2nds 2012 Eagles WAFL watch thread - Part 2

Because we're realists who don't live in fantasy draft land. ;)

Are people of the opinion that Garlett is a lock for a top 3 pick or something? At this stage he'd be expected to go top 15ish most likely.

There are probably only a handful of potential draftees at this stage that you could accurately predict where they'll go - and those are the top 3-4. Darling was a predicted top 10 pick, and went at 26, Parker at this time in 2010 was considered top 5-10. Players bolt and players slide. It's not by any means 'living in a fantasy draft land' to have a hope that Garlett could side 5 picks.

Are people of the opinion that Garlett is a lock for a top 3 pick or something? At this stage he'd be expected to go top 15ish most likely.

There are probably only a handful of potential draftees at this stage that you could accurately predict where they'll go - and those are the top 3-4. Darling was a predicted top 10 pick, and went at 26, Parker at this time in 2010 was considered top 5-10. Players bolt and players slide. It's not by any means 'living in a fantasy draft land' to have a hope that Garlett could side 5 picks.

I dont think we need or want Garlett, I will defer to Swannies on this issue.
But I truly think he would be better of playing for a interstate club.
We have joked about Darling's issues but he never had a extensive juvenille criminal record.
There will always be kids with issues, that can be overcome but if there not prepared to work hard
because they are comfortable with there enviroment, you will have major issues.
At this stage he appears to me very comfortable, and just isn't working hard on and of field with his talent levels.
Whats your thoughts Swannies ?

Fair enough, wasn't aware of that. I was just responding to the suggestion that he could never possibly last to us. If he does have a bit of a shady background then that makes him a fairly good candidate for sliding.

We have joked about Darling's issues but he never had a extensive juvenille criminal record.
There will always be kids with issues, that can be overcome but if there not prepared to work hard
At this stage he appears to me very comfortable, and just isn't working hard on and of field with his talent levels.
I agree wholeheartedly with that sentiment, although, I reckon if he was with his mate Newman he might work harder in an AFL environment. This was my biggest criticism of him earlier in the year, wouldn't put his head over the ball, wouldn't work his butt off, and as a consequence was playing average footy for someone of his ability. Then Saturday, BANG, but let's see if he can do that against Claremont in 2 weeks time. I don't know anything about the misdemeanours.

Foxtel Cup GF on thursday night , Claremont v Werribee @ Patersons Stadium . Doubt that Swift will play but WCE should have Stevenson / Weedon / Hamp / and maybe McGovern play in the GF which should be even better experience for McGovern and another chance to prove his chances at AFL level .

nice work this should push Garlett down the list a bit more ..:thumbsu:

Garlett and Martin will both be difficult to handle ( From what Ive heard ) , seeing WCE have an Indigenous officer we should be best placed to accomodate both players !

Cmon Phil do your work ;)

McGovern the only one with any sort of impact on the match so far and that was only minimal. None of the backs touched it very much though thats probably because it hasnt gone down that way much.

4 goals from 4 free kicks to Werribee. Silvagni looks angry hes playing 2nds. Just charged a bloke really late. McGovern dropped one he had in his hands after a good leap. Looking much bigger than I remember.

Watched the whole game. McGovern was the only Eagle to do much useful tonight. Played really well, but will never be an AFL ruckman. Weedon looked incredibly clean the 4 or so times he touched it, and absolutely spent every other time I looked at him. Stevenson had negligible influence on anything.

From Freo, Suban had an okay game apart from a massive shank early. Silvagni was a non-event as well.

Though it must be said the ball didnt spend much time in the back half for Claremont.

Tom Lee had an outstanding game kicking 6(should have been 7). 20 year old KPF formerly listed with Adelaide, will certainly get looked at come this years draft.

We gotta get Gilligan
Give me Gilligan?

Regarding the whereabouts of Gilligan mid-season...

Spat the dummy a couple of weeks ago after being dropped to the reserves, failed to turn up and play in the reserves, sent back to the amos for a couple of weeks to get attitude right. Not sure if he’s left for good. Had heard he apologised to the player group.

http://www.footygoss.com/index.php/forums/viewthread/24752/

2nds 2012 Eagles WAFL watch thread - Part 2