Teams 2013 Rate my Dream Team

• Thread starter Thread starter cammo6556

Hmm kinda happy with this team, any thoughts?

Back - Goddard, Gibbs, Heppell, Vlastuin, Pittard, Goodes (Stevenson, Terlich)
Mid - Swan, Ablett, Cotchin, Dangerfield, S. Selwood, Moloney, K. Mitchell, O'Meara (Wines, Crouch)
Ruck - Griffin, Leuy (Rowe, Curry)
Forward - Cox, Zorko, Rockliff, N. Riewoldt, Byrnes, Macaffer (Neade, Lee)

36k in the bank.

I'll probably straight swap Zorko for Stevie J for round 2, hoping Saint Nick goes on a tear and Franklin struggles early with their respective draws and swap them down the line. I'll rather gamble on Franklin than Swan or Ablett...

Was going to go with Stanton instead of Dangerfield because Stants usually goes on early season tears + goddards arrival should mean he doesn't get as much attention, but than I was just short of being able to trade out zorko for stevie j. Worried about my backs though.
I scanned through trying to find things to comment on, i really couldnt find that many
Quality side 7/10

Vlastuin i think will not materialise as a DT player early on this season - may get a block of games later on, but hell maybe he will but you've got Stevenson on the bench already and Vlastuin is one of the highest priced rookie defenders so it wont cause you a headache if he doesnt get named Round 1

The only pick i am not a fan of is Riewoldt, not buying into the Saints/Swans draw propaganda myself too much and even then i just don't rate Riewoldt that much

The one thing i might suggest would be

Riewoldt > Robinson (not sure if you have the cash, if you dont Vlastuin > Docerty/Heath/Colquoun then Riewoldt > Robinson)

Mid - Swan, Ablett, Cotchin, Dangerfield, S. Selwood, Moloney, K. Mitchell, O'Meara (Wines, Crouch)

36k in the bank.

I'll probably straight swap Zorko for Stevie J for round 2, hoping Saint Nick goes on a tear and Franklin struggles early with their respective draws and swap them down the line. I'll rather gamble on Franklin than Swan or Ablett...

Was going to go with Stanton instead of Dangerfield because Stants usually goes on early season tears + goddards arrival should mean he doesn't get as much attention, but than I was just short of being able to trade out zorko for stevie j. Worried about my backs though.

Excellent side. Stop crawling into my dreams and stealing my team & structure.

Have tinkered again (3rd side) and pretty happy with this.

B - Goddard, Gibbs, Heppell, Vlastuin, Pittard, Goodes - Stevenson, Terlich
M - Swan, GAJ, Pendles, Fyfe, Lower, Wines, Crouch, O'Meara - Lonergan, K.Mitchell
R - McEvoy, Leuenberger - Daw, Sinclair
F - Franklin, Cox, Rock, N.Roo, Martin, Varcoe - Macaffer, Neade

Cash - 5,200

Now I have gone heavy in my forwards due to lack of rookies but if one does jump out of the box in the next few NAB rounds a downgrade will likely occur and Macaffer will be on the field. N.Roo is picked to be a quick money maker due to St's easy early rounds. Now if Karnezis continues his run of form a downgrade could also occur.

I have gone light in the back because every year the backs are the guys that generally have inconsistant scores and I am sick of over spending in this area. So I have picked a set and forget top 3 with rookies likely to play and make cash. However as stated above if a forward rookie jumps out I will downgrade a forward and more than likely upgrade a rookie backman. Or just keep the cash and pounce on someone I should have picked that I didn't.

I have gone for top 3 premium players in mids with Fyfe being underpriced premo and Lower as my breakout player (wanted to break the norm of Ball or Embley) and I feel he could smash it this season plus the usual money making rookies.

Leaving a little veil of secrecy under the magical hats
But this is the general jist of my side as of my 100th re-jig

** Not sold on Grimes as my D2
I can definitely see improvement
And he did go
15/21 Scores >80
7/15 > 100

Some camparitive players might be Stanley (12/13 >80 6/12 >100)
And then Hartlett, Shaw, Birchall are all around the mark as well

** Mitchell will be locked once he gets confirmed as a rookie premotion, has this happenned??

** Sam Jacobs is a tough one at R1
Sandilands injured, Cox locked into the forward line, Ryder on the never again list, Maric a tad over rpiced perhaps, back end of last year not outstanding.

Jacobs
21 Games (6<80 | 11 81-99 | 4>100)
McEvoy
16 Games (3<80 | 9 81-99 | 4>100)
Roughead
20 Games (4<80 | 11 81-99 | 5>100)

It's tough, any suggestions??

** Johnson is locked into the side at the moment but closer to Round 1 i'll look to swap out to who i expect to best score in Rounds 1 and if neccesary round 2 so i don't spend the excess cash now and i can go straight from that player to Stevie J after his suspension is over or maybe even wait one more round.

View attachment 12707

Haha love the locks & ??? ...mind if I use them for my next instalment?

