NEAFL - Eastern Conference 2012

Seven of the kids drafted today have played NEAFL this year - I reckon that's a record for NSW kids getting drafted in one year. Good luck to all of them for a long and successful career in AFL footy.

But they all played for Sydney clubs - not a Canberra/Qbn name in sight. Joe Redfern comes from the Riverina somewhere (that's somewhere near Canberra isn't it ?) but his car missed the Yass turn-off to Canberra and drove straight up the highway to the big smoke.

It makes me think that a kid has to be living in Sydney to get noticed. Correct ??

Probably not just Sydney JAB but I take your point. I suspect that key disqualifiers to players from smaller centres like the ACT being drafted are related more to the intensity and quality of their local competitions than just where they live. Another factor would be players exposure to the principal AFL clubs, something that Canberra players have not had to any significant extent until the recent emergence of the GWS Giants Academy. I suspect that had, say, Liam Flaherty come through St Xaviers rather than Marist, he might now be training in a tall forward role with any of half a dozen AFL Clubs. That said, I think the investment of clubs such as Queanbeyan, Eastlake, Belconnen and Ainslie in junior development and player retention coupled with what promises to be a long term relationship between ACT football and the GWS Giants should see this drought broken fairly soon.

Seven of the kids drafted today have played NEAFL this year - I reckon that's a record for NSW kids getting drafted in one year. Good luck to all of them for a long and successful career in AFL footy.

But they all played for Sydney clubs - not a Canberra/Qbn name in sight. Joe Redfern comes from the Riverina somewhere (that's somewhere near Canberra isn't it ?) but his car missed the Yass turn-off to Canberra and drove straight up the highway to the big smoke.

It makes me think that a kid has to be living in Sydney to get noticed. Correct ??
Absolutely correct there Just. Goes back to the Scholarship days, apparently the ACT is a very well resourced and a major AFL area that doesn't need any development or help. So its Sydney and North that has to be supported.
Just another example of the farce.

Absolutely correct there Just. Goes back to the Scholarship days, apparently the ACT is a very well resourced and a major AFL area that doesn't need any development or help. So its Sydney and North that has to be supported.
Just another example of the farce.

Probably not just Sydney JAB but I take your point. I suspect that key disqualifiers to players from smaller centres like the ACT being drafted are related more to the intensity and quality of their local competitions than just where they live. Another factor would be players exposure to the principal AFL clubs, something that Canberra players have not had to any significant extent until the recent emergence of the GWS Giants Academy. I suspect that had, say, Liam Flaherty come through St Xaviers rather than Marist, he might now be training in a tall forward role with any of half a dozen AFL Clubs. That said, I think the investment of clubs such as Queanbeyan, Eastlake, Belconnen and Ainslie in junior development and player retention coupled with what promises to be a long term relationship between ACT football and the GWS Giants should see this drought broken fairly soon.
One good point, Schlurp, and one shocker.
If you saw the intensity and quality of Sydney football (or lack thereof), then you wouldn't say that ACT is at a disadvantage. I'd back ACT footy vs Sydney footy any day. And I think most Canberra/Qbn followers would agree.
But I like your other point - Canberra players hadn't had the exposure to principal AFL clubs up until the
GWS Academy emerged. Obviously there are some keen talent scouts combing the oval paddocks of south western NSW now, and some handy coaches to get the skill sets up.
Joe Redfern got through the net when there really wasn't a net, but things should get better now.

To be fair though, Joe Redfern only made his way up to Sydney because he was a part of the GWS Academy and I think had played for GWS as far back as having a run with the TAC Cup side in 2010 as a 16 year old. The Giants have had their eye on him for some time.

Point taken.
We hope that others from SW NSW will now find the doors opening for them too.

Point taken.
We hope that others from SW NSW will now find the doors opening for them too.
GWS are definitely opening a bit of a pathway there, Williams (Narrandera) and Redfern (Wagga) the latest additions along with Townsend (Leeton), Aylett (Leeton), Whiley (Finley), Schulz (Culcairn) and Miles (Howlong) who came as pre-listed/zoned players. Then there's Bruce out of the ACT and we of course await the Sydney talent.

