Strategy Round 1, 2014

I liked watching Gawn monster the GWS defenders last season. Perhaps he'll get another run up forward?
I think his go now is much more ruck-focused... he won't get a game as a second ruck/tall forward with Clark, Fitzpatrick ahead of him in that specific role and obviously Hogan and Dawes in the area too.

Nicholson!!!?!

Just keep him away from the ball and we'll be right.

Right about Jamar though, hopefully Gawn gets a hold of it this year ... or Spencer becomes a threat up forward when resting.. lol.

I will answer your quote using two other quotes

Prendegast has done a great job.

Trengove, Scully, Gysberts, Tapscott, Bail are all going to be elite ball winners.

Watts, Gawn, Strauss, Jurrah, Howe, Nicholson have all shown very good signs at AFL level.

The boys will mature, all it requires is patience.

He hasn't done anything wrong IMO.

2013 will be do or die for our 08' draft class.

You change your mind more than a women getting ready to go out.

As for the do or die part? I assume you have come to your senses and agree with me now that it was a 'die' ?

Having a crack at the actual Round 1 team:

FB:
Pedersen - Frawley - Terlich
HB: Grimes - McDonald - Dunn
MID: Trengove - N.Jones - Vince
HF: Watts - Dawes - Toumpas
FF: Hogan - Fitzpatrick - Howe
Ruck: Spencer - Tyson - Viney
INT: Cross - McKenzie - Michie
Sub: Kennedy-Harris
Emergencies: Blease - Tapscott - Strauss

No way Clark will be ready, nor Jamar I reckon. Add Garland to that list too, not sure how tall the Saints would be so possibly a shorter (better) player than Pedersen could get a game in that spot. Midfield looks decidedly slow - not sure about including McKenzie ahead of Blease now. The team list tomorrow should be very enlightening as to who will be ready for Round 1.
Interesting point about the slow midfield - I think it's one of the major reasons Roos is moving Watts to the midfield. Toumpas is very quick too so I'd expect those two to play a lot more in the midfield if pace becomes an issue. Before his various injuries Jack Trengove was one of the quicker players from his draft. It'll be interesting to see how fit he is, and how fast that allows him to be this year as opposed to last year when he was so slow.

I don't think Pedersen will play defence - I'd expect Frawley, McDonald and Dunn to be sufficient as tall defenders. I think Clisby or Strauss will play instead for that extra run. Strauss might be preferred if reports about his strong preseason form are accurate. Otherwise your side looks almost identical to what I'd say!

As for the do or die part? I assume you have come to your senses and agree with me now that it was a 'die' ?

Hindsight is 20/20, Rude. Obviously you have always been a critic of old mate Prendergast, but it's hardly fair to single out TPM as frothing over the talented kids we picked up back in the day... he was far from alone on that front.

And I reckon he's entitled to change his mind on a player like Nicholson having seen him play more.

I wouldn't say I change my mind that often, I was massively sucked into to what the club was harping on about under Bailey - no doubt.

I'm interested to know, those quotes must have been close to/over 2 years old? I'm not an old fella, still developing my understanding of footy - so forgive me the occasional (judging by those quotes, maybe more then..) hypocrisy!

Thats alrite mate, are none of us perfect.

Pick numbers mean absolutely jack shit if you cant recruit to save yourself. I guess in a sick sort of way i take pride in spotting the disaster before it happened.

I wasn't following those quotes, just like to look over my past handy work on occasions. Spotted these gems yesterday.

I can bring up more if you all like? Like how Shannon Byrnes was going to be great for Trengove and the club? o_O

Thats alrite mate, are none of us perfect.

Pick numbers mean absolutely jack shit if you cant recruit to save yourself. I guess in a sick sort of way i take pride in spotting the disaster before it happened.

I wasn't following those quotes, just like to look over my past handy work on occasions. Spotted these gems yesterday.

I can bring up more if you all like? Like how Shannon Byrnes was going to be great for Trengove and the club? o_O
Byrnes might actually come on under roos. Then again - he may not.

Well Roos did have a thing for ex Geelong duds during his time at Sydney. Paul Chambers and Henry Playfair spring to mind. Not that they were any good for them, just saying, he likes Geelong duds. :drunk:

Haha, great for Trengove!? How the **** did I spin that?

