Tippett's Gone - READ RULES BEFORE POSTING

• Thread starter Thread starter doodle48

Which AFC deserter were/are you most salty towards?

Chuck us a spare 300k and we'll bring him to Port. Would be great entertainment and really piss him off :)

Shit, I'd almost sign that check myself.

Sign him, and I'm a guaranteed member going forward.

:thumbsu:

... and here is another example of the wide ranging damage that Tippett has left/created in his tracks - now he has devalued the Crows/Power rivalry and our disdain for each other. :D

Long time lurker first time poster.

This thread has sucked so much of my life in the past few weeks that I have been compelled to create a BF account! I have followed all 509 pages in the hope of hearing news that was about to break and have instead contented myself with the (mostly) amusing banter. I congratulate all involved for there obvious passion for AFC. It is a shame that KT didn't feel the same way

While thread has filled the footy addiction void in the DT/SC off season I can't wait for this to be over so I can move on with my life! We have a great young team and a good culture. I hope we draft some good young South Aussie's and keep our list as home grown as possible in the future.

Bring on 2013 and the 10 goal flogging with give the Swans next year.....it WILL happen!

Same, so much of my time has gone into this thread and the other one "Tippett Nominates Sydney - Part 2". Can't wait for it all to be over!

Long time lurker first time poster.

This thread has sucked so much of my life in the past few weeks that I have been compelled to create a BF account! I have followed all 509 pages in the hope of hearing news that was about to break and have instead contented myself with the (mostly) amusing banter. I congratulate all involved for there obvious passion for AFC. It is a shame that KT didn't feel the same way

While thread has filled the footy addiction void in the DT/SC off season I can't wait for this to be over so I can move on with my life! We have a great young team and a good culture. I hope we draft some good young South Aussie's and keep our list as home grown as possible in the future.

Bring on 2013 and the 10 goal flogging with give the Swans next year.....it WILL happen!

an added bonus of this POTENTIALLY WORLD RECORD BREAKING THREAD* is all the new posters it has generated. Welcome aboard the train FishBowl. Toot toot :thumbsu:

*TBC Vader

Wasn't there something to do with delisting dates and close of nomination for each draft.

Unless this has changed in recent years (Vader help?) there are 2 list lodgement dates and if we do not "delist" Tippett by the first lodgement date, he misses the deadline to nominate for the ND.
I've tried making sense of the list lodgement dates, but it really does escape me. The key dates are:
October 26th, 2pm - end of trade period
October 31st - Player contracts expire, List Lodgement 1
November 13, 2pm - Out of Contract Listed Player Draft Nomination deadline
November 15 - List Lodgement 2
November 22 - National Draft

We also know this (taken from the AFL Player Rules document):
2.8.2 Uncontracted Players Before National Draft
If a contract between a Club and a Player expires on 31 October in any year, the Player shall remain registered as a Player of and be bound to
the Club until the conclusion of the National Draft Selection Meeting in the relevant year. This Rule does not apply if the Club deletes the Player’s name from its List during the period 31 October until the time and day when the de-listed Player is able to nominate for the National Draft Selection Meeting under Rule 4.4.3.
So:
  • His contract expires on Oct 31st.
  • As an out of contract listed player he has until Nov 13th to nominate for the ND.
  • He remains bound to the AFC until the conclusion of the ND
Make of that what you will. My understanding is that he is able to nominate for the ND or the PSD (no point in nominating for both, as there's no chance of him going through the whole draft without being selected).

What I don't understand is this:
  • How can a player continue to be bound to a club after his contract has expired?
  • What does it mean that a player is "bound to a club"?
  • How can a player who is bound to a club (albeit out of contract) nominate for the Draft?

The Kurt Tippett deal looked close to being done late last week before a delay complicated by the Angus Graham trade. Sydney's Jesse White is still understood to be wanted by the Crows.

That is just pure speculation, why don't they supply a quote from a club official from either side?
This just shows me that they have NFI on this deal, if they did, they would have been all over the Angus Graham trade, but none of them had any idea.