One good point, Schlurp, and one shocker.
If you saw the intensity and quality of Sydney football (or lack thereof), then you wouldn't say that ACT is at a disadvantage. I'd back ACT footy vs Sydney footy any day. And I think most Canberra/Qbn followers would agree.
But I like your other point - Canberra players hadn't had the exposure to principal AFL clubs up until the
GWS Academy emerged. Obviously there are some keen talent scouts combing the oval paddocks of south western NSW now, and some handy coaches to get the skill sets up.
Joe Redfern got through the net when there really wasn't a net, but things should get better now.

I don't know that much about Sydney football JAB but I have no problems accepting your point. Re-reading what I wrote, I can see that it appears that I was directly comparing the standard of footy between Sydney and the ACT. What I meant to say, and I didn't make this clear, is that the ACT, like Sydney, will only be seen by AFL recruiters as a second tier competition to those of the bigger AFL centres like Melbourne, Adelaide etc. A talented ACT junior may gain selection in an ACT representative side but will then find himself competing in nationals championships only in the tier two pool. It just seems harder to catch a recruiter's attention under these circumstances when their focus will be on the best of the tier one players.

The U18 championships concept has changed over the years. States are still divided into div 1 and div 2. that will never change. but for 2 of the 5 rounds states play cross division games giving the chance for the lesser states to play the better ones. NSW/ACT this year played vic country and WA. WA pumped NSW/act and vic metro rested something like 7-10 of their ais players and still beat act/nsw.

Regardless, every AFL club would have scouts at every nsw/act game whether it be trial game or a state championship game, whether they play tasmania or vic metro.

If a player is good enough he will catch the eye of a recruiter. Generally the reason players dont catch the attention of recruiters is because he not good enough.

The U18 championships concept has changed over the years. States are still divided into div 1 and div 2. that will never change. but for 2 of the 5 rounds states play cross division games giving the chance for the lesser states to play the better ones. NSW/ACT this year played vic country and WA. WA pumped NSW/act and vic metro rested something like 7-10 of their ais players and still beat act/nsw.

Regardless, every AFL club would have scouts at every nsw/act game whether it be trial game or a state championship game, whether they play tasmania or vic metro.

If a player is good enough he will catch the eye of a recruiter. Generally the reason players dont catch the attention of recruiters is because he not good enough.

I hadn't realised that Swingman. Thanks for the clarification.

SUANFC appoints Tom Ayton to High Performance Role

I'm sure this guy is a fine person and will do a fine job as specialist coach. But the press release has the same wierd tone that announced D Gilmore as head coach - no mention of "team" or "winning matches", or "playing finals" or "premierships", or "building the supporter base" or "attracting sponsors".

Is it unreasonable that these things be among the aims of the coaching group ? SU is all about "developing", and sports science, and exercise physiology. These people are academics and they presumably know what they're doing. But, tell you what, if I was going to turn up on Saturday to follow them, then I'd be wanting to know that the TEAM is trying its guts out to WIN.

I'm sure this guy is a fine person and will do a fine job as specialist coach. But the press release has the same wierd tone that announced D Gilmore as head coach - no mention of "team" or "winning matches", or "playing finals" or "premierships", or "building the supporter base" or "attracting sponsors".

Is it unreasonable that these things be among the aims of the coaching group ? SU is all about "developing", and sports science, and exercise physiology. These people are academics and they presumably know what they're doing. But, tell you what, if I was going to turn up on Saturday to follow them, then I'd be wanting to know that the TEAM is trying its guts out to WIN.

Have to agree. Some good young guys in place but sounding and looking like at the C'tee level they are a bit rudderless just at the moment. Development is the "model" and thats the stuff the AFL wants to hear but what about the key footy club stuff as you say - bit sad to see a traditional footy club like them rolling out that type of soulless crap. They'll improve again this year but much slower than they should.

how's everyone going at their respective trainings? recruits arrived? who's looking red hot? apparently James Bennett has arrived and is looking the goods (as you'd expect). brabas hammy has healed and his fitness levels are good.

have you been in Sydney to see Brabba? im sure his hammy is fine down on bondi beach with a bit of zinc on his nose watching the waves roll in.
I saw the Eastlake guys doing some running on Hughes Oval and Brabba was no where to be seen.

have you been in Sydney to see Brabba? im sure his hammy is fine down on bondi beach with a bit of zinc on his nose watching the waves roll in.
I saw the Eastlake guys doing some running on Hughes Oval and Brabba was no where to be seen.
no i havnt felt his hammy personally but just been told by some elake boys. they seemed to think it was good news considering he couldn't do much running at all during last pre season. so they are expecting him to have twice the year he did in season 2012 now that he is really fit. just trying to get some talk going

Still waiting for our illustrious leader, ABH, to catapult us into the New Year with a new thread. But, oh well, looks like we have to stick with this one until Canberra catches up that it's now 2013 !:D:)

A happy New Year to you all and may we all stay civil and encouraging to each other, and operate this forum in a cheerful and informative tone.

Sydney Uni continues with this management-speak stuff with their two new appointments....Tom M and, wait for it, Tom M. One from WA and the other from, guess where, WA. One a mate of the new High Performance Manager and the other, a mate of the High Performance Manager.
It's easy to think that there's been a double-up of one announcement, been a double-up of the one announcement.

And it's easy to think that this new announcement (or both) is a double-up of the earlier one about the HP Manager.... still 'excellence', 'player opportunities', 'development' , 'development' and 'development', and all that mumbo jumbo stuff about 'pathways' that we are all getting over a bit I think.
This club will win the "2013 JARGON AWARD" without a serious challenger I reckon.

Still reckon that, if I was going to turn up to see them play on Saturday afternoon, that I'd like to know that they are trying to win a footy game.

Is that too much to ask ?

Still waiting for our illustrious leader, ABH, to catapult us into the New Year with a new thread. But, oh well, looks like we have to stick with this one until Canberra catches up that it's now 2013 !:D:)

Hey justabaraker, 2013 Eastern conference thread started a while ago. You are welcome to come on over. I even posted something specifically directed to you back on 29 Dec. Figured you must have been on holidays as I've not heard back.
Cheers,
Gois

Hey justabaraker, 2013 Eastern conference thread started a while ago. You are welcome to come on over. I even posted something specifically directed to you back on 29 Dec. Figured you must have been on holidays as I've not heard back.
Cheers,
Gois
Oops - thanks for the heads-up Gois.

Nothing to report re Scott Didier sorry - you'll have to buy a ticket and see the movie !!

Great game of footy Yesterday and big congrats to a highly impressive tigers outfit. Hopefully they can keep the bulk of their squad together to continue to raise the bar for our competition. ABH, any word on comings or goings for next season?

Queanbeyan were dead set lucky. They fluked a win and tell everyone about it. Especially while carrying dogs like Conroy!

TIGERS TAKE MINOR PREMIERSHIP
The Tigers continued their fairytale season to take the minor premiership by defeating the Tuggeranong Hawks by 72 points at Greenway Oval.

After securing the Club Championship last week, the Tigers not only claimed the Minor Premiership but also the Leagues Leading Goalkicker in James Kavanagh during the Tuggeranong clash.

After a stuttering start to the game in which a ferocious Hawk outfit served it up to the Tigers to take a 6 point lead into the first change. The cream rose to the top during a 10 blitz in the 2nd term to end the game as a contest with the Tigers running out eventual 19-14-128 to 8-8-56 winners.

1st Term
Tigers had all to play for after the Sydney Swans defeated the Brisbane Lions to reclaim top spot on the NEAFL ladder but it was the Hawks who were kicking with the breeze that came out the hungrier of the two sides. Their tackling was relentless and you could have been forgiven for thinking that they were the side playing for top spot. The Tigers appeared to forget about the things that had worked for them throughout the season and the Hawks took full advantage kicking 4 of the first 5 goals to open up and handy break midway through the 1st term. A couple of late goals to the Tigers brought the margin back to 6 points at quarter time but in truth the Hawks deserved to be further in front on balance of play.

