Autopsy 3 things you learnt v melbourne

3. I had the misfortune to have a look at the Game Day thread on the main board.

Jesus H. Christ there are some small-minded waynkars on BF. Barely a Swans or Demons fan in sight. Just a whole bunch of snide outside supporters queuing up to make barely witty observations about Paul Roos, CoLA, Buddy, Australian of the Year. Hopefully the whole thread has been humanely put down. Don't dare look unless you want to feel quite soiled.
A few weeks ago, one of the mods put a sticky up stating that the Bay 13 like trolling and trash talking would result in time off. In reality, just about every one of our game day threads has been filled with Hawthorn and Adelaide supporters making references to CoLA and generally talking about any tripe other than the game. Some Essendon supporters have jumped on board as they see it as an opportunity to take the focus off the disgusting acts of their club officials. I would love for a week or two, one of the main board mods to watch the game day threads and hand out cards like they are candy. Would make discussing the game a lot better.

As I posted in the Looking on the Bright Side thread here a couple of weeks ago, it is so good to follow a club which is so honest, so no-BS, so ethical, so decent.

Some of those supporters of other clubs, I really don't know how they look at themselves in the mirror.

1. Richo is a true talent in commentary. I thoroughly enjoyed his recital of Melbourne stars who have worn the #3, especially persisting past the uncomfort of his co-callers. Bravo Richo.*

2. Salem will be very good.

3. Ben McGlynn is looking outstanding this year, and is just as hard to apply a match up to as Goodes.

* in the first quarter when Buddy dealt with MacDonald's attention by dragging him into a wrestle, Richo uttered a throwaway " sometimes it takes a little wrestle to get you into the game" with an earnest nostalgia. More Richo, less Dwayne Russell, please.

1. Buddy is NOT a one man show. He will not kick a bag until he has support up forward taking the second defender away from him and giving him some space.

2. Goodes as we all know is a champion. We dont need him to be a really good team, but he brings nothing but class and makes us a great team.

3. Our form is up and down like a yo-yo at the moment. We cannot take Brisbane lightly next week.

1. Adam Goodes is Adam Goodes - the one, the only. The best there was, the best there is and the best there ever will be. Enjoy watching him play every last second from now until he retires. We are watching someone we never see the likes of again and we are damn lucky to be witness to it.
2. I'm sure I saw a crowbar used on Buddy at some point in an effort to stop him along with other tactics. Lynden Dunn was one Melbourne defender who was sniping off the ball, sledging players but will be sleeping with the lights on tonight. Weak prick.
3. Always wondered what a team of Heath Grundy clones would look like considering SM always goes on about him. Melbourne is that team. Long way off

100% AGREE

I really don't know why you bother. The main board, which I have only ever really lurked on, just seems to be an endless set of people saying your club sux (for some reason insert historical reference) and a reply by said club supporters of no it doesn't yours does. And when that isn't keeping people amused you delete club and insert player.

It is a matter of complete indifference to me what hawthorn supporters think and even less significant what crows people think.

I really don't know why you bother. The main board, which I have only ever really lurked on, just seems to be an endless set of people saying your club sux (for some reason insert historical reference) and a reply by said club supporters of no it doesn't yours does. And when that isn't keeping people amused you delete club and insert player.

It is a matter of complete indifference to me what hawthorn supporters think and even less significant what crows people think.
I've mostly stopped this year, the only reason I do occasionally stray over for a look is to see what the unbiased "neutrals" are thinking in relation to our tactics etc or wether I am just expecting more from my team because I know what they are capable of.

I am also losing patience with some on our board tbh. Constant whinging about how rubbish we are, how rubbish (insert player) is, how we are failures if we don't make top 8/4/2/win the next five GFs back to back to back to back etc.

It is a long season and we are 6 games in. People need a dose of Vitamin Roos - it is only a game. Let's try to celebrate the good and refrain from laying the boot in (ie. To the dees, gws, North, etc) to those we don't like.

I'm very glad we beat Roosy's Dees but don't bear him malice. He gave us our first flag in 72 years, left us in great shape under horse and I will always respect him for that.

I am also losing patience with some on our board tbh. Constant whinging about how rubbish we are, how rubbish (insert player) is, how we are failures if we don't make top 8/4/2/win the next five GFs back to back to back to back etc.

It is a long season and we are 6 games in. People need a dose of Vitamin Roos - it is only a game. Let's try to celebrate the good and refrain from laying the boot in (ie. To the dees, gws, North, etc) to those we don't like.

How about not. Its not your position to tell anyone how to post or how to support the team on this board. I'm starting to get VERY sick of people telling others on this board how they should act and post. I don't care how you post as long as its within the rules. Being negative or bagging a player isn't against the rules and WILL NEVER BE.

Last edited by a moderator:
How about not. Its not your position to tell anyone how to post or how to support the team on this board. I'm starting to get VERY sick of people telling others on this board how they should act and post. I don't care how you post as long as its within the rules. Being negative or bagging a player isn't against the rules and WILL NEVER BE.
I apologise if you thought I was telling the board how to act. That was not my intention.

However in all fairness you are telling me how I should post in much the same way.

