Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2012 Mock Draft

Campbell, who might be kept on the rookie list, but probably should be elevated. If he isn't elevated this year, he definitely will be next year.
If Minson leaves via free agency is the only way we would look at Grundy, but even then, I'd prefer to just try in the rookie draft or something. We need midfielders so badly. lol.
Igloo would the Bulldogs look at Garlett bulldogs dont really have any pace

Minson is only 27. He's nowhere near the end. We have 4 capable ruckmen on our list. With our extreme lack of midfielders, it would be stupid for us to go for him.

Minson's younger than I thought, but you need a ruck who will be peaking when Minson retires. Cordy and Roughhead aren't the answer as no.1 rucks IMO.
Besides, Grundy is the type of talent that doesn't come around often.

Minson's younger than I thought, but you need a ruck who will be peaking when Minson retires. Cordy and Roughhead aren't the answer as no.1 rucks IMO.

Dont know why you would say that ! both look like very good prospects atm and both still very young

One point you've overlooked (and you're not the only one), is that GWS will end up with three picks before our #9 pick via the mini-draft... potentially even 1, 2 & 3. When they have that luxury, I really can't see them bypassing Grundy, even if all the other clubs with early picks go mids/KPP.

The thing with GWS and those minidraft selections is that you just don't know what they are going to trade them for so it's too early to assume.

It's entirely possible that say Collingwood lose Cloke and St Kilda lose Goddard and get compensation picks back. Either or both clubs could trade those along with their 1st round selections to get into the minidraft. Additionally other clubs still have compensation selections left so no reason why GWS don't go after those future draft selections - looking to spread their riches.

It gives GWS more time to spread see what they have in their younger group and go after the types of players they need later to complete their list so future selections would probably appeal more if the value is similar to what a Gold Coast/Melbourne or whoever offer.

The thing with GWS and those minidraft selections is that you just don't know what they are going to trade them for so it's too early to assume.
True... I think I have bought into the general BF assumptions (and some wider media speculation) to a degree, and did find myself thinking back to last season's mini-draft when Adelaide got the second pick with a pick around 10, plus a later pick (still late 1st/early 2nd). In a stronger draft, picks become more valuable. Not sure if the two likely mini draft selections this year are of higher value.

As you alluded to, a lot of factors will come into play. Not necessarily safe to assume GC, Dee's, Bulldogs will be fighting it out for those mini-draft selections with those top 5/6 picks.

Igloo would the Bulldogs look at Garlett bulldogs dont really have any pace
Will most likely look at him. Personally, I would hope we take guys like Mayes and Stringer (if both are available), but Garlett would definitely be being looked at.
The way I see our ruck situation in the future is Campbell being the #1 ruck, with Roughead and Cordy both being 2nd rucks. Roughead playing in defence when he's not rucking, and Cordy at FF when he isn't.
When you have such a dearth of midfielders like we do, I would put that as the top priority. Quality rucks can be found anywhere in the draft really, where historically the super high level mids are in the first 10 or so picks.

Will most likely look at him. Personally, I would hope we take guys like Mayes and Stringer (if both are available), but Garlett would definitely be being looked at.

The way I see our ruck situation in the future is Campbell being the #1 ruck, with Roughead and Cordy both being 2nd rucks. Roughead playing in defence when he's not rucking, and Cordy at FF when he isn't.
When you have such a dearth of midfielders like we do, I would put that as the top priority. Quality rucks can be found anywhere in the draft really, where historically the super high level mids are in the first 10 or so picks.

Fair enough, I expect the clubs before you to draft Grundy and make that decision for you. You're right that good rucks can be found later, but not guys like Grundy.

As you say Stringer would be a risk worth taking and then you can balance that out by taking a 'safe' mid.

Fair enough, I expect the clubs before you to draft Grundy and make that decision for you. You're right that good rucks can be found later, but not guys like Grundy.

As you say Stringer would be a risk worth taking and then you can balance that out by taking a 'safe' mid.
I fully expect them to as well, so hopefully it makes it easier for us :D

Hey Knightmare - what were your thoughts on the TAC team of the year? Good to see McDonald make it - have many bottom aged players won a spot in the past?

Also the voting in the Morrish medal surprised - Daniher and O'Rouke only polled 2 votes each.

Hey Knightmare - what were your thoughts on the TAC team of the year? Good to see McDonald make it - have many bottom aged players won a spot in the past?

Also the voting in the Morrish medal surprised - Daniher and O'Rouke only polled 2 votes each.

Pretty happy with the team selected and those there mostly deserve to be there.

Mostly the Tac Cup team is made up of 18 year olds. Last year it was only Brad Crouch and the year before only Billy Longer. So it is reasonably exclusive company.

