s will be good for him. It has worked for him before

I know he is much loved around here including me but his form this year so far has been shocking

i think some folks posting here may have forgotten this years objective.
It's to finish top 4. That's it. That's the goal.
If i gave you 4th position (3/1) after round 4 with a percentage of 152.garlett,
you'd be taking it and running.

We got a little ahead of ourselves. Even Murph indicated that on game day.
We're not the big alpha bull yet, but we're definitely circling.

Back to being 'ruthless'.

Carrazzo is a big loss..
McLean... Game over buddy. This is one trade we ****ed up on!! Cant say he did not try thou and the club also gave him every opportunity to get back to his best.

Big game next week and we need to get a good start at Subi!!

Anyone got a spare ticket?? I been O/S the last few weeks and could not get one..

If i gave you 4th position (3/1) after round 4 with a percentage of 152.garlett,
you'd be taking it and running.

No disagree with that. I had 3 must win games and another at 50/50. We won the 50/50 but lost a must win to totally negate it. By my reckoning we are theoretically half a game down at least on where I expected us to be, given our draw.

The avatar is a disgrace.:thumbsdown::thumbsdown:

Seriously, we all enjoy a bit of friendly, and sometimes unfriendly, banter on these forums but that crosses the line.

To suggest that any player who steps out onto an AFL ground these days is a squib shows a complete lack of understanding of how tough the game is these days.

No doubt you played top-line football and never flinched :rolleyes::rolleyes:

Talk about being precious, I've had it for over 3 years. :eek:

Says a lot about you, you can't show an act of courage or achievement by one of your own team. I'd be so proud of Watson right now I'd be having him in my avatar for sure. Gave us a clinic on Satty.

You REALLY must have Gibbs in your system.

Aren't you being precious in return because someone objects to it? You're on the Carlton board. If someone chooses to judge your opinions by your choice of avatar, you've probably got to accept that as you chose to put it up.

I probably don't care about it myself, but I can understand that some might not want to give you the time of day because you have pre-announced your motivations to an extent.

No disagree with that. I had 3 must win games and another at 50/50. We won the 50/50 but lost a must win to totally negate it. By my reckoning we are theoretically half a game down at least on where I expected us to be, given our draw.
Agree - at least last year we drew one game and comprehensively beat the Bombers in the H&A games. However, this year with apparently the healthiest list for a long time and supposedly one of the strongest and deepest midfields we capitulated to the Bombers.

For all the hype and hoopla of the first 3 rounds (flag favourites:rolleyes:) we are probably not that much better than last year. Wins against bottom 8 teams Richmond and Brisbane, and a depleted/dispirited Collingwood had many believing the team were further advanced than they actually are.

Before Saturday I thought we had replaced Collingwood as one of the top 4 teams this year along with Hawthorn, WCE and Geelong. I'm not so sure now. Guess we should wait till we play these teams to see what, if any, improvement the team has achieved from last year.

Autopsy/Ranting thread keep it all in here.