How do you fix Melbourne?

This will probably end up in troll replies, but I'm hoping for a few gems in the rough.

Once again, Melbourne are being predicted for a low number of wins (if I dream REALLY hard I come up with 10) and yet more crap. Our decisions through 2008 and 2009 (and possiby even earlier with drafting and list managemet) may have set the club at the bottom for a decade. We are a fair dinkum laughing stock in many ways, and there still are problems even in the NAB Cup - see St Kildare getting on a 10 goal to one run on Sunday after we kicked the opening 3.

My question to BF is what they would do as coach to make Melbourne at least challenging for finals, if not the flag, as soon as possible.

Actually, I like what I've seen from the Demons so far this year.

You've cleaned out a lot of players who haven't the desire to be there, or were simply dissatisfied with the way they were handled by the club (That's not a discussion I want to get into). That at least creates a clear selection of players who want to be there and play for their coach.

You've bottomed out again as a result of being educated to play the game properly. Bailey spoke of educating your players, but the zonal stuff Neeld was doing last year was so far beyond the players' comprehension they had to be re-educated to bring themselves up to the speed of the modern game.

Now you still have serious personnel deficiencies, but you've brought in mature-aged blokes from VFL who have the want to succeed at AFL, cast-offs from other clubs (Rodan, Byrnes, Dawes) who bring the ability to lead and knowledge of premierships to your team; which will enrich your club's culture if nothing else, as well as young talent that will be properly nurtured in a competitive environment under Neeld.

Your forward line will be competitive with Clark spearheading it and while your midfield is still a few years away from being top 8 material you've got the raw materials there to build it whilst Jones is still around. If Watts and Frawley go down injured your defense will struggle, but I think that will be the next major deficiency to be addressed.

I don't tip many wins, but I tip an improvement in general on-field competitiveness, hopefully with the benefit of picking up some scalps in the second half of the year.

Don't get frustrated if they don't win heaps early though, I think the attitude and want is the main thing I'd want as a Demons supporter. Culture is the key foundation in building success.

Could do worse than look at what Dimma has done at the Tigers. Not so long ago (2010) we were 'the worst team since Fitzroy'. Now even our knockers see us as an up and coming team.

It's one of the reasons Tiger supporters like Dimma so much, they can see how far we've come and by not taking short cuts that it is built on proper foundations.

But vide0n has it in a nutshell.

It starts at the top. Look at the people making the big decisions at your club and you will see where the problem (and solution) lies.

In every sporting competition around the world strong successful clubs have strong successful Owners, CEOs, Presidents and Coaches.

Lets at least wait until we start losing before enlisting the brilliant minds of the big footy main board.
Yeah seriously Striker, wtf mate? The season hasn't even started and it's doom and gloom with a plea for help?

I've seen enough in the NAB to be confident of some big steps being made this year. The hand wringing days are over and the only way is up.

Once again, Melbourne are being predicted for a low number of wins (if I dream REALLY hard I come up with 10) and yet more crap. Our decisions through 2008 and 2009 (and possiby even earlier with drafting and list managemet) may have set the club at the bottom for a decade.

I see you reference 2008 and 2009.

Melbourne need to acknowledge the club is in the position it is today because of failings during the Daniher, Bailey and Neeld eras.

The number of excuses and inconsistent arguments from Melbourne fans over the last year or two has been ridiculous. Scully was the potential superstar who would lead the club to the promised land but the moment he defected he was a waste of a #1 pick The drafting and development has been so bad that Morton and Scully (not there) are duds, but miraculously Watts and Trengove (there) and the latest batch will be stars. Etc.

Anyway, the point is there is no quick fix but the 'blind faith in the latest panacea/anyone who is gone was bad and anyone who says anything bad about us is trolling' attitude is not the answer.

P.S. When Fremantle fans say Schwab and Connolly are part of the problem they know what they're talking about.

Could do worse than look at what Dimma has done at the Tigers. Not so long ago (2010) we were 'the worst team since Fitzroy'. Now even our knockers see us as an up and coming team.

It's one of the reasons Tiger supporters like Dimma so much, they can see how far we've come and by not taking short cuts that it is built on proper foundations.

We shall see come september.

Talented players will not fix Melbourne. It attitude that Melbourne needs. From the outside looking in it appears that Melbourne has been waiting for the messiah star player who will change their fortunes. Champion teams are just that, TEAMS.

Get the basics right, a set of behaviours that every player that comes to the team must buy into to or they are out. How talented they are does not matter. Once you have the basics right, then talented players can learn and grow within the team.

Fix the Admin, they appear to spend too much time in infighting. Then they should look at your coaching panel, are they the right sort to teach hardness to the players? Also consider if a couple of mature tough nut players might be good free agent pickups.

For this year, a simple game plan where each player has job they are expected to do. Winning is not the issue, being competitive each game is. Learn to walk before trying to run.

