Discussion 2012 List Management: De-Listings, Trades, Drafting & Free Agency

dust has settled a bit, excluding us i reckon port,doggies,freo were the big winners for the picks they had.

**** i love the draft

Saints are biggest losers according to one "article" cos we selected couple players earlier then "expected". Got me staggered how they can say they were early when not one phantom/mock draft would have got any where near being close to mark after first round!!

dust has settled a bit, excluding us i reckon port,doggies,freo were the big winners for the picks they had.

**** i love the draft

Saints are biggest losers according to one "article" cos we selected couple players earlier then "expected". Got me staggered how they can say they were early when not one phantom/mock draft would have got any where near being close to mark after first round!!

That article was funny. Geelong + West Coast lost because they didn't have many picks. Wut?

Delist Staley and Shenton for Colquhoun, we have to get him. Cannot believe he went undrafted.
Imagine how he's feeling right now, pumped as a top 30 all year.. He'll go in the PSD, like Tom Rockliff.

And i agree. Would be a mistake to go into the Rookie Draft without a pick, especially with the success we've had recently.

Would be interesting to see how Garlett reacts. Should be a turning point for him.

lol saw you tweet the link to it. article is pathetic.

**** i love the draft
I'd be shitty if i was a North supporter, pass on Grundy for a flanker, and then take Currie later.

Port are making a habit of pouncing on whoever slides. Wines, Shaw, Clurey, Trengove, Wingard, Hartlett. It pays off.

I guess this is why we didn't draft Garlett

Strong character a must for Saints

CHARACTER was the common theme for the Saints recruiters at the 2012 NAB AFL Draft.

While each of the Saints’ four recruits bring a combination of aggression, skill, pace and endurance the one common trait among the four is that they are good people according to Saints Recruiting Manager Tony Elshaug.
http://www.saints.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5315/newsid/151607/default.aspx

I'd be shitty if i was a North supporter, pass on Grundy for a flanker, and then take Currie later.

Port are making a habit of pouncing on whoever slides. Wines, Shaw, Clurey, Trengove, Wingard, Hartlett. It pays off.

that first rounder by north was pathetic. not only do they select garner, but they passed on grundy like you said and hrovat. i can see why the pies took the angle they did, but gee north should hang their head in shame.

geelongs first rounder wasnt great either. i understand why freo got simpson though, supported the club, no go home factor. but their fans were shitty they didnt get a KPP.

The media are a bunch of flogs, trying to grade each clubs draft stocks before any of them played a game is beyond ridiculous and reeks of poor journalism. There are bound to be players taken in the top 15 who turn out to be duds, ala Tambling, Clarke and Morton in the past, but I bet at the time the journos were praising each club for their selection.

I'm happy with the potential that we have brought into the club, but that's all it is. I hope these kids are willing to work hard enough to fulfill that potential and in 5 years time we can turn around and give a big **** you to those who doubted our recruiting staff.

Rant over.

The media are a bunch of flogs, trying to grade each clubs draft stocks before any of them played a game is beyond ridiculous and reeks of poor journalism. There are bound to be players taken in the top 15 who turn out to be duds, ala Tambling, Clarke and Morton in the past, but I bet at the time the journos were praising each club for their selection.

I'm happy with the potential that we have brought into the club, but that's all it is. I hope these kids are willing to work hard enough to fulfill that potential and in 5 years time we can turn around and give a big **** you to those who doubted our recruiting staff.

Rant over.

Yeah there are plenty of top 15 draft picks that are highly rated but turn out to be duds or injury prone. We've had a few like the Clarke bros, Barry Brooks and Tom Lynch but then you get your bargains with later picks like we've had with Fisher, Gilbert and Montagna who have all been great players for us.

It also helps if you have a good culture with quality senior players like Riewoldt, Hayes, Dal Santo, Fisher and Milne that can mentor the younger players and provide leadership. Teams like GWS, Gold Coast, Port and Melbourne have been drafting a heap of great kids lately but they have bugger all quality senior players which limits their potential.

geelongs first rounder wasnt great either. i understand why freo got simpson though, supported the club, no go home factor. but their fans were shitty they didnt get a KPP.

Despite Thurlow not getting much fanfare outside of Tassie I wouldn't be surprised to see him be a bargain of the draft given Geelong's drafting success over the last decade. On face value, he doesn't look anything special however his stats were very good during the year and he's a decent size.

Going off mock drafts it seems Freo, Port and the Pies were the big winners but truth is we won't know who the winners will be for a few years. Our draft looked average, if not below average however most of us have limited knowledge and refer to newspaper articles, mock drafts, rumours etc.

We need to have faith in the club. We don't watch these kids play, breakdown their highlights or interview them. But even with my limited knowledge I'm extremely surprised that we didn't pick Clurey. We are screaming out for a defender, even one slightly shorter than we want with Fisher in his final few years.

One pick in particular I really did like was Lewis Pierce with a late selection. He really bolsters our ruck stocks along with McEvoy, Stanley and Hickey. I've been on the Wright bandwagon for a few days leading up to draft day and I'm satisfied with that pick as well. I love his aggression and the way he punches through packs in a Chris Judd kinda way. I think he'll develop into a good inside-outside midfielder and not only a HBF'er.

Despite Thurlow not getting much fanfare outside of Tassie I wouldn't be surprised to see him be a bargain of the draft given Geelong's drafting success over the last decade. On face value, he doesn't look anything special however his stats were very good during the year and he's a decent size.

Going off mock drafts it seems Freo, Port and the Pies were the big winners but truth is we won't know who the winners will be for a few years. Our draft looked average, if not below average however most of us have limited knowledge and refer to newspaper articles, mock drafts, rumours etc.

We need to have faith in the club. We don't watch these kids play, breakdown their highlights or interview them. But even with my limited knowledge I'm extremely surprised that we didn't pick Clurey. We are screaming out for a defender, even one slightly shorter than we want with Fisher in his final few years.

One pick in particular I really did like was Lewis Pierce with a late selection. He really bolsters our ruck stocks along with McEvoy, Stanley and Hickey. I've been on the Wright bandwagon for a few days leading up to draft day and I'm satisfied with that pick as well. I love his aggression and the way he punches through packs in a Chris Judd kinda way. I think he'll develop into a good inside-outside midfielder and not only a HBF'er.

all true. but can we fix Wright's kicking? If he could kick then I think he was top 10 with the way he goes about his footy. Can anyone else think of a kid that had kicking issues when he came to the club and then became a pin point kick within a few years?

Does anyone else feel we MAY delist Staley now we have White & Lee? Maybe Staley & Shenton (Shenton more unlikely) for 2 Rookie Selections?

I wondered if Murdoch may be the player they were looking for in Shenton.
Similar size and role.
They gave Shenton a pretty good run in the NAB cup last year, which sort of insinuated they were looking for something from him, but he didnt show much.

So I take it from a 'draft expert' point of view we went well without picking up any massive bargains?

Like the look of Wright, although of course highlights are just highlights. Seems to be fairly well built could see a bit of him of the half back flank next year :thumbsu:

Why are people so keen to delist Staley when in next sentence they whinge we don't have any big defenders. The bloke is being groomed as defender and as with ALL talls he will take time. Can't expect him to be AFL ready after one year on rookie list.

I thought he was a Forward. Didn't know we have him playing in the backline. I Say keep then and develop him.