Preview Changes/Squad/Team vs Lions

The Delaney boys seems to cop a lot of flak here, personally im a fan of both. If you think a Scarlett or even Silvagni could have stopped Shultz with the way we let the rebound ball in last week i think your wrong.

Luke hurts every time hes beaten, then mans up and gives everything at the next contest. Hes certainly had no help from the mids the way the balls come in the last 2 weeks.

Cam offers something very different, hes 194 but not rigid like our other talls, given time hes the type of player that can make and add X factor to our backline. With his size/build and at an age of 20 and with only 86kg on him i think his first 3 games have been excellent. Cam pick 69, Taz pick 15, Hansen pick 3 of the 3 whos offering more atm.........

Agree with all this. People have short memories. Mick Martyn got cut up by some pretty mediocre forwards in the magical 90s when opposition midfield delivery was hot. People should read up on what the not so legendary Jason Heatley did to our team of the 90s side a few times..

As for people writing off either Delaney brother after the Port game - check what a past-his-prime Corey McKernan did to a young Matty Scarlett in an early 00s game.

Key points for critics to heed - players need time to develop and an unpressured midfield can make the very best defenders look useless.

Scott really hasnt punished anyone besides Anthony for the past two rounds selection wise. IMO he is too soft, and we wont see a significant improvement in the side until he pulls his finger out at the selection table, grows a pair and comes down on under performing players, which at the moment, there are a lot more of then just the scapegoat Liam Anthony.

Call me crazy, but I suspect the coaches don't see weekly selection as reward and punishment these days the way a lot of fans still do.

I would say you are correct.

Selection seems to be a mix and match type scenario which I do not agree with.

Call me crazy, but I suspect the coaches don't see weekly selection as reward and punishment these days the way a lot of fans still do.

Ok, Crazy.

Q might not be to happy about this.

Agree with all this. People have short memories. Mick Martyn got cut up by some pretty mediocre forwards in the magical 90s when opposition midfield delivery was hot. People should read up on what the not so legendary Jason Heatley did to our team of the 90s side a few times..

As for people writing off either Delaney brother after the Port game - check what a past-his-prime Corey McKernan did to a young Matty Scarlett in an early 00s game.

Key points for critics to heed - players need time to develop and an unpressured midfield can make the very best defenders look useless.
Agree with most of that, however when Im looking for defenders, and primarily key defenders I look for guys who can compete very strongly 1 on 1.

Because no matter how good your midfield is (and right now ours is like a sieve) there will be key moments in games where your defence is caught one out. These are the moments that often shape games, especially close ones.

Right now I still dont see what Luke Delaney offers in this area that makes him a long term solution.

****ing disgraceful that McKenzie is the scapegoat for that puss dished up last week.
Evidence is starting to mount up that this bloke really seems like he doesn't know how to select a 22.

Yeah, lets bring a bloke on with 10 mins to go, in his first year might I add, and expect him to have an immediate impact in that situation...... AHHHHH yeah nah, young blokes work their way in to games BRAD. Bloody hell, it's been seen on numerous occasions and yet it coaches still choose to run with it.

Prior to last week, Aaron Edwards had almost been non existent for 3 outta 4 weeks, yet comes straight back in to the side?

Good luck to blokes like Aaron Black and Cruize Garlett, hope they can really take their chance, especially Garlett in the 7 minutes he'll get on the ground.

Wow way to overreact. First people on here want VFL form to be rewarded and now the complete opposite. We're 8 rounds in, he'll get plenty of chances in the 2nd half of the year. You'd know this if you actually watched Brad Scott's selection video, he clearly explains they dont want to use him as the sub for the third week in a row and instead want him to have full game time in the VFL

Scott really hasnt punished anyone besides Anthony for the past two rounds selection wise. IMO he is too soft, and we wont see a significant improvement in the side until he pulls his finger out at the selection table, grows a pair and comes down on under performing players, which at the moment, there are a lot more of then just the scapegoat Liam Anthony.

I'd think BScott is still of the opinion that we can play finals. To do that we need to build form and win games.

The key ingredient would be to pick the 22 that can carry this out. Punishing a player is all good and well but if it punishes the team, is that the right thing to do?

Who should he punish? Half the club or more were at fault.

As for some of the names boundied about here you also need to look at BS's long term vision. He sees (I agree) the making of a great outfit when the Bastinacs, Cunningtons et al reach 80 games. So unless they are horrible (20%DE) he isn't going to drop them.

