Dimma's presser.

• Thread starter Thread starter thecotch

Yep, four years of improvement, I know I keep saying this but it just happens to be true, after starting with an appalling and unbalanced list, I know I keep saying this but it just happens to be true, in an era of compromised and shallow drafts, I know I keep saying this but it just happens to be true, culminating in a 15/7 season last year with some fantastic performances, I know I keep saying this but it just happens to be true, indicates some "Coaching Ability" to me, what happens from now on will be interesting.
can coach but unless some MATCH DAY ability surfaces soon lord help him

Yep, four years of improvement, I know I keep saying this but it just happens to be true, after starting with an appalling and unbalanced list, I know I keep saying this but it just happens to be true, in an era of compromised and shallow drafts, I know I keep saying this but it just happens to be true, culminating in a 15/7 season last year with some fantastic performances, I know I keep saying this but it just happens to be true, indicates some "Coaching Ability" to me, what happens from now on will be interesting.
You know your keep saying that.......

After the narrow win over Carlton and losing yesterday I really question his ability to motivate the players.

I don't care that we can't execute our game plan or hit targets as much as we did last year.

What disappoints me most is that there is absolutely no desire. Haven't read the papers but wouldn't be surprised if the headlines said 'Toothless Tigers'. Knew all week that we would be absolutely gutless and get beaten yesterday.

So glad I was at my own football instead of the MCG. **** this club.

After the narrow win over Carlton and losing yesterday I really question his ability to motivate the players.

I don't care that we can't execute our game plan or hit targets as much as we did last year.

What disappoints me most is that there is absolutely no desire. Haven't read the papers but wouldn't be surprised if the headlines said 'Toothless Tigers'. Knew all week that we would be absolutely gutless and get beaten yesterday.

Awh dont say **** richmond. :( I honestly think we can get better. Theres talent in our team.

At first I thought it was great to see such a raw and emotional press conference. But as good as it is to see the coach hurting, I also get the feeling you don't get to that point if you have the solution, or know how to fix things. That was almost depression on display. Not at all alike to the MM Fury or Ross Lyon angry sarcasm... Interesting times ahead at tigerland, starting with this weeks selections.

we need to drop s. edwards does not give us anythning. replace with a edwards at least he crashes and bashes.
we need to drop hampson the mofo cant mark cant kick and when he does tap it out it never benefits us. orren gives us more around the ground and hes 80 ffs.
grimes is a the coaches pet and how he gets leadership roles is a joke.
vickery is a sook, piss him off into the ressies till he kicks a bag.
we need to put batch somewhere.
grigg is reminding me of pettifer with his kicking skills.
chaplin has gone awol since being in the leadership group, replace in leadership group with jack. personaly i think thats where some problems lie.
but if we kicked straight we wouldnt be here whining either! if we kicked 20,9 instead of 9,20 we would be rapt.
our kicking, sheparding and working for each other could be better. in sayn that had our kickn for goal been better we could be higher on the ladder and playing like shit.
so something is right.
lets not throw the baby out with the bathwater either.
i was watchn the geelong game yesty and enright messed the ball up from half back a few times but didnt stop tryn to hit targets goin through the middle. he hit 7 out of ten.
if we have a player hit 7 out of ten kicks from the backline, we would highlight his eff ups and crucify him for it. so the our player responds by not taking the chance and playing it the same.
wish we had kicked 20, 9 tho ffs.

Always peopple blaming the coach. Turns out these players are grown men, do they really need help to get motivated? They should JUST BE MOTIVATED, the coach shouldnt have to do shit except on the odd game when the team is flat, not every f**king week.

At first I thought it was great to see such a raw and emotional press conference. But as good as it is to see the coach hurting, I also get the feeling you don't get to that point if you have the solution, or know how to fix things. That was almost depression on display. Not at all alike to the MM Fury or Ross Lyon angry sarcasm... Interesting times ahead at tigerland, starting with this weeks selections.

Its becausr the players are getting asked to do something that they cant execute... the game plan isnt working and Dimma knows it. He is lost..... he knows he cant take it out on the players because the game plan has let the them down.

Exactly right mate. Either change game plan or bring in those that can possibly execute it because this group cannot. So start changing because your career is on the line. For ****s sake a team should resemble the traits and personality of its coach, that's why I was excited when we took on hardwick thinking at least we will have a team that will be tough at it, but this group plays the total opposite to him. They don't shepherd cant tackle for shit and are individualistic. Man I wish we got Hinckley. Sorry Dimma but YOUR team sux therefore you suck as a coach.