Swandwagonner we all support the same team mate :) Gameday threads are used for discussion as to what's happening in the game so if XXXX player does something stupid or the team is playing poorly it gets brought up there is nothing wrong with that at all go check out other team boards it's exactly the same thing.

Fans have high expectations of the team.

I apologise if you thought I was telling the board how to act. That was not my intention.

However in all fairness you are telling me how I should post in much the same way.

You can do as you please so don't think I have an issue with you wanting to post in a positive way. I, along with the other mods on this board don't want anyone forcing ideas upon others (not that you were). That goes for a whole range of issues and subjects.

But basically JohnG has got the issue correctly and sums it up well

Sorry Robbie but I have to officially unlike your post (need a button for that). Swandwaggoner was posting how HE felt. You were the one telling him what he could or could not post.

I feel exactly the same when I hear armchair experts rubbishing our coach/players/assistants/medical staff/orange boy. These guys give their all so that we can bitch over the quality of someone's handball (OK, I admit our Orange Boy is useless and needs to be dropped)

Just my thoughts, not telling anyone how to post.

1. Goodes is Royalty and I hope Willy and Katie bowed to him. She should have had HIS baby. How many posters thought he should come back through the ressies ? Oops !
2. Love Hanners & McGlynn's endeavour and Hanner's return to some form but those two need to buy a barn, take a side each and try to hit it. Shots on goal were fine but in field kicking they made Shaw look sharp. 3 times Rampe mopped up Hanner's miskicks under extreme pressure. Find out what Rampe did to himself and do the same (haircut, less gel ?)
3. Jetta was a standout for me. Got a lot of ball and used it well. He's maturing. He's also laying some good tackles for someone so scrawny.
4. My attraction for Rampe grows despite that I don't want to like him.

So your solution is to encourage this board to follow the quality trash talking of the main board? The degenerative nature of conversation based on excessive negativity is a slippery slope. Your job is to uphold standards.

4a. Full marks to Roosy for putting some spine into the Demons. It'll take time but he'll make a decent team out of them.

1. One thing that annoyed me was that we seemed quite predictable looking for the switch, and turned it over a few times (ie. Shaw to Jets);
2. Goodes looked composed and showed the boys how to run and carry. It breaks the lines and makes us more dangerous; and
3. Laidler and Rampe. OK it is sad AJ isn't playing but if he was we may not have discovered Rampe. And Laids is a good find too.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

So your solution is to encourage this board to follow the quality trash talking of the main board? The degenerative nature of conversation based on excessive negativity is a slippery slope. Your job is to uphold standards.

I think that is a little unfair and not at all what Robbieando said. As JohnG said, even though the boards might seem negative at times, it is only because we have high expectations of the team. Anyway we are going off track, if anyone wishes to discuss the issue further take it up with us via PM, thanks.

1. I've had to make some room on the Rampe bandwagon, but I welcome all comers :)
2. You can take Roos out of Sydney, but you can't take Sydney out of Roos. Very familiar game style in red and blue, just doesn't have the cattle to pull it off. Get rid of some dead wood, and the Dees look ok in a few years
3. I wish the mids would remember that Mcglynn is short, like really really short. A few kicks stick in my mind where they just got over his finger tips in good positions. Guys... he's really short!!

I thought he should return via the ressies. Delighted to be wrong.

At least you had the dignity to put your hand up.

I had to admit that Rampe can actually hit targets. He's a much better player than I gave him credit for.

Happy to be wrong about that too.

Maybe we need a confessions thread.

People aren't allowed to have an opinion on how others post now?

1. Rampe is fast becoming a leader amongst the group. He thrives on the "backs to the wall" scenario & steps up to the plate by taking the game on. Once his disposal improves he will become a mainstay & general of our defense. If he keeps up the consistency, he will be a future leader with out any doubt.

2. Smart decision makers are a must in any p'ship assault. Craig Bird oozes footy smarts & makes up for his lack of pace with clever disposal. Just in case we have forgotten, Malceski is an absolute gun & when on song, he has the most lethal left foot in the country............no doubt in the world after the other night.

3a. Derickx (whom I am liking more & more for his work ethic) seems to have taken the bulk of the ruck contests, allowing Pyke to be an option up forward. I am thinking he may become a more permanent fixture in our team even when Tippett & Reid come back. Unfortunately at the expense of LRT who still did the team things the other night, but hurt us by not contributing on the scoreboard as a tall forward. Another tough decision for the coaching staff.

3b. Grundy plays plenty roles down back. He is an underrated footballer by many on here because he occasionally slips over or makes the odd mistake but he makes no more than any other defender in most other top teams. His good outweighs his bad by a long way. He is guilty though of relying on the midfielders doing their roles defensively.

3c. We are far from a top 8 side ATM. That may change, but I haven't seen anything that suggests otherwise & with a very hard draw ahead, unless we take some top 4 scalps, that loss to GWS will keep us out of the top 8!

3. Jetta was a standout for me. Got a lot of ball and used it well. He's maturing. He's also laying some good tackles for someone so scrawny.

I reckon he's still jogging around or alongside contests he could influence. He generally seems to lay tackles on guys that are barely moving, and neither is he. I'd like to see him hit contests at some pace.

Autopsy 3 things you learnt v melbourne