SFL Division 2 - 2013

Who will win SFL Div 2 Final in 2013

all your SFL Division 2 info for the 2013 season..

About time this thread started up, I’m a little tired of this cricket season business to be honest, the 2013 season can't come soon enough for my liking. Was a close competition between the top 6 sides last season & I get the feeling it will be much the same if not closer in 2013. Already we're hearing rumblings coming out of clubs with comings but mostly goings, especially from the top tier sides. Will it be a case of the top 4 teams coming back into the pack & mid range teams improving? I reckon so. We saw Hampton knock off Syke this year (7th v 2nd) & may see a lot more of these type scenarios in 2013.

So here's how I think 2013 will pan out at the end of the home & away season (watch me make an ass out of myself here). Got 5/10 right for 2012, thought I was stiff with Oakleigh edging out Skye - would've got 7 otherwise. Anyway here goes for a year where the cup could really be anyone’s:

1. Skye – Will again be the favourites throughout preseason due to the ability to attract 30 new players to the club. Were my tip to win the flag in 2012 & weren't far away from a Grand Final birth albeit stumbling in the preliminary. With the birth of a new club in the area, it won't help their chances any though with 3-4 players already gone across to Carrum. But with the fortress that is "The Hanger" they should have the wins on the board come round 18 to finish top.

2. Mordialloc - Had a tumultuous 2012 both on & off the field for reasons much publicised. With Sam Anstey in charge of his full preseason at the helm & dropping a division it should do they club a world of good. Not sure how many more ex St Bedes mates he can call on, but usually a demoted a team goes on a recruiting drive to work on their depth. Knowing the gulf between Div 1 & Div 2’s standard, I’ll go out on a limb & say top 2 for the Bloods.

3. Bentleigh – A little bit of bias here but I’m hopeful we’ll be thereabouts. New coach for 2013 in Brad Canavan will make the boys prove themselves all over again & might even bring a few back to the club. The appointment already has rejuvenated confidence around the club & as a whole, looking forward to 2013. Be on the look out for a very young quick team.

4. Oakleigh – will come back to the field a little for mine. Very much publicised that the Oaks haven’t won a premiership since 1958 & with some rumours that some big name players are on the move elsewhere, it wouldn’t fill one will confidence that they’ll be favourites for 2013. The bush telegraph was running hot a few weeks back with speculation that all is not well between 2012 Coach of the Year, Steve Wright & some of troops hence rumours of departures. From the outside looking in, the Swan legend might well be facing an uphill battle with some of the “different” personalities at the Oaks & get the right people playing underneath him. Will earn honest fourth though.

5. Hampton – yes you read it here first, finals smokey for 2013. New coach Chris Worner will definitely inject some renewed enthusiasm & no doubt recruit some quality players into the Toolbox. Were a very underrated side in 2012 & troubled some teams but will go one step further. The last coach left due to lack of professionalism at the club, but that will be just a distant memory when the Hammers make the top 5 in 2013.

6. Murrumbeena – A team that has recruited well in the off season in the past 2 years & started the season on fire. They may do the same & ultimately finish 5th again or may miss out altogether. The Beena faithful won’t be happy to see their beloved team this far down & could make me eat my words. I tipped them to finish 6th last year and I was looking silly for awhile, but then they always seem to fall away a bit in the latter part of the year. Will finish an unlucky 6th

7. Springvale Districts – No you’re eyes are not deceiving you. The once unbackable favourites of 2011 will be the big sliders of 2013 for mine. New coach Jack McTaggart may be up against it next year with a club that keeps having to pay big dollars to players to return the team to division 1. No junior feeder team is also is hurting the club recruitment which is a great reason in my opinion why for appointing McTaggart (an underage coach) to inject some youth. Their location does not help either, situated near juggernauts Noble Park & the newly cashed up Keysborough, players to and fro between clubs from year to year. Also how many will Einsiedel take to Heatherton with him? Who knows? Next year will be short term pain, but I believe Springy after 2013 will be on the right track again.

8. Moorabbin – Welcome newcomers to the competition. Having known little about them I can only surmise that they, like other promoted teams will take a year or two to find their feet. Will win their fair share of games but probably won’t trouble the top end. You’d say they have some great players no doubt as you can’t win any Grand Final without them, but will definitely need to recruit well to improve their bottom six. A respectable 8th

9. Southern Dragons* - An asterisk for the “will they – won’t they” be in the comp next year. My guess is they’ll stay, God knows why they want to go back t othe VAFA when the SFL have bent over backwards for them to make them welcome. Although what will happen if they leave, 9 team competition? Sandown coach has already conveyed to me that they don’t want to be forced into Div 2 as he believes they aren’t ready, nor should, in his opinion be promoted without winning a premiership. Anyway Dragons have a new coach in Tom Cochwill, which I’d admit I know little about, but he already has started preseason training since Nov 7th. My guess is it could be a long season for the Dragons in more ways than one. Will finish 9th.

