Autopsy Round 2 Carlton v Collingwood Review/Post Mortem Thread

Mistakes was the reason for the loss in the end. That last quarter was loaded with them. Elliott and Blair cutting us to pieces is unforgivable. I think Touhy was on Elliott, maybe not for the whole game though. Bell making dumb decisions in the backline, guys butchering the ball kicking snaps around corners or attempting torps, not working as hard and running as hard at the end of the game as our opposition. Simpsons kicking has been shocking and lacking in skill. Why they were fresher than us at the end I will never know. Were we lazy and not pushing hard enough or not rotation on and off the bench enough or are they fitter. Desperate for some good small defenders. Gutless umpiring at the end not willing to pay frees for in the back etc didn't help.

One things for sure, unless Warnock played a blinder yesterday, Hammer will be back forward next week. Particularly given we couldnt take a mark forward this week, and we got the same result from Rowe and Casboult as we got just from Hammer last week on his own. Hell give Mitchell a try. Someone has to be able to do the job. White should probably get a crack at defence. But I dont see too many changes being rung.

We missed too many tackles and didnt take chances when they were offered. We lost it ourselves

Hopefully Waite will be back soon. We need. Key forward to bail us out.

Thought the boys put in a good effort, although they were far better at being first to the contest.

Missed a golden opportunity to snatch the game without jolly.

heck I hate collingwood.

It's enough to make you think it was rigged. Just a terribly one-sided display from the umpires.

We still could have won it, Bootsma has to go, Davies too; Casboult is doing nothing. Not sure what is going on with Mitchell or Watson, but getting one of these guys in and shuffling it around isn't going to be any worse than what we've got atm.

But yeah, just a shocking display from the umps. Unbelievably bad. Turns me off the game of football tbh.
Would love to see Watson in over Davies.

Ok the umpiring was a disgrace.....But that's no excuse really, Murphy trying to show off and mark one handed? Whats all that about? Bootsma is not ready for first team football just yet, still a kid and should not be in the best 22 just yet. Did anyone see Simpson today? Obviously a new coach hasn't done much for the playing group either.

Only the second game of the year but **** I am getting worried, I doubt we will make the 8 this year and to have so many high draft picks in this side and not even be able to make a impression on games is a scary thought. We still have too many players who cruise during games and go missing when the heat is on, the MC need to have a good hard look at themselves, Cash has done nothing 2 weeks in a row now.

The big positive was Rowe very impressed with him, but not much else really, very pissed of and disappointed.

i have said soooo many times davies is the biggest hack on our list. basically trent sporn reincarnated.
if aaron joseph makes his way in to the team next week i will again be thourouhgly disappointed.
bootsma isnt ready. he is new i know, but he has already been blooded. give another newbie a go

positivly jamison and rowe, big games.
garlett and yarren were outstanding.

Never want to blame a loss to umpires but the result of this match was no doubt significantly influenced by the umpires, from an unbiased view

The umps were terrible all day towards us, yet we were still in control for pretty much the whole match. That last quarter was just terrible.

Gutted, should of won that game going into the 4th quarter. How does Jamie Elliot kick 5 goals and be on his own so often. Terrible defending and Bootsma should not play again this year. He isn't ready and his lack of accountability is bad. How the hell does this guy get 30 meters on his own so often.

also how does mclean manage to look so slow as soon as he comes on

I am still stunned that our coaching panel would choose to use McLean as a sub. He's not renowned for pace or instant impact. We would've been much better served with him on the ground all day. He is not an instant impact player. This role would've suited Buckley.

Davies, Boots not ready. Not sure the former will ever be. Don't want to say too much about Boots after his performance today but surely a coaching move wouldn't have gone a stray either??

Two games have now slipped that we should've won. Not a good start at all!!

i have said soooo many times davies is the biggest hack on our list. basically trent sporn reincarnated.
if aaron joseph makes his way in to the team next week i will again be thourouhgly disappointed.
bootsma isnt ready. he is new i know, but he has already been blooded. give another newbie a go

positivly jamison and rowe, big games.
garlett and yarren were outstanding.

at least joseph has a go which is more than what number of players did. would have him in over touhey , davies, bootsma, duigan any day

we really need a marking target. someone to provide a contest everytime.

thought rowe was good. casbolt was shocking and needs to find form.

i dont know we feel apart like that in the last qtr.

Umpiring? You want to blame umpiring for that loss? Typical.

Your boy Lucas can't tackle for shit. You carried on about Gibbs, where was he today? Back to his old tricks hesitating to go for the ball and waiting to tackle all the time. USELESS!

I called for 5 changes and people got on my back over it. Only 2 of them were dropped. The other 3 were terrible.

Tell me, who starred out of Touhy, Lucas and Casboult?

To make things worse, the nutcase coach of ours bring in Davies who can't play.

Laidler even though he wasn't having a good day is still >>>>>> Davies, yet Laids get subbed. What a joke.

I thought the altitude training in Arizona was supposed to make sure we'd have the edge in battles like this, where the other team has been down a player all day, instead they kick 7 goals in the last quarter what a joke.

Honestly can't see the benefit of making 5 changes. Has to be measured and incremental adjustments, that many changes would have a deleterious effect on confidence and continuity.

I wanna know why Judd can be held harrassed every contest but gets sfa where as pendlbury squibs it throws head back and gets a free. It was the same last week it seems if you squib a contest and throw your head back u get a free. where as if you throw your body in and get collected its play on or you sit back and squib u get a free they are taking the hard men out of footy!

Boy it hurts when you gift a game way like that. Our worst players whowe all saw and need not be named were liabilities. Really need to shore up the defence instead of playing our weakest links there.

Fuming over this loss...:mad:

They were a man down pretty much all day, yet they have the run at the end?;) didn't we go to Arizona for pre-season?

Umpires - @#^% YOU!! Cheating c#^&s.:(

Bootsma & Touhy really hurt us down back, Boots to loose and flimsy, Touhy's disposal and decision making at times is horrid, has guts and mongrel, but not much else.

Simmo for mine well below par.

Kreuzer - War Horse

Casboult - Struggling BIG TIME!!

Too many players have this mentality where they grab the ball and just slam it on the boot not giving a shit where its going.....Touhy, Robinson, Armfield are guilty of this....

Hate watching this round the boundary game, leaving our forwards having wide shots from the boundary is stupid.

Rowe - Great seeing him kick that goal.:thumbsu:

Not going to be much comfort, but that was a ripper of an effort :thumbsu:

Malthouse is asking a lot of bodies that haven't been forged to meet his game plan. The first 15 minutes of each quarter, the Blues were willing and able. Each quarter they dropped off, and couldn't hold up the intensity, which cost them in the end. As they gain experience, and the steel to stick it out for full games, they'll be a scary prospect

Some of the kids that fell short today gain the experience to further their potential. The exceptions... Touhy and Armfield, they aren't in the same league as their team mates

I didn't think he was on Elliott the whole game, just the end?

Not sure mate, all i know is i saw Elliott blazing away from him and Bootsma didn't know what he was doing.

Also WTF has happened to Carrazzo this season?

I can forgive Lucas the first missed tackle (very begrudgingly) but to do it again when you should be doing your absolute utmost to atone is just so weak. To his credit he took a courageous mark going back with the flight of the ball but like Murphy on Jackson last week, missed tackles like that just give so much impetus to the other team.

Pissed off with senior players like Murphy, Simpson and Carrazzo more than the young kids to be honest.

Autopsy Round 2 Carlton v Collingwood Review/Post Mortem Thread