Will Essendon win the Flag ?

The arrogance is back at the bombers no doubt, only essendons poor 2nd half allowed the tigers back in, essendons first half was superb not richmonds poor 1st half. And jacks non mark was the crucial decision of the game not the other frees missed or given to Essendon. 66 to 44 inside 50's in 90% of occasions means a win. Poor kicking cost Richmond a 4-5 goal win last night, u are delusional if u think bombers can win it this year. They've had 2 good wins this year against finals quality sides. Tigers will win a flag before Essendon.

An absolutely baffling post, littered with inconsistency. You start off by stating the 'arrogance is back at the Bombers, no doubt.' However, then you sign off by exclaiming, 'Tigers will win a flag before Essendon.' Please explain your rationale on what 'arrogant' entitles. While you're at it, you might want to Google 'delusional' considering you think there is absolutely no chance Essendon will win a chance to win a flag before Richmond.

Furthermore, you exaggerate the general feeling and comments among Bomber supporters - most of which have given Richmond credit for their second half fight back. Nonetheless, one cannot argue that we didn't bring much of that on ourselves with poor skill errors and decision making.

I don't believe we're a serious premiership threat just yet. It's slowly coming together though because in past seasons we're been impressive and very competitive against the teams who are believed to sweep the floor with us, with our biggest obstacle has always been that we tend to lose against the sides we're expected to beat. When it comes to the latter, we're finally doing that on a consistent basis which is pleasing and necessary if we're to continue to improve.

When the fixture was released, we as Essendon fans all unanimously said that the first half of our draw was relatively, I wouldn't call it soft, but the matches were winnable. We thought if we built a solid foundation up until the mid-season bye, then we would be in a good position to entrench ourselves in the eight come the tougher portion of our draw. With matches against GWS, Melbourne and Sydney ahead, we have reason to be optimistic that we can reach the bye 10-1 or at least 9-2.

With our ability to win the games we're expected to lose against talented opposition, anything could happen in the second half of the year. All we can do is continue winning and being competitive, and if finals eventuates then we'll give ourselves every chance of progressing just like any team would. Optimism and faith are wonderful to have as a supporter, but realistically I see us being a genuine challenger in a year or two.

The arrogance is back at the bombers no doubt, only essendons poor 2nd half allowed the tigers back in, essendons first half was superb not richmonds poor 1st half. And jacks non mark was the crucial decision of the game not the other frees missed or given to Essendon. 66 to 44 inside 50's in 90% of occasions means a win. Poor kicking cost Richmond a 4-5 goal win last night, u are delusional if u think bombers can win it this year. They've had 2 good wins this year against finals quality sides. Tigers will win a flag before Essendon.

Wow, what a flog. You have no idea do you?

You guys got 66 inside 50's for a total of 34 scoring shots. We had 44 inside 50's for a total of 33 scoring shots. What does that mean?
It means one of 2 things
- Our defense was much better, putting more pressure on your kicks, and forcing your forwards to kick from tougher angles further out.
OR
- Your defense was utter garbage and we had shots in much better spots, and our forward line is better.

So what is it? Is your defense crap or your forward line crap?

Lol read my ealier post champ! Poor kicking did not cost you the game. Having more inside 50s means nothing when you kick point after point. You guys in the 3rd and in the last qtrs missed shots on goal, got the ball back from the kick out and missed again etc etc. This ads up the ins50 tally what you need to remember is if the first one goes through the ball goes back in the middle 50/50 contest again.

This demonstrates you have no idea about the way Essendon plays - last night was more an aberration. I think we're all looking at things at a micro level instead of a macro one. Since when do premiership teams not have a poor half or poor game during a few phases in the season? Basically every season.
So was the game against North Melbourne who have been exposed as a bottom 8 (10) team, where you fell over the line an aberration? How about the game against the Gold Coast? I've watched a lot of Essendon this year and I was even at the Carlton game where you dominated them but I stand by my comments. Should make top 4 but won't beat West Coast when they get their players back or a Collingwood at the business end of the year.

U mad brah!!!

Why you so hung up on Essendon's performances champ worry about your own team.

I fundamentally refute your assessment that 'Essendon's game style is high risk high reward type stuff that I don't think will work in the finals when your skills really come under scrutiny and the game becomes almost solely about the contested ball.' Without knowing the stats we are a contested ball team, epitomised by our midfield - Hocking, Watson, Howlett, Lonergan. I don't see too much speed there, nor players who role the dice. I don't necessarily disagree with your belief Essendon won't get too far in September; however, I don't understand why you are so belligerent in your assessment that we have no chance in beating Collingwood or West Coast later in the season. I'd be highly confident against West Coast in Melbourne and would also be relatively confident against Collingwood based on their performances this season.

u are delusional if u think bombers can win it this year. They've had 2 good wins this year against finals quality sides. Tigers will win a flag before Essendon.

It's delusional types like Mick Malthouse that think the Bombers can win it. Most Essendon Supporters don't think we will.

Are you saying Essendon has played at their absolute best and can't get any better?

Essendon's first half is the best opposition we've come up against this year, including Carlton, Collingwood, Geelong & West Coast. You have some mediocre performers playing out of their skins. It's reminiscent of Richmond in 1995.

If that form holds until September then Essendon is definitely capable of winning the premiership.

Blazing away at the goals often doesn't mean good convert percentage does it?:rolleyes:

Terrible run with the umps? So what about the JR "mark" where the umpire DOWN FIELD payed it when it clearly bounced off the ground and managed to sneer one back just before quarter time?

TBH we went to sleep after the half the boys easily had control and we came out thinking the job was done. We are at the moment a 5 goal better team at least then the tigers. (well maybe not tonight lol).

It wasn't a mark. It WAS a free. Stop bleating on about this. Essendon clearly had the rub of the green with the umpires last night. Richmond supporters can see it. Neutral supporters can see it. One eyed Essendon supporters can't see it.

And as for "lucky". How about losing Grimes early into the 2nd quarter, leaving us with only Rance that's taller than 190cm in the backline?

:rolleyes:

I was prepared to give richmond their due respect for coming back into it in the second. The truth is Essendon played three decent quarters and one bad. But Richmonds supporters "in this this thread" seem to be overrating their squad (not saying ours is top for material either). If it wasn't for Deledio (maybe Cotchin) you would have got thumped.

Essendon's first half is the best opposition we've come up against this year, including Carlton, Collingwood, Geelong & West Coast. You have some mediocre performers playing out of their skins. It's reminiscent of Richmond in 1995.

If that form holds until September then Essendon is definitely capable of winning the premiership.

wtf-did-i-just-read1.jpg

You don't win premierships in May or June or July. Hird and Thompson have both indicated that they pushed the side very hard in the off season so is it that surprising they have done this well early in the season?

Its a well known fact that some side enter the season fitter than others who have planned to peak not in round 4>5 but later in the year. This takes nothing away from what the Essendon have achieved so far but come round 20 we will know who's in with a hot chance, who has improved, who have had injuries ruin their year and who have alot of work to do.

To say any team "will win" the flag after 8 rounds is just silly talk. How was Collingwood travelling last year after 8 rounds BTW.;)

So how come you have absolutely no idea what sort of game style Essendon play? :confused:
When I say high risk - high reward I mean that your passing has to be surgical through the middle to break through the press, which then either results in a kick to a Davey, Jetta or Crameri on the burst running into an open goal (reward) OR the pass being intercepted and the opposition having the overlap, resulting in a possible shot at goal down the other end (risk). This happened quite a lot last night.

A lot of Essendon's playmaking power comes out of defence, wherby you flood the opposition 50, force the turnover and spread like crazy to your forward 50. I think that contested marking is where your game plan can break down, which is why I suggested Collingwood and West Coast as teams that I think will be too good for you as they have the biggest and best contested marks in the forward line, in the competiton.

Hird and Thompson have both indicated that they pushed the side very hard in the off season so is it that surprising they have done this well early in the season?

Heard something on the radio about one of Essendon's premiership players in 2000 (when they had a 24-1 record) saying the way the players were driven throughout the year was so intense that he didn't think he could've endured another season like it. Reckon Hird is using that formula as his blueprint.

Could it be that they actually aren't all that mediocre?

It wasn't a mark. It WAS a free. Stop bleating on about this. Essendon clearly had the rub of the green with the umpires last night. Richmond supporters can see it. Neutral supporters can see it. One eyed Essendon supporters can't see it.

And as for "lucky". How about losing Grimes early into the 2nd quarter, leaving us with only Rance that's taller than 190cm in the backline?

:rolleyes:

Maybe follow your own advice, mate.

You don't win premierships in May or June or July. Hird and Thompson have both indicated that they pushed the side very hard in the off season so is it that surprising they have done this well early in the season?

Think you have your seasons mixed up? Their program was designed specifically so that they don't run out of legs late in the season.

Very different to last year where Hird wanted us to have an impact in the NAB and early season.

Could it be that they actually aren't all that mediocre?

Someone asked earlier this year if Daniel Jackson was the worst 100-gamer going around. Ricky Dyson's name came up (along with Brock McLean's). Davey is doing his job. Lovett-Murray had an impact. These players are military mediocre and have proven it over long careers.

Of course you have some very good and underrated players as well. Generally solid bodies too, which helped to sweep us aside in the first half.

We're going to be sitting 1st or 2nd after this round, so we're clearly a chance. However I'm concerned that dynamic midfields in Collingwood and Richmond have got on top of us. Our defense is very good, but we can't win finals if our midfield is getting smashed.

For the moment though, I'm just enjoying the ride.

Someone asked earlier this year if Daniel Jackson was the worst 100-gamer going around. Ricky Dyson's name came up (along with Brock McLean's). Davey is doing his job. Lovett-Murray had an impact. These players are military mediocre and have proven it over long careers.

Of course you have some very good and underrated players as well. Generally big bodies too, which helped sweep us aside in the first half.

OK I didn't realise he was referring to our bottom 5 type players. I thought he was taking a snipe at our unheralded types. The ones that Bigfooty think are shit, but are actually pretty good players.

Will Essendon win the Flag ?