Is your D4 and M5 midprice or rooks? Can't see how you would get your team under the cap otherwise.

I'm actually considering starting Rd 1 with SJ @ M8. He's the biggest lock out of the forwards as far as I'm concerned and it just stuffs up my whole structure by having to start without him...as in leaving enough cash in the bank and wasting a trade to bring him in a week later.

Yes I know we have 44 trades, but it's only 2 per week. Would much rather use my first 2 trades on 2 rookies who kill it in Rd 1 that I will have most likely overlooked/picked someone else who I rated higher and that player does **** all in Rd 1 that will significantly effect their first price rise. There's bound to be at least 1 or 2 of these.

Anyways thinking of starting 5 premo's and 4 rooks in the mids for Rd1 -with Viney/Crouch as emergency & SJ @M8 who will remain a temporary DP link until a gun M/F rookie presents themselves. Because quite frankly I'm not keen on wasting a mid bench spot on a Neade, Kerridge, B Kennedy type or Mayes who is just too expensive to begin with. Until this happens SJ will be a more than handy M6. Will be a bit of a POD as well since a lot of teams won't be bringing him in until at least Rd4 by then he would have played at least 2 games for my team already.

So with that being said, does anyone else think it's worth sacrificing a few Rd1 points by starting 1 extra rook and having SJ on the pine for a week?

** Sam Jacobs is a tough one at R1
Sandilands injured, Cox locked into the forward line, Ryder on the never again list, Maric a tad over rpiced perhaps, back end of last year not outstanding.

Jacobs
21 Games (6<80 | 11 81-99 | 4>100)
McEvoy
16 Games (3<80 | 9 81-99 | 4>100)
Roughead
20 Games (4<80 | 11 81-99 | 5>100)

It's tough, any suggestions??

I currently have Big Wilbur Minson as R1, with Cox as F1. Clear #1 ruckman at the club, massive improvement last year, apparently a lot of work in the offseason on his tank. Played very well on Friday night, no real competition at the Dogs in the ruck positions. Roughead/Cordy/Jones may give him a few minutes rest each quarter.

Is your D4 and M5 midprice or rooks? Can't see how you would get your team under the cap otherwise.

I'm actually considering starting Rd 1 with SJ @ M8. He's the biggest lock out of the forwards as far as I'm concerned and it just stuffs up my whole structure by having to start without him...as in leaving enough cash in the bank and wasting a trade to bring him in a week later.

Yes I know we have 44 trades, but it's only 2 per week. Would much rather use my first 2 trades on 2 rookies who kill it in Rd 1 that I will have most likely overlooked/picked someone else who I rated higher and that player does **** all in Rd 1 that will significantly effect their first price rise. There's bound to be at least 1 or 2 of these.

Anyways thinking of starting 5 premo's and 4 rooks in the mids for Rd1 -with Viney/Crouch as emergency & SJ @M8 who will remain a temporary DP link until a gun M/F rookie presents themselves. Because quite frankly I'm not keen on wasting a mid bench spot on a Neade, Kerridge, B Kennedy type or Mayes who is just too expensive to begin with. Until this happens SJ will be a more than handy M6. Will be a bit of a POD as well since a lot of teams won't be bringing him in until at least Rd4 by then he would have played at least 2 games for my team already.

So with that being said, does anyone else think it's worth sacrificing a few Rd1 points by starting 1 extra rook and having SJ on the pine for a week?

Not really to be honest. It's fairly simple. Keep SJ in your forward line like you would if he wasn't suspended round 1. Continue to make changes through the preseason like we all do but with him in the side. Just before round 1 downgrade Johnson to Bartel (I use Bartel because he is my round 1 replacement) keeping that small bit of salary cap free and then after round 1 trade Johnson back in.

You have 4 trades in total (after round 1 and 2) to bring in any rookies or midpricers that might be gunning it or get rid of a premium that might be playing a different role. So if you trade SJ back in after round 1 then you are down to 3 but i believe that will be enough. How many do you usually use in those first few weeks?

Worst case scenario is that you have to use the 4 trades and can't bring in SJ in those 2 rounds. You can then bring him in after round 3 but during those 3 weeks you still have Bartel scoring so no massive loss (especially considering that your plan would involve playing a rookie in round 1). This way you also get to go with the team structure you preferred in the beginning.

I currently have Big Wilbur Minson as R1, with Cox as F1. Clear #1 ruckman at the club, massive improvement last year, apparently a lot of work in the offseason on his tank. Played very well on Friday night, no real competition at the Dogs in the ruck positions. Roughead/Cordy/Jones may give him a few minutes rest each quarter.

Yeah Mino improved heaps last year as the number 1 ruck for us, his only issue is sometimes he loses the plot and can give away several free kicks agaisnt during a game which hinders his score.

36k in the bank.

Love it! And very silimar structure to mine ;).

Yeah Mino improved heaps last year as the number 1 ruck for us, his only issue is sometimes he loses the plot and can give away several free kicks agaisnt during a game which hinders his score.