Helbig, Darrou, Miles. People say why give it to the kids when they aren't busting down the door but why give it to the vets if they are looking for the door.

I'll take finding out about the kids before putting up with average vets. It's about character now.

I don't agree with the Edwards hate though. He's not great but by geez if we didn't have him we would be even more predictable every week.

I'm sorry to say, but Benny Gale and his staff must also take a big hit.
He has done a fantastic job in improving all facets of tigerland but the most important one he let slide.

The Football Department

As i said before ,we lost Campbell and leppa,replaced by who?
We have a bloody very inexperienced player development team and reserves coach,who are looking after our young drafted players and also trying to guide mature age players.

Im rapt we are debt free,but again as i said before, things are going to get tougher financially in oz over the next yr or 2,not good for football teams that are losing games and trying to continually attract membership ,sponsorship etc...

This is now the time for our CEO/President to make calculated and important decisions in moving our team up the ladder,any big business would be launching into this plan now!!!

It doesnt mean sacking coaches,dumping players but bloody careful evaluation as im finding it hard after so many yrs and on top of that ,living overseas paying for 5 memberships.(its killin me)

OUT!!

Who is the ONLY person on match day who has the authority to drag a player based on not applying minimum RFC Senior Player requirements? The Coach! The buck stops there. It IS the Coach's fault.
You do not play players who do not fulfil standard footballing requirements.

Umm the line coaches do plenty of the rotations (this isn't suburban footy but I understand why you might think it is) and the match committee have plenty of say in selection so yeah, he's not the only one. Also if you have 40 odd players on a list doing this stuff from time to time, then who do you play? Someone has to go out there. Based on the last 4 years, the team output has been improving. This is the first time under DH that the team really has needed to have a good hard look at itself. The changes that will be made at the end of this season (and perhaps during the interim) are the ones that will give the greatest insight's into DH's thoughts about his list....

This is stated a lot but there is no easy or quick fixes in coaching. What works for 1 group may not for another a vice versa. Top line coaches have stated this ad nauseam. There is no magic key. So while we bemoan this occurance, there simply is no basic answers to all our ills. That's why you see coaches that look like they do when under the pump.

he can coach but we really need to see a capable MATCH DAY coach emerge sooner rather than later eh ?
He is in his 5th year. If he isn't a match day coach by now, he will never be.

Yeah because emotion is a sign of weakness..... Oh dear, you just crawled out of cave...

The only thing I crawled out of is the bullshit this club and that poser of a coach is serving up. The guy is weak and tactically inept. Name me a successful premiership coach who possessed those traits? Oh wait you can't because weak leaders who have ZERO tactical nous don't get the job done. Can't wait until this hack is sacked or falls on his sword.

Please shed some light on this, and I'm not just trying to have a go at you, but I've read this a lot over the past 6 or so weeks and am left scratching my head having trouble understanding what they mean by this.

Is it the coaches fault for

Dropped marks?
Missed easy targets?
Not killing the easy ball?
Not putting the head over the ball?
Not running hard enough defensively?
Not tackling?
Not shepharding?
Bad kicking for goal?

The list goes on and on.

There is something that stinks at the momenth and it's coming from within the playing group.

With the talent on our list, and the way it's structured, we are not a 2-6 team, and we definitely dont go from a team half a game outside top 4 last year to bottom 4 the next year without something going wrong, the coaches have said they tinkered with the game plan to a slightly more defensive style, but they've also been instructing them to play through the middle and take the game on, the easy cop out here is to blame the coach, but why aren't people putting the blow torch on the players??

We aren't even getting the simple things right, and that to me shows something within the players is rotten, if it's a tactical error of lets say Martin to HBF and wanting Riewoldt to play more HF/Wing, then sure, put that on the coach, but the other tripe, thats all on the players, and IMO it starts with Cotchin.

Put all the clangers and crap players aside, hardwick gets outcoached on a regular basis. He has no plan B when the heat is on and games are in the balance. It's a proven fact.

Really feel sorry for him after watching that. I hope he carries through with his comments that its time to start rewarding the guys in the VFL who are pushing for selection. Don't be conservative Dimma, there is a cancer or problem in the current team and the dire season calls for some heavy swinging of the axe.