In my eyes of the young ones, the safe ones are

Ziebell, Cunnington, Atley, Adams, Macmillan, Bastinac, Harper and Wright.

Now he needs to find reliable KPD's and KPF's

So he will give Tarrant, Black and Warren a go (need at least 3 IMO)

Also Keys x2, Grima

Locks are Wells, Harvey (for at least this year), Petrie, Thompson

So that leaves, Edwards, LT, Firrito, Greenwood, Garlett and Pedo to prove their worth

LT is safe for right now and would fall under

So unless they are horrible (20%DE) he isn't going to drop them.

It'll only be when it is doing him more harm than good to be out there that he will be dropped.

jlind, Firrito and McMahon (when well) are locks too.

You can't just dump out all your experience (compared to last year we also had Rawlings in there)

The final squad has been named. In's: Edwards, Wright and Black
Outs: Warren Pedersen McKenzie

So let me get this straight... We get run over by PORT in the last quarter and we don't bring any more runners/midfielders in????? Cruize Garlett must be ripping his hair out!

Hopefully Blacky gets a full game.

It's obvious that the coaching staff see that certain players are not really part of the mix going forward and are support players/cover for injury only.

A bit perplexed as to why Cam Delaney says in at the expense of a runner. I know he is a mobile type but we are too top heavy down back if you ask me. Hunter provides us with the flexibility we need if our KPD's are getting a touch up.

Hopefully Blacky gets a full game.

It's obvious that the coaching staff see that certain players are not really part of the mix going forward and are support players/cover for injury only.

Yeah fair enough but another runner would be handy. Mullet maybe? I reckon Bris will try and run us off our legs. They will fancy their chances after last week

I agree completely. Just finished editing my post to see yours.

Grima, Thompson, Delaney and Delaney...
Top heavy, do not like.

Warren gets one game.....
Goose is cooked. Busts his nut but just doesn't have it unfortunately.

What a waste of time playing McKenzie was....

For who? cos i'm pretty sure McKenzie would've got plenty from his small taste of AFL footy.

We better ****ing win or the seat that Brad sits on will be white hot.
Indeed. I might be sitting directly in front of the coaches box this week so will keep an eye on good ol' Bradley if things are tight late on.

B: Firrito Thompson Wright
HB: MacMillan Delaney Grima
C: Wells Ziebell Cunnington
HF: Edwards Pederson Harvey
F: Adams Petrie Thomas
R: Goldstein Swallow Bastinac
I: Greenwood Atley Harper Black
E: Garlett Warren Delaney

Is that the team?
Cant help but think J Brown is going to tear us a new one. Unless we outnumber him which i think is Bons plan.

Grima, Thompson, Delaney and Delaney...

Warren gets one game.....

What a waste of time playing McKenzie was....

We better ****ing win or the seat that Brad sits on will be white hot.

He better have a plan! Better still a plan B. Maybe Cam Delaney plays as a tall utility type on a wing or something? Just throwing it out there. Not sure of his tank/endurance?

He did a bit of that last week. Cam has a future but I'd rather we play someone in those positions whose future is in those positions.

Hardly any Lions games are on FTA so I guess its fair enough for people to think our backline is the weakest link based on how much we've been scored against but it's definitely not. Our defence is the only part of the team that has looked decent in majority of games. Forward line and midfield is our weakness.

Call it a personal opinion I guess. I actually see a fair bit of Brisbane, would almost go as far to saying theyre my second favourite team, best mates a Brisbane supporter and posts on your board, usually watch Brisbane vs Whoever over say Carlton vs Geelong when theyre simulcast.

You have some decent names down back but thinking of the overall team it seems the easiest line to bust open (in my opinion).

You have the same issue with Merrett that we had with Drew a few years back, getting moved from Position to Position, injuries over the last year or so to the likes of Adcock, Maguire (also poor form over the last year), Staker and Drummond in and out of the side.

I just feel your mids and forwards when on are a hell of alot more dangerous. You only need a couple of players like Brown, Banfield, Black etc to pop up and have good games and you look a hell of alot better side.

Once again just a personal opinion and you may be right.

So, no Anthony, Speight, Campbell, Mullet or Garlett. With Wells and Harvey being tagged, we have a team of plodders, with a real shortage of outside runners. I agree with earlier comments that the Lions will try to run us off our feet.

Preview Changes/Squad/Team vs Lions