Training, 13/1/13

Spirit of 39

The Trident - Awarded to posters who do a hell of a lot on the Dees board Melbourne Demons - Ricky Petterd 2011 Player Sponsor Melbourne Demons - Jeremy Howe 2012 Player Sponsor Melbourne Demons - Ricky Petterd 2012 Player Sponsor
Dec 31, 2008
melbourne
Not a particularly gruelling session today, as the boys were off the track by 11.15. A couple of observations:
-The rehab group consisted of Sylvia, Tapscott, Clisby and Stark. They ran multiple laps and never reached any great speed.
-Dunn and Gawn did some speed work separate to the main group. They both moved really well. Dunn later joined the main group.
-Hogan and Toumpas also worked separate to the main group. They did lots of ball work, repeat running. Hogan went on to run 5 x 200m at good speed. Hogan's hands out in front were incredible. He just did not drop anything, particularly balls kicked to him at good speed.
-Trenners was the only player I didn't see.
-Mark Neeld was also nowhere to be seen. Neil Craig ran the majority of the session.
-Two lads from the AIS Under 18 group joined in some of the training today. I didn't get their names, but one was from Vic Metro and the other was from Vic Country.
-Three AFL umpires took control of some of the full ground drills, and spent some time explaining decisions they made, and bouncing the ball at stoppage works for the mids.
-As is Neeld's game plan, the players spent a lot of time chipping the ball around the boundary line in full ground drills. They were really careful about not coughing the ball up. In fact, at one stage Tommy Mac turned the footy over coming out of defence. Craig stopped the play and made him take his kick again. Tom turned it over again, at which point Craig roared at him and made him take his kick a third time!!!
-Jack Grimes took part in the whole session and looked pretty sharp. It was good to see.

Players that caught my eye:
-Dom Barry was lightening quick, and used the footy really well. A couple of times he jumped out of the way to avoid body contact, but you'd expect that from a 67kg kid.
-Jack Viney won heaps of the footy in contested and full groud drills. His break away speed was pretty good, as was his ability to hit a target by foot.
-Chris Dawes moved well and took a couple of solid overhead marks, including a one-hander against Sellar. He looked a bit unsure about where to lead at times, but that will come as he gets to know his teammates better.
-Cam Pedersen worked hard and used his voice well. He leads at the footy and hopefully he will provide a good target for our mids.
-Tom Gillies was surprisingly mobile for a big fella, and was able to match up on smalls and talls. He made some good decisions with the footy.
-Sam Blease was in everything. At one stage he took a mark, and Jack Viney was right on top of him. Blease looked at him, turned around and took off. Viney chased him hard, but Blease left him for dead. I had to chuckle to myself. Bleasey also kicked 4 goals in an up and down the ground drill.

Enough waffle from me. If you have any questions, just fire them through.

Oh shit. Forgot to mention him. Clark was on the sideline having a kick with Jimmy Magner. (Mags not injured. His training loading meant he sat today out.)

Every time Clark had to move for the footy he looked very proppy. I know he just had staples removed but he'll be coming from a fair way back. Based on today, I'd say we could be looking at Dawes, Pedersen and Fitzpatrick as our tall forwards for round one.

Will you have my babies????

Thanks for that mate. Great write up! You're a school teacher??? I wish I was on summer holidays!!!

Summer holidays not all their cracked up to be. I mean, I had to get out of bed at 9.15 this morning to go and watch training!!! ;)

Don't worry mate, I'll enjoy them for you! ;)

Great write up S39! Interesting to see that the club had 3 umpires there to go through the drills with them, explain decisions they made and why and so forth. Reckon that's terrific stuff and will no doubt be helpful for the coming season.

Also love the fact that Craig was pretty hard on the boys, particularly if they made a blatant mistake. I know that should happen anyway but it's nice to see that the standards are being kept high.

This morning I was watching the Dees train. Collingwood were training on the next oval, and Richmond were 500m around the corner. The whole time I was watching 100's of people were walking to the Oz Open. Melbourne truly is the sporting capital of the world!!!

You'll rarely see me venture into the City for anything but a Dees game, and if I do its either straight to the 'G or further into Flinders.

Can confirm it mate. My partner is good friends with the eldest daughter and they have been over there for a few weeks. They are back this week if I remember it correctly.
Purely holiday time CFH?

I assume so, going by what I've heard and the variety of photos I've seen. There may be a few other things in it but I haven't heard anything.

Feel like he should have been holidaying in September if I'm perfectly honest. A few weeks in New York City must be fun, but he's got a real point to prove this season and a head coach should be overseeing training in what's heading into intensive pre-season training. Another year like 2012 and Neeldy may well be gone, so he'd want to holiday at a different time/a more accessible location.

All assuming this is pure vacation time.

This is a cracking post. Thanks so much for writing this up, really interesting reading.

This is what footy fans actually care about during the off season - who trained, who is injured, what drills/skills are the boys working on. I was about to write "you should get a gig with one of main media outlets" but then I realised that you would probably have to overlook real pre-season reports to cover stories like Brian Lake and his wife being p****d at Portsea and then post it as a "football related" story...

Keep up the great work.

Feel like he should have been holidaying in September if I'm perfectly honest. A few weeks in New York City must be fun, but he's got a real point to prove this season and a head coach should be overseeing training in what's heading into intensive pre-season training. Another year like 2012 and Neeldy may well be gone, so he'd want to holiday at a different time/a more accessible location.

There would be quite a lot of work going on is September/October I would think.

Season reviewing, list management, draft planning, pre-season planning etc..

Early Jan is probably the quietest time to get a few weeks off with the family whilst the guys run through the standard fitness and skills pre-season work.

The poor man's had no holidays since he started. We want him fresh and energized for the year ahead. FFS, give the man a break -pun intended!

There would be quite a lot of work going on is September/October I would think.

Season reviewing, list management, draft planning, pre-season planning etc..

Early Jan is probably the quietest time to get a few weeks off with the family whilst the guys run through the standard fitness and skills pre-season work.

Yeah I agree... And it's not like he would have left without putting heaps of plans in place. Not an issue IMO, probably the quietest time of the year.

Also, fair enough that he would probably want to have a holiday when his kids are on holidays too (assume they are school/uni age?)

This is a cracking post. Thanks so much for writing this up, really interesting reading.

This is what footy fans actually care about during the off season - who trained, who is injured, what drills/skills are the boys working on. I was about to write "you should get a gig with one of main media outlets" but then I realised that you would probably have to overlook real pre-season reports to cover stories like Brian Lake and his wife being p****d at Portsea and then post it as a "football related" story...

Keep up the great work.
Then somehow come up with ways to link it to Melbourne and tanking, or racism, or sponsor cowboys, or JACK WATTS, or bad culture, or.. ah stuff it. Might pop down to training tomorrow

Yeah I agree... And it's not like he would have left without putting heaps of plans in place. Not an issue IMO, probably the quietest time of the year.

Also, fair enough that he would probably want to have a holiday when his kids are on holidays too (assume they are school/uni age?)

Yep, all 3 kids are in that range and on holidays. Nothing wrong with it at all, deserves to enjoy himself for a few weeks and recharge the batteries.

Training, 13/1/13