Unofficial Preview Round 17: North Melbourne v St Kilda, 2.10pm @ Blundstone Arena (Tas.)

I can handle most of it, but Dunell still playing is somewhat perplexing, Gwilt still playing is rather confusing, and Bruce not coming in - either forward for Dunell, or back for Gwilt - is bizarre.

I also think it's going to get very ugly if Fish breaks down on the flight to Hobart (like he did the LAST time he was about to play, in New Zealand), and we have to replace him, because we're not taking any emergency tall.

So, you're taking your bag and brolly and going home?

Pretty much, I'll float back over come game time but it is very frustrating. I was thinking they may have dropped Minchi as they've already seen enough to know they want to keep him on next year, now they're giving Sam Dunell every chance to show them what he can do. But given Bruce has shown he can play a swingman forward/back role I'm just stumped how he doesn't get a gig at either end.

Looks like the Last Chance Saloon for some players.

Not my preferred selections but we need to find out which players can cut it. We have a few going ok at VFL but not yet stepping up. So we might as well throw them to the wolves and not die wondering.

Pretty much, I'll float back over come game time but it is very frustrating. I was thinking they may have dropped Minchi as they've already seen enough to know they want to keep him on next year, now they're giving Sam Dunell every chance to show them what he can do. But given Bruce has shown he can play a swingman forward/back role I'm just stumped how he doesn't get a gig at either end.
The ONLY logic I can see with Bruce not coming in, is that they don't think one promising VFL game at full forward is enough. They want to give him a string of them before chucking him into the deep end. Kangas in the rain at Hobart is not a place a tall forward wants to debut - that's true for Spencaaa, but it's also true for Bruce as a forward.

And let's save us some pain next week - they won't want him or White to play the best defensive unit in the country next week either. It's Doggies or bust for either Bruce or White up forward.

Maybe because Fisher is coming straight back and players like Montagna and Gwilt are still in the team despite their poor form?
As opposed to having no senior players? I don't see how choosing to have some seniority in the team as opposed to doing something like dropping Montagna for Saunders indicates that the senior players have a hold over the coach. Plus, Fisher isn't coming straight back, he played for Sandy and I guess AR liked his game.

Maybe because Fisher is coming straight back and players like Montagna and Gwilt are still in the team despite their poor form?
Our leadership/experience was lacking enough last week without those two, if we took any more leadership/experience out we could drop to depths that could take us a really long time to rise out of.

As opposed to having no senior players? I don't see how choosing to have some seniority in the team as opposed to doing something like dropping Montagna for Saunders indicates that the senior players have a hold over the coach. Plus, Fisher isn't coming straight back, he played for Sandy and I guess AR liked his game.
Yeah, I agree, I was just trying to explain some of the potential rationale behind the post.

Didn't Fisher also play a half in the dev league the week before as well? If so, he has at least had a game and a half of footy and has presumably had a good bank of training leading into those two as well.

So much needed from senior players this week.

I can't help but feel like Roo/Lenny/Fish/Dempster/Gwilty/Armo/Ray/Joey/Schneids will be happy to be in the same team together and will really give it a crack this week.

If a few of our younger guys switch it on this week with them we could have a bit of momentum.

I don't think we will win, but I really have this feeling that we will at least deliver a performance that we can be proud of.

In defence of Jimmy Gwilt (the new whipping boy now that Rhys is doing ok)
He was again played as a KPD against taller opposition
He probably is bearing the brunt of our angst over Josh Bruce not getting a gig as a tall defender
Admittedly Jimmy needs to lift in contested possessions (ave 3.5) and tackles (ave 2.1)
But over the year - 2nd in marks, 3rd in disposal efficiency, 5th in kicks and 5th in 1%-ers per game
Last week, he came 7th in Fantasy points (out of our 22)
Second most in tackles (5)
Second most in 1%-ers (4)
Copped the most flack from supporters (when many were worse)
....and has been the most touted trade bait of the week.

Not Gwilty, your honour....
(Just hope Josh plays next week, and Jimmy plays a belter this week
.....................or we'll probably whip his a** next week as well.)

In defence of Jimmy Gwilt (the new whipping boy now that Rhys is doing ok)
He was again played as a KPD against taller opposition
He probably is bearing the brunt of our angst over Josh Bruce not getting a gig as a tall defender
Admittedly Jimmy needs to lift in contested possessions (ave 3.5) and tackles (ave 2.1)
But over the year - 2nd in marks, 3rd in disposal efficiency, 5th in kicks and 5th in 1%-ers per game
Last week, he came 7th in Fantasy points (out of our 22)
Second most in tackles (5)
Second most in 1%-ers (4)
Copped the most flack from supporters (when many were worse)
....and has been the most touted trade bait of the week.

Not Gwilty, your honour....
(Just hope Josh plays next week, and Jimmy plays a belter this week
.....................or we'll probably whip his a** next week as well.)
I'm pretty surprised he is so often called out as being bad when he's undersized and his kicking is amongst our best.

His kicking is overrated. A lovely long kick when he strikes them well, but he can spray them as well. His efficiency numbers are bolstered by kicks to loose players for the switch...Not a knock just a reality.

He is undersized, yes. We judge performance by results and he performs admirably for somebody that is undersized. That doesn't mean he wins his position though. His issue at the moment is that he plays like a key position back but he isn't the right size. He isn't mobile enough to go with some of the smaller forwards. There aren't many perfect match-ups for him. He is actually very good at disguising illegal tactics...He should be giving away more free kicks than he is.

He was much more useful for us when we were a good side. When we had the ability to choke up defence, we had the numbers back. When we restricted the opposition mids and their ball use. It put the games on Gwilt's terms. It gave him the time to position, to leave his man, to influence the the rebound.

Our current state of play means that Gwilt is more accountable one-on-one. He is more exposed. With less support. With better ball use coming for the forwards.

He isn't necessarily doing worse than he ever has. But his deficiencies, as a senior player, are being put on show for all to see. Don't think for a second that he isn't giving it 100% though. He's trying his heart out. He's just in a bloody tough position in this team at this moment.

Some good points being raised about Gwilt. I think what also needs to be remembered as far as his form today and his form of 2010/2011 goes is that he looks like he's bulked up quite a lot in the last few years so that he can play on the "gorillas", so I think if he trimmed down a bit he'd be a much better chance of getting back closer to his pre-knee form and that he'd be much more able to play in a position other than FB or CHB.

His numbers may have been OK last week, but watching him from the stands his confidence looked at about an all-time low though, so he does need to lift in a big way to get back to anything like his best footy. I think having Chips back will help everyone in our defence though, as he has been the one it has all been built around for the past 7 or so years.

Some good points being raised about Gwilt. I think what also needs to be remembered as far as his form today and his form of 2010/2011 goes is that he looks like he's bulked up quite a lot in the last few years so that he can play on the "gorillas", so I think if he trimmed down a bit he'd be a much better chance of getting back closer to his pre-knee form and that he'd be much more able to play in a position other than FB or CHB.

His numbers may have been OK last week, but watching him from the stands his confidence looked at about an all-time low though, so he does need to lift in a big way to get back to anything like his best footy. I think having Chips back will help everyone in our defence though, as he has been the one it has all been built around for the past 7 or so years.
This year has to be the most unsettled out backline has been for a very long time. Last year, we were giving games to Wright & Webster to learn their craft whilst being surrounding by senior heads to mentor them. This year we've had to play many others to cope with missing pretty much all of Gilbo, Chips, Geary & (Roberton) for every game, drastically dropping the overall experience of the backline

I suppose playing Gwilt gives back some experience, however I still believe that playing him as KPD is not ideal & would be much more beneficial if he dropped some bulk & played off... Wait for it, wait for it.... the half back flank!

Reckon Richo may be banking on our defense stepping up this week as it is as experienced as we get with Gwilt, Dempster, Delaney, Roberton, Fisher. If we still look a shambles back there after this week then there will be sweeping change.

I hope that we are just taking baby steps towards a good setup.
1st mid pressure/clearances
2nd def structure
3rd outdide run
4th fwd structure/scoring options

How Port rebuilt (sort of?)

If our backline settles this week then would expect our fwd line to get another tall. Fingers crossed Bruce, White or even Longer play well up fwd for Sandy.

Also would like to see Joey in fwd pocket this week to try and release tag.

I know we really have no right to win BUT the $14 on offer for the Saints seems little to good to pass up a little nibble at.. Afterall we are playing North Melbourne who love to lose these types of games!

Save your money mate.

Quick question saints fans. What is up with Bruce? Is he injured or just not getting a game?

Save your money mate.

Quick question saints fans. What is up with Bruce? Is he injured or just not getting a game?
The question of the week. Most of us are rather perplexed at his omission.