So it is a great honour for McDonald to be among that group already and just shows how he is already a player of great substance. One to get excited about next year and looks like a clear top 5, probable top 3 quality player next year so next years draft will be an exciting time for North Melbourne.

Nick Graham is a deserving winner of the Morrish medal. My personal best for the year in the TAC was Hrovat but with APS footy and the u18 champs it makes sense that he didn't win the award.

O'Rourke I'm very surprised to see only finish with the two votes. Daniher probably could have scored more votes also but I wouldn't be concerned.

Pretty happy with the team selected and those there mostly deserve to be there.

Mostly the Tac Cup team is made up of 18 year olds. Last year it was only Brad Crouch and the year before only Billy Longer. So it is reasonably exclusive company.

So it is a great honour for McDonald to be among that group already and just shows how he is already a player of great substance. One to get excited about next year and looks like a clear top 5, probable top 3 quality player next year so next years draft will be an exciting time for North Melbourne.

Nick Graham is a deserving winner of the Morrish medal. My personal best for the year in the TAC was Hrovat but with APS footy and the u18 champs it makes sense that he didn't win the award.

O'Rourke I'm very surprised to see only finish with the two votes. Daniher probably could have scored more votes also but I wouldn't be concerned.

Freak - you should be on an AFL team payroll!

G'day KM,
I just saw that Caddy has put in a request to come back to Victoria, I was wondering if you were to put him on the power ranking this year, where abouts would he be?

Freak - you should be on an AFL team payroll!

Thanks for the kind words.

For now I'm just happy talking footy with likeminded people, sharing my knowledge and learning off others but maybe one day.

G'day KM,
I just saw that Caddy has put in a request to come back to Victoria, I was wondering if you were to put him on the power ranking this year, where abouts would he be?

Just outside my top 10 in my power rankings. Around 11/12 (including those from last years minidraft).

Caddy is worth a selection in the 10-15 range but closer to the top end of this range. Richmond, Carlton and St Kilda should be in a good position to put forward offers for Caddy.

I would personally love to get Josh Caddy but pick #9 would be slightly overs for him in this draft.

Richmond Currently hold #29 & #31, My offer to Gc would be #9 +#31 for Caddy +#22 i believe they have.

I would personally love to get Josh Caddy but pick #9 would be slightly overs for him in this draft.

Richmond Currently hold #29 & #31, My offer to Gc would be #9 +#31 for Caddy +#22 i believe they have.

I wouldn't expect Gold Coast to agree to this deal.

They will likely have better options with clubs either offering up compensation selections or similar picks without needing to move down in the 2nd round.

Expect the Josh Caddy stakes to be competitive.

I wouldn't expect Gold Coast to agree to this deal.

They will likely have better options with clubs either offering up compensation selections or similar picks without needing to move down in the 2nd round.

Expect the Josh Caddy stakes to be competitive.
Agreed , just saying from a tiger standpoint what he would be worth to us But if we had 15-18 id trade it for caddy, will be ready to go next year ................. Geelongs compo looks the go

Knightmare, do you reckon the Tigers will chase after more Key Forwards than Key Defenders this draft? Our mids seem to be developing nicely and I am anticipating the move of Ellis to a wing and Edwards to play more of a midfield role so we don't need to chase the best midfielders. I am thinking that if we can bring in Chaplin, our defence will be quite good. Maybe 1 developing Key Defender and 2 developing Key Forwards for this draft?

Good luck with Chappy - most Port supporters will be cheering when the deal is done - although he finished in ports top 4 in the B&F

An AFL talent scout has indicated Melb will use early picks to secure Martin and Hogan in the mini draft. Can you see this happening ? Think both players will be unavailable to play senior football next year.

Chaplin is a very good key defender. Richmond know what they are doing with their scouting and I think making the move for Chaplin is the right one and makes that back half much more solidified.

Richmond's key defenders are fine. Add Chaplin to Rance and that is a strong starting group. Astbury, Griffiths and Grimes is fine for that developing group with McGuane who can also go back.

Another key forward is entirely possible and if one represents value through the draft I can see Richmond going for it. Two is probably not necessary. I'd be looking for a CHF who might be a fit with J.Riewoldt.

Otherwise KPP stocks in ok shape with more the smalls + medium sizers what will improve the list more in the immediate.

My issue with the Richmond list is the top 15 or so looks very solid but that best 22 just needs to be rounded out and completed. So now it's just about rounding out that 22 and finding those final pieces to fit with what you have. I'd probably be leaning towards forwards/mids first though. There is some great top end midfield talent on the Richmond list but that midfield group needs to go just that little bit deeper to be a genuine top 8 side.