Changing culture is the hardest thing to do in any organisation and it starts with a attitude change from the top and you filter out all those not complying down the ladder. No short term fixes but I think they are on the right path with the ridding of players that don't want to be there and that have no brought into Neelds plan. This must also go with the Admin.

Once this has been done and they start to win games then then it will go a long way to turn it around.

I see you reference 2008 and 2009.

Melbourne need to acknowledge the club is in the position it is today because of failings during the Daniher, Bailey and Neeld eras.

The number of excuses and inconsistent arguments from Melbourne fans over the last year or two has been ridiculous. Scully was the potential superstar who would lead the club to the promised land but the moment he defected he was a waste of a #1 pick The drafting and development has been so bad that Morton and Scully (not there) are duds, but miraculously Watts and Trengove (there) and the latest batch will be stars. Etc.

Anyway, the point is there is no quick fix but the 'blind faith in the latest panacea/anyone who is gone was bad and anyone who says anything bad about us is trolling' attitude is not the answer.

P.S. When Fremantle fans say Schwab and Connolly are part of the problem they know what they're talking about.

What are the failings of the Neeld era?

It's interesting that you say there is 'no quick fix' - but then seemingly have a pot shot at the 'Neeld era' having failings...

I'd suggest that Neeld has started doing what is needed to fix the club, he's not taking the easy road.

As for the 'hypocrisy of Melbourne supporters' - please, every team has those fans.. West Coast has those fans, as I'm sure you know.

Schwab should be gone, I don't trust the man - I don't think the players trust the man.

I think Melbourne needs a big name star to get some bums in seats.

The kids will come along, but this team needs a guy to take the pressure off them. A face.

Mitch Clark is not the man for that.

And so far you have achieved sweet **** all with him as coach.

No offence, I like him, but wait until you achieve anything before you start going on about him!

are the demons moving to casey or not?

last thing they need is a st kilda situation where the new base insnt embraced, out grow it in a couple of years and end up supporting two different locations.

i think they need to do all they can to stay in the city (although the facilities at casey sound very good), they have to try all they can to embrace the brand of melbourne in melbourne.

can they (or are they already) share with rebels or storm.

could junction oval be used? somewhere else in albert park?

what about a 50/50 facility investment with one of the private schools? they would have the oval space, i assume there would be room for gym/pool/carparking for their star forward, fits with upper class brand, could get new generation of supporters from the school kids, could hide school kids that look the goods...

Yeah seriously Striker, wtf mate? The season hasn't even started and it's doom and gloom with a plea for help?

I've seen enough in the NAB to be confident of some big steps being made this year. The hand wringing days are over and the only way is up.
Sick of BF heroes in other threads claiming that we've gone backwards and do so no matter what we do. So here's their chance.

People will question you as a club until you start winning. That's just the way it is. Honestly I think you've read too much into a bad quarter against the Saints and had a slight knee jerk. I watched the game from start to finish and there was alot to like considering it was a strong Saints lineup they put out, but I'll save those observations for another thread.

It could be another tough year, it could surprise, but I definitely feel more confident about the path that the club is on now in terms of the coaching staff and the players being brought in.

Why do you put so much stock in the opinions of BF heroes? They're just that.

Get rid of Chris Connolly, Cameron Schwabb and their stupid Premiership Plan. They have no idea about successful clubs.

Getting rid of the club champions at the Demons as Bailey did was a horrible decision. It didn't give the youngsters any positive role models to look up to. There was no club legends to soften the blow of the media and the blowout games.

Get rid of Chris Connolly, Cameron Schwabb and their stupid Premiership Plan. They have no idea about successful clubs.

Getting rid of the club champions at the Demons as Bailey did was a horrible decision. It didn't give the youngsters any positive role models to look up to. There was no club legends to soften the blow of the media and the blowout games.

Agreed - Both have no influence in football matters since Neeld came along... but I'd probably be happier if they were out of the club.

Cutting champs was Schwab's directive I believe.

A combination of time, good management, a good plan, good drafting and a bit of luck.... You've set the course now, just have the courage to stick to it... And the good sense to admit when it needs fine tuning...

The Demons future already looks brighter just from recruiting Hogan... Wait 'til he actually plays....

Getting rid of the club champions at the Demons as Bailey did was a horrible decision.

Who were they? McDonald's departure was handled wrong but was still the right call - other than that who were these club champions we should have kept on? White? Yze? Bruce? Robertson? Please these guys were all examples of what was wrong with the club that we needed to change (culture) rather than examples to look up to.

Don't think Junior was a good call. If the captain wants another year, you give it to him - especially if his potential replacement is another hack draftee. Would've kept Bruce around on a new contract on reflection too, and White could've taken another year. This club is expert at fracturing relationships. Whitey's kids are GC supporters, because he doesn't really need to tell them otherwise does he?