No worries, I see you've got no spine! You can be my new doormat :thumbsu:

Pick 45 for the next top 5 player that comes out of contract at Sydney :thumbsu: Take it or leave it, something is better than nothing didn't you know?
No problem. Find a top 5 player from Sydney that doesn't want to be at the club, who is out of contract, and has told his manager he only wants to play for Adelaide (I am resisting the urge to say something really cruel about South Australia here, give me some credit :)). Somehow I think you'll have some difficulty, but kudos for offering p45. We picked up Adam Goodes with 43 in 1997, and we used 39 and 46 to get Kennedy and McGlynn in 2009 so yeah, I guess we could use 45. Just find a player in Sydney that meets the above criteria and we've got a deal!!! (Can't see it happening in your lifetime though chump).

So because we want Tippett, we can't win the flag in 2013 without him?

The fact is the Swans want $kirt, whether they win the flag with him or without him in 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017......who knows.
However with him you will improve your list and therefore improve your chances, what part of that can't you understand??
Things dont stay the same forever just because the swans won this year, or are you working on the principle that just because you won this year you can automatically win this year??
Seriously man how old are you, you're going around in circles given some of your responses to me and other posters.

Allefgib - you have been insistent that there is some kind of contractual agreement from 2009 this whole time. Do you have any reason for this other than Rowe's insistence that we've "sold our footy soul"?

From everything I've heard, we had basically a handshake agreement to help him get back to Queensland if he wanted to go there. I don't believe there would be any kind of official contractual agreement, and certainly no agreement more definitive than just letting him go back to Queensland.

If there is any kind of agreement, it could only take the form that if he does want to leave, we can only deal with the clubs he nominates. Or club, as the case has turned out to be.

He's not chasing a flag he's chasing the money
If that were the case why didn't he go to GC, GWS? And somehow those in the know at the Swans reckon he'll be on less next year than what AFC were paying him this year. It's Adelaide he wants to leave. Best get rid of him and use the picks and money to reward players that want to stay put in SA, or move over from WA/Vic/wherever.

I feel like this question has been answered literally hundreds of time in this thread, but he's on less money next year, not over the life of the proposed contract. He'll be on considerably more money over that period.

If he was just after chasing a flag and leaving Adelaide he could go to Collingwood, he could go to Hawthorn, he could go to any number of choices. The problem is, those guys haven't offered him as much money.

I don't think Carlton would let him go, but I wouldn't mind seeing this deal get done.

Adelaide - IN: Pick 11, Yarran - OUT: Tippett, McKernan
Carlton - IN: Parker, McKernan, Pick 23, Pick 45 - OUT: Pick 11, Yarran
Sydney - IN: Tippett - OUT: Parker, Pick 23, Pick 45

Inb4 McKernan is going to be a gun.
23, Parker AND 45? You should read what Adelaide supporters were saying about Tippett during the year before he announced he would be leaving. If he is worth a first and second round pick and a Premiership player, then why isn't every club putting their hand up to try to sign him?

I'm so bored I've started doing a text analysis of Rucci's article.

The cost of forcing Tippett into the draft pool without compensation - as urged by inaugural Adelaide coach Graham Cornes and his captain Chris McDermott - is waiting 34 calls in the draft rather than just three.
Here he is making it sound like there is a massive advantage to have pick 23. If Adelaide have identified a player or players they want as project players or speculative picks because the fill an identified need, rather than trying to have a mad scramble at another inside mid-fielder. I agree that having 23 is some advantage but not as massive as Rucci makes out given the current Crows situation.

"If Adelaide persists with chasing White to increase forward options around Taylor Walker, the Crows would need to cut a contracted player.
Rucci's deliberate choice in using emotive language to make it look like the Crows want White in the team and are actively chasing him. This is pure speculation based on Noble's interview on 5AA.

The leading contender appears midfielder Richard Tambling."
While it appears a logical conclusion, the only place this has been mentioned (AFAICT) is Bigfooty. I am not sure that the Crows want to pay out a contract. And I haven't heard Noble mention de-listing.

Read the thread you muppet. Sydney are offering a heavily back loaded contract that equates to more than what Brisbane or GC can afford.

23, Parker AND 45? You should read what Adelaide supporters were saying about Tippett during the year before he announced he would be leaving. If he is worth a first and second round pick and a Premiership player, then why isn't every club putting their hand up to try to sign him?

There are two pretty simple reasons. First, Sydney have an absurd amount of extra money they're allowed to offer, and secondly Tippett have publicly stated he's only interested in going to one club.

Read the thread you muppet. Sydney are offering a heavily back loaded contract that equates to more than what Brisbane or GC can afford.

To be fair to said muppet, the thread is 12,700 posts long!