True. Sledging aside, he doesn't miss many games either.... If he can cut the frees against out of his game, he'll average closer to 100...

Feel free too :P

You'll have to wait and see round 1 who d4 m5 and f6 are

Johnson on the midfield bench is interesting
But basically ive got 4 free trades to bring him in if I start with a Riewoldt/Bartell/Chappy

And another week after that before Johnsons price goes up if he starts off on a tear early...

Im not planning on making 4 or 6 mistakes... 3 or 5 at at a stretch but there should be enough room to bring Johnno in

Hi guys, first time poster and looking for an opinion on my Dream Team.

B: Goddard, Gibbs, Hartlett, Pittard, Goodes, Stevenson (Heath, Terlich)
C: Swan, Ablett, Boyd, Pendlebury, S.Selwood, Wines, O'Meara, Viney (Crouch, Kent)
R: Smith, Leuenberger (Rowe, Currie)
F: Cox, Bartel, Rockliff, Robinson, Martin, Byrnes (Macaffer, Neade)

Cheers.

Hi guys, first time poster and looking for an opinion on my Dream Team.

B: Goddard, Gibbs, Hartlett, Pittard, Goodes, Stevenson (Heath, Terlich)
C: Swan, Ablett, Boyd, Pendlebury, S.Selwood, Wines, O'Meara, Viney (Crouch, Kent)
R: Smith, Leuenberger (Rowe, Currie)
F: Cox, Bartel, Rockliff, Robinson, Martin, Byrnes (Macaffer, Neade)

Cheers.

Good Team, Would love to see Heppell in that backline thought. Maybe for Hartlett.. But Hartlett is still a good pick so you may not need him.. Not sold on Smith. Forward line looks good. Maybe downgrade Byrnes to Mayes.. And use the Money to upgrade Smith to Jacobs/Griffin type player that can score well.

8/10.

Good Team, Would love to see Heppell in that backline thought. Maybe for Hartlett.. But Hartlett is still a good pick so you may not need him.. Not sold on Smith. Forward line looks good. Maybe downgrade Byrnes to Mayes.. And use the Money to upgrade Smith to Jacobs/Griffin type player that can score well.

8/10.

Thanks mate,

While Hatlett does carry some risks, his early draw is very favourable and with the inclusion of Hombush, Stevenson, Heath and Pittard down back, he will almost exclusively play midfield. I think Smith is hard to ignore at that price, considering Hickey is now gone and Nicolls is still very raw. He will probably play 80-20 ruck with Dixon and has shown an ability to hit the scoreboard while resting forward. If I can get 7-8 rounds out of Smith I will be happy, as the plan is to switch Cox into the rucks and trade into another premium forward.

I could potentially downgrade Byrnes, but I'm not exactly enamored with the options available in the sub 200k bracket. I think a greater level of security is needed up forward this year, as the rookie pool is very shallow and the value options all come with scoring potential queries and high sub risks.

Thanks for the comments.

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Thoughts and Opinions?? Love my structure now, 4.0.4, 4.0.6, 1.1.2, 5.0.3

You're a brave man starting 4 rooks in the mids, Fitzey. I'm not saying it's a bad thing...it could pay off, but a decent M5 premo should score better than any of your Def & Fwd premo's except for maybe Gibbs & Rockliff. (as in 105+ average)

I think Smith is hard to ignore at that price, considering Hickey is now gone and Nicolls is still very raw. He will probably play 80-20 ruck with Dixon and has shown an ability to hit the scoreboard while resting forward. If I can get 7-8 rounds out of Smith I will be happy, as the plan is to switch Cox into the rucks and trade into another premium forward.

Gorringe?

On exposed form he is nowhere near it. Obviously he will get a few games when Smith is rested, but he is still miles behind in his development.

So you're saying no chance of them playing in the same team?

BlackandWhiteglory, The ruckmen at Gold Coat are: Gorringe, Hall, Nicholls and Smith are the main Ruckmen. Teams take 2 Ruckman into a game... So he's only got to get ahead of Nicholls and he gets the Spot. Unless you think otherwise??

From what I can gather from their training reports, Smith and Dixon will share the ruck duties. Dixon has been doing a lot more ruckwork over the PS and will play the forward-ruck position. Smith and Gorringe are the clear frontrunners to assume the number 1 ruck slot, with Smith easily ahead at this stage.

I reckon he would be.. A year more experience at AFL level does a lot. But I think Smith won't be DT Reverent this year.. As most of his points will be Hit-outs which he won't get when Teams like Fremantle, West Coast and Hawthorn vs Gold Coast.. He won't be able to beat Cox, Nic Nat, Sandi and Hale. :thumbsu: He won't kick goals because the ball won't be up Gold Coasts end Most games... There are better options in DT.

Gingy, Better??

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

It's not about what I think is better, if you're confident that Mundy will average more than Hartlett then yes, it's better. Personnel aside, I like this structure better. (I'd probably start Stevenson over Vlastuin and Macaffer over Mayes though) 4 starting 1st year players is more than enough...5 tops