Qbn 3-2-20
Tugg 4-2-26

2nd Term
There is no doubt the Tiger players were given a stern talking to by Coach Kade Klemke during the break and his charges responded like a top side. They dominated the 2nd term slamming on 10 goals to nil in an awesome display of football to which the Hawks simply had no answer to. The Tigers worked harder, their skills were better and they ran for each other which was in stark contrast to the previous quarter. During the goal rush Tiger "Legend Team" Member, James Kavanagh, notched up the single goal required to claim the Leagues Leading Goalkicker Award as he moved to 76 goals for the season, 1 ahead of nearest rival Mitch Morton from the Sydney Swans.

Qbn 13-5-83
Tugg 4-3-27

3rd Term
Full credit to the Hawks who could have been forgiven for raising the white flag, as they came out with renewed vigour after half time. They increased their workrate and were rewarded with 3 goals for the term. Unfortunately during the term a few minor injury concerns confronted the Tigers who took precautionary measures and wrapped a few of their players in "cotton wool" with the mind set now shifting to a 2nd Semi Final in a fortnights time. The Tigers who were down a few rotations kicked 4 against the breeze to extend their half time advantage to 65 points.

Qbn 17-9-111
Tugg 7-4-46

Final Term
With the Tigers down on rotations and the Hawks down on confidence you felt both sides were keen to hear the final siren as soon as possible. The Tigers won the quarter 2 goals to 1 but the term never really reached any great heights as one team had their thoughts on a well earned week off while the other was thinking about Mad Monday.

Qbn 19-14-128
Tugg 8-8-56

Goals Qbn
- Campbell 6, Fruend 4, Stevens 2, K.Klemke, Quade, Kavanagh, Franchi, Griggs, Atkinson, Heaslip 1.
Goals Tuggeranong - Johnson, Lovett 2, Litchfield, B.Cleaver, Ghiradello, D.Cleaver 1.
Best Tuggeranong - Pocock, Dragicevic, Channon, Litchfield, Lawder

Best for the Tigers were Kaine Stevens who continued his breakout season amassing 34 possessions with his ability to find space when there appeared to be none a feature, Ryan Quade continued his recent run of great form with another Captains display. He is marking everything that comes at him at the moment and he would have been relieved that he received some decent football after having most passes around his ankles during a frustrating first term. Toby Conroy shook the shackles of late with a powerfull 38 possession game. He worked extremely hard, found space and delivered well to players down field. Ben King just continues to work selflessly for the cause. His in and under work has been a feature throughout 2012 and his run and carry was also on display. Daniel Campbell put his hand up for a 2nd Semi Final birth with 6 goals as he marked strongly and kicked accurately in tricky conditions. Brett Frued also continued his fine season with 4 goals to take his tally to 43 for the year. A terrific effort from the skillful small forward.

So the end of the home and away season finds the Queanbeyan Tigers Minor Premiers of the NEAFL. An amazing achievement considering where the club was at come the end of 2011. This side has showed true Tiger spirit to bounce back when many so called experts had written them off before a ball had been kicked in anger. Full credit must go to all out Tigerland for their effort to date however this is just the end of phase 1. The next phase will be more difficult and will require a greater sacrifice if they are to achieve the ultimate prize.

While the Minor Premiership is a tremendous achievement and deserves to be enjoyed in the short term, it will not be remembered by many in football circles in the years to come. The opportunity is there for this group to etch themselves into Tiger history and place themselves alongside some of the great teams of the past.

But for now they should be congratulated on the way they have conducted themselves on and off the field and enjoy what the next 4 weeks could bring them.
But Conroy did nothing when game was there to be won...as usual...and wasn’t in best players...possession number means nothing when they are soft easy possessions too...