10. South Yarra – Without being too harsh they dodged a bullet at the end of the 2012 season with the Black Rock saga. But you only play where they put you. But I can’t see even with new coach Josh Gledhill them making any inroads into the ladder. They lost nearly a full senior team in 2012 & it will take some time before they get back to where they want to be. Will be another long year for the Yarras

So there’s my take on how I think things might turn out, even if it is only November some 5 months away from the season. Will be an interesting preseason from when the transfers/clearances start rolling in to the first bounce in April…….should get some talk going in any case

After playing for east Malvern I would like to thank all party's that took part in the comp last year. Was my first ever year of playing the game after playing semi-pro soccer in the uk and was the most enjoyable season of sport I have ever had.The passion that all clubs was awesome and enjoying a beer with opposing players after the away games was a highlight. In response to who I think will win next year.... I hope Skye so we will be competing in a boat race in 2014 season. Plus there coach is a legend! Lol good luck to all in the season ahead

Any new recruits in the pipeline Scotty?
We had 44 to the first preseason training.. Many I didn't know, a few st bedes and edi asp boys As well it's great tovsee players from last year bringing their mates down for the new season.. New president and assistant coach as well
Sammy really knows what he is doing

We had 44 to the first preseason training.. Many I didn't know, a few st bedes and edi asp boys As well it's great tovsee players from last year bringing their mates down for the new season.. New president and assistant coach as well
Sammy really knows what he is doing

Its great for the club to have 44 on the track, but I will offer this thought. Every year around this time I hear about great number on the track. It does not neccesarily equate to senior success. St Pauls and St Kilda City traditionally have relatively poor numbers until the whips are cracking.

Great post fish! Agree with a majority of it. Except Oakliegh being in the top 5. I think with the amount of rumoured walkouts, and the fact that Steve wright made it pretty clear at the SFL Presentation dinner that he was going to clean the place out and start fresh with blokes who want to be there, they will struggle to ifnish in finals contention. Its common knowledge that with out there fab 4 (Fermanis,Arvo,Elvis,Kiellerup) they are not much chop.
Great to see the hammers are on the radar! Big pre season and a few new recruits, could be a big season for us.
Is it true that Fedderson is moving on next year with a couple of others? off to MPNFL ?

Keillerup gone?? No way. I thought he'd be Oakleigh Districts through & through. There's still a long way to go, a couple of the guys mentioned could be talked around ($$$$) ;)

Feddo does live in Frankston so that could seem plausible, but I hope not. Others I haven't heard of. We don't start preseason until early December so I'll be out the loop until then

Its great for the club to have 44 on the track, but I will offer this thought. Every year around this time I hear about great number on the track. It does not neccesarily equate to senior success. St Pauls and St Kilda City traditionally have relatively poor numbers until the whips are cracking.
well this time last year we had 7..

Keillerup gone?? No way. I thought he'd be Oakleigh Districts through & through. There's still a long way to go, a couple of the guys mentioned could be talked around ($$$$) ;)

Feddo does live in Frankston so that could seem plausible, but I hope not. Others I haven't heard of. We don't start preseason until early December so I'll be out the loop until then

With talk from the skye crew, rumours Feddersen to join them down at the hanger.

Oakleigh wont be any good without their key players. Hampton seem to be my favourite for the flag next season

What an absolute disgrace. Agree Fish the tail wagging the dog.. Tell the players that are whingeing to move on if they are not happy, the next thing that will happen is that every time they are not happy they will whinge as a group and get what they want. Be clear players - a footy club is for players, who some get paid, volunteers, past players etc not just a place for the current players. The new President has already showed how the place is going to be run - poorly.. Weak performance. Steve Wright you have nothing to prove.

a popular topic at the moment, this from JimmyJack on the VAFA forum. VAFA/SFL dislike for each other aside, he does make a few good points

More a poor reflection on the SFL culture (or lack thereof) as whole if you ask me.

Wasn’t he named SFL coach of the year ? Gets his club to a GF and goes within an inch of winning a flag. As Wright said it is embarrassing for the club. Is that 10 GF losses in row for OD since they won a flag? Might be while before they get the chance to lose one if that’s the way they do businesses. And this is a club that wanted to get juniors up and running!

Could not see this happening in the ammos. If you pay suburban hacks to play football at this very modest standard you can hardly be surprised if they get a bit ahead of themselves.

What was the criteria for Coach of the Year?

Seems weird that a coach with little support form the playing group, in a 2nd div side that was only runner up, actually was awarded it.

ive just moved to the area from the country and been put onto moorabbin by a mate who plays there. anyone able to shed any light on their training detail? many thanks!​

Jimmyjack said:
More a poor reflection on the SFL culture (or lack thereof) as whole if you ask me.

Wasn’t he named SFL coach of the year ? Gets his club to a GF and goes within an inch of winning a flag. As Wright said it is embarrassing for the club. Is that 10 GF losses in row for OD since they won a flag? Might be while before they get the chance to lose one if that’s the way they do businesses. And this is a club that wanted to get juniors up and running!

Could not see this happening in the ammos. If you pay suburban hacks to play football at this very modest standard you can hardly be surprised if they get a bit ahead of themselves.

Gee anyone would think JimmyJack was good friends with Joe Sibilia and was describing him to a T in that last paragraph.
Fermanis and Sibilia were the instigators, organised everyone to meet at the Mulgrave country club and rang Steve to get him to resign over the phone.... Isaac gone, Oaks will struggle to make finals.

ive just moved to the area from the country and been put onto moorabbin by a mate who plays there. anyone able to shed any light on their training detail? many thanks!​
moorabbin has one of the best training plans going set by david stynnes jimmys brother had 75 player last night

Jimmyjack said:
Gee anyone would think JimmyJack was good friends with Joe Sibilia and was describing him to a T in that last paragraph.
Fermanis and Sibilia were the instigators, organised everyone to meet at the Mulgrave country club and rang Steve to get him to resign over the phone.... Isaac gone, Oaks will struggle to make finals.

perennial bridesmaids , wonder why? 50 plus years without a flag and want to sack interleague coaches
Fermanis? not a lot of good vibes about the bloke, maybe he blames stevie for 3 goal square misses in the finals

Jimmyjack said:
Where is Issac's off to?

SFL Division 2 - 2013