Maybe it's best left in the basement :oops:

Looking back on one thread the other day though, we argeed on something. That Brodie Grundy was a gun and we should consider him with our pick #4 (that we used on Toumpas), i know we lack mids so probably didnt matter, but wow, how he slipped all the way to the pies at #19 is anyones guess. Will be one of the best rucks in the league in no time.

Anyway back to my original point about round 1. Nicho, i like him because he will run straight up the guts, take a few bounces and take the game on. Yes i know he's a clanger merchant but i think Roos likes these types of players (not clanger merchants, players with pace and run) so i can see him being useful under his game plan from the back half.

Looking back on one thread the other day though, we argeed on something. That Brodie Grundy was a gun and we should consider him with our pick #4 (that we used on Toumpas), i know we lack mids so probably didnt matter, but wow, how he slipped all the way to the pies at #19 is anyones guess. Will be one of the best rucks in the league in no time.

Anyway back to my original point about round 1. Nicho, i like him because he will run straight up the guts, take a few bounces and take the game on. Yes i know he's a clanger merchant but i think Roos likes these types of players (not clanger merchants, players with pace and run) so i can see him being useful under his game plan from the back half.

Yeah, Grundy is a beast.

I really don't mind Nicho, if he's going to play anywhere it'll be off the flank - there is a spot there for the taking so we'll see what happens over pre-season, in fact his decision making and execution is heaps better when he's in the backline rather then the midfield I think.

I think if we'd held on to pick 12 instead of losing it to GWS in the Hogan deal (received pick 20 in return and ontraded for Dawes), we'd have picked up Grundy with it. Of course it's all conjecture, and I think Gawn and Fitz are one of the better <23 ruck combos in the league, so hopefully it won't matter!

Nicho = Roosy's next Marty Mattner. Noone knew where the heck he was going to run, not even himself = line breaker and wrecker of opponents best laid plans. Im not saying Nicho is in the same league as Mattner, but same role beckons perhaps.

And that was my point about Ross liking these types of players. I mentioned a while ago Nicho could be a Mattner type for us. Was laughed at by nickgrant for even suggesting they played a similar game. Good to see someone there see's what i see regarding Nicho and Mattner.

You dont miss anyone when you back track hey mate i barely even remember saying it lol

I maintain my stance on Nicholson being rubbish though, id love to be proven wrong i loved mattner as a player

I've been keeping tabs on our odds for round 1 since the Richmond practice match. We've shortened from $2.30 to $2.12 (with one site) and we haven't even seen how the Saints are travelling yet. It's a minor movement but suggests either the bookies have noticed us or there has been a bit of money on us coming their way.

Plus we now have winning form at Etihad!!

Rohan Bail has thrown himself in the mix for a round 1 selection, 16 disposals, 11 marks and 2 goals. I thought he worked hard and ran into space and created options, his disposal still needs improving but I thought it was his best game in over 2 years if not his best, was pleasing to see as I had him one of the last players to be even considered for selection.

Agreed. Watched the replay this morning and he was very impressive. If he nailed those two fairly easy shots he'd be right in the mix for a HFF or bench spot at least.

Throughout his career he has missed some easy shots at goal, a real weakness of his and friday night was no different, if he can improve on that and play like he did on friday night he could be a pretty decent HFF option.

I think Him, Nicho, Evans, Michie, McKenzie and Maybe Tapscott are all in contention for the same sort of positions, rotating through the middle and going forward to apply forward pressure

Tapscott is the best kick of the lot while Mckenzie is the best tagger, Nicho and bail are running machines and Michie is probably the cleanest in tight.. Certainly Bail didnt do himself any harm

Really keen to see hogan in action, and actually looking forward to watching plenty of Melbourne games, just curious to see how everyone thinks the forward line will suit up come round one. With Clark looking unlikely does Fitzpatrick play at FF? And also if the key forwards are available to play, what is Jeremy howes role in the forward line? He is currently my pick for leading goal scorer at the club

See i think Dawes is touch an go for round 1 but assuming he is fit this is what i see

Howe Hogan Dawes

JKH Fitzy (?)

(?) could be a 6th Mid like Vince or Viney or someone like Blease or Tapscott or Bail

Howe is an absoloute star he has the rare ability to play tall and small just as well, i think he will be told to go for his marks and then hit the deck and play as a crumber, his tackling and his hands below his knees are as good as anyone and he knows how to kick a goal.
I think by the time howe is 27 he will be an all australian HF/Mid