NEAFL - Eastern Conference 2013

pretty sure he signed two year contract last year so one more year to run, there as a listed assistant coach. Buchanon, Draga for a few years too, Plus two more off AFL lists Stubbs and Kruger

any news on players who have left clubs. often is the big factor in clubs dropping away or improving imo.

Ainslie- McGregor, Tutt?, Bloomfield.....
Belco- not sure
Queanbeyan- Fruend, Overs, Jaques, Piggy, Watts...
Eastlake- not sure
Tuggeranong- Smith, McCabe, Lawder, i think the list goes on
Syd Hills- not sure
Syd Uni- not sure

any news on players who have left clubs. often is the big factor in clubs dropping away or improving imo.

Belco- not sure
Eastlake- not sure
Syd Hills- not sure
Syd Uni- not sure

Did not know about Fruend and Watts but you can add Sam Daniel to the list. He, Overs and Piggy are pretty tight and has joined them.

justabaraker said:
SUANFC appoints Tom Ayton to High Performance Role
I'm sure this guy is a fine person and will do a fine job as specialist coach. But the press release has the same wierd tone that announced D Gilmore as head coach - no mention of "team" or "winning matches", or "playing finals" or "premierships", or "building the supporter base" or "attracting sponsors".
Is it unreasonable that these things be among the aims of the coaching group ? SU is all about "developing", and sportsscience, and exercise physiology. These people are academics and they presumably know what they're doing. But, tell you what, if I was going to turn up on Saturday to follow them, then I'd be wanting to know that the TEAM is trying its guts out to WIN.

A happy New Year to you all and may we all stay civil and encouraging to each other, and operate this forum in a cheerful and informative tone.

Sydney Uni continues with this management-speak stuff with their two new appointments....Tom M and, wait for it, Tom M. One from WA and the other from, guess where, WA. One a mate of the new High Performance Manager and the other, a mate of the High Performance Manager.
It's easy to think that there's been a double-up of one announcement, been a double-up of the one announcement.

And it's easy to think that this new announcement (or both) is a double-up of the earlier one about the HP Manager.... still 'excellence', 'player opportunities', 'development' , 'development' and 'development', and all that mumbo jumbo stuff about 'pathways' that we are all getting over a bit I think.
This club will win the "2013 JARGON AWARD" without a serious challenger I reckon.

Still reckon that, if I was going to turn up to see them play on Saturday afternoon, that I'd like to know that they are trying to win a footy game.

Is that too much to ask ?

Belco- not sure
Eastlake- not sure
Syd Hills- not sure
Syd Uni- not sure
eagles few in few outs think the ins should out weigh the outs. nt boys apparently gone. amon draga good ins. kruger stubbs good in plus no doubt added extras and some internally to step up

jsg, looks like the Eagles are still short of a PD coach and a club manager - is that the case ? The cub manager is going to be a hard gig to fill and I sure wouldn't want the job.

club manager apparently appointed. pd coach no doubt few applicants applying. late to advertise but sankey stepping up now.

Sets them a bit behind the 8-ball doesn't it ? Now it's February and they still have no PD coach - when they get one, he will have to walk into a ready-made team and it's unlikely at this late stage that he would bring any players with him.
Lucky for the Eagles if they have a club manager now because it will be good news that someone else can help carry the load.

What happened about changing the club's name back to East Coast ?

voted not too at there agm. still prefer to be eagles in pd than a lot of other clubs.

merry new year. post Xmas training has been in full swing for a few weeks now and trial games are just around the corner. how are everyone's trainings going? who's looking red hot? anyone set for a breakout year?

NEAFL is something new to us all and we're all going to be keen to see how this new year plays out.
I only know what I've been reading and hearing but I can't wait to see what happens - up here in North Canberra, SydUni seems to be gearing up for the brave new world with a different style of coaching panel, full of the new lingo and the latest ideas. It all sounds a little strange to me but I can see that they recognise the need for market placement. Remains to be seen if they can win any footy matches.
Same can be said of the Eagles, also with a different style of coaching panel, and gearing up for market placement - I don't know much about them except that there are some seriously smart minds planning out the whole thing. They're going to battle with growing pains I reckon (new untried manager, no PD coach, big stretch on volunteers).
I know even less about the south-western Sydney clubs (aka Canberra/Qbn), but I like the way they're talking it up; I like the professional look down there and it sounds like Tuggers might be on-the-up...I guess they are running out of chances to be successful. Canberra/Qbn clubs seem to be more focussed on winning footy games than the two Sydney clubs - just a hunch.

Keen to hear from anyone who actually KNOWS ANYTHING because I just desperately waffle on during the off-season - like the Eastlake coach says, "There's only two seasons - footy season and waiting-for-footy season.

Belco- not sure
Eastlake- not sure
Syd Hills- not sure
Syd Uni- not sure

Belco - Raadts, Hammond and McDonald.