Malthouse - under the pump.

I reckon Richmond is Carlton of 2012.
That's not an unreasonable call imo. They have a similar gameplan and rely on a few to many players who aren't good enough to take them the next step. The only difference is that at least with Carlton in 2011 and early 2012 there looked like there still might be some improvement in the last, you can't say the same about Richmond who have far to many mature aged list cloggers mine. I mean Grigg is getting a game for them :(

And what realistic Carlton supporters are saying that they are any where the top 10 -12 teams ? I am yet to see any significant numbers who are saying that they are !!!
The guy above pinot. I'm replying to him.

He's not soft, hard to believe people still think this. Been average since 2011 and doesn't look great at the moment, but softness has never been an issue.
Hmmmmm.

You have to understand also why this decision was made. Because the values at the Carlton Football Club and different to most.
Their values are;
"beat everyone else now, at all costs"
Which leads to short sighted decision making and micro decisions without long term thinking. Simply, long term thinking doesn't exist at that club, and long term in this game is 3-5 years.
No mate.

We did that deal to get an established superstar at the club at a time when we were begging for leadership and a player of his quality.

Judd is the least of Carlton's problems. If the club managed the list better we would've done far more with Judd.

Was one of Collingwood's hardest players.
I literally loled.
No need to talk him up just because you guys shat the bed and paid overs for a well past it midfielder who isn't even averaging 20 touches this year, instead of going after the key position players you so desperately need.

Anyway this thread is about Malthouse, but my point still stands. Daisy isn't the player you needed. You needed a key position forward or back.

Give it up - you made a grave error in drafting Daisy and Malthouse is to blame for that.

Grave error. Oh dear. You're trying really hard to drag this thread down to bay 13 levels aren't you?

He hasn't played a long stretch of footy since 2012 and is coming off major rehabilitation after getting his ankle fixed.

If Carlton is heading back up the ladder in a few years time, he'll be fine as a signing.

Money isn't an issue for us. I thought that would've been pretty obvious.

Not being a smart ass but how come? Cause Judd will retire soon? Is Waite on good coin too?

Lets be blunt. The Judd decision has been a disaster. Not that he has been bad, its just that he was a horrible fit for the club when they drafted him. They needed Kennedy and another top 10 pick and they needed one more year at the bottom to pick up another 1 or 2 top 10 picks. Other things have gone horribly wrong but this was the turning point that will see Carlton not contest for a premiership until 2020 at the earliest. Said this 6 years ago and unfortunaely for Blues fans its hard to see how this won't be true.
Problem of course is even having those picks/players there is nothing to suggest that Carlton would've picked the right players or if in fact they have the capabilities to develop them.

World of hurt coming for the club for a longtime.

Good.

Judd decision was fine, Carlton failed to achieve any results from the national draft once they started to rise up the ladder around 2009.

The period where bottom teams go from bottom to a top team is the period where their drafting makes or breaks a team and our drafting has broken us.

This is a very very uncomplicated and simple game. If you don't have the players you go nowhere, game plan accounts for very little when it comes to the result.

We're about to bottom out and go on an extensive rebuild. Malthouse is the right person to lead this, I just hope Rogers is as well.

Give it up - you made a grave error in drafting Daisy and Malthouse is to blame for that.
Who is he taken money off that's more deserving of the cap space?

Not yet value-for-money but hardly a 'grave' error.

Judd decision was fine, Carlton failed to achieve any results from the national draft once they started to rise up the ladder around 2009.

The period where bottom teams go from bottom to a top team is the period where their drafting makes or breaks a team and our drafting has broken us.

This is a very very uncomplicated and simple game. If you don't have the players you go nowhere, game plan accounts for very little when it comes to the result.

We're about to bottom out and go on an extensive rebuild. Malthouse is the right person to lead this, I just hope Rogers is as well.
If you didn't draft Judd you would of finished lower in 2009 and probably would get another top 3 pick in addition to the one you traded away in 2008.

MM is a proven coach. He knows what he's doing. Clearly, it must be down to another area of the club. If it were me doing an internal review, I would first look to the players, because as much as you can say that maybe MM is past it, there's still a team of 22 going out onto the ground each weekend, and they can't be ignored here. Unfortunately however, MM may be taken as a sacrificial lamb.

i love eddie mcguire more by the day ... replace a premiership coach who has his team @ the top so he can install his love child ... we are all winners

I gave you a like just for how ironic this looks only 6 days later :thumbsu:

Micks completely over the hill and far away from about 16 other coaches - he did mis-read an ordinary list which is his fault. A million other people like us (not getting paid the drug money he is earning) recognised it- Why didn't he?
Problem here is Juddy will come back - they will probably win a few and think him/they are good again and back at 11.00 o'clock .

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk