2nds 2012 Eagles WAFL watch thread - Part 2

McGovern - 17 touches 11 marks and 3 goals
Stevenson - 21 touches and 8 marks
Weedon - 18 touches, 6 marks

McGovern - 17 touches 11 marks and 3 goals
Stevenson - 21 touches and 8 marks
Weedon - 18 touches, 6 marks
McGov also 15 or so hitouts, so he's doing a bit. Good prospect.

Kobe pronounced exactly how it's written - as one might call Tony 'Tone'. Geddit? I don't follow the NBA so the name Kobe means nothing to me.

On topic, McGovern and Tunbridge getting very good numbers

Don't think he would've picked on it if it was spelled wrong both times, but he's just wondering what makes someone spell something 2 different ways, 5 words apart... no biggies tho (both the mistake, and then you missing the point of his post)

Hamp playing CHF for Claremont League and Tunbridge CHB for Perth league , .. so a step up from the reserves for both players is a better sign . Hamp is very mobile for his size :footy:

Hamp isn't very mobile for his size.

Stevens had about 18 by half time. I still think his endurance and speed is not good enough which is why he's not getting a game at WCE. Perhaps an after-effect of Osteitis Pubis? Let's hope he can improve on that.

Better on both counts than Priddis. He's not getting games because others have hegemony and he's unproven.

Can't imagine him being useful in our current setup ;)

I don't think anyone truly thought we would see Dick pushing for a spot in our side this year, but he is starting to really get my attention. Two games in the reserves and now 3 in the seniors and he has not put a foot out of place. Could he possibly find a way into the team over the next few weeks? Has anyone seen one of his games in the WAFL?

Im not sure on that mate, while mcgovern is a very good mark its against wafl players where as jd does his work at senior level.

I'd say the WAFL blokes are a bit shorter on average too so at full stretch he is going to have a few more cm he might not have at AFL level. In saying that I love the bloke, think he is very promising!

Im not sure on that mate, while mcgovern is a very good mark its against wafl players where as jd does his work at senior level.

And Darling produce the goods mostly at an opportunist and at ground level, he's also better playing up the ground than deep (getting the high balls in isn't his strength).

The real difference is McGoverns greater scope for physical improvement and superior vertical leap, being the same or a similar height to Darling but capable of getting higher.

Forget output at X level because we can't yet compare and talk instead about natural ability you witness. As he improves I'm sure he could produce similar football at AFL level. He's lucky to be in a dominant team because he's still very raw.

Don't get me wrong, I don't fancy either player as genuine KPF's because of the volume of quality KPD's over 194cm these days. Guys around190cm are up against it, getting them on medium defenders is the key.

And Darling produce the goods mostly at an opportunist and at ground level.

The real difference is McGoverns greater scope for physical improvement and superior vertical leap, being the same or a similar height to Darling but capable of getting higher.

Forget output and talk about natural ability. :)
Andrew McDougall

Don't think he would've picked on it if it was spelled wrong both times, but he's just wondering what makes someone spell something 2 different ways, 5 words apart... no biggies tho (both the mistake, and then you missing the point of his post)
Thanks Braze, love the way you go about it

I would love to see how McGovern has progressed since pre-season. I wasnt very hopeful on him when I first saw him drafted but now Im curious.

I don't think anyone truly thought we would see Dick pushing for a spot in our side this year, but he is starting to really get my attention. Two games in the reserves and now 3 in the seniors and he has not put a foot out of place. Could he possibly find a way into the team over the next few weeks? Has anyone seen one of his games in the WAFL?

the message at the start of the yr was for Dick to just be brought along slowly and to string games together and see if his body would stand up to wafl footy,with the intension of being able to do a pre-season next yr and maybe having a crack at afl .

so No I don`t expect Dick to see afl action this year .

Reckon he was both physically and mentally weak.
I guess the more relevant point is that people coming in and expecting McGovern to outperform Darling because he has the physical tools are kidding themselves. Look, I hope he comes good as much as everyone else, but Darling is a rare specimen. Just has that 'footy nous' which is hard to teach...

Can't wait for how good he'll be with JK back

2nds 2012 Eagles WAFL watch thread - Part 2